What is the 'order of attack' rule?
From Full Attack
Core Rules wrote:
If you get multiple attacks because your base attack bonus is high enough, you must make the attacks in order from highest bonus to lowest. If you are using two weapons, you can strike with either weapon first. If you are using a double weapon, you can strike with either part of the weapon first.
The present Search box on the left-hand side has a drop-down list that defaults to "Everything". The other options are
I would like to request an addition to this list, FAQS. This would let me search the collective FAQ tabs instead of having to go through each one individually.
I've a MoMS monk who got Crane Wing at lvl 2. We're now at level 12, so I also now have Crane Riposte/Snake Style/Snake Fang. I often end combat undamaged because after a critter attacks me and gets hit for trying, they stop trying and instead try to chew on the paladin who's doing an order of magnitude more damage than I am. Often they leave me alone enough that I can get behind them to give the rogue a flanking buddy, as the damage I give up by not full-attacking pales compared to the bonus damage he gets. The joke is that my role is TPK prevention because I'll always be the last one left standing and have the speed to run away.
When you cast chill touch, you get ONE touch attempt in the same round that you cast it, just like any other touch spell.
You get additional touch attempts on a number of subsequent rounds, based on your caster level.
Sometimes it's a matter of perception. You can't ready an action to do X if target does Y if you have no way of perceiving Y. Example: Unless I've got a "detect thoughts" spell going, I can't prepare an action to sap the target if he thinks of fluffy bunnys. Well, I could prepare the action, but it's never going to go off because I can't tell WHAT the target is thinking.
In the case above, it might be possible to trigger that readied action on a conjuration spell IF you've got spellcraft and make the identification roll. This is where having a perception vs bluff or sleight of hand opposed roll might be useful.
Vorpal Laugh wrote:
If you want to be music, I bet Golarian cultures has some like "99 bottles of beer" but with killing stuff. I can definitely see dwarves having such songs.
[sings]99 foes of dwarves on the field, 99 foes of dwarves !
Strike one down, kick it around, 98 foes of dwarves on the field.
One of my Bards is a bugler. Alone on watch, spots a group creeping up on the campsite. Sounds the "To Arms" bugle call waking everyone rather than having to rouse each individually.
Another time, with a good bluff check, Perform(Wind) and Ghost Sounds spell, called a non-existant allied unit who's bugler responded (the ghost sound made to sound like a distant bugle). The enemy fled before these non-existant reinforcements arrived.
So you can do your bardic performance with a one-handed instrument if you choose to.
Personally, I think they might be better served by gathering feedback through mass e-mails. The same article indicated that more than ten times the number of people were likely to respond if prompted via private message or e-mail.
A mass e-mail is the guaranteed way to piss me (and anyone else who doesn't appreciate such things) off.
This is only a thought experiment example.
A monk has the feats Snapping Turtle Style, Combat Reflexes, Dervish Dancer and Snatch Arrows (implying the prerequisites of Improved Unarmed Strike and Deflect Arrows). Assume the monk's scimitar has the 'ki focus' ability.
On the monk's turn, he activates Snapping Turtle as a swift action and then fights with Dervish Dance (so he's using dex instead of strength for attack and damage, but only so long as he wields a scimitar in one hand and does not have a weapon or shield in the other). Snapping Turtle style gives him a +1 shield bonus, but isn't actualy a shield, so Dervish Dance works.
Bad guy's turn(s);
Mook #2 throws a magic dagger. The monk gets the +1 shield bonus from Snapping Turtle. Dagger hits anyway. Can the monk uses Snatch Arrows to catch it ? The Defect Arrows prerequisite states "You must have at least one hand free (holding nothing) to use this feat." The monk's hand is indeed "holding nothing", but it is the free hand required by Snapping Turtle. Does this matter ?
Assume the monk can catch the dagger and does so, electing not to throw it back because, hey, expensive magic dagger for free. He can't drop it yet, because that's a free action and you can only do those on your turn
Mook #3 does something that provokes an AoO (let's say a disarm attempt without Improved Disarm). The monk can take this AoO, but can't use his Dervish Dance because he's holding a weapon in his other hand. He could even use his newly acquired magic dagger to do so. Mook #3 now attacks the monk who does not benefit from Snapping Turtle, because that hand is busy with the dagger. Let's say the Mook succeeds at disarming that magic dagger because that belongs to his buddy who's gonna want it back !
Mook #4 attacks the monk. The monk's hand is now free, because he lost the dagger, but does the fact that he used it to snatch the dagger (a once per round only thing) mean he can't use it for Snapping Turtle now ?
Edit: attach <> attack, his <> him, other spelling mistakes
My brother used to do Roman Military Re-enactment
Assuming you don't want to go straight to a full-blown flogging (animadversio fustium)
fines or deductions from the pay allowance (Pecunaria multa)
Some of these might not be available depending on circumstances. If there's no base pay (soldiers are paid only with loot) the reduction of pay isn't available. If the soldier to be disciplined is already the lowest rank, a reduction in rank isn't possible. If the entire outfit is under siege, all soldiers might already be at short rations or if the unit has no quartermaster or commisary corps, they might already be required to feed themselves. There might be no advantages based on length of service to revoke. If service was compulsory, then a dishonorable discharge might not be a punishment at all. Etc.
