Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Sargavan Pathfinder

Serum's page

FullStarFullStar Pathfinder Society GM. 1,006 posts. 1 review. No lists. No wishlists. 8 Pathfinder Society characters.


RSS

1 to 50 of 1,006 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | next > last >>
Shadow Lodge

So, Nadya is a trader. What can she get a hold of that the Kellids actually want?

Shadow Lodge

Perhaps? Maybe even foreign ships carrying goods from Sargava. Both of these would technically be loopholes in the idea that they no longer raid Sargavan shipping, but this hurts Sargava long-term anyway.

Ah well, it's not like Sargava has a choice. It's either put up with the pirates' blackmail, or become a Chelish colony again.

Shadow Lodge

Fair enough, although I imagine, being a fairly loose conglomeration of individual ships, not everyone is going to follow along those lines.

Whose shipping lanes are they raiding, then? There's pretty much nothing else down there except for Bloodcove (I believe most of the other colonies are on the southeast side).

Shadow Lodge

Yeah, it always seems weird to me that Sargava is paying the Shackles pirates money to protect them from the Chelaxians, while also suffering from pirates raiding merchants sailing to and from Sargava itself.

Government vs private enterprise, I guess?

Anyways, it's unlikely that the Chelaxians are trading with Sargava. Most of Sargava's trade is going to be coming from the other countries in the Inner Sea region.

Shadow Lodge

Ravingdork wrote:
chbgraphicarts wrote:
Dude solo'd the Tomb of Horrors and beat Acererak by LITERALLY beating him.
Is that really written somewhere? I didn't think they went into that much detail.

It's his headcanon.

Shadow Lodge

Sure.

Shadow Lodge

Ooze licker wrote:

3/day daze is a decent ability for a 14k item.

.

Wow. A necro that doesn't even read the item description or the thread?

Shadow Lodge

Huh. For some reason I've always read that the creature would need to spend a move action on "scent" to find the direction, and if it was within 5', it would know the square.

Somehow, I glossed over the "if you move within" part.

Shadow Lodge

DM_Blake wrote:
Even better, he doesn't have to "run around the room" - once he is within 30' (60' if downwind) he can use a single move action to figure out the right direction and then pretty much move right to the invisible guy. Of course, this uses actions. A move action to determine direction, at least one more move action to actually move to the enemy - no actions left for attacking.

Woah there; "determine the direction" isn't even close to "knowing what square he's in".

Shadow Lodge

PRD wrote:
The creature detects another creature's presence but not its specific location. Noting the direction of the scent is a move action.

The PC with scent has to spend a move action to determine the direction of the invisible creature. This is completely separate from movement.

Shadow Lodge

GM casts no-clip

Shadow Lodge

Or you can have the PCs encounter the same small party of them, and let them easily crush them.

Shadow Lodge

Bob Bob Bob wrote:
I can explain this one! The important part isn't the parenthesis, it's the semicolon. That indicates that there's a soft break in the information. Hold Person is Will negates then see text for afterwards. Two separate clauses. Oppressive boredom is Will negates but it's complicated so check the text to see what we mean. One clause.

That's the way I've been leaning as well; there's just been a bunch of discussion that leaned the other way (specifically with oppressive boredom, and some innate desire to keep it worse than hold person).

Shadow Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Ravingdork wrote:
Is fire an object? 'Cause you can shrink it with the shrink item spell. Could you target gases/air with the spell for similar reason?

Technically, I believe the campfire as a whole is considered an object.

My belief is that anything you can interact with as a whole, separately from something else, is considered an object. You can interact with a door separately from interacting with the wall. Therefore, the door is an object, as is the wall.

Can you normally interact with a brick in that wall using standard mechanics?

Shadow Lodge

Spellstrike specifically gets around this by allowing the magus to channel touch attacks into weapon attacks. The only issue that would come up is identical to this one, where they are trying to TWF with melee weapon + frostbite touch attacks without using Spell Combat (since the magus can't use Spell Combat to continue delivering frostbite attacks without recasting the spell).

To be honest, I wrote my first post without first spending the time to check the touch spell/attack and iterative attack sections in the CRB. I can't find anything that limits iterative attacks specifically to weapon attacks, so I'm sorry for my first post.

Shadow Lodge

RumpinRufus wrote:
Serum wrote:
I'm not sure you're aware, but touch attacks with frostbite are standard actions, and therefore can't be combined with flame blade attacks. How are you TWF with flame blade and frostbite?
Pretty sure this is not true, because otherwise 50% of maguses out there are crying right now. But I'd definitely want to see if there is RAW that says that this isn't allowed.

