If the spell is on the wizard, cleric or druid spell list, it is required to purchase as if it was made by one of those 3 (whichever has the spell at the lowest spell level). If such a spell is still too high to make a potion, then a potion is not available.
Items can be purchased from ranger/paladin/summoner/etc. only if the spell in question does not show up on the wizard, cleric, or druid spell lists at all.
The Guide pg.23 wrote:
Umm, no. That's not what it means. At any BAB a creature with natural attacks can take ALL of their normal natural attacks as a full round attack.
Two-weapon fighting does not apply to natural attacks. For the purposes of a second attack, the second limb capable of performing a natural attack is not an "off-hand". There is no default negative to be changed on a second attack for offhand, because there is no off hand.
True, two-weapon fighting is for manufactured weapons...
Having no offhand also means that Power Attack can be used with every natural attack the creature has.
Regardless of whether you are using an offhand or not, Power Attack would affect every attack you make on a turn if you activate the ability. It adds less damage to an offhand attack, but still has the penalty to attack.
Actually, this is just restating the normal natural weapons rules...
#1...You continue to play the character in PFS using the latest version of the rules until the actual book comes out. Then you need the book/PDF and have to update the character to the finalized version of the class.
Note that unreasonable <> harmful act. Only a harmful act negates the spell.
Even if the act is deemed unreasonable, you can word it to make it sound somewhat reasonable if you try. It does sound like the author was giving a bonus to the save due to the dangerous nature of the suggestion. The spell lists a possible penalty to saves for very reasonable suggestions, so granting a bonus to somewhat far fetched requests seems in line IMO.
The centipede starts 10-30 feet away from the centipede, and the centipede tramples as a full-round-action in the first round, so it can't do more than a 5-foot-step. Trample work inside the centipede's reach, which is 30 ft? Or does the Centipede move on top of the PCs to trample?
Trample affects only those you physically move on top of. The centipede is like 30'x30', and has 50' or 60', so should be able to move directly on top of most of the party in the starting location.
Zach Williams wrote:
Would it get the rest of its turn though? It states that if it would have any actions (such as a standard to attack) left it may take them, but Trample is a full round action. Or would it not complete its full round due to intteruption and simply have moved?
It's a special full round action, and I'd run it just like breaking a charge. It's not like a full round attack where you can choose to stop after your first swing and do something else IMO.
If the underlying bonus feat is illegal in the campaign, you just don't get it. In some instances, a substitution is called for (see Wizard and Scribe Scroll). If no substitution is called out, then you just don't get the ability and gain nothing instead.
James B. Cline wrote:
Raise Dead: A creature who has been turned into an undead creature or killed by a death effect can't be raised by this spell.
The Masked Ferret wrote:
I agree, now that I know that post is an official response. However, how am I to tell exactly what is an official response in other threads? Especially older ones?
I think the only former Paizo employees that would have posted official responses (and therefore no longer have the golem icon by their avatar), is Joshua Frost, as you know now, and Hyrum Savage (he posted as a purple monkey IIRC). Both are previous campaign coordinators, and their word would hold the same as Mike's does now realistically.
Outside of those two, I believe all the other employees who would have posted in an "official" capacity are still current employees and have their golem icon visible. I remember reading a post awhile back that system admin was looking into code to freeze such identifiers on a post at the time of posting to make things like this less confusing in the future (i.e. the icon and titles would have remained on the posts).
Hope that helps.
Unfortunately, I need to pare down some of my current subscription lines here. Can you please cancel the Player's Companion, Modules, Pawns and Roleplaying Game subscriptions for me?
I still wish to keep the AP, Campaign Setting and Card Game subscriptions.
I really wish I could go to this one of these years...sadly this will not be that year.
One thing I notice is missing from the blog is the actual 3 dates the con is going to be happening. I thought I heard 4th of July weekend again in earlier posts, but wasn't sure if that was still the case.
Actually, that was how it was presented in the book. It's just in a part that's oft overlooked, the class Role section.
Role: The ninja spends almost all of her time honing her skills, practicing her art, or working on her next assignment. Even when not specifically working, the ninja is ever vigilant and ready for the situation to turn deadly. Her line of work earns her many enemies, but it is a list that she frequently reduces through assassination and misdirection. The ninja is an alternate class for the rogue core class.
EDIT:And the samurai is an alternate class of the cavalier as well.
Chaotic, Evil, Good, and Lawful Spells: A cleric can't cast spells of an alignment opposed to her own or her deity's (if she has one). Spells associated with particular alignments are indicated by the chaotic, evil, good, and lawful descriptors in their spell descriptions.
