Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Wil Save

SlimGauge's page

Goblin Squad Member. RPG Superstar 6 Season Star Voter. Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber. Pathfinder Society Member. 2,977 posts. No reviews. 5 lists. 1 wishlist. 3 Pathfinder Society characters. 1 alias.

15 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

This thread is intended to cosolidate Questions about the Weapon Special Ability (WSA) "Training"

Reference threads:
Gauntlets with Training Echantment [sic]
Training "Drawn and In Hand"
Training Enchantment Qualifying for Feats

Training from D20PFSRD:
Training WSA

Bane FAQ:
Bane FAQ

This WSA appears in Pathfinder Campaign Setting Inner Sea Intrigue on page 52. It is a +1 equivalent.

"a training weapon grants one combat feat to the wielder as long as the weapon is drawn and in hand."

Does this mean that weapons that are not held in a hand (such as Boot Blades, Boulder Helmets, and Armor Spikes) are unable to use this WSA ?

Does this mean that weapons that occupy a hand but are not directly held (such as Gauntlets, Spiked Gauntlets, Cestus, and Shield Spikes) are unable to use this WSA ?

Does the Training WSA work like the Defending WSA in that the weapon must actually be USED for the WSA to function ?

[added per James, below] "Can I put this [Training WSA(improved initiative)] on my offhand dagger I'll never use to attack to gain improved initiative to use my scimitar to attack?"

The WSA rules state "Weapons cannot possess the same special ability more than once.". The Bane WSA FAQ allows that multiple instances of the Bane WSA can be applied.

Is an instance of the Training WSA for feat "A" and an instance of the Training WSA for feat "B" allowable on the same weapon ?

If so, and feat A is a pre-requisite for feat B, will they both function ?

[edited to add Jame's question]

Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

This situation came up in last night's game.

A dragon with flyby and grab swoops down, bites the party barbarian (triggering grab), successfully grapples the barbarian in its jaws and begins to fly off, casting quickened invisibility as it does so (to avoid being shot full of arrows by the party zen archer).

The dragon is invisible, but is the barbarian still visible ?

The following turn, since the roll to maintain the grapple is an "attack", the dragon will become visible again ?

Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

The enemy has Blink up.

The elven wizard could attack this enemy with his longbow, but he would have a 50% miss chance. He could cast Magic Missile (a force effect that can hit ethereal creatures) and only have a 20% miss chance.

If he casts See Invisible, his longbow attack would only have a 20% miss chance and his magic missile attack would have no miss chance.

Correct ?

Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

The Dungeoneer's Handbook on page 24 is a Key-wound Rattler. Am I missing the craft DC and the requirements, or does it simply not have any ? If they are missing, what would a reasonable proposal for them to my DM be ?

It's not a wondrous item. It doesn't even appear to be magical. Just Craft(clockwork) ?

Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

A Sorceror and a Wizard want to cooperate to create a Page of Spell Knowledge.

The sorceror has Craft Wondrous Item. The wizard knows Color Spray. Color Spray is a first level spell, so this is going to be a first level Page of Spell Knowledge with a price of 1000 and a cost of 500.

Since neither one has the feat Cooperative Crafting, one of them will be considered the crafter and it will take the normal amount of time. Since the sorceror is the one with Craft Wondrous Item, he is considered the crafter.

Since Color Spray could be cast by a first level wizard, the minimum caster level for the Page is CL1. If the Page is created with CL1, would this limit a sorceror who uses the page to casting Color Spray at CL1, regardless of the sorceror's actual caster level ?

The DC of the spellcraft check that the Sorceror must make is 5 + the CL of the item. If it can be created with a CL of 1, then that's a DC of 6. Can you take 10 on craft checks or does the possibility of ruining your materials preclude that ? If instead the Page must be created at CL17, then that's a DC of 22. Can the wizard "aid another" on this skill check if he's also providing the spell ? If the wizard is unavailable, the sorceror can do this alone by increasing the DC by 5 ?

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate. 2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

A Swashbuckler wants to use an Aldori Dueling Sword. This sword is a slashing weapon, not a piercing weapon, so this cannot normally be done.

There is a feat, Slashing Strike, that would allow him to do this. There is also a feat, Dueling Mastery, that has similar language. This feat is from the Inner Sea World Guide, but since it predates the Swashbuckler, it only references duelist.

If this character wants to multi-class magus AND duelist, does he need BOTH feats to use his Aldori Dueling Sword for everything ?

Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Are there archetypes/options that do this ?

I'm looking for the challenge feature without the (wasted in this campaign) mount features. The GM has prohibited eastern themed stuff, so no samurai sword saints. What are my other options ?

Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I have a support bard in a party with a superstitious barbarian (a barbarian with the superstition rage power).

We all know that he has to resist "friendly" spells such as the cleric's healing and the wizard's haste. But what about spells with no save, specifically Moment of Greatness ? Does "Saving Throw (none)" mean that the barbarian can't resist the spell, even when superstition forces him to ?