I don't see what the magus class has to do with this ruling.

Shadow Lodge

Hmm. all I have is a quote from James Jacobs back in 2009.

Fair enough about the second part; forgot about corrosive.

Shadow Lodge

I'm not sure you're aware, but touch attacks with frostbite are standard actions, and therefore can't be combined with flame blade attacks. How are you TWF with flame blade and frostbite?

Shadow Lodge

Imbicatus wrote:
Serum wrote:
Corvino wrote:

You can turn a reach build into something pretty nasty if you combine Cornugon Smash, Sickening Offensive and a Fortuitous weapon enchant. Pseudo-iterative attacks with a shaken debuff (and sickened if it's your studied target). A strength build with moderate dexterity (boosted with a belt) can deal solid damage, lock down movement, hamper casting and debuff at the same time.

It's not perfect/eye-wateringly high DPS but does an interesting job for fairly low feat & gear investment.

Cornugon Smash doesn't work on Attacks of Opportunity, assuming that's what you were going for.
While it's not explicitly listed, this FAQ suggests it should.

There's no reason why that FAQ answer couldn't have been more general if it wanted to include all free actions that trigger off of attacks.

Shadow Lodge

Corvino wrote:

You can turn a reach build into something pretty nasty if you combine Cornugon Smash, Sickening Offensive and a Fortuitous weapon enchant. Pseudo-iterative attacks with a shaken debuff (and sickened if it's your studied target). A strength build with moderate dexterity (boosted with a belt) can deal solid damage, lock down movement, hamper casting and debuff at the same time.

It's not perfect/eye-wateringly high DPS but does an interesting job for fairly low feat & gear investment.

Cornugon Smash doesn't work on Attacks of Opportunity, assuming that's what you were going for.

Shadow Lodge

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

In a spell's saving throw entry, does "(see text)" refer directly to the save in front of it, or does it perform identically to other cases where there is an immediate save when targeted, with the spell's descriptive text including more?

Compare two relatively similar spells:

hold person:
Hold Person
Saving Throw Will negates; see text
The subject becomes paralyzed and freezes in place. It is aware and breathes normally but cannot take any actions, even speech. Each round on its turn, the subject may attempt a new saving throw to end the effect. This is a full-round action that does not provoke attacks of opportunity. A winged creature who is paralyzed cannot flap its wings and falls. A swimmer can't swim and may drown.

oppressive boredom:
Oppressive Boredom
Saving Throw Will negates (see text)
You fill your target with boredom. The target loses all interest in its current task and must make a Will save against the spell’s effect in order to perform its next action. If the target fails, it takes no action that round. The boredom lasts until the duration expires or the target breaks the spell’s effect with a successful Will save.

For hold person, it's long been established that the target immediately gets a save when the spell is cast, then can spend a full-round action on their turn to save again. This works out to the target spending one round paralyzed per failed save. In this case, it is likely that the "see text" phrase in the saving throw entry refers to the additional saving throws allowed after the target is afflicted, while the "Will negates" allows a save upon being targeted.

For oppressive boredom, we see that the target must make a Will save at the beginning of his turn (at no cost) in order to be able to act. Is this the Will save that the Saving Throw entry is referring to? Is the "(see text)" phrase in this case used to identify that what exactly "Will negates" is referring to, or does the spell allow an initial saving throw to negate the effect entirely before the target takes his next action?

In order to have oppressive boredom require exactly one round inactive per failed save, without changing the descriptive text, would the Saving Throw entry need to say "None; see text" / "None (see text)"?

Shadow Lodge

Was it intended for animal companions / familiars / eidolons / special mounts to not be able to take Improved Spell Sharing as one of their own feats?

Shadow Lodge

Magda Luckbender wrote:
Xethik wrote:


Personally, I've seen 3/3/10 theurges across many levels, and at high levels, people do not give nearly enough credit to the value of having lots of those lower level slots that are still invaluable buffs, but they totally do have issues at low levels.

One different way to do it (someone try this in a home game and let me know how it goes!) is to have mystic theurge be accessible from level 3 with the prereq of having 1st level spells from both arcane and divine, but then giving it 14 levels (spread out the abilities it currently has other

...
I had an early entry PFS Mystic Theurge (from Clerical Trickery Domain) and it's easy enough to just switch the now-illegal 1/3/x build to 3/3/x. First he gets killed by alchemical explosions, then his two levels of Mystic Theurge turn into Cleric levels. The poor guy!

