Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Wil Save

SlimGauge's page

Goblin Squad Member. RPG Superstar 2013 Star Voter. Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber. Pathfinder Society Member. 2,175 posts. No reviews. 5 lists. 1 wishlist. 3 Pathfinder Society characters. 1 alias.


1 to 50 of 147 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | next > last >>
Star Voter 2013

2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
ReddestBaron wrote:
celestial cheetahs

Cheetahs never win.

More seriously, at a minimum I'd be having him make concentration checks because he's being towed along at the end of a rope that may or may not be attached exactly to his center of buoyancy (where ever that is). He's probably bobbing along like a fishing bobber in a swift stream.

Depending on how the barbarian moved that turn, it might be anywhere from vigorous motion (DC10+spell level) to extremely violent motion (DC20+spell level). I'd also throw in some of the mounted combat rules (not that the gnome is mounted) such as the one about if you make a ranged attack while your mount is double-moving, that attack happens at the mid-point of the mount's move.

Star Voter 2013

2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Tool for dealing with Tough GMs

Star Voter 2013

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Doomed Hero wrote:
Don't even try to say those spears weren't longspears. You ever see pictures of a phalanx?)

Phalanx spears (the Sarissa) and hoplite spears (the dory) are different.

I think what Pathfinder is missing is a proper PIKE.

Star Voter 2013

3 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Orfamay Quest wrote:
How does the item tell whether or not you're in initiative?

WARNING: smart-alec answer "Magic"

More serious answer: If you used a standard action to activate the item, the item knows you're in initiative. This is the only RELIABLE way to activate a command word item. Any other method (including free action speech inside initiative or conversational outside of initiative speech) runs the risk of unintentional activation (false positive) or non-activation (false negative).

The "utterly stupid" accidental activation rule is there to note that it is POSSIBLE (but not probable) to activate the item without intending to.

Star Voter 2013

2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

That'll be a case-by-case determination.

Ring of Foe Focus does not mention any sort of action.

Bellflower Tiller's Bellflower Crop ability requires a standard action.

Most spells that require something to be designated assume that doing so is included in the spell's casting, unless specified otherwise.

There is no blanket "designating is always THIS type of action" rule.

Star Voter 2013

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Ravingdork wrote:
Do fired projectiles deal damage based on the size of the weapon that fired them, or not?

No. They do damage based on the SMALLEST of projectile size and firing weapon size.

I know we've been through this before somewhere.

Star Voter 2013

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
claudekennilol wrote:
Are there any rules regarding to play a character with low mental stats (cha, wis, int)?

Only those about how the ability modifier works with skills and abilities.

claudekennilol wrote:
At what point can the GM step in and say something along the lines of "look, you've the lowest charisma (score of 8 or something) so stop being the party's spokesperson". Or "stop coming up with all of these useful ideas" (having an int of 8).

Rule 0. However, simply by requiring the appropriate skill rolls at the appropriate times should be sufficient. Remember to include circumstance modifiers if warranted.

claudekennilol wrote:
Are these valid or is it just up the player to determine how to best play their own character?

If I want my "dense" character to come up with something clever, I could always have him attribute it to another, such as Baldrick does in the following quote.

Baldrick: Well my cousin Bert Baldrick, Mr Gainsborough's butler's dogsbody, says that he's heard that all portraits look the same these days, 'cause they're painted to a romantic ideal rather than as a true depiction of the idiosycratic facial qualities of the person in question.
Blackadder: [impressed] Your cousin Bert obviously has a larger vocabulary than you do, Baldrick.

Star Voter 2013

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Zardnaar wrote:
3. Wand of cure light wounds/knock etc in particular.

In one of my home-brews, wands are not self-powered. They are instead "spell converters". The user provides the power with a spell-slot and the wand converts whatever spell you expended (provided it is of a sufficiently high level) into the one that is built into the wand. If you have something like a Pearl of Power, you can power the wand with that.

Star Voter 2013

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
dumptruckman wrote:
RAW, the only thing that grants weapon proficiency (with any weapon) are Race and Class features.

I think some archetypes grant some weapon proficiencies as well.

dumptruckman wrote:
There is not a feat that grants "proficiency" of any kind.

There are. Martial Weapon Proficiency. Exotic Weapon Proficiency. What there is not is a feat that grants improvised weapon proficiency.

Rules wrote:
any creature that uses an improvised weapon in combat is considered to be nonproficient with it

Rather hard to argue intent when this specifically states that you're considered to be non-proficient.