I just accepted the DM's ruling at the time that the barbarian attempts a save anyway (and succeeded, of course, because it's a low level spell), but I'd like to know for the next time.

6 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

The present Search box on the left-hand side has a drop-down list that defaults to "Everything". The other options are


I would like to request an addition to this list, FAQS. This would let me search the collective FAQ tabs instead of having to go through each one individually.

Thank you.

Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I am attending GenCon. I intend to bring my kickstarter boon and hope to find another person so that we get to choose the result.

I have a character with a 7 strength and low light vision. I'm trying to decide between

Elemental Bond (Water/Musculature): Treat your Strength score as 2 points higher when determining your carrying capacity.


Reflective Retinas: You gain low-light vision. If you already have low-light vision, you now see three times as far in conditions of dim light.

Opinions ?

Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Does locate object need a line of effect to the object sought, or does it find the object through solid rock up to a depth of its maximum range ?

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.
Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

The Kensai archetype for the Magus gets an ability called Iaijutsu Focus.

Iaijutsu Focus wrote:
Iaijutsu Focus (Ex): At 13th level, a kensai may always act and may draw his weapon as a swift action during a surprise round, though he is considered flat-footed until he acts. During a surprise round or when attacking a flat-footed opponent, he adds his Intelligence modifier on damage with his chosen weapon (minimum 0). This ability replaces heavy armor.

This ability references the surprise round.

Surprise Round wrote:
The Surprise Round: If some but not all of the combatants are aware of their opponents, a surprise round happens before regular rounds begin. In initiative order (highest to lowest), combatants who started the battle aware of their opponents each take a standard or move action during the surprise round. You can also take free actions during the surprise round. If no one or everyone is surprised, no surprise round occurs.

You don't get a swift action in the surprise round. I can't find anything in the rules allowing you to "trade down" either a move or a standard action for a swift action at any time, surprise round or not.

How in the world does a Kensai use this extraordinary ability ? Did I miss an errata/FAQ ?

Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Sometimes the vote buttons do not appear at the bottom at all. Sometimes they appear but the countdown does not so that they stay greyed out forever.

It seems (but may not be so) to happen more often if I shift page focus away to a different window or tab within the same window instead of waiting for the new page to load after completing voting on the previous item pairing.

If I reload the page, I have to select the "retry" choice and then I'll get the countdown timer and am able to continue voting.

Using Windows Internet Explorer 9 (not by choice) Version 9.0.8112.16421

Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I love HeroLabs. But sometimes it drives me crazy.

Before I open a bug report with Hero Lab, I want to be sure this works the way I think it works.

Human Monk; archetype = Master of Many Styles

Human bonus feat: Dodge
First level character feat: Crane Style
First level monk bonus feat: Crane Wing (may ignore BAB/monk level requirement due to MoMS)
Second level monk bonus feat: Dragon Style (may ignore 3 rank Acrobatics prerequisite due to MoMS)
Third level character feat: Snake Style
Fifth level character feat: Combat Reflexes

Sixth level monk bonus feat: Snake Fang (this is where HeroLab doesn't allow this choice from the Monk bonus feat list)

Seventh level character feat: Crane Riposte

MoMS should let this monk take Snake Fang (skipping the Snake Sidewind and 9 ranks sense motive prerequisites) as his sixth level bonus feat, because of the passage

MoMS wrote:
"Alternatively, a master of many styles may choose a feat in that style’s feat path (such as Earth Child Topple) as one of these bonus feats if he already has the appropriate style feat (such as Earth Child Style). The master of many styles does not need to meet any other prerequisite of the feat in the style’s feat path."

Am I correct ?

Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Will Hostile Levitation prevent a creature from using Earthglide(Ex) ? Specifically a 14th or so level Druid who's Wildshaping into an Earth Element.

If not, what other means could be used to prevent his escape ?

Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Most magic items are required to be masterwork before being enchanted. UE has the Agile Alpenstock (a gnarled wooden walking stick) wich can explicitly be wielded in combat as a quarterstaff.

It would recieve a +1 to hit (but not to damage) because it must be masterwork, correct ?

Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

A Ring of Spell Knowledge requires a DC 20 spellcraft check to teach it a spell.

Can this check be retried if it is failed ? Or is it like the spellcraft check to identify a spell that cannot be retried (page 106) ?

If it can be retried, how often ? Is it once every 24 hours like the check to decipher magical writing on page 219 of the core book ? Is it one week like failing to learn a spell from a spellbook or scroll (page 106) ?

If the attempt was made from a scroll as a written source is the scroll consumed on the attempt (regardless of success) ?

Can a Bard ask his Wizard buddy to teach the Bard's ring a spell since the wizard's Spellcraft check is better, or will the resulting ring only know the spell when worn by the Wizard who taught it to the ring ?