No need; he's been grandfathered in.

Shadow Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Aratrok wrote:
Detect magic or a similar spell, plus a DC 20+spell level Knowledge (arcana) check, revealing that the rope is incontrovertibley the product of an illusion spell.

I'm pretty sure that a DC 15+spell level Knowledge (arcana) check to notice that it's an illusion spell should be pretty clear evidence that it is not real.

Shadow Lodge

Natural attacks are not iterative. You only get three attacks total as listed.

Shadow Lodge

Tangent101 wrote:
The Jadwiga are norms. Elvanna has an artifact on her head that prevents her from aging. She has had several children over the years, so her daughter who's in charge may very well be one of her younger children - the older of which killed each other off in the cutthroat nature of Irrisen politics.

Note that Cassisoche has the title "First Daughter of Elvanna", similar to how Elvanna has the title "Fourteenth Daughter of Baba Yaga". This leads me to believe that Cassisoche is Elvanna's first child, not just her current eldest. Given that queens are implied to already have children capable of ruling the duchies (Jadwiga having had more than four) before becoming queen, this would make Cassisoche more than 100 years old, closer to 115-120.

While the Icecrown of Irrisen artifact states that the queen always appears to be the same age as when she first put on the crown and doesn't suffer ageing penalties, it says nothing about increasing the wearer's life-span. Given that Elvanna's pictures have her look to be in her thirties, at 130+, she's well over the maximum human age of 110, just like every other queen must have been. Cassisoche is also over this range as well at 115+.

Elvanna's 22nd daughter, Lachka, rules a town that was build 75 years ago specifically for her, in order to keep her out of Elvanna's sight. It implies that this is because of her brutal stupidity, so Lachka is likely at least 90 years old, where this would become apparent. The book makes a point of stating that she suffers from suffering age-related maladies, but this may be due to the fact that no-one likes her enough to use magic to help her out, and she's unable to do so herself (being only a witch 1/aristocrat 6).

This leads me to believe that Baba Yaga's daughters and grand-daughters have a longer life span than a standard human. What's the point of Baba Yaga collecting her grandchildren if the majority of them have already died of old age? However, Elvanna is still listed as venerable, so maybe they are closer to the half-elf ageing progression? That would put Lachka and Cassisoche in the old category.

If you want to follow Zhangar's speculation about Baba Yaga's maiden-mother-crone cycle, then Elvanna could be closer to 170-180 years old, with her children following suit. There is an upper bound, however. Elvanna's great-granddaughters are the youngest of the Jadwiga Elvanna mentioned, and Nazhena herself looks to be in her twenties.

Regardless, I'd believe that Elvanna and her children are the only ones that benefit from an increased life span, along with whatever else you'd want to give the Jadwiga, given that they are the ones that are taken by Baba Yaga when she comes to collect.

Shadow Lodge

Charon's Little Helper wrote:
Serum wrote:
Really, this is besides the point. Regardless of whether or not the illusion turns transparent, the creature will have noticed that it can pass through the wall without any ill effect.
Except that it wouldn't pass through - because it believes the illusion - assuming it failed its save. (And how often do you bash at walls with your face to check if they're real anyway?)

Silent image only provides visual feedback. The spell description specifically states that it does not create texture. It is not mind affecting; it cannot force your character to behave in a certain way. The player still has full control over his character's mental faculties. If you try and climb a silent image wall, the spell does not force you to believe that you are climbing it; your hands and feet will pass through it as you grab for hand- and footholds. If you don't consider this proof that the illusion is not real, then fine. It still cannot stop the hands and feet from passing through the illusion and providing the character this information, which he may or may not act on.

Shadow Lodge

Charon's Little Helper wrote:
Snowblind wrote:
I would also think that being able to put one's hand clear through a wall with no resistance would be conclusive proof that the wall is, in fact, not actually a wall. If that is not proof, then I don't think anything reasonable could be considered "proof" for the purpose of that clause under the illusion rules (making it more or less a waste of ink, which would almost certainly not be RAI).

Then what is 'interacting' with an illusion to get a saving throw?

SRD wrote:
Creatures encountering an illusion usually do not receive saving throws to recognize it as illusory until they study it carefully or interact with it in some fashion.
There are things that would qualify as proof. But they'd have to go much further in Pathfinder than IRL. It'd come up far more often for an illusion of a specific thing/person than of something as generic and potentially magically different as a wall.

