Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Svirfneblin

Sniggevert's page

Goblin Squad Member. Pathfinder Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Card Game Subscriber. FullStarFullStarFullStarFullStar Pathfinder Society GM. 2,178 posts (2,784 including aliases). 5 reviews. No lists. 1 wishlist. 12 Pathfinder Society characters. 4 aliases.


RSS

1 to 50 of 2,178 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | next > last >>
Taldor ****

Pathfinder Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Card Game Subscriber
Chris Bonnet wrote:

So on August 3 I have reserved space for Hero's Emporium.

It would be great if we could get snigg to run a 2 credit game such as a level of Thornkeep, thus gaining his 5th star.

Now we just need to get a scenario.

I am at 149 now...anything is fine;)

I had one more table this last weekend =p

Taldor

Pathfinder Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Card Game Subscriber

1)DC is the gap you jumped
2)Yes
3)You can continue if you have move left.
4)There's been some debate lately, but I read it as you make one check and that's how far your jump takes you. If you have further movement left, you could jump again.

Taldor ****

Pathfinder Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Card Game Subscriber
Brian Lefebvre wrote:
Sniggevert wrote:

This.

The PFS rebuild is rebuilding WHILE you are level 1. You aren't considered 2nd level until you hit the table with that level 2 character. So, if you wish to change out a feat that requires you to be 1st level, you still are.

Retraining using the Ult. Campaign rules only go into effect AFTER you are actually 2nd or higher levels. At that point in time, you are no longer 1st level and no longer qualify for feats that have to be taken at 1st level.

A character is level 2 when it has acquired 3 xp. A 3 xp character is eligible to make use of the level one retraining rule, even though it is level 2, until it is played at level 2.

Those level 2 characters with 3 xp are completely mutable because level 1 can be freely retrained, and the second level selections aren't locked it yet since the character had not been played.

That's not the distinction made in the Guide however.

The Guide wrote:


At the start of a Pathfinder’s career, you are allowed to
adjust your character before settling in for the long haul.
Before you level up a character for the first time, you
may change any aspect of it except its Pathfinder Society
Number. Changes may only be made between adventures
and before playing as a character above 1st level.
Any
exceptions will be noted in the Pathfinder Society FAQ.
You are able to keep all treasure, Prestige Points, special
boons, and XP that you have earned and apply them to the
character once you retrain as long as the character meets
the criteria above.

After 1st level, if you own a copy of Pathfinder RPG
Ultimate Campaign, you may use the retraining rules that
begin on page 188 to alter your character.
Such changes
must be made in the presence of a Pathfinder Society
GM, the GM must initial each change, and each change
must be noted on an official Pathfinder Society Chronicle
sheet. If the GM wishes to audit your character before the
changes are made, you must present the character to the
GM. If time is a limiting factor, the GM may choose not to
allow retraining during that session. When utilizing these
retraining rules, you must expend wealth as outlined in
the Retraining section of Ultimate Campaign, as well as
1 Prestige Point per day of retraining since time between
scenarios is undefined.

Before you level up your character and lock it in by playing, you can change ANYTHING except the PFS number. You are not considered to be 2nd level yet, because at the start of the 2nd paragraph we see what happens when you are.

If you were already considered 2nd level, then, by the Guide, you HAVE to start using the Ult. Campaign retrain rules, which is not what was intended.

Taldor ****

Pathfinder Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Card Game Subscriber
The Friendly Lich wrote:

But it officially is a season 5 scenario (5-99), isn't it?

Just wondering whether this is maybe intended as the last scenario you are going to play with your old faction.

OK...going back through the statements of Mike in the product thread, and it does appear you play it as your OLD faction. The are supposed to limit it to no more than 3 different factions of Taldor, Cheliax, Qadira, Osirion, Szcarni or Andoran at the same table though. It will be able to be run with just a single table playing (unlike most specials) as well.

LINK

Taldor ****

Pathfinder Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Card Game Subscriber

Well...who is using the cool expensive stuff? Normally, that's going to be the boss...who generally happens to be at the end.

Being a mook doesn't pay that well, so they don't get that much in terms of magical gear to use...

Taldor ****

Pathfinder Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Card Game Subscriber

The Scarab Sages is not a legal faction until Season 6 starts. They've given previews of the ideals of the factions, but not the resource for them.

EDIT:Paths We Choose comes out at GenCon, so it doesn't come out until season 6 starts... I'd assume you should play it for the faction you are choosing to belong to. Also, a number of factions are no longer going to be present...as they are changing like Osirion to Scarab Sages at that point.