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.
Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Scenario: Party to cross a swaying rope/plank bridge. Bard burns 4 bardic performance rounds to invoke The Cat Step (Dance) [a Masterpiece from Ultimate Magic]. Bard spends the first minute of the 10 minute duration demonstrating. Can the bard Inspire Competence in his/her students in order for them to make the DC 15 Perform(Dance) check required to share in the benefits of The Cat Step masterpiece ? Stated another way, if the Masterpiece is somehow a 10 minute long "bardic performance" that only costs 4 rounds worth of BP, then is using Inspire Competence the same as starting a different BP (thus ending the masterpiece) or are either or both the Masterpiece and Inspire Competence NOT bardic performances but supernatural abilities simply powered by burning rounds of BP ?

If Inspire Competence CAN be used while keeping The Cat Step going (because it's not a performance or it simply keeps going even after the four rounds of performing are over), how many rounds of performance must be burned to Inspire Competence ? Would the fact that the bard has "Lingering Performance" alter the answer ?

Regardless of the answer, assume at least some of the party made the check and are experiencing the benefits of The Cat Step. Party troops out onto the long bridge eating up another minute of the duration. Combat breaks out half-way across. The bard would like to Inspire Courage. Inspire Courage certainly *IS* a bardic performance. Would doing so end the effects of The Cat Step for

a) the bard only
b) everyone who was affected by The Cat Step
c) no-one, The Cat Step remains in effect for the remainder of its duration

Assume answer c for the moment.
Next round, the bard would like to begin The Dance of 23 Steps as a free action at the end of his/her turn. Doing so certainly burns a round of BP, but is it a BP itself ?

If so
The Cat Step will end (for the bard AND everyone else ?)
The Inspire Courage will end, despite Lingering Performance, because if you start a DIFFERENT BP, the current one does not linger.

If not (because masterpieces, while they are powered by BP are not BP themselves)
The Cat Step remains in effect until the duration expires
The Inspire Courage will linger per Lingering Performance for 2 rounds.
The Dance of 23 Steps will affect the bard until the start of his next turn.

TL/DR: This boils down to when / if Masterpieces count as Bardic Performances (only while being invoked ? Throughout the entire duration ? Not at all, they only cost rounds of it ?)

Help ?

Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

As a newbie Pathfinder doesn't have the money to purchase a Wayfinder (the TRUE badge of any Pathfinder) but are given badges at the start of First Steps. What do said badges look like ?

A Pathfinder Bard with the Flagbearer feat wishes to carry a Pathfinder Society flag. It appears to me that the Grand Lodge faction symbol is as close as I can find to a Pathfinder Society logo or flag. If such a flag were carried, all Pathfinder Society members would get the bonus, not only the Grand Lodge faction members, correct ?

Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

If I go under "My Pathfinder Society" I can see a list of my registered characters. Each has a "Posts" tab. Mine all currently say "No posts" there. This implies that it's possible to post on the messageboards, at least in the Pathfinder Society area, as one of my characters.

I wanted to post in this thread as one of my characters, but I failed to figure out how to do that.

Are there directions posted somewhere or, failing that, could someone please tell me how ?

Thank you.

Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I'm going to switch the Kitsune Bard's Archetype from Dawnflower Dervish to Lotus Geisha before things get set in stone. I'm looking for Traits, Feats and Items that benefit a Bard Enchantment specialist.

Obviously the feats Spell Focus (Enchantment) and Greater Spell Focus (Enchantment). The Lotus Geisha gets those in exchange for Bardic Knowlege and Loremaster. She's going to need weapon finesse for when her spells run out and she actually wants to hit something.

All I can come up with for traits is "Eastern Mysteries" (once a day +2 to the save DC).

Any suggestions ?

Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

If you must make several concentration checks on the same casting, you make each seperately, correct ? (Not just the hardest one and nothing is added to each because you're making more than one)

If you're casting defensively, Combat Casting obviously applies to the
concentration check to not provoke an AoO. Does it apply to an OTHER concentration check you may have to make to get that same spell off ?

Example: You're casting on the deck of a ship in the rain while a pirate tries to take your head off with his boarding cutlass. You make two concentration checks, one to avoid provoking an AoO and one to not lose the spell due to the rain. Since you're already casting defensively, does Combat Casting apply ?

Combat Casting explicitly applies to the check for casting while grappled. Does it also apply to casting while entangled ?

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

When is a bite attack finessable ?

Example: A Kitsune has a bite attack, but only when in Kitsune form. Under what circumstances is the bite finessable ? Does the feat Weapon Finesse affect the answer ?

Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I've a PFS Bard(Dawnflower Dervish) who's about to hit second level. Once that happens, things get set in stone, but as of now can still be re-arranged. Currently, the character is non-human with stats prioritised as DEX->CON->CHA->WIS->INT->STR.

It seems to me that this character's major problem is defense. With a low strength and the Bard chassis, staying with light armor is a given. I'm considering trying to get Snake Style/Crane Style. To do THAT, I'm going to have to muliclass into Monk(Master of Many Styles) and/or Fighter(Unarmed).