Really, this is besides the point. Regardless of whether or not the illusion turns transparent, the creature will have noticed that it can pass through the wall without any ill effect.

Shadow Lodge

Breq of Toren wrote:


David, I would argue that the Claws of the beast fit in the same category as the sorcerer claws, which are specifically allowed to transfer when you polymorph.

This build envisions using unarmed strike to attack a well as its iteratives.

Sorcerer claws explicitly grow and shrink as free actions and only last for rounds/day. They are also supernatural abilities that don't depend on your form.

Claws of the Beast is an extraordinary ability where you permanently grow claws on your hands.

I wouldn't use the sorcerer bloodline to defend your choice.

Shadow Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.
redward wrote:

Regardless of all that, I implore anyone planning to use a build like this to:

1) warn the GM of what you're bringing and what it's capable of doing.
2) explain to the party what your character does, and
3) explain to them all how, in spite of unhittable AC, massive saves and devastating damage, you promise to share the spotlight rather than turning the next four hours (or more realistically thirty minutes) into the Songbird Show.

/shrug. This build only works against 1 opponent at a time, just like how tetori grapplers work.

Shadow Lodge

Starbuck_II wrote:
Serum wrote:
Charon's Little Helper wrote:
Shisumo wrote:
Charon's Little Helper wrote:
Serum wrote:
Well, then the swarm tries to climb the walls to exit via the hole on the top... and passes right through the image.
Only if they pass their save. Though they would get said save each turn.
Failing their save wouldn't keep them from falling through the wall when they tried to climb up it. Figments don't work that way.

Why would they fall through it? It's not paper thin. They'd just fall back down to the ground and get their save.

Touching a figment doesn't let you ignore it. That's what interacting is - and interacting is what gets you your save.

Silent image doesn't do tactile illusions. If you touch a silent image stone wall, you don't feel stone, in any circumstance. The result of swinging a hammer at a silent image stone wall is the hammer passing right through it, thus providing proof that the illusion is not real.

This probably also deserves it's own (dead horse) thread, because we're derailing this one again.

No, unless you make your new save for interacting: you think you feel stone. That was why they have saves in illusionary spells like Silent Image.

No, swinging the hammer and not hearing anything provides proof. Remember Silent Image can't mimic sounds.

Figment spells aren't mind-affecting. They can't make you think anything.

Shadow Lodge

blackbloodtroll wrote:
Does this work with 15 Point Buy?

I don't see why not. You don't have to have an 18 dex before racials.

Shadow Lodge

Why can't you flurry of blows, then use your natural attacks at a -5 penalty?

Shadow Lodge

wraithstrike wrote:
Also suggestion requires a reasonable suggestion.

Well, it only needs to sound reasonable.

"Man, my friend just loves chucking fireballs doesn't he? You should probably jump in that pit over there and get out of his line of sight."

Shadow Lodge

Charon's Little Helper wrote:
Shisumo wrote:
Charon's Little Helper wrote:
Serum wrote:
Well, then the swarm tries to climb the walls to exit via the hole on the top... and passes right through the image.
Only if they pass their save. Though they would get said save each turn.
Failing their save wouldn't keep them from falling through the wall when they tried to climb up it. Figments don't work that way.

Why would they fall through it? It's not paper thin. They'd just fall back down to the ground and get their save.

Touching a figment doesn't let you ignore it. That's what interacting is - and interacting is what gets you your save.

Silent image doesn't do tactile illusions. If you touch a silent image stone wall, you don't feel stone, in any circumstance. The result of swinging a hammer at a silent image stone wall is the hammer passing right through it, thus providing proof that the illusion is not real.

This probably also deserves it's own (dead horse) thread, because we're derailing this one again.

Shadow Lodge

Frostbite doesn't interact with Intensified spell.

Shadow Lodge

Charon's Little Helper wrote:
CWheezy wrote:

.most swarms are mindless

The vermin ones - yes. Many others (rats/bats/monkeys) are not.

Edit: Versus vermin swarms - just use Silent Image to trap them in a 'box' with a hole in the top just big enough to drop torches through. Patterns don't work on the mindless creatures - but figments do.

Well, then the swarm tries to climb the walls to exit via the hole on the top... and passes right through the image.