Taldor

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Card Game Subscriber

The current campaign I'm playing in was Core Races only, and limited to Core/APG with the caveat of no summoners allowed. Our group was perfectly fine with that...as we're friends and we get together to hang out and play a game.

Making the choices limited doesn't really limit the imagination...just the mechanics.

Taldor ****

Pathfinder Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Card Game Subscriber
Entilzha wrote:
Rudy2 wrote:
Also, people really complain about a Clear Spindle Ioun Stone? The one that just makes it so you don't need food or water? For 4,000gp?
The Ioun Stone isn't by itself what some people complain about, I suspect. But rather, when put into a Wayfinder, the resonance ability is to give you a constant Protection from Evil effect.

This...it's only the protection against mental control part, but that neuters a number of powerful options against the low will fighter/barbarian types.

Taldor ****

Pathfinder Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Card Game Subscriber
Fromper wrote:
Since I was planning to make this an ongoing RP quirk for my fighter/chef (he'll cook ANYTHING), I thought I'd ask the question before I play him again. What do the rest of you think? More important, what does campaign management (who I'm sure won't have time to look at this until at least a couple of weeks after GenCon) think?

In regards to the cannibalism, Mike has gone on record stating that drinking the blood of a fallen intelligent humanoid is an evil act, is it really all that far of a stretch to assume that eating the body would be too? (The drinking of the blood is why blood transcription was removed from play.)

In regards to the beheading of corpses, that's probably going to be more of a table to table thing. It made the table (and GM) uncomfortable, so evil or not stepping back was the right call. If the table and/or GM is against something like that, and going ahead it's not going to necessarily be wrong due to being evil, but breaking the underlying rule of don't be a... Not saying you would, as obviously you went along with the table, but just as a general sense of why it might be cool, even if it's not called out as evil.

Some tables may have no qualms with the medieval style warning left for the bandits, and that's fine too. I personally, don't think I'd have an issue with it...unless it appeared to be causing dissent or unease at the table.

Taldor ****

Pathfinder Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Card Game Subscriber
TriOmegaZero wrote:
Brian Lefebvre wrote:
A player could say the same thing about retraining their level 1 feat, while using the Ultimate Campaign retraining rules, to take Fey Foundling as his level 1 feat.
PFS rebuild and Ultimate Campaign retraining are two separate things.

This.

The PFS rebuild is rebuilding WHILE you are level 1. You aren't considered 2nd level until you hit the table with that level 2 character. So, if you wish to change out a feat that requires you to be 1st level, you still are.

Retraining using the Ult. Campaign rules only go into effect AFTER you are actually 2nd or higher levels. At that point in time, you are no longer 1st level and no longer qualify for feats that have to be taken at 1st level.

Taldor ****

Pathfinder Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Card Game Subscriber

Thod,

If you wanted, and if Chris can get a table at Gametime on Sunday, I'd be glad to run something for your and your son. Just name a scenario and I'll get it ready for then. Unless, it truly is the one scenario you really want to play, I'd like to avoid "The Stranger Within" as I'm playing that at Scotties.

If not, I'll be running Cairn of Shadows on the 10th at Sage's Shoppe in West Lafayette if you'd like to drop in. It's a slight trek from Indy, but not too bad (about an hour to hour and a half).

EDIT:I can't second Greg's mention of the Children's Museum enough either. Currently, they have the terracotta warriors from China (only US stop for them in '14) and currently the world' most complete mummified dinosaur if you have interest in those sorts of things.

Taldor

Pathfinder Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Card Game Subscriber
HolyMagician wrote:
I don't know why you wouldn't want the base set in your subscription as it is a bit cheaper even with shipping than buying the base set at your local game store. Also you don't have to cancel and then resubscribe. My 2 cents.

That depends if shipping, handling, and import taxes end up doubling (or more) the cost of the base set for you...as is evidently the case for some of the international subscribers.

Taldor ****

Pathfinder Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Card Game Subscriber
Jeff Merola wrote:
cartmanbeck wrote:
Sniggevert wrote:
Imbicatus wrote:
If you don't have the boon, you can't use the section of the book for restricted races. This applies to traits, feats, equipment, and spells.

Close, except this tidbit.

AR wrote:
Racial equipment and magic items can be purchased and used by any race as long as the specific item permits it (for example, only halflings can purchase and use solidsmoke pipeweed).
Just because it says in the book that they're available to everyone doesn't mean they're available to everyone in PFS. You must still have a copy of a race boon for Undines before you can use Undine-specific equipment. That's how it's written in additional resources.
Uh, that's a quote from the Additional Resource page, not the Advanced Race Guide.