One way is to continue as a Bard for the time being, switching to Monk(MoMS) at 3rd then back to Bard at 5th and sticking with it. Call this option A.

1 Bard Dervish Dance, Arcane Strike
2 Bard No feats
3 MoMS IUS, Snake Style, Crane Style
4 MoMS Crane Wing
5 Bard Weapon Focus (scimitar)
remainder of levels will be bard

The other is to rebuild the character at second level as if first level had been Fighter(Unarmed). Call this option B

1 Fighter(U) IUS, Crane Style, Weapon Focus(scimitar)
2 Bard(DD) Dervish Dance
3 Monk(MoMS) Snake Style, Crane Wing
4 Bard(DD) no feats this level
5 Bard(DD) Arcane Strike
remainder of levels will be bard.

In both cases, Snake Style is taken with the character third level feat, while Crane Style and Crane Wing are class bonus feats. I'm comparing at level 5 since that's where the feat load-outs match again.

Firstly, is any of this even a good idea ? With a low strength, it's not like this DD is acually going to IUS much if at all. Losing two caster levels isn't any fun either. Without a significant wisdom mod, the character is still going to be wearing (light) armor.

Advantages of A:
Less complicated, fewer classes used, feels more 'organic'.
2 More Skill Points, from the level of monk vs the level of fighter.
Better reflex and will saves.

Advantages of B:
2 more hit points, since a d10 comes at first level.
Crane Wing comes a level earlier
Better Weapon Proficiencies (ALL monk weapons including exotics, ALL martial weapons)
Better fort save.

Help me think this through.

Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Because a PFS character has a low strength and needs to save every pound possible. If a light crossbow is mostly wood it could be made out of darkwood.

Base Light Crossbow 35gp
Mastwork Cost 300
Darkwood adds +10gp/pound of original weight = +40 gp

So 375 gp for a masterwork darkwood light crossbow that weighs 2 lbs vs 4 lbs for a standard light crossbow ?

Would this fly in PFS, since special materials and masterwork are available ?

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.
Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Some archetypes (such as a Master of Many Styles) specifically state that they grant a feat choice without needing to meet the prerequisites. I've always assumed that the character can also USE the feat so granted even when they don't have the prerequisites, correct ?

Some archetypes (such as the Dawnflower Dervish bard archetype) simply grant a feat (in this case Dervish Dance) with no mention of prerequisites. In this case, the character has the feat but can't USE it until the prerequisites are met. Since one of them is Perform(dance) 2, there is no way to use the feat until level 2, correct ?

Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I got a PFS GM boon that would let me play either a Nagaji, a Wayan, or a Kitsune.

Any suggestions on how to use them ? I'm not new to Pathfinder but had never done any PFS until this gencon.

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.
Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

The Master of Many Styles monk archetype (UC) requires the monk bonus feats be taken from style feats (or Elemental Fist). The feat "Scorpion Style" appears in the Core Rulebook in the list of feats a standard monk can take as a bonus feat, but as a Combat Feat rather than a Style feat (Style Feats did not exist as a category yet, being introduced in Ultimate Combat). I've checked the FAQ and Updates tab, but I don't see anything about it.

Can a Master of Many Styles Monk take Scorpion Style as one of his monk bonus feats, despite it technically being a combat feat ?

3 people marked this as FAQ candidate.
Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Have I got this right ?

At level 5, and Arcane Duelist Bard gets Arcane Bond (Ex)

Arcane Bond:
Arcane Duelist's Arcane Bond (Ex): At 5th level, an arcane duelist gains the arcane bond ability as a wizard, using a weapon as his bonded item, allowing him to cast any one additional spell that he knows once per day. He may not choose a familiar or other type of bonded item. He may use the hand holding his bonded weapon for somatic components. This ability replaces lore master.

This bond works "as a wizard". The wizard's arcane bond works as follows

Arcane Bond:
Wizard's Arcane Bond (Ex or SP)Wizards who select a bonded object begin play with one at no cost. Objects that are the subject of an arcane bond must fall into one of the following categories: amulet, ring, staff, wand, or weapon. These objects are always masterwork quality. Weapons acquired at 1st level are not made of any special material. If the object is an amulet or ring, it must be worn to have effect, while staves, wands, and weapons must be wielded. If a wizard attempts to cast a spell without his bonded object worn or in hand, he must make a concentration check or lose the spell. The DC for this check is equal to 20 + the spell’s level. If the object is a ring or amulet, it occupies the ring or neck slot accordingly.

A bonded object can be used once per day to cast any one spell that the wizard has in his spellbook and is capable of casting, even if the spell is not prepared. This spell is treated like any other spell cast by the wizard, including casting time, duration, and other effects dependent on the wizard’s level. This spell cannot be modified by metamagic feats or other abilities. The bonded object cannot be used to cast spells from the wizard’s opposition schools (see arcane school).

