Has there been any clarification on how Vital Strike works with weapons that can fire two projectiles as a single attack action?
So, I'm planning on putting together a Gunslinger (Pistolero)/ Duelist for PFS. I've got the concept pretty firmly in mind but I'm having a little trouble deciding on my exact stat distribution and feat selections.
How important is it for me to pump Wisdom? I know I'll need at least a bit for grit but I want to keep my INT fairly high too for skills and to better utilize some of my duelist abilities.
The Multiattack entry for both Animal companions and Eidolons reads as follows:
SKR posted an in the NPC Codex thread stating:
Sean K. Reynolds wrote:
Sean's response seems fairly straightforward, but doesn't seem to match up to the wording of the actual ability. That's cool, these things happen, and it's awesome to have devs who come in and clarify things like this so we can strain RAI from the RAW.My main question then would be:
Would this same ruling apply to Eidolon's as well since the wording is identical?
And by "Natural attacks" is it referring to actual attacks I might make during a full attack sequence, or "natural attack forms like claws/bite/talons?
For example, If I gain an additional attack with my natural weapon (claws) would I have three claw attacks after gaining Multi-attack? 4?
There's another thread discussing how this works for Animal Companions but since it bears on the Eidolon as well I thought I might bring it up again here.
Quick question everyone, I'm feeling like I should know the answer to this but it just isn't coming to me. The Viking Fighter archetype from People of the North Has an ability called shield defense that replaces Armor Training. Does this only replace the first instance of Armor Training, allowing him to gain the ability as normal when he'd normally get Armor Training 2, or does it replace the ability completely?
So quick question: Familiars gain the ability
If a familiar is delivering a spell like Vampiric Touch via this ability, does the familiar gain the temporary hit points, or its master? My assumption would be that the master gains the benefits since the familiar is delivering the spell for him, but I wanted to make sure I was reading that right.
So Charge states "Movement During a Charge: You must move before your attack, not after. You must move at least 10 feet (2 squares) and may move up to double your speed directly toward the designated opponent."
I had always assumed that "directly toward" meant "in a straight line", but the discussion came up at a PFS table between a player and GM that as long as each step brings you closer to your opponent you are still moving "directly toward" your opponent. This could potentially allow for some minor zig-zagging during a charge. The GM actually allowed the movement to occur.
Is this actually correct? Unfortunately it is hard to lay out a diagram of possible intended movement in this format...
There was a note that Jason Buhlman had made in one of the Mythic Playtest threads that apparently there actually is an implied limit of 1 spell per round, with the caveat "A spell with a casting time of 1 swift action doesn't count against your normal limit of one spell per round.".
So there seems to be some rules support limiting the spells you can cast in a round. How does this interact with optional systems like Hero Points? Since the ability makes a specific exception for spells cast as a swift action, are there any builds or abilities outside of the Hero Point and Mythic optional systems that would actually be impacted by this?
So the Guided Weapon Property says:
This modifier to damage is not adjusted for two-handed weapons or off-hand weapons—it always remains equal to the wielder’s Wisdom modifier. A guided weapon may be wielded as a normal weapon, using Strength to modify attack and damage rolls, but this goes against the weapon’s nature and imparts a –2 penalty on all attack rolls made in this manner."
It seems clear to me that this property should only be replacing Strength based attack and damage rolls but I've noticed some people thinking it should replace all attack rolls (even DEX based ones for ranged attacks). How do other people read and adjudicate this ability?
So, I'm putting together a character for a one-off and I'm figuring I'll play a Druid with a Giant Wasp Animal Companion and take levels of fighter to grab the Mounted Combat and Spirited Charge feats. My questions are:
So, I've heard tales of ranged paladins and how gnarly they can be, so I'm taking a stab at building one myself for PFS play.
My thoughts on traits so far were Deft Dodger, and Bralani's Step, though Bralani's Step I chose as much for flavor as actual mechanical value. I get Precise Shot as a bonus feat, so I figure Point Blank Shot as my level one feat?
So the Monk's Flurry of Blows feature states "A monk applies his full Strength bonus to his damage rolls for all successful attacks made with flurry of blows, whether the attacks are made with an off-hand or with a weapon wielded in both hands."