This.

The AR says you can buy and use any racial equipment or magic items as long as the equipment itself isn't limited by race in the equipment's text.

Taldor ****

Pathfinder Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Card Game Subscriber
Imbicatus wrote:
If you don't have the boon, you can't use the section of the book for restricted races. This applies to traits, feats, equipment, and spells.

Close, except this tidbit.

AR wrote:
Racial equipment and magic items can be purchased and used by any race as long as the specific item permits it (for example, only halflings can purchase and use solidsmoke pipeweed).

Taldor ****

Pathfinder Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Card Game Subscriber
wellsmv wrote:
LINK

More specifically, no. You do not have access to items from those races without a boon, as mentioned on the AR with respect to the Adv. Race Guide.

Taldor ****

Pathfinder Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Card Game Subscriber
Tony Lindman wrote:
Fromper wrote:
You're right. I misread that part. It's only the character you apply it to that counts for not being able to play the pregen, not all your PCs. But I've still seen people play pregens instead of their own characters on a few occasions when they could have played their PC, in violation of this rule.

You may still be misreading ... you can play a pregen even if your own character is legal for the table. You simply cannot then give the chronicle to that character, you must give it to a character below the level of the scenario you played.

Example: I want to play #9-99 Death by Pie, a tier 5-9. I have my -1 character, Bob, at level 5, and my -2 character, Joe, at level 3.

I can play Bob.
I can play a level 7 pregen and apply it to Joe, held until level 7.
I can play a level 7 pregen and apply it to my as-yet nonexistent -3 character, reducing the gold to 500.

I cannot play a pregen and apply it to Bob, as Bob could have played it.

Does that make sense?

Actually, you CAN apply it to Bob, even though Bob is in tier for the scenario, because Bob is not already the level of the pre-gen (i.e. 7th). You have to hold the chronicle till Bob hits 7th, instead of applying it right now as would happen if Bob actually played through the scenario instead of, say, Kyra...

Taldor ****

Pathfinder Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Card Game Subscriber
TobiasBlues wrote:
Yeah I understand the fact that i need enough Fame to be able to purchase it, I should have enough with 9 fame at the moment and getting close to finishing another game. Was just checking my math to make sure that I had the cost right, so I had enough fame.

Oh, I assumed you had that one straightened out. Those responses were towards Vrog...at least mine was.

Taldor ****

Pathfinder Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Card Game Subscriber
Fromper wrote:

Wow. I never noticed that. So you're not allowed to play with a level 4 or 7 pregen just to use a different character than your own, if you have one in that level range.

Among other things, this means that someone with a level 10+ character and no characters in the 5-9 range can't play 5-9 adventures with a level 7 pregen and apply it to a lower level character.

Given that I've seen this done dozens of times (quite possibly over 100), and there were venture-officers at many of those tables, I'd say this qualifies as one of the most misunderstood rules in PFS. But as SCPRedMage points out, it's right there in the Guide. Most of us just never read it and payed that much attention.

No...it means you can't play a 5-9 with a level 7 pregen and apply the credit to a character of yours that is level 7 or higher, as you should have been playing that character if you wanted that character to have the scenario credit.

You are still free to apply it to a level 1 character, or hold it for a level 1-6 character that you have though.

EDIT: Edited to correct level range of characters...

Taldor ****

Pathfinder Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Card Game Subscriber
Kyle Baird wrote:
Assassin was around $500. Catfolk was like $350? Wayfinders were under $100, maybe even closer to $50.

I thought the base ones were between 1~2, ah well...was ballparking, as was running a game while they were announcing, so distracted at the time.

Taldor ****

Pathfinder Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Card Game Subscriber
DrakeRoberts wrote:
What price range did the various boons see?

I think it ranged from just a couple hundred to 6~8 hundred for the assassin I believe it was.

Taldor ****

Pathfinder Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Card Game Subscriber
Dhjika wrote:
Sniggevert wrote:
David Bowles wrote:

" pouncing monstrosity with 11 attacks,"

The eidolon table prevents this from being legal.

It prevents it from gaining 11 NATURAL attacks...quadreped with multiple limb,arms evolutions could pull it off I bet.

I had a 5th level summoner with 6 sword attacks this past weekend.

I find most summoners conveniently forget that their natural weapons become secondary weapons when they use a actual weapon - less to hit (even with multiattack) and a lot less to damage.