A wizard can add additional magic abilities to his bonded object as if he has the required item creation feats and if he meets the level prerequisites of the feat. For example, a wizard with a bonded dagger must be at least 5th level to add magic abilities to the dagger (see the Craft Magic Arms and Armor feat in Chapter 5). If the bonded object is a wand, it loses its wand abilities when its last charge is consumed, but it is not destroyed and it retains all of its bonded object properties and can be used to craft a new wand. The magic properties of a bonded object, including any magic abilities added to the object, only function for the wizard who owns it. If a bonded object’s owner dies, or the item is replaced, the object reverts to being an ordinary masterwork item of the appropriate type.

If a bonded object is damaged, it is restored to full hit points the next time the wizard prepares his spells. If the object of an arcane bond is lost or destroyed, it can be replaced after 1 week in a special ritual that costs 200 gp per wizard level plus the cost of the masterwork item. This ritual takes 8 hours to complete. Items replaced in this way do not possess any of the additional enchantments of the previous bonded item. A wizard can designate an existing magic item as his bonded item. This functions in the same way as replacing a lost or destroyed item except that the new magic item retains its abilities while gaining the benefits and drawbacks of becoming a bonded item.

Interpreting that by replacing "wizard" with "arcane duelist bard"

Play has already begun, so it's too late for the ADB to receive a masterwork weapon at no cost.
Does the ADB pick a mastwork weapon she already possesses to bond with ?
Does doing so cost 1000 gp as if the (non-existant) bonded weapon from level 1 was lost ?

If so, the ADB seems to lose out twice, once on not getting a MW weapon and once on it costing a grand to activate a class feature. I searched the old threads, but I don't see a definitive call on this. I'm going to suggest to the GM that the missed "free masterwork weapon" should cancel out the cost to form the initial bond with an already posessed MW weapon, but this isn't RAW (might be RAI, but you never know).

Regardless of the answers to the above, have I got the following right ?

Assume a bard of CL6 but bard level 5 (multi-classed with fighter but with the magical trait that boosts CL).

Bonds with an existing adamantine longsword. To put an enhancement on this sword normally takes the Craft Magic Arms and Armor (Item Creation) feat, but because this is her bonded weapon, this requirement is waived. The prerequisite of CL5 remains, but this is met by all ADBs because they don't get the arcane bond until level 5 anyway.

The creator must have a caster level equal to or greater than 3 times the enhancement bonus. This means a limit of +2. Can this limit be exceeded by increasing the DC of the Spellcraft check by 5 ?

The base price for a +2 is bonus squared x2, or 8000, so the cost is 4000 in materials? This will take 8 days (1 day / 1000 of price (not cost)) ? And the DC of the spellcraft check is 5 (base) + 6 (caster level) for a total of 11 ? Can the ADB take 10 on this check ?

Let's assume instead she bonded with an existing +2 rapier and wishes to add the "Dueling" property from the APG to it.

Dueling Weapon Property (APG):
Dueling: This ability can only be placed on a melee weapon. A dueling weapon (which must be a weapon that can be used with the Weapon Finesse feat) gives the wielder a +4 enhancement bonus on initiative checks, provided the weapon is drawn and in hand when the Initiative check is made. It provides a +2 bonus on disarm checks and feint checks, a +2 bonus to CMD to resist disarm attempts, and a +2 to the DC to perform a feint against the wielder. Faint transmutation; CL 5th; Craft Magic Arms and Armor, cat’s grace; Price +14,000 gp.

Doing this will cost her 7000 gp in materials, take 14 days of work and require a DC 10 Spellcraft check, DC 15 if she doesn't know Cat's Grace ? If her buddy the wizard supplies the Cat's Grace, does he have to make any rolls ?

Suppose she wanted to add "Keen" instead of "Dueling".

Keen Weapon Property:
Keen: This ability doubles the threat range of a weapon. Only piercing or slashing melee weapons can be keen. If you roll this property randomly for an inappropriate weapon, reroll. This benefit doesn’t stack with any other effect that expands the threat range of a weapon (such as the keen edge spell or the Improved Critical feat). Moderate transmutation; CL 10th; Craft Magic Arms and Armor, keen edge; Price +1 bonus.

This takes the total plus from +2 to +3, meaning the price goes from 8000 to 18000. She'll owe half the difference in materials, or 5000. She'll need 10 days or 18 days (the difference in price or the total price) ? The caster level requirement will be CL 10, since you take the higher of the special ability or the enhancement. So because she's not CL10 and doesn't know keen edge, the spellcraft check DC is 5 (base) + 10 (caster level required) + 5 (not meeting CL requirement + 5 (not knowing keen edge) for a total of 25 ?

EDIT: fixed one spoiler not showing correctly

Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

This is probably going to have to be DM fiat, but when you cast light on an object, do you have any control over it ? Does the whole thing glow uniformly, or can you limit it ?

