If the spell doesn't have a listed price for the material component, it's assumed to be contained in the "Spell Component Pouch". You can find this in the general equipment list in the CRB. I believe they cost 1gp. As long as you have access to one of these, or the Eschew Materials feat, you should have everything you need to cast most of your spells.
I've found, that for things like this it is generally better to use the quick rebuild rules, as it doesn't do as much to improve the creature.
It gets +2 to hit this way, but loses 2 HP/HD and lowers the DC's.
I remember when I was running Council of Theives' right after PFRPG came out, and they had a group of "young" shadows. Rebuilding them made them MUCH more powerful than they were intended, and James was actually the one who made my mind up about this.
Marc Radle wrote:
There were APG pregens (alchemist, oracle, witch, and cavalier IIRC) when the APG came out. Currently, the most recent hardcover book that came out with character options is the UC, and the 3 alternate/new base class iconics are available as pre-gens (samurai, ninja, gunslinger).
I'm assuming part of the reason to change out pre-gen options is to help drive interest in the new books, so UC options now. Another, probably more relevant point, is when the APG iconics were out, they were built on 15 point buys and so were out of whack for PFS to start with.
Currently, there are the above mentioned UC pregens at 1st, 4th and 7th levels. The 4 iconics from the CRB you mentioned available at 4th level. And, the 11 CRB iconics at 1st and 7th level as found in the NPC Codex. All legal for PFS use.
Hope this helps.
Brian D. Mooney wrote:
Costello is was slated to run it last I heard, and it was the first thing up on WarHorn, so should be going on.
Chris Bonnet wrote:
Patrick they do have day passes. They are available at the door. There isn't any info yet about the cost. The con people are going to try to post it. They had a quick reply to my question.
Learn something new everyday. Excellent.
Patrick Harris @ SD wrote:
Are day passes available? I don't see any prices listed for them.
Unfortunately, InCon only does the full weekend registration. Once in, there's no cost for events, but it does make the short drop-in type experience to be a bit pricey. However, as Chris mentioned, they do have a room set aside as a Con suite with drinks, snacks and various foodstuffs available during con hours. They also had a candy cart wandering the halls last year a few times a day for con goers.
Side note: Last year was my first InCon and afterwards when I had chance to review the program for the con I was really amazed at all the non-gaming items they had going on. There were a couple of different movies playing at most hours, they had an art auction, a bunch of seminars on varying topics from gaming, writing, to some more adult oriented themes. The con was started as more of a Sci-Fi convention than a gaming convention, and that still holds true (at least as of last year).
He'll need a separate Paizo.com account to register a second person, as each account can only handle a single PFS #. However, there's nothing to stop you from setting this up for him as well. It would just need a separate email account I believe.
Well, they had to tear down the walls with claws. The act of digging into the room would pull some of the debris from the wall into the hallway they were digging from. I didn't imagine them as charging through and bursting the wall into the small chamber, but go with whatever makes a better story for you.
William Liscomb wrote:
I recieved an E-mail from you stating that I ordered a Hardcover Book from you order number 25819. This was suppose to have been done on 16 May 2013... Problem is I NEVER put in an order. So someone has either gotten my card number or someone on you end made the purchase. Either way Cancel that order.
Ummm...you're a subscriber to the Hardcover Book line, and a new one is coming out this month. That order would be the one you authorized when you signed up for the ongoing subscription. Now, you can cancel the subscription and order before it ships, that shouldn't be an issue, when Paizo gets back in the office on Monday.
No. If it did, there would be incentive for the GM to softball a scenario and just hand over a "win" to the party for their own gain. The GM chronicle credit is pretty much independent of how the table plays out.
Items from those chronicles are available to purchase by the characters who earned the chronicle sheet (either playing through or via GM credit).
Some items made available on the chronicles are not available anywhere else (i.e. some poisons, living steel, etc.)
There's a FAQ about Protection from Evil on what's control. Confusion and sleep effects aren't covered by Protection from xx according to the FAQ at least.
Also, if the gibbering mouther isn't evil, it's a fairly moot point, as it wouldn't come into effect due to that anyways.
EDIT: LINK to FAQ
So it was a 3.5 rule that didn't make the jump?
Yes. For PF, you gain XP for all encounters, though as mentioned extremely low level encounters provide minimal returns in relation to amount needed to go up at later levels.
That is correct. To play a tiefling or aasimar, you must have one of the PFS legal books that gives the details of how they work. That could be the Advanced Race Guide, or it could be Blood of Angels or Blood of Fiends. Your choice.
Bestiary works as well for them.
(Which is really where the season ends and the curtain is drawn for these two factions...)
Actually, for Golarion, paladins don't have to have a deity.
PFS requires them to choose a deity, but just being part of the Golarion canon does not.
James Jacobs in one of his posts about paladins and deities.
If someone is playing a pre-gen and registering to one of their characters at a later date, and that pre-gen dies and is not raised does the character get marked as dead? I heard that last night for the first time, and I'm not sure if it's correct.
In this case, the player can elect to assign the credit from the scenario and conditions gained (i.e. being dead), to a brand new character and report this new, never played before, character as dead. [It's either in the FAQ or Guide]
This is the one exception, that I know of off the top of my head, to the requirement of choosing what character is going to be receiving credit for the scenario at the beginning of the scenario.
It means the racial "magic items" specifically listed in the different race's section in the ARG.
I don't remember seeing a spell scroll under any of the races sections.
By the way, a Ninja IS a Rogue (archetype/alternate class). You can not take 2 levels of Ninja and 2 levels of Rogue, you would either be a Ninja 4 or Rogue 4.