The one mentioned that was brought to my table did have horrendous chances to hit, so he might have been taking the right -6/-10 (or -4/-8 for light weapons) on the attacks. I want to say his first attack ended up at +1, and the others all at -3 to hit...he just wanted a chance to look fearsome I think.

Of course, he didn't get the chance to do a single full attack with his eidolon that scenario...

Taldor ****

Pathfinder Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Card Game Subscriber
Mark Stratton wrote:
Vrog Skyreaver wrote:
if you take a look at the Guide to organized play, in chapter 5 under the section on buying equipment, you will see that Dragonhide is not on the always available list, meaning that you would need access from an AR to buy it.
Isn't Dragonhide in the CRB? If so, as long as his fame score is high enough to cover the cost, he can purchase it.

Yeah, it's not always available, but can be purchased if you have enough fame to unlock it.

Taldor ****

Pathfinder Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Card Game Subscriber
FLite wrote:
Majuba wrote:

You could change the spell selection of cleric/druid, or wizard from spells in his spellbook.

I don't think the wizards spellbook is listed on his sheet, so that might be pretty hard.

It's there...it's just not...extensive, shall we say?

Taldor ****

Pathfinder Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Card Game Subscriber

Congratulations Greg!

Taldor ****

Pathfinder Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Card Game Subscriber
James McTeague wrote:
The problem is that they don't order their maps to that scale - for some of the larger ones it would be prohibitively expensive.

This. They don't do it for pretty much ANY of their products due to the costs.

The Emerald Spire, Thornkeep and Crypt of the Everflame are the only notable exceptions that I know of off the top of my head. They were all very special circumstances. The first two were for online game kickstarters to rally in donations for the MMORPG they're getting going, and the other was the initial module created to introduce players to Pathfinder when it first came out.

If the cartographers make the maps the size you're asking, then Paizo has to pay for that extra detail work.

Taldor

Pathfinder Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Card Game Subscriber
LazarX wrote:
Sniggevert wrote:
So, yes, IMO, maintaining the performance is always a free action and it does not HAVE to be the same performance as originated (though I'd say the same basic type audible or visual). They could start with a violin solo, and then drop the bow in the second round, but maintain with a rallying song as he drew a weapon and attacked or cast a spell at a musical break (again music is just a free action and fluff)...but all in all still a non-rolled use of a skill as I read it.
But if you actually swapped instruments, the instrument swap itself would be at least a move action.

If you wished to draw a different instrument to maintain the performance, or use it for something else, then yes it would follow the normal rules for drawing equipment.

However, the "performance" being maintained can be ANY performance, so you can snap your fingers, click your heels, whistle a tune, even just give a simply rallying shout to keep it going. If you're doing more than the background maintain, then you pay for those actions separately.

Taldor

Pathfinder Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Card Game Subscriber

Here's a couple of newer posts by James on the subject (bards are one of his favorites...mine too =p):

James Jacobs wrote:

LINK-

Tels wrote:

Audible or visible components. It's one or the other. So if your Bard is a dancer, they need to see him, but if he's a singer (or plays an instrument), they need to hear him.

Technically, no performance is actually made, but when a Bard is played at my table, I require them to tell me what they're doing for their performance. Most of the Bards are singers, so they say something like, "I'm singing a battle hymn" or something to that effect.

Usually, the audible performance is the most effective one. Darkness, smoke, fogs, walls etc, can all interrupt a visible performance and prevent a player from being affected. Only distance and Silence (or thick walls) will really stop the audible performances.

Also, note that to do that, you don't actually need any ranks in ANY perform skills. There are actually only a VERY FEW bardic performances that require Perform checks, but even those don't require ranks in a performance—they merely require checks.

When a bard activates a bardic performance, he must decide if it's an audio or visual performance—one or the other. It's certainly cool to include what KIND of performance you're doing, be it song or dance or flute or comedy, but that element falls under the aegis of roleplay, not rules.

James Jacobs wrote:
Bards-It's actually up to the player to decide whether his bardic performance is auditory or visual. The TYPE of performance, be it debate or song or belly dancing or card tricks or horn playing or jokes or insults is 100% flavor for most bardic performances since the performance isn't actually tied to a Perform check in most cases.

So, yes, IMO, maintaining the performance is always a free action and it does not HAVE to be the same performance as originated (though I'd say the same basic type audible or visual). They could start with a violin solo, and then drop the bow in the second round, but maintain with a rallying song as he drew a weapon and attacked or cast a spell at a musical break (again music is just a free action and fluff)...but all in all still a non-rolled use of a skill as I read it.