For example, the wizards wants to cast light on his staff. Can he declare that he's just casting it on the head of the staff so only that glows, or does the whole thing ?

Another example, the wizard casts light on a coil of rope. The whole rope is now glowing. One end is weighted and thrown down a well. Since the whole length of the rope is glowing, and assuming the well is less deep than the length of the rope, the whole interior of the well is now illuminated (but perhaps not as well as a point source). Could the rope have been deployed before the light was cast and the wizard then cast light on the rope while it's not coiled ? Would it make any difference ?

Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

When multi-classing with an archetype that replaces a proficiency gained by both classes, does the order matter ?

Character level 1 takes Fighter with Lore Warden archetype, replacing shield, medium and heavy armor proficiencies. At Character level 2, takes Bard with Arcane Duelist archetype, regaining shield proficiency (except tower shields).

If the character did this in reverse order, would the level of Lore Warden taken at second level cause shield proficiency to be lost from both the level of fighter AND the level of bard, or just that gained by the (replaced) level of fighter ?

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.
Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

A rapier and a short sword are both piercing weapons.

A Sheath of Bladestealth (APG,pg309) works with "any bladed slashing weapon, from a dagger to a greatsword".

This means that the rogue can't hide his rapier and shortsword this way, but the fighter can hide his greatsword. Really ?

Errata, please ?

Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Got a +4 Headband of Vast Intellect from a wizard who was notorious for cheating at cards. It seems the two skills (one for each +2 of the headband) are Bluff and Sleight of Hand.

The Rogue/Wizard that ended up with the item has 1 rank in Bluff and 1 rank in Sleight of Hand, giving him a total skill as follows

Bluff: cha mod + 1 rank + 3 (class skill bonus)
Sleight: dex mod + 1 rank + 3 (class skill bonus)

Now the skill ranks from the Headband do NOT stack with the skill ranks the character already has, but the ability mods and the class skill bonus still apply, correct ? This would make his skill as follows

Bluff: cha mod + Hit Die ranks + 3 (class skill bonus)
Sleight: dex mod + Hit Die ranks + 3 (class skill bonus)

Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Arcane Discoveries are in Ultimate Magic on page 86.

Ultimate Magic wrote:
A wizard can learn an arcane discovery in place of a regular feat or wizard bonus feat.

Some Arcane Discoveries require a certain wizard level to learn. For example, Opposition Research states "You must be at least a 9th-level wizard to select this discovery."

Eldritch Knight is in the core book on page 384.

Eldritch Knight wrote:
Diverse Training: An eldritch knight adds his level to any levels of fighter he might have for the purpose of meeting the prerequisites for feats (if he has no fighter levels, treat his eldritch knight levels as levels of fighter). He also adds his level to any levels in an arcane spellcasting class for the purpose of meeting the prerequisites for feats.

Does an Eldritch Knight's Diverse Training apply to Arcane Discoveries ?

For example, could a Fighter 1/Wizard 8/EK 2 use his 11th level feat to learn the Arcane Discovery "Opposition Research" ?

Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

My character is about to attempt the rescue of about a dozen various people who've fallen victim to a cockatrice. I need to transport them
out of the swamp they're in to the services of a more powerful magic user. However, there may be some issues.

The petrified victims seem to be some sort of weird hybrid of "not completely an object, but not a creature either".

Will "Shrink Item" work on them ?

Arguements against:
They're not an object, they are a petrified creature (not a valid target for shrink item).
They were petrified by magic and therefore count as a magic item (not a valid target for shrink item).

Arguements for:
"Flesh to Stone" states that they become "a mindless, inert statue" and therefore an item for most purposes.

Will the spell "Break Enchantment" suffice, or must it be "Stone to Flesh" ?

Arguements for:
A cockatrice is a five hit die creater. Its petrification is a Supernatural Ability, not a Spell-like Ability, mimicing "Flesh to Stone" only in the effects, not in being a 6th level spell. Thus a "Break Enchantment" will suffice, and needs to succeed on a caster level check vs a DC 16.

Arguements against:
A cockatrice's petrification is EXACTLY like "Flesh to Stone". Being a 6th level spell, thus needs "Stone to Flesh" to reverse.

Assuming "Stone to Flesh" is required, is there a way to help the saves of those being unpetrified ? (DC15 Fort)

Arguements against:
No, because you need to boost the saves before "Stone to Flesh" is cast. Since they're objects until "Stone to Flesh" is cast, they're not valid targets for "Resistance" or "Diviner's Fortune" or other save buffing spells.

Arguements for:
An object wouldn't need a fort save, so if the save booster is cast at the same time as the "Stone to Flesh" it should work.