Well, main reason I know, is I volunteered to run them there, and Chris said OK (at least so far).
Yes, the size difference in numbers is immense between the two conventions, but was just throwing it out there if you were looking to play them before GenCon.
Kyle Elliott wrote:
I just wanted to second this.
The start of a new season is a natural break point to introduce changes to the campaign. I know there will be a lot of people that won't realize the change because they don't come to the boards, but there will still be a lot who don't realize the changes because they don't go to GenCon as well...
Tamago, as an FYI, both retirement scenarios are currently planned on being offered at InCon Junction in July in Indianapolis as well, if you wanted to get them in before GenCon.
Just a word of caution, the general rules say you are supposed to choose all archetypes for a class the first level you take a level in that class. However, you had asked in regards to PFS, and they have the more lenient houserule I mentioned to you. Since this is in the general rules forum, I want to make sure the difference is noted.
1) As long as the first ability being replaced by the new archetype has not been gained, you can add a new archetype to an existing character in PFS. (i.e. if the first thing changed was an ability gained at 3rd level inquisitor, then you could take an archetype for inquisitor up to the point in time you're leveling to 3rd) General rule in Pathfinder is the archetypes must be chosen when you first take a level in a class.
2) Correct, each new class you take for the first time can have a new archetype (or an additional one at later levels as long as you follow #1).
3) Stat increases are retroactive in Pathfinder. If you go from 0 to +1 in CON, you get an extra HP per HD. Same with skills and INT, etc.
So, since 3 was not true, yes you do lose HP if your CON bonus drops.
Keep in mind all the good things he has done, he has just been doing it under an assumed Identity. His is a betrayal of Trust not of Well Being.
This definitely. He's been disillusioned by one he counts as blood. In general, he's one who tries to let actions speak louder than words, so Eli's actions in general speak volumes for Aletoriss...especially how he treated the fallen and bonded with April.
That said, it's still a painful slap to his sensibilities and he's not the fastest thinker around. He's by no means stupid, but is one for more internal review and retrospection than anything with emotional rather than calculating thoughts being more to the fore.
It will be neat to see how Quzman and Eli work this out, if it can be worked out. I figure Aletoriss is going to have to earn that Trust back, how long that takes will be up to Quzman...
I think it will work out in the end, as family still matters most. It just may take some time and conflict...which can be good for the story ;)
I never did notice that mention way back when...of course, I was dead then =p.
Yeah, this was a great time to drop this, you're right. We're floundering trying to determine what's going on in town, been betrayed already, had faceless bad guys threaten/taunt us, and now we find out we had someone who wasn't who he said he was right in our own midst, very nice.
I had to think long about Quzman. The loss of trust of a brother would be a HUGE emotional blow, and I considered the renouncing of that tie. However, I don't think he'd allow himself to go so far back on his word to disavow a family member for this. He also follows the Redeemer, and maybe he can work towards that...later, once the urge to throttle Eli goes down.
Actually, for PFS, you just have to choose it before the archetype would change a class ability for the first time. They do give you that latitude.
You are supposed to choose the archetype(s) at the first level you take a class (in this case fighter at your 2nd character level). If you want multiple archetypes, you would take them at this point. You can take more than 1 archetype for a class, as long as no class ability is modified by both archetypes.
Every time you take a level in a class that you have chosen archetype(s) for, you take a level with that(those) archetype(s).
It threw me for a loop, I must say. I saw his post last night, and had to try and come up with a response that fit without causing permanent group dysfunction =p. His additional plea this morning made me dig through some posts to get April's name right ;) I figure that's still got to be a soft spot for Eli/Ale...
Unfortunately, not totally uncommon for different names not to get synced up in all the different places in a book sometimes. I too would assume Aklo=Aboleth.
Mike Bramnik wrote:
The Guide pg.8 wrote:
On ISWG pg 251 it has those languages listed as the ancient languages mentioned above.
P.S. That same page does also say that aboleths speak Aklo...so not sure where his info for the spoiler came from.
I am sorry to see you go Tracy, but can understand the job would take its toll. Congratulations on all you've done, and I hope to see you around the table some!
The chronicle would have been reported when the game was played, rather than when you can finally apply it. There shouldn't be any need to retroactively change what was reported. I'd personally just add it into your character's history as normal, maybe notating the faction your character currently is when the chronicle comes into play is all.
They're not secret, but they are not permitted for starting languages that come from a high intelligence due to campaign rules. This same limitation is placed on humans and half-elves who have high intelligence and can learn 'any' language as well.
If you want an ancient language in PFS, it does require a rank in linguistics or possibly a boon.
This is the Bird they are talking about...
The falconer can use it for other birds that are natural birds of prey or scavengers, but they all use the "Bird" statistics.
So, any other specifically named bird, such as Roc, that can be a companion, would not be an acceptable use.
They've stated before, and I'm sure they will again, PC guidelines <> NPC guidelines.
The worst I've seen as "tricked" out monster in PFS is from Kobold Quarterly, and written by a Paizo employee...
It never says specifically how high the rafters were. I've ran it at 20' up (and that's what the GM had when I played it too). They just give the overall height of the roof as going up to 30', and these rafters supporting the beams going that high. Anywhere from 10'~20' up really. Depends on where you want to put it at, since it doesn't specify.
Under Terms and Conditions for purchasing gift cards (and the last line of the product description):
Bolded the relevant portion.
Yeah, spellcasting purchased through PP is minimum caster level. Spellcasting purchased by gold can be at whatever caster level you want, assuming a settlement of 5000 or more. You can't add metamagic feats to the spellcasting service, but changing caster level is not currently prohibited for gold transactions.