Star Voter 2013

2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Up to your GM. My guess is a piercing or slashing weapon with a blade.

Star Voter 2013

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Just to be clear: You can take a free (and therefore a swift) action between attacks in a full attack. What you can't do is take an action (free or swift) between the attack roll and the damage roll. Those rolls are both part of the same attack and can't be separated.

Star Voter 2013

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Flesh to Stone
Baleful Polymorph

Star Voter 2013

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Well, since you can ready to counter-spell, and (assuming you make the identification roll) the spell you'll need to cast might be different, I would say that that's a pretty strong indication that you needn't declare exactly WICH spell you're going to cast as that readied action, just that it needs to be an attack spell.

Star Voter 2013

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate. 2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

A Swashbuckler wants to use an Aldori Dueling Sword. This sword is a slashing weapon, not a piercing weapon, so this cannot normally be done.

There is a feat, Slashing Strike, that would allow him to do this. There is also a feat, Dueling Mastery, that has similar language. This feat is from the Inner Sea World Guide, but since it predates the Swashbuckler, it only references duelist.

If this character wants to multi-class magus AND duelist, does he need BOTH feats to use his Aldori Dueling Sword for everything ?

Star Voter 2013

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

<= Imagines barbarian bonking herself on the head with unarmed strikes shouting "Stupid, stupid, stupid !"

Star Voter 2013

2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Tom Lehrer explains the decimal money system. video link

Star Voter 2013

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Most of the magic on weapons is "use activated" (bolding is mine).

Core Rules wrote:
Use Activated: This type of item simply has to be used in order to activate it. A character has to drink a potion, swing a sword, interpose a shield to deflect a blow in combat, look through a lens, sprinkle dust, wear a ring, or don a hat. Use activation is generally straightforward and self-explanatory.

.

For most purposes, to wield is to have ready for immediate use. For many weapon properties such as defending (which are use activated), it means to actively use.

The arguments arise about when it is the first case and when it is the second case.

In the case of the True Primitive above, I would likely rule that the second case applies to the spear.

Star Voter 2013

5 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I wear my sunglasses at night
So I can, So I can
See the light that's right before my eyes

Star Voter 2013

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
bbangerter wrote:
No references to specific hands here, and references to natural attacks which might be a bite, a stinger on a tail, claws on feet, knees or headbutt from a monk (unarmed attacks), would all discharge it.

But once you deliver one charge with a tail-slap, wouldn't any remaining charges ALSO have to be delivered with the tail-slap ? If you can just move the charge around at will, then how would you EVER be restricted by the "can't touch anything or you'll discharge" provision ?

Star Voter 2013

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Rules Quote wrote:
If you have a base attack bonus of +1 or higher, you may draw a weapon as a free action combined with a regular move. If you have the Two-Weapon Fighting feat, you can draw two light or one-handed weapons in the time it would normally take you to draw one.

If this character has the Two Weapon Fighting feat AND a BAB of +1 or higher, then they can draw both weapons as part of a regular move. Otherwise it will take two.

EDIT: ph34r my l33t n1nj4 sk1llz

Star Voter 2013

2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Obligatory link to "Wuthering Heights" in semaphore

Star Voter 2013

10 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I totally misread the title of this thread. I expected a party made up entirely of tiny sized PCs.

Star Voter 2013

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Flame Blade

The Flame Blade is immaterial. I'm fairly certain you can't wield an immaterial thing as an improvised weapon. You're stuck using it as a scimitar per the spell description.

A Monk of the Empty Hand treats "normal" weapons as improvised weapons. I'm not sure a flame blade is "normal". Let's assume it can be a "normal" weapon. You get an immaterial flame club. You still get no strength mod and still do fire damage.

Star Voter 2013

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I was going to suggest peep jousting, but those aren't peeps.

Star Voter 2013

3 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Orthos wrote:
Being from the South this makes me laugh.

Just don't translate it for them.

Star Voter 2013

2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Isn't this a case of the specific (the Archetype's special ability) overriding the general (the Alchemy Manual's rule) ?

Grenadier Archetype wrote:

Alchemical Weapon (Su)

At 2nd level, a grenadier can infuse a weapon or piece of ammunition with a single harmful alchemical liquid or powder, such as alchemist’s fire or sneezing powder, as a move action.

Alchemy Manual wrote:

Other Types of Ammunition: While Kyonin archers prefer alchemical arrows to other missile weapons, characters can infuse other ammunition and thrown weapons that deal piercing damage (such as crossbow bolts, darts, and shuriken) with alchemical effects.

