Neither the regeneration spell, nor the ring of regeneration give you the monster ability Regeneration (Ex), so you are incorrect.
Spell Strike gives you the extra weapon attack, not Spell Combat. Spell Combat just gives you full attack + spell.
The point is that a masterwork weapon always costs at least 300gp.
However, by your version of the rules, the mithral dagger, which counts as silver, weighs less than a normal dagger, and is masterwork, costs less than a masterwork dagger?
Patrick Harris @ MU wrote:
In certain circumstances where having a face made out of literal stone, monotone voice, and a knowledge that these two mean you are likely using a mask that helps you lie, aren't actual detriments to what you are trying to accomplish.
Jeffrey Fox wrote:
/shrug. The +5 through -20 modifiers exist for a reason.
Andrew Christian wrote:
If you could find an example of a melee touch attack that the rules are clear will provoke, you might have some footing for this argument. As far as I know, there is not a single melee touch attack that does so.
Chris Mortika wrote:
Here's a very recent example statement. I don't see anywhere that the GM needs to do this aside from signing the sheet at the bottom.
Don Walker wrote:
Yes. The GM's signature on the Chronicle sheet itself (after it has been completely filled in) is all that is required with regards to item purchases.
I wasn't talking about the ITS at all.
I've seen it mentioned in a couple of threads that a GM is supposed to initial each item in the Bought/Sold area of the chronicle sheet. Reading the PFSGtOP, I can only find this paragraph that could possibly refer this idea:
Filling Out a Chronicle Sheet[/quote wrote:
Step 8: Sometimes a player must have you witness a roll to verify he successfully scribed a scroll into his spellbook or trained an animal companion to do a new trick. Write your initials next to any such entries in this section to show that you witnessed the roll and that the PC was successful in the attempt. Any equipment purchased or sold, that is more than 25 GP, should be tracked on the character's current Inventory Tracking Sheet, denoting the Character Chronicle # (A) next to the item purchased, sold, or expended during the course of the scenario or after its conclusion.
The bolded sentence seems to only refer to rolls made by players, nothing else. Signing the sheet at the bottom is supposed to verify everything done on the sheet, according to Step 9. Am I missing something?
If the elemental is doing nothing but turning into a whirlwind, and then moving, then it be a pretty dick move not to allow 1-2 free actions during the elemental's turn. Free actions take barely any time at all. Note that I'm assuming that it's the elemental's turn for this, since you can't do it as a readied action anyway, due to 4.
You wouldn't even take the -2 to all attacks because that only occurs when you're inside the whirlwind.
You can also try bull-rushing your allies into full attack position!
1. Yes.2. Needs to fail one saving throw. Having to make the saving throw against being picked up is separate from having to make the saving throw to reduce damage.
3. Sure, but the whirlwind can throw creatures out caught inside as a free action, so this isn't relevant.
4. Yes. Until the Character gets to level 6 with Eldritch Heritage, at which point his elemental can be in a whirlwind for 2 rounds at a time, allowing it to ready action once every two rounds.
5. GM discretion
6. GM discretion
This actually works due to the rules in the whirlwind description. The whirlwind only need to move through creatures in order to force reflex saves or be picked up, if the creatures are 1 size category size smaller.
Yes, it activates the whirlwind as a standard action, on it's turn, and then holds the movement part of it's turn until the barbarian is about to be attacked. It scoops up people as part of the whirlwinds movement.
You cannot do this in Pathfinder. You cannot take part of your turn, then take the other part of your turn later, without readying an action. Readying an action is a standard action, no matter what kind of action you ready. The air elemental has already spent its standard action turning into a whirlwind. The delay action requires you to delay your entire turn.
brock, no the other one... wrote:
Granted, this will be the effect at level 5 with one level of <insert familiar-granting class here>, since the familiar's effective HD are equal to his class level in <insert familiar-granting class here>. He could get a longer duration by putting more levels into <insert familiar-granting class here> (he'll need 4 total levels to bring it up to 2 rounds).
The whirl wind is (minimum) 5 feet across at the bottom, and 10 feet tall. That makes *the whirlwind* size large
Size categories don't work like that. Medium size creatures take up a space of 5ft, Large size creatures take up a space of 10ft. Since whirlwind space is different from the default, and the description doesn't give any definition of what size category the whirlwind becomes, I, as a GM, would default to the size of the creature who is making the whirlwind.