Summon Monster spell description wrote:
When you use a summoning spell to summon a creature with an alignment or elemental subtype, it is a spell of that type.
Lantern Archon bestiary entry wrote:
LG Small outsider (archon, extraplanar, good, lawful)
Since the Archon has the lawful subtype (among others), it makes the spell Summon Monster a spell with the Lawful descriptor, per the spell text. Clerics of Chaotic deities can not cast lawful spells per their class restrictions.
This is correct to this part.
However, you ONLY get the iterative attack with manufactured weapons. You do NOT get iterative attacks with natural attacks. The number of natural attacks do not increase with BAB.
The only thing that changes between +5 BAB and +6 BAB in your first set of examples above, is that you can make an additional attack with the 2 handed weapon or one 1 handed weapon (you need improved two weapon fighting to get an additional off hand weapon attack)
You can't use your claws and then use those same limbs to attack with a weapon in the same round.
You could +6 claw; +6 claw; +6 bite or +6 greatsword; +1 greatsword; +1 bite.
There's a FAQ that's pretty much spot on in regards to this I believe.
Matthew Pittard wrote:
My Wizard would love to buy these but sadly he wants something a little better than a +2 cloak. After one buys this item, can it be enhanced at all?
If that's the actual name of the magic item, then no. It would be considered a named item and could not be enhanced anymore than say Mistmail could be, in PFS.
Hello, I hope i'm not bringing this back from the depths but I am a new GM and am about to run my group through RotRL. does this folio have battlemaps or is it just for reference?
They are not battle maps , but color reprints of most of the maps in the AP.
In every other playtest with PFS, the new class was still playable after the playtest and before the book release by using the latest rules released to date. I can't see them changing it for this one, without a really compelling reason.
Just because they stop taking a lot of feedback about the class to put into the book, doesn't mean they want folks to stop playing those classes...as they hope to sell lots of books next August, I'm sure ;)
Andrew Christian wrote:
I believe he said at 3. You don't get to choose then. The only time you can choose us whether to round up or down from a .5 and in most cases that won't make a difference either.
Guide pg.31 wrote:
EDIT: The case in question was a group of nothing but level 3's in a 1-5 scenario, so sub-tiers were 1-2 and 4-5. No one was in the higher subtier (however, this specific case was season 4, so this didn't come into play, but it is an option to choose for older scenarios).
You can use the retrain rules laid out in the Guide to Organized Play and Ultimate Campaign for retraining a class level for gold and PP, or you can rebuild a 1st level character to a new class. Outside of that, there is no rebuild options in place.
Andrew Christian wrote:
Read the context from above...there is a time when the table does still get to choose if they want to play down. We were discussing that specific time.
Five players apl 3 would be play up with the 4 player adjustments.
Yeah. For season 0-3, there is the caveat that if no one is in the high subtier you can choose to play down, but there isn't an option for season 4 and on.
It's not the FAQ, it's the AR that allows you to purchase a gun at all...
Additional Resources wrote:
Equipment: No firearm sized Large or larger is available for purchase. The double hackbut and culverin on Table 3–4 and advanced firearms on Table 3–5 and are not permitted in Pathfinder Society Organized Play. No character may purchase a firearm unless she possesses the Gunsmithing feat and firearms are never considered Always Available; a character must possess enough Fame to purchase any firearm not found on a Chronicle sheet or granted by a class feature.
The character can bite along with the TWF/flurry attack. The bite is treated as a secondary natural attack, so would suffer a -5 to hit and only offer 1/2 STR to damage. The minus to hit can be offset somewhat by the Multiattack bestiary feat.
The bite is a natural weapon, so it is not normally affected by feats for unarmed strikes or the damage die progression from monks. I believe there is a FAQ about how the feat Feral Combat Training at least changes the damage issue, not about the feat issue.
A bite would benefit from an Amulet of Mighty Fists, as the amulet will affect all unarmed and natural weapon attacks of the creature using it.
Du Nord wrote:
Yes. It would be the 9,800.
The +1 part is always available, but the musket is not. So, a +1 musket would not be considered always available, and would require the fame to purchase.
am waiting to rebuild a PC for PS today but still dont see a link to any PDF yet :(
It's supposed to come out with the blog from what I've seen. They don't post the blogs for at least another 5 hours (10 AM PST) usually. Sometimes it can be a bit later in the day than that.
I recently got a hold of herolab and was building a character for my local Pathfinder society when i noticed on the background tab it had "add alternate racial traits well i clicked on it and found a racial trait that suited my build silent hunter I made the switch and didn't get any warnings and elven magic was taken away. Here is my question is it legal to switch out racial traits in pathfinder society?
For the most part, yes.