Aside from differing base statistics, these alternative types of alchemical ammunition have effects identical to the alchemical arrows listed here. However, firearm ammunition can’t be imbued with alchemical ingredients, nor can ammunition types that don’t deal piercing damage.

Star Voter 2013

6 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Just as the strength of a chain is determined by the weakest link, the power of a ranged attack with different sized elements is determined by the smallest.

Reduced person : Small launcher -> regular ammo = small damage
Enlarged person: Large launcher -> regular ammo = regular damage

I don't get why this is so hard to understand / people get so bent out of shape over this.

Star Voter 2013

3 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Guess I missed my chance to play a Sable Company Marine back when I actually could without pointless feats.

Star Voter 2013

2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Darksol the Painbringer wrote:
They most certainly do, but at this point, the only way to properly fix the intent of the term "wield" and make it a game term is to go back and errata all subject matter that uses "wield" and any of its associated words to fit the TBD universal definition, ...

Quoted for truthiness.

IMHO, "wielded" is usually "able to make an attack with" (without needing any sort of action, even a free action, before use). The primary exception(s) are weapon properties such as Defending, wich require actual USE.

Star Voter 2013

3 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Ssyvan wrote:
PRD wrote:
Ranged weapons are thrown weapons or projectile weapons that are not effective in melee.
This means that Daggers aren't Ranged Weapons.

You're parsing that sentence incorrectly.

Ranged weapons include thrown weapons.
Ranged weapons include projection weapons that are not effective in melee.

The clause "that are not effective in melee" modifies only the subject "projectile weapons", not both thrown weapons AND projectile weapons due to the use of the conjunction "or".

(Edit: Yes, I had to diagram sentences in grade school. You got a problem with that ?)

Star Voter 2013

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Hulking Hurler wrote:
I'd like Monkey Grip.

Permadeath to Monkey Grip. Not even an empowered wish should bring that back.

I'd like to see the Crane Wing nerf modified. A monk can use it the old way (defect an attack after the fact) by spending a ki point. Otherwise you're stuck with using it the way it is.

Star Voter 2013

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

There is one document and one document only that determines PFS legality.

Additional Resources

"If a product does not appear on this list, then it is not considered legal for play."

Star Voter 2013

2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Auto-success is a bit much. But in this case, it's not so much a matter of seeing the vine, it's a matter of recognizing it as dangerous. Or everyone's looking down a hallway a the chest at the end. The sharpest-eyed character makes his perception and notices something about the chest that causes him to realize it's a mimic.

"It's a Mimic !"
"Really ? How can you tell ?"
"Look carefully at the lower right-hand side, where the corner reinforcement meets the edge detail."
(makes another roll, fails again)
"So ?"
"See how the gap seems to open and close like it's breathing ?"
(makes another roll, succeeds)
"Holy Mother of Treasure-hunters !, I see it !"

Or (fails for the Nth time)
"Sorry, my eyes aren't what they used to be. Gimme a minute to study my book and I'll cast detect life from here".

Another Situation: PC with darkvision, Wizard without. PC makes perception roll, wizard fails (because he's got a big minus for not being able to see that far in the dark. PC calls out "Range 60 feet bearing my two oclock request immediate fireball !" Wizard responds "On the way" and fireballs the target he hasn't perceived.

Star Voter 2013

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
blackbloodtroll wrote:
I am not going to get funny looks for bringing a hand-drawn pic of my PC, am I?

Just so long as it's not a "Shirt Guy Dom" stick figure.

Star Voter 2013

3 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I hear they have masterwork inflatable bedrolls ...

Star Voter 2013

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

The Swipe Spell.

From Pathfinder Adventure Path: Rise of the Runelords Anniversary Edition

Star Voter 2013

3 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

What Snorter said. Enforce the six second limit on free action speech in a given round. My group has taken to using some military/radio/movie quote jargon with message. Examples

"Tally Ho!" (meaning enemy sighted, I am engaging)
"I see dead people" (I have detected/encountered undead)
"Game Over, Man" (overwhelming enemy encountered, I am withdrawing)
"Danger Close, Fire for Effect" (fireball my position, hope I make my save, I trust my improved evasion)
etc.

Star Voter 2013

7 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Holding ? No.
Wielding ? Yes.

There is a difference between holding and wielding. They must specifically wield the item (whatever it may be) as an improvised weapon.

Imagine you're moving a chair to another table. Now imagine you're using a chair as an improvised weapon to hold off that lion. Completely different way of using the chair. One is holding, the other is wielding.