2 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

A creature with a caster level of 15 self-buffs for several rounds, casting stoneskin(sl4), shield(sl1) and fly (sl3) and some other things. It then enters combat and is targeted by a Dispel Magic (targeted).

a) Since this creature is the caster of all the buffs and has a caster level of 15, all these self-buffs are cl 15 effects regardless of the spell level, correct ? That is, when calculating the DC to dispel, "the spell's caster level" is the caster level of the entity that cast the spell. The spell level has nothing to to with it, correct ?

b) If a is true then all of the buffs have the same caster level. Assume the caster of the dispel (the dispeller) rolls well enough (1d20 + dispeller's cl) to beat the DC of 11 + the spell's caster level, wich of the several buffs is dispelled ? I'm probably remembering an old v3.5 rule that said the HIGHEST (spell) level effect was dispelled first, but I can't find this rule in Pathfinder.

2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.
Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

The Synthesist wearing armor while fused with his eidolon has been energetically debated. The armor bonus itself isn't so much of an issue IMO because most of the time it will overlap with Mage Armor or Bracers of Armor or something similar.

I'm more concerned with armor's special abilities. I'd like it made clear that things like light fortification or flight or whatnot DO function (or not, if that's what the devs rule).

Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Situation: A character who wears a ring of feather falling casts the fly spell. Can he descend at a rate greater than he could when falling under the effects of the ring only, or is he limited to the rate of descent of the ring ?

To speed play, we simply ignored the "double speed when descending" portion of the fly spell description for the duration, but now that the session is over, I'd like to hear how other groups might have adjudicated.

Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I've got a published module that has a particularly nasty beastie in it, but I don't think that by the rules it can operate as described.

Said beastie has, among other abilities, the SLA dimension door at will (CL4). It also has, as an extraordinarly ability, Improved Grab.

The module states that said beastie will attack and use improved grab to grapple. It then says that if successful, it activates dimension door as a free action and moves to a particular location.

By my reading of the rules, this fails for a number of reasons;

1) If I'm reading it correctly, according to page 221, activating a SLA is a standard action, unless noted otherwise in the ability or spell description. The beastie's description has no notation. This is possibly an oversight. But if it is not, the beastie has to use a standard action to maintain the grapple and cannot use another to activate dimension door.

2) If I'm reading it correctly, according to the spell description of page 229, dimension door cannot be used on unwilling creatures.

Am I reading correctly and the author of the module is in error, or am I mistaken and I didn't use this monster to its full ability on the party ?

Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

When a cleric channels positive energy, the rules state that it causes a burst that affects all creatures of one type (either undead or living) in a 30-foot radius centered on the cleric.

The burst rules found on page 214 state that it can’t affect creatures
with total cover from its point of origin (in other words, its effects don’t extend around corners).

This implies that channeled energy does not penetrate. Even a japanese paper wall is enough to stop the effect. Right ?

This came up in a game where an incorporeal enemy was attempting to escape the party by passing through the stone wall into the adjacent room. The cleric channeled positive energy hoping to affect it before it got more than 30 feet away.

Did I rule correctly that channeled energy does not penetrate ?

Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

According to the bestiary

"A humanoid who dies of ghoul fever rises as a ghoul at the next midnight."

By RAW, a humanoid infected with ghoul fever but finished off by some other means (natural or unnatural) does NOT rise as a ghoul, correct ?

So an NPC slowly dying of ghoul fever in a cage hopes to die of starvation first so that he doesn't rise as a ghoul (since he lacks the means to commit suicide).

And a BBEG who wishes to help the ghoulification along has to be careful to only stab him enough to ALMOST kill him.

Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Can lycanthropes sense each other when both are in human form ? Does it make a difference if either or both are attempting to conceal their nature ? Are there any rules references for this ?

Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

It was my understanding that making a simple grapple attempt (no grapple feats involved) provokes an Attack of Opportunity from the target of the grapple attempt, but ONLY the target of the grapple attempt, not from any adjacent allies that may threaten the grappler's square.

Last night, the DM claims that not only does the target of the grapple attempt get an AoO, but his allies adjacent on either side of him get one as as well. Has anyone else encountered this interpretation ?

We were unable to convince him otherwise in a timely manner, so his ruling stood and we continued. I believe his reasoning is that the grappler is considered unarmed (both hands free to avoid the -4) and is subject to the "Attack (unarmed) Yes" line of table 8-2, despite the fact that the unarmed attack rules on page 182 say that an unarmed strike does not provoke from other foes.

Any suggestions for convincing him that a grapple attempt provokes an AoO ONLY from the target of the attempt ?

Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

The Rogue Talent "Dispelling Attack" (Su) normally has a caster level equal to the rogue's level. Is this caster level affected by

a) the "Magical Knack" trait ?

b) the "Practiced Spellcaster" feat ?

c) any wizard/sorceror levels the rogue may have ?

Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Enough has changed in Pathfinder from v3.5 that I'm not sure of this answer any more.

If an invisible attacker is struck by a mundane arrow, can the arrow be seen to have stuck in "something" ?