And the Zen Archer's Flurry has the following change listed " A zen archer does not apply his Strength bonus on damage rolls made with flurry of blows unless he is using a composite bow with a Strength rating. A zen archer's flurry of blows otherwise functions as normal for a monk of his level."
Does this mean that non Zen Archer monks apply their STR bonus to damage when flurrying with ranged weapons?
I was just thinking how amusing it would be to have a Sohei/Weapon Master/Pistolero/Duelist who gets to add their STR, DEX, and INT to damage for all of their attack rolls.
Tactician is actually a terrible ability for a straight cavalier. It's much better for a fighter or other class that multiclasses into cavalier at higher levels.
Tactician (Ex): At 1st level, a cavalier receives a teamwork feat as a bonus feat. He must meet the prerequisites for this feat. As a standard action, the cavalier can grant this feat to all allies within 30 feet who can see and hear him. Allies retain the use of this bonus feat for 3 rounds plus 1 round for every two levels the cavalier possesses. Allies do not need to meet the prerequisites of these bonus feats. The cavalier can use this ability once per day at 1st level, plus one additional time per day at 5th level and for every 5 levels thereafter.
Tacticion only works with the bonus feat you took with the ability, meaning it only works with a Teamwork feat that you qualified for at level 1 if you're playing a straight cavalier. It's much more effective if you've taken 10 levels of fighter and then dip cavalier to take Coordinated Charge or a similarly powerful feat. Shouldn't there be the option to retrain this feat or swap the Tactician ability to one of your other bonus feats?
How does Vital Strike work with Spirited Charge and a lance when used by a cavalier on his mount? Remember, a mounted cavalier can still attack as a standard action while gaining the benefits of his mounts charge. Being able to hit for x6 damage (or x12 with Greater Vital Strike) at your full BAB and then use your move action to switch to a non-reach weapon, draw a potion, or what have you is a worthwhile opening tactic and actually makes the feat chain fairly potent, even for a character who otherwise might have little use for it.
So in this thread a little digging uncovered that the rules for Inquisitions located in Ultimate Combat completely contradict the rules for Inquisitions located in Ultimate Magic. Namely, UC says Inquisitions can only be taken by Inquisitors, while UM says they can be taken by any class that grants a domain, they're just not really intended for them. Has there been any clarification made on which of these is correct?
So I picked up the Cerulean Seas 3pp material and it is an amazing supplement. If you have any interest in running aquatic campaigns this thing is a must have. In addition to the great rulesets for aquatic combat, beautiful illustrations, and fantastic plaer races, they have a gem that is awesome to behold.
So, I just picked up the Terah materials and one of my players is very interested in playing the Spark Energeticist.
I'm not sure if this should be in the rules forum, but since it's 3PP material I thought I'd start here.
So, my friend and I are building a pair of 5th level characters that we were intending to have complement each other as a pair of melee brutes. Both characters will be 5th level half-orcs. He'll be playing an Inquisitor (Anger Inquisition)3 / Barbarian 2, and I'll be playing a Sorcerer (Orc Bloodline)5.
Amplified Rage (Teamwork)
When adjacent to other raging allies, your rages become even more powerful.
Prerequisites: Half-orc or orc, rage class feature.
Benefit: Whenever you are raging and adjacent to a raging ally who also has this feat or flanking the same opponent as a raging ally with this feat, your morale bonuses to Strength and Constitution increase by +4. This feat does not stack with itself (you only gain this bonus from one qualifying ally, regardless of how many are adjacent to you).
Sympathetic Rage (Combat)
Seeing an ally enter a rage causes you to enter a rage-like state.
Prerequisites: Half-orc or orc, non-lawful.
Warleader's Rage allows the Sympathetic Rage and Amplified Rage effects to persist as long as we're within 30 ft of each other.