Star Voter 2013

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Kazumetsa Raijin wrote:
I'm a little rusty in regards to Charge, and I want to be extra sure my assumptions are correct or need to be corrected. So I have a few questions. Let's say my base speed is 30ft.

Ok.

Kazumetsa Raijin wrote:
1.) When performing a charge; Am I allowed to move up to my base speed to adjust(to acquire line of sight or whatever), then charge the rest of the way?

No. Rules Quote: "If you don't have line of sight to the opponent at the start of your turn, you can't charge that opponent."

Kazumetsa Raijin wrote:
2.) When using Pounce; Can it be done with any kind of full-attack?

How many kinds of full-attack are there ? There's full-attack and ... (I got nothing).

If you mean "Can I substitute a different full-round action that happens to include an attack ?" that would be a no.

Kazumetsa Raijin wrote:
3.) At what point during the Charge do I take the -2 to AC?

From the moment that you determine that the charge is "legal" (has a clear LOS, clear charge path, is within range, etc.) and declare the charge.

Kazumetsa Raijin wrote:
4.) What could possibly halt a Charge?

Anything that changes the conditions such that the charge criteria are no longer met. Examples: You trigger a trap that casts a spell that creates difficult terrain conditions between you and your target. The target of your charge had a readied action or a contingency to teleport/dimdoor away out of your charge range. An enemy that you pass by has "stand still" feat and hits you with an AoO. An enemy waiting for you to get in range (readied action) casts Slow leaving you without enough movement to reach your target or uses toppling spell and trips you (although *I* believe this can be mitigated if you have some ability that lets your rise as a swift or free action, not all believe that works).

Kazumetsa Raijin wrote:
5.) Can I make a Trip, Disarm, or Sunder on a Charge instead of a normal attack?

Yes, as long as the attack you choose can be substituted for any regular melee attack and is not a special action of its own.

Kazumetsa Raijin wrote:
6.) What could help me ignore both Magical and Non-Magical effects that could halt a Charge?

Magic items that let you ignore difficult terrain. Magic items that let you see through blocking fog or illusions. Magic items such as freedom of movement. Being hard to trip.

Kazumetsa Raijin wrote:
7.) Can I charge through something like an area effected by Entangle(pre-existing)?

Entangle does not specify that it created difficult terrain, so you could charge through it *IF* you make your save. For anything *like* entangle ? You'll have to be more specific.

Kazumetsa Raijin wrote:
8.) Can I charge through something like an area effected by Magical or Non-Magical Darkness?

See earlier rules quote about needing an LOS to even begin the charge.

Kazumetsa Raijin wrote:
I might have more questions later... but this is all the stuff that comes to mind right now. I think this covers the important parts.

Charge has some fiddly bits, so some things are up to the GM.

Star Voter 2013

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Rapanuii wrote:
Creature is cruising on the ceiling, and creature gets stunned. Stunned condition stipulates that you dropped everything held, so isn't the creature going to let go of the ceiling?

Depends on the creature and how it is climbing on the ceiling.

Let's say it is using the climb skill. What does the climb skill say ?

Climb Skill wrote:
"Check: With a successful Climb check, you can advance up, down, or across a slope, wall, or other steep incline (or even across a ceiling, provided it has handholds) at one-quarter your normal speed."

Ok, so it's possible to move across a ceiling using the climb skill if it has handholds. What else does it say ?

Climb Skill wrote:
"Anytime you take damage while climbing, make a Climb check against the DC of the slope or wall. Failure means you fall from your current height and sustain the appropriate falling damage."

Ok, so if the creature takes damage, it has to make a climb check. How was this creature stunned ? By damage from a crit ? Somehow else ?

Climb Skill wrote:
"You need both hands free to climb, but you may cling to a wall with one hand while you cast a spell or take some other action that requires only one hand."
Conditions wrote:
"Stunned: A stunned creature drops everything held, can't take actions, takes a –2 penalty to AC, and loses its Dexterity bonus to AC (if any)."

This could go either way, but tends to support the position that the creature would fall off if it can't hold on with at least one hand.

Suppose now that this stunned creature was using Slippers of Spider Climbing rather than the climb skill. These state "a pair of these slippers enables movement on vertical surfaces or even upside down along ceilings, leaving the wearer's hands free". In his case, even if the creature lets go of the ceiling with both hands, it would not fall.

EDIT: Assuming this goes back to your other thread, I looked up "Phantom Fungus. It's not clear to me from the description that this creature even HAS hands. It does have plant traits, one of wich is immunity to stun.