Shadow Lodge

Ashiel wrote:
TriOmegaZero wrote:
As I recall, it was because you could smack the enemy with your main hand, then bash them out of reach of you to force them to lose their chance to full attack in return. Also, bash them into environmental hazards.
I would like the feat if it gave you the option of when to use it. If you tried to make a sword & board ranger in a setting without GM-specific house rules (like Pathfinder Society) you'd be shooting yourself in the foot as every time you shield bashed as part of your TWF you risked throwing your enemy away from all your iterative attacks (because shield slam doesn't allow you to choose when it's used, it just procs on each bash).

Since when has any feat in pathfinder forced you to use it?

Shadow Lodge

Do priests and clergy of deities with organized religions have titles by which they are addressed? Could you provide a few examples?

I can recall one priest of Erastil who is addressed as "Elder", but I'm having coming up with titles for priests of, say, Pharasma or Sarenrae.

Shadow Lodge

Ashiel, how often do your players buy/craft a wand, use 1-49 charges of it, then sell the remainder?

Shadow Lodge

Darrell Impey UK wrote:
Where do you get Arttosa being visible from much of Iobaria? I don't recall that being said anywhere. And thinking about it, even at three miles high the curvature of Golarion would put it below the horizon within a hundred miles or so, even accross perfectly flat terrain.

It states this in the Iobaria Gazetteer in The Varnhold Vanishing (AP #33).

Artrosa was made so that Baba Yaga or her Warden could watch for Koshtchtchie's return to his old stomping grounds using enter image. How useful would the statues be for viewing if the only area they could see was Deeprun Crevasse (which was never even part of Koshtchtchie's demesne)?

We're not talking about being able to see most of Iobaria. Considering the majority of the country is forested, it isn't going to be able to see into any of those areas anyway. However, the area to the northwest of Artrosa, the plains of the Dvezda Marches and the eastern Ice Steppes, should be readily visible.

Shadow Lodge

Darrell Impey UK wrote:

Whilst I'm here:

Finished reading everything last night, and something in the Dvezda Marches section caught my attention. (Well, several somethings did actually, but I'll limit it to this for now.)

"Over 3 miles wide in places, the Deeprun Crevasse is a jagged gash torn into the face of the earth." (p72)

Really? 'Cause looking at the scale on that map, it's well over 20 miles across in some locations. Was that meant to have read, "Over 3 miles deep..." do you think? Or something else.

Adam Daigle wrote:
That's an error where I got deep and wide swapped in the text.
Rob McCreary wrote:
ElyasRavenwood wrote:

I just have a quick question.

On page 72 the Artrosa, (maiden mother Crone monoliths) are described as being "the 3 mile tall stone statues carved into the percipitous face of its tallest mesas"

And on page 20 under the assent section "the total distance between the base of a figure and its summit is approximately 1/2 a mile or 2,600 feet."

So how tall are these things? 1 mile or 2,600 feet?

Thanks

The statues are about half a mile tall, so the distances in the ascent section are correct. The 3-mile-tall reference in the gazetteer is a typo.

I'm sorry to bring this up again, but are there two typos in the Deeprun Crevasse section of the gazetteer? From what I understand Adam and Rob are saying, the crevasse is actually over 3 miles deep in places, but specifically around Artrosa, it's around half a mile?

How does one reconcile the fact that Artrosa is visible from much Iobaria if it's built into the eastern edge of the crevasse? Is the eastern edge that much higher than the western edge (and as such is much less than half a mile tall)?

Shadow Lodge

LazarX wrote:
Kalshane wrote:

I'm not sure where masterwork clothes are from, but if they exist, I would say they would stack with the trait.

It's called having both a courtier's outfit and the requisite jewelry to go with it. as in the equipment section of the CRB. That's to get your diplomacy rolls at par at a high society event, no bonus. The courtier's outfit keeps you from simply getting thrown out, and the jewelry keeps you from looking like an overdressed commoner.

It's one area where I don't see the ubiquitous "masterwork tool" as allowable as the proper gear already exists.

I don't even see what the problem is. Courtier's outfits are 30gp, and remove the -2 penalty on all Charisma checks with nobles. A masterwork tool specfically set to influence a noble via Diplomacy (no other skill or situation) costs 50gp for a +2 bonus. Regardless, it'll cost another 50gp on top of everything to not look like an out-of-place commoner.

As it stands, the masterwork tool is more limited in usefulness and costs more than the courtier's clothing.

Shadow Lodge

Kletus Bob wrote:

My interpretation:

- Helpful is a trait that boost aid another from +2 to +4
- Aid allies is a feat that boost aid another from +2 to +5

A feat in my book should be more powerful than a trait. Especially when taking into consideration the feat: extra traits. This tells us that a feat is worth 2 traits.

