|Paizo Pathfinder® Paizo Games|
|About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ|
@_@! Wow, missed that part of the guide.
So Warpriests are only from the major religions?
What about major religions like the Tian Xia gods? No warpriests from that part of the world?
Edit: I always thought that the blessing are similar to domains, so you just need to pick a god, check what domain is given and select from that list of blessings... guess it doesn't work that way.
I 2nd what Rei mentioned.
10 con is very scary to play. You just won't have the HP to take a hit or 2.
I once GMed a game with a 8 con Monk. He went down on the first turn of the first round of combat. One high DC AOE dmg attack and he just dropped. The other players have no choice, but to leave him there so they can focus on taking out the enemies.
There are just some things that even with evasion and crane wing you can't avoid. So you would want the HP to tank that damage. Giving you the chance to regroup or just buy time for allies to help you.
David Haller wrote:
According to Quatar, you would still need to roll for it, cos a successful dispell still won't give you any points back. You need to dispell at a +10 more then the bare minimum.
So even if you can always successfully dispell your own spells, it does not give you anything back other then a successful dispell... :(
I feel good art is important not just to sell the products, but to give players and GMs an ideal or feel of the setting/game.
While its not a good ideal to judge a book by its cover or art. Those art works do help to set a tone and impression of what is expected within the book.
Art also helps in inspire those that read the book on what ideals they can have when making their characters, or how a GM could describe a location or setting.
I do agree that good art is more important then spamming a large amount of lower quality art. Bad art work can even pull people off from buying a book.
Hence, why I feel that more can be done for the new faction logos.
*BTW, why don't we see any faction logos in official "in-game" artworks? Are the factions a secret within the society or are the logos there just for players' sake.
Artwork is a major selling point for the game.And I have always been very impress by the art directions that paizo took.
(The first thing I do when I buy a new book is to check out the art work and I'm always impressed.)
Hence, the new faction logos are a huge disappointment.
Hopefully the art for the new factions could be improved upon.
LOVE the new factions.
They just feel so much more natural for the Pathfinder Society, in-game and out.
The previous national-factions actually seem to encourage the creation of characters that clearly have no reason to be in the society in the first place. (Such characters are fine in an adventure path or home campaign, but just don't make any sense being in the society.)
Now the new factions seem much more like actual factions of a large organization.
More so after seeing D&D 5th ed's Adventurers League factions' logo artworks.
Really wish a little more could be put into the new factions artworks to give them a polished feel.
Erik Mona wrote:
Just wondering if there are any plans to release the Imperial, Outer or Primal dragons in the future?
I was envisioning a rogue archer here.
Given how powerful any archer build already is, this might make an unkillable rogue archer that can solo anything! With sneak attacks being pulled off each round.
And here people were saying rogues are weak...
Wait a min, with most HiPS builds, ANY archer can go sneaking to godhood!
Rogues get it better with evasion... or Zen archers! Super "can't touch me" builds!
Remind me never to post something in the middle of the night.
Ok, if a 5 foot step is considered movement, a character breaking stealth to perform a full round attack, would still only get the benefit of of attacking out of stealth on the first attack only right? After which he can re enter stealth by taking a 5 foot step.
Does this means a character can break stealth, do 1 attack, 5 foot step to reenter stealth and then perform another break stealth for his 2nd attack?
This is concerning rogues, especially if they use range weapons. Aka then the use the 5 foot to perform 2 sneak attacks if they were stealth-ed from the start of their turn?
Just to confirm what Shadowlord said. A 5 foot step is NOT a movement and would not qualify for stealthing.
Remember you can only take a 5 foot step if you did not take any movements that turn.
But its not on the chronicle sheet. The text stating it bypasses DR is within the the scenario itself. The particular encounter which it was found, states that Trusty Buddy bypasses DR.
You also do understand that this is a Season 4 scenario? The same season they gave out free feats, free 4K+ magical tattoos and a free +2 to 1 ability score?
Is an improvised weapon that can't be upgraded or enchanted, but can bypass DR, really that far-fetched compared to the above?
Oh dear, I think I gave the wrong impression.
PFS really not that stiff on the guidelines, Scavion.
I was envisioning a specific scenario in my above post.
I have talked to my VO, and he does say its up to me to decide when things gets weird.
Jeff Merola wrote:
@Jeff, the full text for Trusty Buddy is quoted in a post above.
The Trusty Buddy is not normal, it has specific written special properties of which it gives additional bonus to opening doors and chest above that of the normal version and bypasses DR when used as an improvised weapon.
It is not just a case of a named item. It is a named item with specific properties that differ it from the normal variety.
“Trusty Buddy” (adamantine crowbar; 3,002 gp, limit 1; +4 circumstance bonus
The words "Trusty Buddy" was not placed there randomly or at the whimp of a GM. The writer placed it there. If the intent was just to give an adamantine crowbar, there won't be a need to name it or specific that it by passes DR OR state that it gives a +4 instead of a +2. A normal unnamed, adamantine crowbar would have served. But the writer did add it it there. This unique adamantine crowbar is given a name, it is given a special ability and property.