EDIT:
And yes, relax Lazarx. Question and discussion is fine, as long as you can keep from being rude or condescending about it. Sheesh.

Taldor

Pathfinder Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Card Game Subscriber
Zark wrote:
Problem is the Bard class is loaded with rules text that could be read as flavor text and the other way around. James's post above shows that pretty clearly and so does the VP ability.

Nothing in James' text says it's not using the skill, just that you don't have to roll a die to make a check in most instances.

Singing, bragging, taunting, dancing, etc.(as mentioned in James' post) are all forms of performance based on the Perform skill which can be used by ANYONE, even the most non-charismatic schlub you can find. There's no DC to meet, or base need to use more than your body or vocals to use the bardic performance. That's not to say you can't use an instrument, or do an operatic solo with full dress costume, to affect those around you, but you don't have to.

Another thing to take into account is the type of performance you're doing in general terms. Some are visual (dancing, acting, possibly comedy) and some are solely audible (singing, oratory, instrumentals) and the area of effect of the various performances are limited by these and other environmental factors (lighting, background noise, etc). Visuals will effect party members as long as they can see you for inspire courage. So, if you go around a corner in a dungeon while the bard is dancing in the back row, you'd lose that benefit. However, if he was telling a rousing tale, it would be limited to how far away you could hear him. It makes deaf oracles difficult to inspire this way, and causes thunderstones and the silence spell to become effective ways of interfering.

Versatile performance is another issue all together. It doesn't say you use the Perform skill to in place of those other skills. It says that when you use the linked skills that you CAN use the bonus you have in your Perform skill in place of the bonus you have in that actual skill. This is a complete OOC metagaming ability, that has no real reasonable explanation (IMO) outside of trying to give the bards some extra versatility while synergizing with one of the classes general strong suits.

Taldor ****

Pathfinder Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Card Game Subscriber
Kyle Baird wrote:

I miss when liberating command was only in Andoran, Spirits of Liberty. Made an awesome spell to see. Now it's pretty commonplace.

Hey, at least now I can have NPCs prep it.

And more should...these tools should definitely be used against the well stocked adventurer.

Taldor ****

Pathfinder Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Card Game Subscriber
David Bowles wrote:

" pouncing monstrosity with 11 attacks,"

The eidolon table prevents this from being legal.

It prevents it from gaining 11 NATURAL attacks...quadreped with multiple limb,arms evolutions could pull it off I bet.

I had a 5th level summoner with 6 sword attacks this past weekend.

Taldor

Pathfinder Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Card Game Subscriber
Zhayne wrote:
Not really. If you're not rolling a die, then you aren't using a skill. This seems completely obvious to me. Don't confuse flavor text with rules text.
PRD on Bards wrote:
Bardic Performance: A bard is trained to use the Perform skill to create magical effects on those around him, including himself if desired.

First line of the ability in question. Yes, you use the Perform skill to use bardic performance.

Rolling not required for many of the performances, but it is for some (ex. countersong. Either way, it's the same base ability and requires using a skill (that anyone can use untrained).

Taldor ****

Pathfinder Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Card Game Subscriber
Quinn Hornblower wrote:
trollbill wrote:
I am also very fond of liberating command. It's a 'save someone's butt' spell that gets used almost every time I play one of my characters that can cast it.

Indeed! Best of all is that it's an immediate action to cast. :)

And allows an immediate action to the recipient as well...I like to double down and cast grease first to make it a big boost for those tanks in armor and no training of Escape Artist and a hefty ACP.

Taldor ****

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Card Game Subscriber
nosig wrote:
Zach Williams wrote:

Planar Weapon Enchant from UE:

A planar weapon is effective against all types of extradimensional beings, able to pierce their resistance to physical harm. When used to attack outsiders, a planar weapon ignores 5 points of their damage reduction.

+1 Enchant Cost

Also, as BNW said, my archer only ever buys Cold Iron Arrows. Next Level she will only buy Silver Arrows (Lanternbearer treats all weapons as cold iron at level 2).

silver arrows do 1 point less in damage don't they?

Yeah, and they cost more than buying silver blanch and applying it to arrows. You can coat 10 arrows for 5 GP for the blanch, vs. an extra 20GP to have them made of alchemical silver.

Taldor ****

Pathfinder Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Card Game Subscriber

Looks correct to me.

Taldor ****

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Card Game Subscriber
kinevon wrote:
CanisDirus wrote:
Just a tiny request, to put statblocks in formats other than herolab, for the people who don't use it. Thanks very much, all, for prepping all of this!