Also, if look at order of cockatrice, the same feat slot is dazzling display as a standard action and without pre-requisite. A simple +1 on aid another would not even be close to compare with that.

Now, I would tend to say helpful does not stack with aid allies or swift aid.

However, if you want to go this route, I`d suggest looking at Gloves of Arcane Striking and benevolant armor. Coupled with helpful, can get easily to +6 and up.

Several counterpoints:

Aid Allies is not a feat.
Aid Allies outscales Helpful (halfling), even if you consider Aid Allies to initially only boost +2 to +3.
Helpful (halfling) should probably not have been printed, considering the newest aid another trait "Helpful" boosts +2 to +3, and race-restricted traits aren't meant to be any more powerful than other traits (see Reactionary vs Elven Reflexes).

Shadow Lodge

Dragonchess Player wrote:


In context, ** spoiler omitted **

Spoiler:
I never thought he'd act as an intermediary, given how their bestiary reads. Ah well.
Shadow Lodge

Tels wrote:
TriOmegaZero wrote:
I just have their readied action be their surprise round action. Because sometimes people react before you can get your action off.

But that's the thing, a readied action supersedes all other actions.

Quickened spell? Doesn't matter, readied action.
Attack of opportunity? Doesn't matter, readied action.
Immediate action? Doesn't matter, readied action.

Readied actions trigger in response to another action, but before the triggering action takes place. If you're walking through jungle in enemy territory and you know they are nearby, but haven't attacked, how long can a person keep readying an action? Rules say they can do so infinitely, so that means there is never a surprise round as the party is always readied.

As long as they can come up with a justifiable readied action, they can stay readied.

Luckily, readied actions are one of the few actions that can only be taken during initiative.

Shadow Lodge

Dragonchess Player wrote:


The Frozen Stars & beyond: ** spoiler omitted **

Spoiler:
As stated earlier, mercanes have no interest in gold or valuables. They will only sell their magic items if you barter your own magic items.

Now, I know a GM could change this particular mercane to be so happy to be out of the gem that he'll change his rules for you, but the author went out of his way to tell GMs that this mercane isn't atypical in that respect.

The Frozen Stars wrote:

Zilvazaraat is willing to sell the PCs any of the items in his secret chest (see Treasure, below), and will even buy magic items from them, though he will need to leave and return

the following day (using plane shift) to get the required funds for payment. The mercane has no interest in mundane gear or valuables, only magic items.

Emphasis mine. This means that the PCs can trade in their old magic gear for new, but can't buy new stuff outright.

Note that, in order for PCs to create magic items, they need to have bought the necessary materials at the stated cost from somewhere. The process of magic item creation doesn't directly turn valuables into magic.

So, what did Mathew Goodall and the developers plan on having the PCs do with all their money in book 4? What about Brandon Hodge & Greg Vaughn in their books?

Shadow Lodge

I'm going to extend this to the rest of the campaign, if you don't mind.

spoilers for books 3+:
There is so much player wealth provided to the players in the form of gold and valuables, and Whitethrone is really the only place to spend it. Even then, the trip to Iobaria is one-way, since there are no activated keys that will take them back to Irrisen.

After book 2, Vurnirn is the only nearby settlement to trade at, and it's only a large town. Book 3 is the last time they can use teleport to get to any city they can think of. Book 4's Spurhorn, being a fortress under siege, doesn't have tons of money. I guess the PCs could go down to Cumo (woe betide GMs who don't read the gazetteer, though).

Book 5 is in the middle of the wilderness of a world that hasn't seen magic items for millennia, and Book 6 takes place entirely within the Hut. Freeing Zilvazaraat does absolutely nothing; mercanes deal solely in magic items, and never sell their wares to people for cash. The book even explicitly instructs the GM that this mercane is no different from the norm.

Even characters with the crafting feats don't get a break, since they don't directly turn gold into magic items, they need to use the gold to buy the necessary materials, which are then turned into magic items.

The only thing I can think of for characters wanting to spend the cash found in books 5 & 6 is to use the keys to go back to Iobaria/Triaxis, then teleport to a Golarion city/Cumo.

How did the authors and developers expect players to spend all their cash in books 3+?

How have GMs enabled their characters to spend the piles of gold that crop up during the adventure?

Shadow Lodge

What'd you find lacking with how the Reign of Winter witches were presented, combat-wise?

1 to 50 of 1,006 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | next > last >>

©2002–2015 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.