Star Voter 2013

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I've been through this module. My character had previously died but had been fished out of the river of souls and put in some sort of arena before the party managed a scroll of raise dead. As a worshiper of Pharasma, my (raised) character was made aware in a dream that Pharasma was NOT happy that someone was "fishing without a license" in her river.

Since you need a tuning fork attuned to the plane you're trying to reach to Plane Shift there was questing to get them including travel to planes other than the final destination plane complete with random encounters, bargaining, diplomacy, etc. Upon finally reaching the boneyard, there was finding the right gravestone. If I recall, it had the date of my original death on it.

The primary issue with striking the gravestone with Ovinrbane was that only the person who's gravestone it was could do it. There was some concern about Ovinrbane's ego being more powerful than my characters, so many buffs were cast. On the third strike with Ovinrbane, the sword shattered (well more like exploded) requiring a reflex save or have bits of the sword stuck in you (with unknown but probably bad consequences).

I did have a little feedback from certain other party-members along the line of "I don't worship Pharasma, I don't owe her jack, why am I risking myself along on this quest again ?". But wizards are always grumpy.

Star Voter 2013

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

A creature can still attack when prone, there's just a minus.

Star Voter 2013

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

1) Depends on the spell. If the spell has somatic components, you need a free hand to perform them (or in your case, the weapon wielding hand). USUALLY (but not always) you need your other hand to hold the scroll while you read it, but this can be overcome with the Caster's Shield or by having your unseen servant unroll and hold the scroll for you.

2) Depends on the spell. If the spell has no somatic component, you need only the hand that holds the wand. If the spell has somatic components, most people play that the hand that waves the wand is also providing those, but check with your DM. Some spells cause an effect to appear in your OTHER hand, so for those you need the hand holding the wand and a free hand for the effect to appear in. (Produce Flame, I'm looking at you)

3) Rods and Staves work approximately like wands.

Star Voter 2013

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Depends on the dungeon. Could you turn a decanter of endless water up to "pressure washer" and then just dry everything out ?

Star Voter 2013

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

If my opponent readies to attack me and step away, I can move right up to him and ready my own attack. If he simply re-readies when his initiative comes up, then on my turn I can attack. It will trigger his attack and step, but I can now (since I haven't moved) step with him and deliver a full attack to his single attack.

Star Voter 2013

2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

That person (assuming they're the only one who knows they're going to attack) is usually (in my experience) granted the surprise round, with initiative determining the order in the following full round. Unless there's a diviner or someone ELSE who always gets to go in the surprise round, then you most certainly can get a situation where the initiator of combat doesn't get to go first because someone else's spidey sense was tingling.

Star Voter 2013

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Whhhhhilllllbuuurrrr ! (Hello, I'm Mr. Ed)

Star Voter 2013

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Does DSP have it's own website ? Or does one of it's developers have one ? Like, say, http://dsp-d20-srd.wikidot.com ? Where the footer says "This site is developed and maintained by John Fraser, one of DSP's freelance authors, and J. Rudd. John can be contacted easily at the DSP forums (he goes by the handle Nonlethal_Force) in any of the various forums as well as through Private Messages at the DSP forums for registered users."

Edit: made some references live links.

Star Voter 2013

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

It seems to me that the root of one argument here is some believe there is a prohibition on using objects meant as weapons as improvised weapons. The quoted rules text is "Improvised Weapons: Sometimes objects not crafted to be weapons nonetheless see use in combat." followed by a sentence about non-proficiency and the penalties.

Compare to the inappropriately sized weapons paragraph above the improvised weapons paragraph. It begins with "Inappropriately Sized Weapons: A creature can't make optimum use of a weapon that isn't properly sized for it." followed by a sentence about penalties for the size difference.

To me, these first sentences are an explanation of the philosophy, if you will, or reason for the mechanical penalties that follow. "Fluff" vs "Crunch" if you must. But certainly not a prohibition on using a weapon in a way that was not intended by the weapon builder. Are you really going to insist that I can't use my wheel lock pistol as an improvised club because of them ?

Star Voter 2013

2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
richard develyn wrote:
So what's a little bat going to do that's going to look so odd?

Sharp-eyed Rogue: What is that bat doing ? The hokey-pokey ?

Ranger with knowledge(nature): That's definitely not a normal mating dance or nesting behavior.
Wizard with spellcraft: EVERYONE GET DOWN !
Bat: (finishes odd behavior) *FIREBALL*

1 to 50 of 147 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | next > last >>

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.