Um. HeroLab stat blocks use the PF standard formatting.

And, I am fairly sure, the person who said he is going to use stat blocks exported form HeroLab is either going to export them in PDF or text format, so that the user won't need HeroLab.

I believe last year some of the stat blocks were just available in .POR files is what he's requesting not happen.

Taldor ****

Pathfinder Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Card Game Subscriber
Bart W. Bailey wrote:
Bob Jonquet wrote:

Seems fairly clear. If you have the option to rebuild after the deadline it can only be to rebuild out of aasimar/tiefling into something else, but not vice versa. That would include retraining any blood heritages.

Remember folks, we shouldn't have to rule every single possible corner-case. Stick to the spirit of the expectation and you'll be fine.

Under normal circumstances I would agree with you but I don't see this as normal circumstances. We have two opposing schools of thought. The first wants to make as many Planetouched in the next few weeks as they believe are are appropriate. The other school wants to enforce a limit on everyone they believe is appropriate. Both schools see the spirit of the ruling differently.

With this in mind we need things spelled out very clearly for the next few weeks. So on the Racial Heritage rebuild. RAI I am inclined to say rebuilding in to different Racial Heritages would count as rebuilding in to a prohibited race. RAW I would say a racial heritage is different thing than a race and it allowed.

In the absence of a clarification I will let people interpret however they want as it pertains to their characters. I see that as the spirit of the ruling.

John clarified yesterday. It is linked up thread.

Taldor ****

Pathfinder Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Card Game Subscriber
Eldrad Mordon wrote:
It's looking like the morning slot is having the most issues. It's a shame they limited the amount of tables in the evening that seems to be a time of more interest for most players.

Most likely the time when more folks are getting in to town for GenCon and wanting dinner as well though. They were PACKED last year when businesses around the downtown area started getting off around 4~5ish. I'm talking line out the door and waitlisting for a table.

They need those tables for dining customers, rather than gamers who are snacking/drinking while gaming over 4~5 hours.

Taldor ****

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Card Game Subscriber
Akerlof wrote:
Kyle Baird wrote:
Akerlof wrote:
What do we gain from this ruling?
A shake-up in the mix of commonly played races.
Already got that from the initial announcement. This new ruling limiting what's eligible for grandfathering doesn't have any real impact on the diversity of races being played.

This announcement also brought on this nearly 700 post thread, and multiple other threads debating what is and what is not acceptable for grandfathering, and what is and is not legal. In light of all the back and forth, they discussed the situation and decided to give some guidelines so that it makes thing smoother at the table when asked what is legal and what is not.

I think it could have been a bit more openended, but in the long run, a lot of folks were asking for clarification, and now we have it.

That, IMO, is what we gain from this ruling.

Taldor ****

Pathfinder Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Card Game Subscriber

It was overlooked when the AR was updated, and should be added soon.

However, since you now have a post from Mike on the subject, you can print and use that in place of the AR to utilize the option till it gets added to the full AR page.

Taldor

Pathfinder Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Card Game Subscriber

Kingmaker book #5 had some fast and loose rules for a tournament.

I just skimmed the hardbacks, and it doesn't look like that subrule system made it into any of the books that I could tell though.

Taldor ****

Pathfinder Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Card Game Subscriber
w01fe01 wrote:

a friend told me that the agile weapon property can be used in PFS even by a player that only possesses the core assumption.

i cannot find this ruling anywhere, it would affect how i build my first PFS character (using agile maneuvers at level 1 then getting a agile weapn property at level 5 if i could afford it)

Your friend is half right.

You can use the Agile Weapon property in PFS.

You can NOT use it without the appropriate Additional Resource (Pathfinder's Field Guide I believe, and maybe the Ult Equipment)

Taldor ****

Pathfinder Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Card Game Subscriber
Jiggy wrote:
Sniggevert wrote:
An ogre would have 8 squares (cubes really) that it occupies if we look at it from a 3D perspective, whereas the fighter only occupies 1 square(cube). I'm assuming it's looking at one of the top row of squares the ogre occupies (in the 5-10 ft. range), and if you choose one of the top corners of those and look to the top corners of the wizard, nothing would oppose it.
Cover wrote:
To determine whether your target has cover from your ranged attack, choose a corner of your square. If any line from this corner to any corner of the target's square passes through a square or border that blocks line of effect or provides cover, or through a square occupied by a creature, the target has cover (+4 to AC).

You choose one of your own corners, but have to draw lines to EVERY corner of the target's square. If ANY are obstructed, there's cover.