Creatures one or more size categories smaller than the whirlwind might take damage when caught in the whirlwind (generally damage equal to the monster's slam attack for a creature of its size) and may be lifted into the air.
How is your small air elemental picking up your small/medium barbarian?
The fact that you can currently retrain your racial traits makes any fluff argument against retraining traits irrelevant. Who cares about background when your elf can change from being racially adapted to surviving in the desert to being racially adapted to living in the water, or your gnome can replace his low-light vision with darkvision.
Jay the Madman wrote:
Really? You're taking the viewpoint that Aligned Creature and Aligned Outsider mean two completely different things?
Gods Market Gamble
If your party doesn't have a good ranged team, she's absolute hell. The tents she's standing on are out of melee range, and if she gets up into her tent tower, she can get rid of the ladder, at which point there's no way up bar climbing up a pole, or chopping the tent tower down. She can also start combat at 100+ feet, given her longbow and the angle she gets on the PC approach. Again, if she's in the the tent tower, she has line of sight to everyone.
You realize that this would mean that barely anything but outsiders would ping for a caster using detect spells, right? Dragons, undead, humanoids, magical beasts, aberrations, etc.: It is rare for any of them to have alignment subtypes. There isn't a section in the table that covers so-called "Un-aligned" creatures.
So, you're telling him to quit playing PFS or to play a healer when he's perfectly happy playing PFS with non-healer characters using his completely legal wand of Infernal Healing?
Each does not mean either. Saying that you can go one step in each direction (what is written) is much different than saying you can go one step in either direction (what you propose).
Regarding the Room:
In subtier 1-2, there's no way the haunt can kill anyone if there is a concerned party entering the room together:
Surprise round: Any one who made the perception check goes before the haunt, then the haunt mind controls PC 1 (who is standing at the table).
Round 1: PC 1 picks up knife (move action), starts a Coup de Grace attempt (partial full round action = standard action). At this point PCs 2+ can try to stop PC 1.
Round 2: If any of PCs 2+ even attempt to stop PC 1 from killing himself, PC 1 lashes out at one of the intervening PCs in anger, and then the haunt is suppressed.
The haunt in subtier 4-5 is more dangerous since it goes at initiative 10 instead of 0, but only to PCs who made the perception check, and go at initiative 9 and lower, and are the closest PC to the haunt.
Solo adventurers in either subtier are subject to a save-or-die, of course.
Arcane Training wrote:
Half-elves occasionally seek tutoring to help them master the magic in their blood. Half-elves with this racial trait have only one favored class, and it must be an arcane spellcasting class. They can use spell trigger and spell completion items for their favored class as if one level higher (or as a 1st-level character if they have no levels in that class). This racial trait replaces the multitalented racial trait.
Is the text about spell trigger items superfluous? They don't care what level a user is when being used.
I ...guess... you could make your favored class Wizard even though you're a Fighter, at which point you could use Wands and Scrolls as a 1st level wizard. That's kind of neat, although you give up all your favored class bonuses to do so.
Then, you are implying that the Pathfinder team just wasted text stating that Lyrakiens are available to chaotic good characters.
Maybe it would help for you to actually read the Lyrakien entry. Nowhere does it say "a spellcaster who is not CG cannot have a Lyrakien familiar".By that reasoning, there are no restrictions at all, since the Improved Familiar feat as similar wording:
You may choose a familiar with an alignment up to one step away on each alignment axis (lawful through chaotic, good through evil).
It doesn't say that you may not choose any familiars with a different alignment!
I've found that the Pathfinder is a permissive ruleset in general, not a restrictive one. That is, they tell you what you can do, not what you cannot.
This is incorrect, however, and possibly what coloured my perceptions. Nowhere in the Dire Rat entry does it imply that they are restricted for selection in ways other than the general rule.
The table listing is not the alignment of the creature but the acceptable alignment of the spellcaster who wants them.
This is also incorrect. The table listing on the PRD & Ultimate Magic list the alignment of the familiar. The d20pfsrd seems to include a mixture of both familiar alignments and acceptable caster alignments, without saying which is which.
Marius Castille wrote:
Could a cleric actually use this weapon? The text for grayflame reads "When the wielder spends a swift action to channel energy. . ." (emphasis mine). Clerics can channel energy as a standard or move action (with the Quick Channel feat). Does the weapon allow the wielder to channel energy as swift action?
Yes. No one can innately channel energy as a swift action.