Controlled Rage (Ex)
When an urban barbarian rages, instead of making a normal rage she may apply a +4 morale bonus to her Strength, Dexterity, or Constitution. This bonus increases to +6 when she gains greater rage and +8 when she gains mighty rage. She may apply the full bonus to one ability score or may split the bonus between several scores in increments of +2. When using a controlled rage, an urban barbarian gains no bonus on Will saves, takes no penalties to AC, and can still use Intelligence-, Dexterity-, and Charisma-based skills. This ability otherwise follows the normal rules for rage.
So, the Inquisitor gains the Solo Tactics ability:
Solo Tactics (Ex): At 3rd level, all of the inquisitor's allies are treated as if they possessed the same teamwork feats as the inquisitor for the purpose of determining whether the inquisitor receives a bonus from her teamwork feats. Her allies do not receive any bonuses from these feats unless they actually possess the feats themselves. The allies' positioning and actions must still meet the prerequisites listed in the teamwork feat for the inquisitor to receive the listed bonus.
and the Broken Wing Gambit feat reads:
Broken Wing Gambit:
Broken Wing Gambit (Combat, Teamwork)
You feign weakness, making yourself a tempting and distracting target.
Prerequisite: Bluff 5 ranks.
Benefit: Whenever you make a melee attack and hit your opponent, you can use a free action to grant that opponent a +2 bonus on attack and damage rolls against you until the end of your next turn or until your opponent attacks you, whichever happens first. If that opponent attacks you with this bonus, it provokes attacks of opportunity from your allies who have this feat.
Would an Inquisitor using this feat give allies without it the option to make an AoO if they don't have the feat?
So, I was thinking about making an Aasimar Battle Oracle and stacking on a few natural attacks (wing buffets, maybe a claw attack, possibly a bite) and at first I thought the Wolfscarred Face curse might be pretty sweet with the bite attack that improves by level. But that 20% spell failure chance is pretty much permanent unless you take the Silent Spell metamagic feat and cast all your spells at +1 caster level.
The particular feat in question is:
Sword and Pistol:
Sword and Pistol (Combat)
You effortlessly pair melee and ranged weaponry.
Prerequisites: Dex 13, Point-Blank Shot, Rapid Shot, Snap Shot, Two-Weapon Fighting, base attack bonus +6.
Benefit: When you use the Two-Weapon Fighting feat while wielding a melee weapon and a crossbow or firearm, your attacks with the crossbow or firearm provoke no attacks of opportunity from foes that you threaten with your melee weapon.
Normal: Making a ranged attack provokes attacks of opportunity.
I'm playing a ratfolk gulch gunner who occasionally fights with a boarding axe in one hand and pistol in the other. The Gulch Gunner gives you the mechanic to regain grit the first time you provoke an opportunity for firing a ranged weapon in melee each round. Can I choose to not utilize Sword and Pistol for the first attack in a sequence, but then gain its benefit for my subsequent iterative attacks?
One of my players was wanting to build a barbarian around this concept he read on the forums for RageLancePounce, but as far as I can tell, it doesn't really work (although maybe he's missing something). Can you help me clarify this? The problems I see are:
1)Pounce applies when you charge, but the bonus damage the lance gets only applies when you are mounted. So if you are using Pounce, you wouldn't get your bonus damage from the lance.
2)Somewhat in conjunction with the first point, it doesn't seem like Pounce would give you a full attack while your mount is charging, you would need Mounted Skirmisher.
3) The bonus damage only applies to the first attack in the charge, even if you have the ability to make iterative attacks.
So what benefit would there really be here? Pounce doesn't give any special bonus to the lance, and while Raging might boost your strength, you're not going to have much survivability in your mount... Right?
In another thread, there was a discussion involving a cleric or druid's spontaneous casting ability and how it only applied to that classes spells. Since the wording is nearly identical between that and the Spellslinger as far as the interaction between cost and result (i.e. sacrifice spell of level x, gain y result) what is the difference? Or could you have a cleric with spontaneous casting convert Wizard slots into heal spells the same way a Spellslinger can convert cleric spells into gun blasts? Or is it incorrect that a Spellslinger can convert spells from another class with his Mage Bullets ability?