So going 3D doesn't negate the cover either.

Good point.

Taldor ****

Pathfinder Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Card Game Subscriber

Congrats TOZ! Maybe next time you're at Origins I'll have a chance to sit at your table this time.

Taldor ****

Pathfinder Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Card Game Subscriber
Jiggy wrote:


Big Creatures and Cover wrote:
Any creature with a space larger than 5 feet (1 square) determines cover against melee attacks slightly differently than smaller creatures do. Such a creature can choose any square that it occupies to determine if an opponent has cover against its melee attacks. Similarly, when making a melee attack against such a creature, you can pick any of the squares it occupies to determine if it has cover against you.

Okay, so the ogre gets to pick which of his squares he uses to determine if the wizard has cover. Still nothing about ignoring cover. The only other subheading of cover that seems potentially relevant would be...

My guess is this part.

An ogre would have 8 squares (cubes really) that it occupies if we look at it from a 3D perspective, whereas the fighter only occupies 1 square(cube). I'm assuming it's looking at one of the top row of squares the ogre occupies (in the 5-10 ft. range), and if you choose one of the top corners of those and look to the top corners of the wizard, nothing would oppose it.

I don't run it that way, but I can see that as being a possible interpretation.

Taldor ****

Pathfinder Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Card Game Subscriber

Time/scene permitting is more or less if your characters have to flee town/leave the corpse behind, whatever might possibly happen in game that it wouldn't make sense to be able to have access to the body (or other problem) to make the attempt. This will probably rarely be an issue.

As long as the scenario's done, and it's peacefully resolved, able to collect remains, etc., then certainly you can use it. If a cleric party member could cast raise dead, you would have the opportunity to use your mercy.

OOC, that would be fine by me in bargaining. In character for a paladin of such mercy, it would be odd. That said, if a character dies during a scenario, and it's not straight up their fault IMO, I always offer to pony up a share of raise dead/restoration.

Taldor ****

Pathfinder Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Card Game Subscriber

It appears to be legal from the Additional Resources, so yes.

Add. Resources Ult. Magic wrote:
Feats: Blighted Critical, Create Reliquary Arms and Shield, Create Sanguine Elixir are not legal for play.

And, yes you can use this at the end of a session to raise the dead (time/scene permitting).

The "stringent" part is more trying to balance item acquisition levels, not making it harder to fix yourself/teammates. They actually prefer if folks do try and function as a team and help out others recover from such setbacks, as spellcasting services is the only time money is allowed to be pooled for a purchase in PFS.

Taldor ****

Pathfinder Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Card Game Subscriber
Andrew Christian wrote:
Iron Giant wrote:
SCPRedMage wrote:
Iron Giant wrote:
If you want an almost guaranteed rules debate, try going into stealth using an ally for cover, then move straight to a non-flanking position for a flat-footed sneak attack.
Yeah, starting your turn off by doing something the rules explicitly call out as not working tends to cause people to point that out..

I suppose that was a bit ambiguous. The soft cover stealth part is the catch, but otherwise it's legal as far as I can tell. I use it as an example because 1) the stealth with soft cover catch is strangely buried under the main heading "cover and attacks of opportunity" in the pfsrd, while the CRB places it under "soft cover" rather than "cover and stealth checks". In other words, it can be hard to find even if you're looking for it. 2) the stealth rules have been changed in an errata, so even if someone did know them, they might not now. 3) said errata is ambiguous, so you have to actually dig up a post on here by Jason Bulmahn to verify that yes, you can sneak attack from stealth.

Soft cover does not disallow attacks of opportunity, nor can you use soft cover to stealth.

I agree with the stealth, as it is called out specifically as not permitting it (and no bonus to reflex saves unlike normal cover).

However, soft cover gives no mention of not being cover for their interactions with AoO's...why would they not prevent them like all other forms of cover?

Taldor ****

Pathfinder Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Card Game Subscriber
Charon's Little Helper wrote:
You can only re-spend money from your original 150gp. If your fighter already bought a masterwork greatsword and you change him to a wizard - it's going to be a wizard with a masterwork greatsword.

Really? Why is that?

The Guide wrote:

Character Retraining

Pathfinder Society is all about player choices and living
with those choices once you’ve made them. However, there
is a method for allowing you to change your character
through a process of retraining.

At the start of a Pathfinder’s career, you are allowed to
adjust your character before settling in for the long haul.
Before you level up a character for the first time, you
may change any aspect of it except its Pathfinder Society
Number. Changes may only be made between adventures
and before playing as a character above 1st level. Any
exceptions will be noted in the Pathfinder Society FAQ.
You are able to keep all treasure, Prestige Points, special
boons, and XP that you have earned and apply them to the
character once you retrain as long as the character meets
the criteria above.