You need to double check the Additional Resource page to make sure that particular option is legal, and you have to be able to produce that resource at game days when playing the character though.
EDIT: Additional Resources
Bran Towerfall wrote:
so, for extra flavor I could say that two separate heads attack the pc while moving thru a threatened square? might be enough to put a scare in them....
Well, the PC have to provoke twice. Moving during a round only provokes once, regardless of the number of threatened squares are left during the movement.
But if he moved and cast then sure, have separate heads come in and bite at different parts of the PC trying to pick him apart.
Joshua North wrote:
Distributing artwork in general is a no-no from this aspect. You can use artwork from the blog under the Community Use guidelines, but not images from their other sources.
EDIT: And map images taken from scenarios are verboten as well.
Is Destroying a Fellow Player's Raised Dead / Commanded Undead an action that Constitutes PVP in Society Play?
This. 100% This.
Patrick Harris @ MU wrote:
Especially after the first deleted post admins mentioned not to discuss file sharing on the website. Posting history does get read into possibly ambiguous statements.
Simply deleted and blocked from posting...after repeating pretty much the same post 4 or 5 times, and spreading to 2 new threads as part of that?
I'm sure they simply got tired of cleaning up your mess, and blocked it.
Scott Young wrote:
Not withstanding this specific situation, wherein the secondary success condition points towards handing out the faction missions as part of the game, GM's are no longer required to have, or handout, faction missions if they choose not to. The GM may offer them to the players, but are under no obligation to do so from what I can tell.
I have a few ideas of how to address this, some better than others. The quick answer would be to still enjoy the faction mission handouts for fun, but that fails to address a) that some players are primarily motivated to perform faction-related goals when there's a reward, and b) that GMs are no longer expected to print out and hand out those faction mission handouts, so to rely too heavily on this stance would just be undoing what has been done.
If this has been overturned somewhere, I'd be willing to go back and print out some of the faction missions for scenarios I've skipped them on, but going forward I had no real intention to print out copies of missions that had no game relevance.
This. If you buy and use an consumable, then it's been bought and used. You can't return it for a refund.
The energy drain is part of a physical kiss from the creature itself, so it can't send tentacles out in random directions through pods and repeatedly drain them.
I guess it doesn't require her to wait until the maintain round, but she's not supposed to get close to melee right of the bat, so shouldn't be next to someone for a kiss to start off.
Now, if she gets surrounded, and she goes around the horn hit/grapple/kiss to each target that's in range, that could be interesting...or just hit/grapple/kiss/release/rinse/repeat a single target would be extremely harsh.
Which still does not answer my original question about the Fungus Queen and her possible grappling.
She could send the tentacle through the sporepod, and the following round use a move action to go through the pod as she maintains the grapple with the tentacle. If the maintain was successful, then she'd be able to start the kiss to start the energy drain cycle. At least that's how I'd run it.
If all you want from the dip is a single feat, it's usually better to just spend a feat rather than dip (especially for a caster). It won't only mean you'll not get 6th level spells till 12th, but all of your other spells will be a level behind the curve as well.
If you want more than the feat, or the build makes some other sense for a backstory point of view, then sure dip away.
This is only my personal preference in this situation though.
Bob Jonquet wrote:
Yes...yes, I do. I don't know as I can, but definitely trying to finagle the time/finances for this one again. It ranks right up there with WYC as an enjoyable, comfortable local convention experience in my mind.
OH, I thought of one more thing. People with DR/magic treat their hands as magic attacks.
People with DR/Cold Iron treat their hands as cold iron attacks.
This, not so much. There's no baseline rule in place like this for the various metal DR's. It's just the DR/Magic and outsiders with an alignment subtype that count as something special towards DR in general.
Yes. A player playing a scenario for the first time has no choice but to receive a chronicle for the session.
A GM may choose to award credit to a character when he/she runs a scenario, but can only do so once (barring GM star recredit ability). They are under no obligation to ever take that chronicle if they do not want to, but if they do, it must be reported at the same time as the rest of the table (no saving it to randomly apply credit later).
The lance is using a 2 handed weapon being wielded in 1 hand. The weapon remains viewed as a 2 handed weapon.
The other is a 2 handed weapon that is able to be treated as a 1 handed weapon. Therefore, it only gives the 1 handed bonuses for things like STR and Power Attack.
It's highly pedantic parsing of the language IMO, but that's pretty much the difference.
Both City of Strangers scenarios are some of my favorites...
Quantum Steve wrote:
Sure. He qualifies for the feat as soon as he opens it up by selecting Rogue2 as the choice to level to at 3rd, and the feat gets chosen at the end of the leveling up process once you have all of your class abilities updated.