There is also no need for the use of the word "all" when describing bypassing of DR.
Here is the greater Greater Penetrating Strike feat:
It does not say, bypass "ALL" DR, accept DR without a type. It just say ignore DR, accept in the situation where it is DR/-. It could have used the words:
"Your attacks with weapons selected with Weapon Focus ignore up to 10 points of "ALL" damage reduction. This amount is reduced to 5 points for damage reduction without a type (such as DR 10/—)."
But it did not, nor does it need to.
Your argument is like saying "limit 1" for items on chronicle sheets don't mean anything, cos no where does it state the word "to" in there. Therefore based on that logic, "limit 1" does not mean "limited TO 1 only", and therefore players are free to buy 1 of such items at a time, as many times as they wish.
Is this item unusual? Yes. Does it does something its normal variant can't do? Yes! That's why its on a chronicle sheet!
Are you talking about the same scenario here? The scenario that Trusty Buddy appears in is a 5-9.
Also its special property of by passing DR is not just mentioned on the Chronicle sheet, but within the scenario's encounter description as well.
Given that players in the 5-6 range might have problem with DR, the item is well placed and given who Trusty Buddy originally belongs to, it even makes more sense.
This tool functions
as a crowbar in every way, but bypasses damage reduction
when used as an improvised weapon and grants a +4
circumstance bonus on Strength checks to open doors or
chests instead of the normal +2 bonus. The words “Trusty
Buddy” are engraved into the crowbar’s handle.
Full chronicle sheet description:
“Trusty Buddy” (adamantine crowbar; 3,002 gp, limit 1; +4 circumstance bonus
on Strength checks to open doors and chests, bypasses DR when used as
Note the +4 when used to open doors and chest. A normal crowbar only gives a +2. A normal Adamantine crowbar would still only gives a +2.
This is a special item, given as a purchase option in a chronicle sheet. Its special property is as written.
Chronicle sheets DO give out items that are usually not possible. There is a Keen Compound Longbow given out in a certain chronicle sheet. Is it a typo? Given that Keen cannot usually be applied to a ranged weapon? No! Its was intended as a reward for completing that module.
Just cos something is usually not found or possible in the base game, does not means that chronicles sheets cannot give special versions of such items.
The Trusty Buddy bypasses all DR.
Why it is not broken (or a typo):
1) It has to be used as an improvised weapon. Meaning a -4 for most characters to use it and a feat investment for those who want to avoid the -4.
2) Its an improvised weapon, meaning a) it is not a masterwork weapon, no bonus +1 to attack and b) it cannot be further enchanted, so your stuck with an improvised weapon that cannot be "upgraded" to deal more damage, hit better or provide you with extra weapon effects.
3) In the scenario it was provided, the Trusty Buddy was intended for the players to use to by pass the DR of monsters in that scenario. Given what they faced, Trusty Buddy is appropriately designed to fight monsters with DR and little else.
Note that if the scenario had wanted to give an adamantine crowbar, it would had done so and would not provide a unique item like the Trusty Buddy.
Remember there are scenarios that go so far as to give magic tattoos worth 4k+ or feats for FREE.
@thejeff and Garren,
As a PFS GM, I don't always have the option of making the BBEG run away. Many combat tactics call for BBEGs to fight to the death, so I'm stuck having a BBEG running around trying to find the invis or super stealth character.
I'm fine with a character investing feats and items to come up with a cool combo, what worries me is the fact that some combos would pretty much make the game trivial to the other players at the table.
And in the case of HiPS and similar abilities, logic gets thrown out the window too!
As a GM, my main concern about stealth is that when made high enough via items + feats, Stealth seems to become a sort of unbreakable invisibility.
A character build this way could, in theory kill any BBEG or monster that don't have enough perception to break the stealth.
Effectively it becomes a sort of super stealth.
Drake Brimstone wrote:
Sorry! My bad! >_<
Drake is correct!
I totally missed out THIS part of the faq "If the archetype ability says it works like the standard ability, it counts as that ability."
Please ignore my previous post and do go ahead with making a Celestial Servant Vermin companion.
Edit: Ignore this post.
Short answer: Celestial Servant won't work with Vermin Companions.
The reason is that Vermin Companions are called Vermin Companions in UM and not "Vermin Animal Companions".
To put it simply, while Vermin Companions follow the same rules as an Animal Companion, they are not Animal Companions. Therefore they don't meet the prerequisites needed for Celestial Servant.
Here is a similar example affecting another class:
The Archer (Fighter archetype) gains Expert Archer (Ex) at level 5, it works in all ways similar to Weapon Training (Ex), accept it affects only bows.
However this one change, means that an Archer-archetype fighter cannot make use of dueling gloves, an item that affects only a class with weapon training, even thought Expert Archer is almost word for word similar to weapon training and replaces weapon training.
This is explained in this FAQ.
Therefore, even though a Vermin Companions follow the same rules as an Animal Companion, they are not Animal Companions and do not count as the original ability for the purpose of rules that improve the original ability.