Taldor ****

Pathfinder Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Card Game Subscriber

XP is always the same, regardless of scenario is part of the reason it's not included. You do NOT have to succeed at either the primary or secondary mission to obtain XP.

The Guide wrote:

Step 3: Award the character XP based on his

advancement track. A PC may receive XP only if he
survives the scenario or is raised from the dead by
the scenario’s conclusion and completed at least
three encounters over the course of the adventure
.
A character using the standard advancement track
earns 1 XP; a character on the slow advancement
track earns 1/2 XP. Mark this value in the shaded XP
Gained field and initial the adjacent box (H).

In the example you gave:

Spoiler:
1. A1: Dangerous Path
2. B1: Simple Exercise
3. B3: Aroden's Vision
4. B4: Undead End
5. B5: Denizens of the Deep
6. B6: Tight Spaces
7. C: Final Exam
:are all encounters. You only need to encounter and survive an interaction with 3 or those 7 to gain your XP point.

Taldor ****

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Card Game Subscriber
Andrew Christian wrote:

It also says that GM's may apply credit like players.

Just because in that particular paragraph it doesn't specifically say it, doesn't mean you can't.

You gotta take the entire section in context with itself. Not read each paragraph as a separate entity.

No it doesn't. It actually spells out how GM credit is DIFFERENT than player credit.

The Guide wrote:


Game Master Rewards
In Pathfinder Society Organized Play, we reward GMs for
volunteering their time to run events. Starting with Version
2.2 of this document (and not retroactive to any previous
scenarios that were run), any GM who runs a scenario
gets full credit for that scenario applied to one of her own
characters. “Full credit” means the GM gets the following:
1 XP for the scenario, 100% of the Max Gold for the subtier
most appropriate to the GM’s PC, and 2 PP (or, for a slow
advancement track character, 1/2 XP, 1 PP, and 50% of the
Max Gold for the subtier most appropriate to the GM’s PC).

The GM may select any special boons bestowed by a
Chronicle sheet, such as free magical treasure, regional
boons, or future bonus die rolls. The GM does not get a Day
Job check. If the GM previously received partial credit on a
Chronicle sheet for a scenario she ran (using the old reward
system), she must keep the partial credit and cannot run the
scenario again for full credit on a second Chronicle sheet.

Additionally, there is limited replay allowed depending
on the number of GM stars earned (see page 20).

The subtier for which a GM’s character receives credit
depends on the character’s level. If a GM with a 1st-level
rogue runs a Tier 1–5 scenario using Subtier 1–2, she
takes a Subtier 1–2 Chronicle sheet for her 1st-level rogue.
If she instead runs a Tier 1–5 scenario using Subtier 4–5,
she still takes a Subtier 1–2 Chronicle sheet, as her PC
clearly falls within the lower subtier.

If the GM with a low-level character runs any higher
tier scenarios that don’t include a subtier for her 1st-level
rogue, she takes the lowest subtier Chronicle sheet from
that scenario and holds it for her PC. Then, once her PC
achieves the appropriate level for that Chronicle sheet, it is
immediately applied. For example, if a GM with a 1st-level
rogue runs a Tier 5–9 scenario, she would take a Subtier
5–6 Chronicle sheet (the lowest subtier for that tier) for
running the scenario and set it aside. Once her rogue
reaches 5th level, she can immediately apply the Chronicle
sheet to her character. This means that GMs’ characters
can potentially level up in bursts.

Should a GM receive a Chronicle sheet that indicates her
character is between subtiers (for example, if she runs a Tier
1–5 scenario but gives a 3rd-level character the Chronicle
sheet), she must always receive the Out-of-Subtier gold
value. This rule is meant to balance the fact that the GM’s
character doesn’t have to expend any resources or risk death
while gaining a Chronicle sheet for running a scenario.

When you choose to take a Chronicle sheet for GM credit,
you must decide which of your characters receives the
Chronicle sheet when you fill out the tracking sheet for that
table. You must apply Chronicle sheets in the order they are
received. The only exception is when you hold a higher-tier
Chronicle for a lower-tier character. In either case, you do
not need to build the character until you actually play it.

Bolded the relevant paragraph for GM credit. By the way, that is the entire section, so if you can point out the section saying it's treated like a pre-gen that might help.

1 to 50 of 2,178 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | next > last >>

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.