Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Merisiel

ShizukaMagnifico's page

Pathfinder Society Member. 13 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 2 Pathfinder Society characters.


RSS


Any official release date? looking forward to picking up my first brick of minis with this set


Looking to join a Play-By-Post adventure path. I am willing to play any AP, I have created a Sorcerer character using 20 point buy

http://charactersheet.co.uk/pathfinder/#/statblock/57cc9d8c0045b0030002bd75


I've been thinking a lot this week about the arcane trickster, and slowly began forming a character concept. My thought was that I have a young elf girl who experiences a tragedy in her life where her younger sibling is killed while playing with a magical item (wand of Spark or something like that.) From that moment, she decides that she can not allow this to happen anymore, and she will become a "liberator" of arcane goods from those she deems unworthy of their use.

Personality wise, she is very confident in her abilities, very intelligent and rather dexterous, like all elves, trained in the way of the bow.

Lore aside, my plan was to have my character be a 3Witch/3Rogue and move into arcane trickster-- it was then brought to my attention that Witches do not learn Mage Hand.

I could easily switch my choice to Sorcerer or Wizard, but I rather liked the idea of her being a witch both mechanically and back story wise...

Do you think I should switch to a different spell caster-- OR my other idea was to take a level of Oracle with the Haunted curse both to gain mage hand and to fit her back story, but I feel like I'll have way too many sub-classes at that point. If I did that I'm not sure which mystery I would choose

Any thoughts?


Howie23 wrote:
ShizukaMagnifico wrote:

I'm thinking of creating a halfling Swashbuckler/Sandman/Arcane trickster, and I was going to choose to use the halfling Warsling, but I noticed that it requires a standard action to reload. Had a few questions...

1: Can you make multiple attacks with a Sling without feats or racial traits modifying it?

2: Can you use QuickDraw to reload it as a free action, or does it not work like a thrown weapon for this purpose?

I would prefer to have quick draw over using the Warslinger racial trait, but I'm looking for confirmation for if that works...

There have been a few threads on slings, including war slings. You might try searching for thej.

Quickdraw does't have anything to do with loading ammunition into a projectile weapon. The ammunition itself can already be drawn as a free action.

Appologies, found the info I was looking for with a quick search. I'm on my phone and it's difficult to navigate the forums. Thanks for the reply.


I'm thinking of creating a halfling Swashbuckler/Sandman/Arcane trickster, and I was going to choose to use the halfling Warsling, but I noticed that it requires a standard action to reload. Had a few questions...

1: Can you make multiple attacks with a Sling without feats or racial traits modifying it?

2: Can you use QuickDraw to reload it as a free action, or does it not work like a thrown weapon for this purpose?

I would prefer to have quick draw over using the Warslinger racial trait, but I'm looking for confirmation for if that works...


Side note on the same topic, can multiple primaries be used in one attack? IE a slam then a bite? (I understand the latter "primary" attrack would be at half strength I was just curious if it could be done, or if only the main attack could be a primary )


mdt wrote:

I would suggest the following :

Make all his 'weapon' attacks actually just natural attacks.

An eidelon's strength is it's diversity.

Let's say you take Bipedal, and give it a slam and two claws. You can define the two claws as spikes on the armor's arms, and the slam as a greatsword. If it uses the spikes, it's not using the sword. If it uses the sword, it's not using it's claws. If it also has a 'tail' and 'tail whip' then define that as a long chain hanging from the helmet that it whips around to attack enemies.

I can hear someone say now "But what if it's weapon is sundered or disarmed". It's an Eidelon, sundering the weapon just does damage to the Eidelon. Disarming it can be that the sward flies away and dissapates, reappearing in the eidelon's hand instantly.

I like that better than an actual sword, honestly! Thanks for the suggestion.


Bobson wrote:

Basic summary of how this works:


  • If the eidolon has arms, it can wield a weapon in them by giving up whatever natural attack (if any) those arms normally have. This lets the eidolon make iterative attacks with the weapon, but all their primary natural attacks become secondary (with half strength). These attacks do not count towards the listed maximum.

So I can be clear on how this works, let's say my eidelion has a long sword, claw, bite, and an unnamed third natural attack. His limit is 3 attacks, can he attack with the long sword (full strength) and his three natural attacks afterwards, or just his sword and two natural?


AxeMurder0 wrote:
Not specific to Eidolons but any creature using a mix of manufactured attacks and natural attacks treats all natural attacks as secondary.

So basically me eidolon could attack with the great sword, then slam with his arm, then perform whatever I decide I what the trietary attack to be? Neat. Thanks for the info.


I'm contemplating creating a summoner for a future campaign. My character's eidolon was going to be a biped, and I was planningbon having it be essentially a walking suit if armor/iron golem. I was planning on giving it a great sword, but I am unclear on how exactly it factors in to it's attacks. At level one I see it would get 3 maximum attacks, so if I gave it Slam, could the great sword be a secondary? Or do they not work in the same pool?

Anyone have any clarification on how weapons play a role in an Eidolons attack sequence?

Side question: any suggestions for secondary attacks for a bipedal/humanoid eidolon?


Under "Advanced Rogue Talents" it lists "Feat" as an option. Can Rogues only take a Feat in place of an advanced Rogue talent, or any rogue talent? While it is listed under the advanced section it simply reads:

d20pfsrd.com wrote:
Feat: A rogue may gain any feat that she qualifies for in place of a rogue talent.

Second tier of this question:

While you can only take any rogue talent once, can you take a feat instead of a rogue talent multiple times, since you are not technically taking a rogue talent?


cranewings wrote:
ShizukaMagnifico wrote:

My DM an I got into a discussion today as to whether or not you can change the "Attack" portion of charge into anything except a bull rush. For the purposes of going down the Combat Expertise/Improved Trip/Greater Trip feat tree, I proposed the possibility of trading the "attack" portion of a charge attack for a trip attack.

TLDR;
Can I charge then trip instead of attack?

I don't know what the raw answer is, but it makes sense. I don't see what the harm is. It is just diving for the legs...

His point was more "A Charge attack is an attack in of itself, and can not be split up into two parts"

Technically I could just move and attack and it's the same thing, the only time it becomes an issue is if I need to move further than my movement speed.


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

My DM an I got into a discussion today as to whether or not you can change the "Attack" portion of charge into anything except a bull rush. For the purposes of going down the Combat Expertise/Improved Trip/Greater Trip feat tree, I proposed the possibility of trading the "attack" portion of a charge attack for a trip attack.

TLDR;
Can I charge then trip instead of attack?


©2002-2017 Paizo Inc.® | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours, Monday through Friday, 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM Pacific time.

Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, Starfinder, the Starfinder logo, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc. The Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Legends, Pathfinder Online, Starfinder Adventure Path, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.