So quick question here. Flurry of blows reads
Flurry of Blows (Ex): Starting at 1st level, a monk can make a flurry of blows as a full-attack action. When doing so he may make one additional attack using any combination of unarmed strikes or attacks with a special monk weapon (kama, nunchaku, quarterstaff, sai, shuriken, and siangham) as if using the Two-Weapon Fighting feat (even if the monk does not meet the prerequisites for the feat). For the purpose of these attacks, the monk's base attack bonus from his monk class levels is equal to his monk level. For all other purposes, such as qualifying for a feat or a prestige class, the monk uses his normal base attack bonus.
At 8th level, the monk can make two additional attacks when he uses flurry of blows, as if using Improved Two-Weapon Fighting (even if the monk does not meet the prerequisites for the feat).
At 15th level, the monk can make three additional attacks using flurry of blows, as if using Greater Two-Weapon Fighting (even if the monk does not meet the prerequisites for the feat).
A monk applies his full Strength bonus to his damage rolls for all successful attacks made with flurry of blows, whether the attacks are made with an off-hand or with a weapon wielded in both hands. A monk may substitute disarm, sunder, and trip combat maneuvers for unarmed attacks as part of a flurry of blows. A monk cannot use any weapon other than an unarmed strike or a special monk weapon as part of a flurry of blows. A monk with natural weapons cannot use such weapons as part of a flurry of blows, nor can he make natural attacks in addition to his flurry of blows attacks.
and the sohei gains the ability to use FoB with a list of selected weapons via this ability:
Weapon Training (Ex): At 6th level, a sohei gains weapon training in one of the following weapon groups, as the fighter class feature: bows, crossbows, monk weapons, polearms, spears, or thrown weapons. He may select an additional group of weapons for every six levels after 6th, to a maximum of three at 18th level. A sohei may use flurry of blows and ki strike with any weapon in which he has weapon training. This ability replaces purity of body, diamond body, quivering palm, timeless body, and tongue of sun and moon.
Would this technically allow a sohei to apply his strength bonus to his attacks with a bow? I know it's pretty cheese, was just curious if RAW means what I think it does.
Quick question guys:
I was sitting down to work on a character that was originally going to be a Zen Archer, but after looking over the Sohei a little more closely, it actually seemed like a better choice since we will be starting this campaign at 7th level. One of my main questions was: A Zen Archer specifically cannot use Rapid Shot in conjunction with Flurry of Blows, but the Sohei does not appear to have any such restriction. Can the Sohei Rapid Shot and Flurry together?
So, as a little roleplaying exercise, when my group starts a new game we try to introduce our characters without using any of the words on our character sheet. Saying things like "I'm a dwarven fighter" are totally off limits. You'd have to say something like "I'm a stocky, bearded axe wielder whose people live in the mountains of....." and things to that effect. During our current campaign, one of my players was playing an elven Sohei who took Weapon Training with the bow. During our most recent encounter, she had a series of misfortunate events lead her to a situation where she had an unconcious mount, a sundered bow, and was being backed into a corner by a pair of manticore. When she leapt at the manticore and began unleashing a flurry of unarmed strikes, the rest of the party members asked her why she'd decided to have her ranger take unarmed strike instead of using the feat for Quick Draw and using a rapier. We had made it to level 9 with the entire party thinking she was a ranger. Between always having a mount, using her "mystical" abilities to give said mount various bonuses, and the whole bow thing, everyone had come to the natural conclusion that she was an (albeit somewhat slow-starting initially) elven ranger.
So, I've been digging around in all the books I have available, and I was wondering, does anyone know of any feats that allow you to make combat maneuvers like Disarm, Sunder, or Trip with a ranged weapon? I know 3.5 had feats that would allow you to do this, but I can't find anything in any of the Pathfinder books. Do they just not exist?
The Drunken Brute archetype for the barbarian gives you the ability to drink a potion or a tankard of ale or similar quantity of alcohol as a move action that does not provoke attacks of opportunity.
So, under the monk unarmed strike it states "A monk's unarmed strike is treated as both a manufactured weapon and a natural weapon for the purpose of spells and effects that enhance or improve either manufactured weapons or natural weapons."
As a note, I know it seems a little ridiculous on the surface, but I always pictured it as intricate tattooing or magical energy being infused directly into the monk's ki.