Usually, an object picked up by an invisible creature does not become invisible unless the creature conceals it on his person or in his already carried objects (like a bag or a backpack). Would this hold true for an arrow or javelin that strikes him ? (Until he plucks it out and drops it).

Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

There is a tiny paragraph in the Pathfinder Core Book about wizards researching variant spells.

Pathfinder RPGRD wrote:
Independent Research: A wizard can also research a spell independently, duplicating an existing spell or creating an entirely new one. The cost to research a new spell, and the time required, are left up to GM discretion, but it should probably take at least 1 week and cost at least 1,000 gp per level of the spell to be researched. This should also require a number of Spellcraft and Knowledge (arcana) checks.

I'm hoping by keeping the spell I want VERY close to an existing spell, I can keep the costs/time down to the minimum from these guidelines. I'm trying for a version of Chill Touch that works more like a first level version of the level zero cantrip Disrupt Undead. My character is loathe to channel negative energy and not very keen on Necromancy. If a way could be worked out to EVOKE or CONJURE positive energy rather than channel it, even better, but if it has to stay Necromancy, so be it. Here are the base spell(s).

Pathfinder RPGRD wrote:

Disrupt Undead

School necromancy; Level sorcerer/wizard 0
Casting Time 1 standard action
Components V, S
Range close (25 ft. + 5 ft./2 levels)
Effect ray
Duration instantaneous
Saving Throw none; Spell Resistance yes
You direct a ray of positive energy. You must make a ranged touch attack to hit, and if the ray hits an undead creature, it deals 1d6 points of damage to it.

Chill Touch
School necromancy;
Level sorcerer/wizard 1
Casting Time 1 standard action
Components V, S
Range touch
Targets creature or creatures touched (up to one/level)
Duration instantaneous
Saving Throw Fortitude partial or Will negates; see text;
Spell Resistance yes
A touch from your hand, which glows with blue energy, disrupts the life force of living creatures. Each touch channels negative energy that deals 1d6 points of damage. The touched creature also takes 1 point of Strength damage unless it makes a successful Fortitude saving throw. You can use this melee touch attack up to one time per level. An undead creature you touch takes no damage of either sort, but it must make a successful Will saving throw or flee as if panicked for 1d4 rounds + 1 round per caster level.

Here's the version I'd like to research

Warm Touch
School evocation or conjuration (if possible, DM call, see commentary)
<all other details remain the same>
Saving Throw Will negates secondary effect; see text;
A touch from your hand, which glows with yellow energy, disrupts the animating force of unliving creatures. Each touch evokes positive energy that deals 1d6 points of damage.<No strength damage as undead are immune>.You can use this melee touch attack up to one time per level. A living creature you touch takes no damage of any sort, but an undead creature must make a successful Will saving throw or flee as if panicked for 1d4 rounds + 1 round per caster level.

Change log;
I changed "blue energy" to "yellow energy". It's just fluff, but it makes it obvious that it's not a standard chill touch spell to anyone observing.
I changed "life force of living creatures" to "animating force of unliving creatures". Because that's the point.
I changed "channels negative energy" to "evokes positive energy". Because the character LOATHES the idea of channeling negative energy. It could become "conjures positive energy" if that works better.
I removed the strength damage sentence. Undead are immune to damage to physical ability scores, for one thing.
I changed "An undead creature you touch takes no damage of either sort" to "A living creature you touch takes no damage of any sort". A living creature does get a warm feeling, but that's again just fluff.
I retained the "Will saving throw or flee" but had to change the "it" to "an undead creature" since I'd changed the original sentence's subject.

Is this a reasonable first level spell ? If not, what should be changed ?

Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

We're using the GameMastery Critical Fumble Deck.

The Disrupt Undead spell is, according to the description, a ray of positive energy. If it hits an undead, it does 1d6 damage.

No mention is made of any effect if a non-undead is struck, as can easily happen in a fumble.

To avoid delaying the resolution of combat, we simply had it do nothing. But as positive energy, should it have some effect on non-undead or objects ?

Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

1st Diviner’s Fortune (Su): You can touch a creature as a standard action, giving it an enhancement bonus to a single attack roll, skill check, ability check, or saving throw equal to your caster level. This bonus lasts 3 rounds or until used. Once a creature has benefitted from diviner’s fortune, it can gain no further benefit from this ability for 1 day.

Does the target creature get to choose to use the bonus or not, or does it apply to the next eligible roll even if the creature would rather save it for something else later in the round ? If so, perhaps adding the phrase "of its choosing" between "saving throw" and "equal to your caster level" would help clarify.

If the creature does not use the bonus and it expires after three rounds, the creature has not benefitted and is still eligible to have Diviner's Fortune used on it again immediately, correct ?

Edit: dang speeling

©2002-2017 Paizo Inc.® | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
Need help? Email or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours, Monday through Friday, 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM Pacific time.

Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, Starfinder, the Starfinder logo, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc. The Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Legends, Pathfinder Online, Starfinder Adventure Path, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.