A lot depends on the nature of the mercenary company. Is it a cult of personality dependent on a charismatic leader ? Is it loyal only to coin and run with a business bent ? Is it an auxiliary group of soldiers who don't meet the requirements for the regular army ? Is it some sort of other group like a clan or a family business that took up the sword because they needed a new line of work ?
I contend that a hit deflected by crane wing, while no longer a hit, is not a miss. The text of Crane Wing does not say that the hit becomes a miss, it says the hit is deflected.
It is a deflected attack. It does no damage to you. It does not discharge an attacker's held touch attack, but it is not exactly the same as a miss and does not trigger Snake Fang.
It still stops them from ever full-attacking you, though.
Just delays it a bit:
My sources are the description of the effect of the spells themselves.
To re-iterate. These spells do NOT increase the ACTUAL size of the weapon (unlike enlarge person). They both do exactly the same thing, that is, cause the weapon to be treated as one size larger than it ACTUALLY is.
If the weapon starts as large and then gets enlarged to huge by enlarge person, it's actually huge.
Impact Weapon: wrote:
An impact weapon delivers a potent kinetic jolt when it strikes, dealing damage as if the weapon were one size category larger.
The weapon is not actually made larger. It deals damage as if it were one category larger.
Belt of Thunderous Charging wrote:
... when the wearer makes a charge attack, her Melee Weapons and Natural Weapons deal damage as if they were one size category larger than they actually are.
The weapons is not actually made larger. It deals damage as if it were one category larger than it actually is.
Now, if both powers didn't make reference to the actual size of the weapon, then they MIGHT stack depending on the wording. If they said something like "increase the damage the weapon does by one step" with no reference to the actual size of the weapon, then they might stack.
EDIT: See also this thread for magical size increases not stacking.
EDIT2: See also this thread for "as if one size category larger" discussion, especially the second post.
Kensai loses proficiency with armor and shields, hence the attraction of Mage Armor (perhaps from a wand). Gotta survive low levels somehow. Scribe scroll, always going in the surprise round, access to a LOT of first level spells right away and being able to use your blade as your arcane focus are the attractions.
From a non-mechanic's perspective, it fits the backstory. Level 1 diviner wizard with a blade he can't quite completely identify. He uses it as his arcane bonded object and BAM ! All subsequent levels are Magus (bladebound kensai), if he wants to or not.
Let me just state that I didn't support the Kickstarter for the boon. I supported it to get Thornkeep, so the boon is gravy. But if I'm entitled to gravy, there's no way I'm going to miss out on my gravy !
When you cast a spell, even if it's silenced, stilled and eschewed, there is still something going on, something that can be seen. Maybe the dust swirls around you oddly. Maybe an odd fog issues from your mouth as you speak the words of power (Aná nathrach, orth’ bháis’s bethad, do chél dénmha, etc.) Maybe arcane symbols dance in the air. Maybe your eyes look funny. Maybe you shimmer with holy light. If an item is casting the spell, something visible happens. Perhaps the light reflects oddly from the blade or arcane symbols course down its length. It's unspecified, but it's SOME effect that can be detected.
Flurry is a Full-Round action, so you need some way to get to do that in the surprise round (there are a few) instead of the standard action you usually get. If you've beaten the other fellow's initiative, you might get your full-round action in the first regular round before him, so if he didn't get to go in the surprise round, he'd still be flat-footed.
I've failed to come up with a definitive answer before, so I don't expect to see one now, but you can look at the threads I link to in here.
That said, I lean towards multiplying the mithril material cost as well, because otherwise you can buy gargantuan mithril breastplates and then melt them down for a profit for simply the weight in mithril.
At low levels, I just make sure I have the cantrip Mending and possibly an extra flag. Sometimes I carry different flags for different situations.
Of course, at higher levels when you can afford magic flags, this would be different.
You could create a door obviously chained shut or with an obvious padlock or with an obvious big honkin' lockplate complete with keyhole (with or without a key sticking out of it). However, any attempt to check if the door is locked (by rattling the chain or pulling on the padlock or shining a light into the keyhole) is "interacting with the illusion" and will get a new save.
To me, this archetype is from an earlier period. This is the matchlock using conquistador with his heavy breastplate and helmet and possibly arm and leg armor as well. The guns of this period aren't as powerful as later guns, so the protection they offer is worth the cost in mobility. (or when you're fighting native americans who are without guns themselves) Later, when the breastplate and helmet are no longer "proof" against the bullets of the enemy, they were abandoned, and the "musketeer" replaces the gun-tank.
It's not all THAT uncommon for an item to only work or work differently /better for a member of a particular race. Belt of Dwarvenkind comes to mind.
Economics are already broken in most d20 games, so you really can't sweat the details.
Adamantine Dragon wrote:
RD, why do you suppose that if an NPC can do something a PC can do the same thing?
Because rules is rules and fair is fair.
Adamantine Dragon wrote:
Because when I see that NPC do something that my character wants to do, I'm going to attempt to find out how my character can do it too. If I am told that I can't do it for a good in-game reason like, say, you have to be a cleric of <so and so>, that's fine.
But if there's no good explanation (and it's not an honest mistake), then that means it's simply fiat. If this happens repeatedly I'm going to come eventually to the conclusion that rules don't matter, it's all fiat anyway, so why bother ? My agency has been revoked by poetic license.
Adamantine Dragon wrote:
In my own games NPCs do things PCs can't do all the time. They operate under different rules than the PCs. The rule the NPC operates under is "present the PCs a challenge they can overcome".
So my character can't rely on his in-character knowledge about what is possible any more than I the player can rely on my rules knowledge about what is possible. I can't try to deduce things based on presented evidence because my conclusions are likely invalid because NPCs can "just do that".
Adamantine Dragon wrote:
Usually I don't even bother to try to explain to my players how an NPC accomplished something. It's just not relevant to the story, unless it IS relevant. I certainly don't feel compelled to explain every detail of every ability every NPC or monster has. And it's never, NEVER been an issue with any of my players.
If it's a monster, the simple "Oh, that's a monster only feat from the bestiary." is a perfectly good explanation, if it's true. "Oh, that's a custom spell that he researched on his own." is good too, PROVIDED the character could then research the spell as well (but his research may reveal that it has an unsavory component or a ridiculous casting cost). But "NPC can do this, PCs cannot, nanny nanny boo boo" is just taunting.
Only Humans can be Aspiring Bards.
To be fair, this one is technically v3.5 material from Taldor: Echos of Glory and was originally restricted to not only humans, but Taldans. I suspect the Kitharodian Academy and the Rhapsodic College are uptight about non-humans attending. THAT's why a lot of the traits are so restricted, because they're from supplements geared to a specific setting/location.
When I check the SRD for this trait, it's listed as FAN CONVERTED material (removing the restriction of Taldan).
The usual rule of thumb is the 50/500 rule.
From Wikipedia "Researchers in conservation biology have tended to adopt the "50/500" rule of thumb initially advanced by Franklin and Soule. This rule says a short-term effective population size (Ne) of 50 is needed to prevent an unacceptable rate of inbreeding, while a long‐term Ne of 500 is required to maintain overall genetic variability. The prescription corresponds to an inbreeding rate of 1% per generation, approximately half the maximum rate tolerated by domestic animal breeders. The value attempts to balance the rate of gain in genetic variation due to mutation with the rate of loss due to genetic drift."
I've seen the effect that Vinja89 mentions above, and I've also see the corner-case "creative" rules interpreting gamer. These are where "power-gamer" gets a bad name, IMHO, despite neither case being restricted to pure power gamers. If anything, they're not actually power-gaming in and of themselves, but that's what people often think when they encounter them.
EDIT: I've also seen "one trick pony"-ness confused with power-gaming as well.
There's no such thing as an enhancement bonus directly to AC. There is such a thing as an untyped bonus to AC. Rhino Hide (the specific armor) gives neither.
Rhino Hide is simply +2 magic hide armor (a +2 enhancement bonus to the base + 4 armor bonus to AC) that has a special effect on charging. The description is poorly worded.
EDIT: ninja'd plenty
I rather thought that your immediate actiion, being used in reaction to some trigger, worked like a readied action or an AoO in that it "goes off" just BEFORE the trigger or provoking action. Thusly, you cast "feather fall" in reaction to beginning to fall, not in reaction falling some significant distance (note that a RING of feather falling does actually require you to fall some small distance before it activates). You don't have to make the "vigorous motion" concentration check because you haven't moved any further than enough to sense that you're beginning to fall. Now, this would be different if you knew you were falling from a great height and wanted to wait until you got closer to the bottom because otherwise your spell duration would expire before you reached the bottom. Then, yes, make that concentration check to cast while free-falling.
I'm not addressing the contention that you can't cast feather fall because you're flat-footed if you stepped on a concealed pit.
Patches or buttons would be great. I don't leave the house without a collared shirt, so buying a t-shirt isn't going to happen, re-roll or not.
I agree with the collar bit, I want polo shirts with a pocket. I'd prefer custom embroidery, but that might get expensive and Paizo certainly can't stock every variation, so the patch that I can put on anything is a compromise. Heck, if I could I'd silk-screen a LARGE faction symbol on the back to go with the small embroidered one on the front pocket.
It almost sounds like a ki-pool without being ki. That might be a way to go. Create some sort of "strength-pool" (but call it something better than that). Give it a number of points something like 1/level + str mod. Define the things he can do with it as costing a number of points.
Wanna dim-door ? Spend N points and punch it.
There's a trait, Signaler (Molthune)P
Carry around a set of hand flags. Perform "Wuthering Heights" in Semaphore.