One reason I'm asking is partly due to how sniping states that "You take a –20 penalty on your Stealth check to maintain your obscured location"
If hide in plain sight or hellcat stealth allows you to stealth without cover, won't that means sniping is pointless for a character that makes use of these 2 ability/feat? After all, why suffer a -20 to stealth if you can just walk 5-15 feet to a side and hide again? This time with no penalties. As long as you keep moving, you gain all the advantages of full stealth with no drawbacks.
Hence me asking if a character can attack AND hide in the same round? Or does the act of attacking means the "not able to enter Stealth while attacking" part of the stealth rules coming into effect for that TURN? And that sniping is the only way to achieve an attack and stealth in the same turn?
I got a GM question. Assuming a character has the ability to enter stealth without having cover or concealment (via hide in plain sight or hellcat stealth)
1) While starting a round in stealth, attack (breaking stealth) then move half speed and enter stealth again?
2) Enter stealth as part of a movement, then in the same turn, use his standard action to attack a target (breaking stealth).
I'm asking this questions, as the stealth rules seems to cover only sniping, and not able to enter Stealth while attacking, running, or charging.
With the ability to enter stealth without cover or concealment, does such a character 3) even need to use the sniping rules? And 4) Can you actually attack and enter stealth in the same round?
No homebrew rules.
If the star recharge boon is tied to conventions, it may be meant to encourage the running of more cons for everyone to enjoy.
Some of my local cons are quite small (when compared to many others).
They are effectively just a bigger then usual gathering of local and new players. One con is even tied in as a family event for a school.
So why not seek out fellow local GMs, contact paizo and organize a con of your own for your town/city/local area?
If you need an online site that list where each items comes from I suggest you take a look at Archive of Nethys's Ioun Stones page.
Archive of Nethys lists which sources an item/spell/class comes from and includes a simple Pathfinder Society icon to help identify what is PFS legal. (Do double check the addition resources, as items/feat,etc that are legal may be restricted to certain races only.)
Survival has popped up many times in PFS scenarios and homebrews I have been in.
It should be at least a green, considering that it is the skill you use if you want to track someone or navigate dangerous terrains.
As for races, PFS-legal races are a good start. Just remember that there are many races accessible via boons, not just the open for use races.
On Favored Class Bonuses, maybe they will having those in the Advanced Class Origins? Aka, ACG is for core and the rest get placed in Advanced Class Origins?
Steel Hound is an investigator archetype that gains some gunslinger features. Proficiency with 1 firearm. Amateur Gunslinger and Gunsmithing and free battered gun over poison use, can take gunslinger deeds at level-4 as talents, rapid reload and extra grit as talents.
That sounds cool. Very detective with a gun like
Andrei Buters wrote:
I hope they go back to the drawing board on the new faction logos. None of them have the flair of the last few generations of faction emblems.
I have to sadly agree. They seem kinda weirdly simplified or overly literal in some cases like the exchange's.
I do hope they can be updated with more compelling artworks.
Running Kingmaker with players that may not be able to attend due to work or family commitments.
Gold and Loot:
Dread Knight wrote:
My only advice would be to pick up the Blood of the Angels book which has the original Whimsy Subdomain in it and just run with that one instead of the the one from Inner Sea Gods.
From Additional Resources"Subdomains: all subdomains on page 27 are legal except the whimsy subdomain"
That option is closed off. :(
As Malachi Silverclaw and Ascalaphus had said, a Ring of Freedom of Movement is your best bet, its 40k, but at level 14, you should be able to afford it.
If 40k is too expensive for you, a possibility given your huge and clearly equipment hungry party, I would suggest a Unfettered Shirt as a cheaper if more limited alternative.
You would need to activate its Freedom of Movement properties as a standard action, which lasts 10 mins and its only useable once a day.
They are core. Most subdomains originate from the APG, but many others appears from other books, like the Inner Sea Gods.
If you need to check up on which book a subdomain is from, I would suggest checking out www.archiveofnethys.com, under classes->Cleric->cleric domains. (I set the link above straight to the domains page.)
Find the domain with the subdomain you want and click on the link.
You can also see all cleric domains in one go and check if any subdomain is PFS legal, by checking if they have a PFS logo next to their names.
Hope this helps!
Some Questions on NPC naming in stories:
I'm asking cos, having played and run a number of PFS scenarios, I noticed the ones the focus on settings with real world relations like Season's 3 Tian Xia setting, often do have names that make sense, BUT! At other times the names just sounds/feels weird. Such names are either 1) A dead give away to players who understand the real world language used to formulate the NPC's name, like a boss whose name translates to something obviously bad or 2) Names that while "sounds Asian", just won't sense from a language view to be given to a person. Like names that translate to something obviously not flattering.
A Blaster Sorcerer is certainly doable. YES, such a character may be on the lower end of the power curve, but they can be made to be competent and workable.
Here are some ideals for you the GM,
1a) Highlight the demon's immunity to electricity and suggest he (if you allow it) change to another dragon type with another damage type.
1b) Help him with getting the feats that up his caster level and those that help to penetrate SR
Basically give him a helping hand in making the right blaster sorcerer choices in character creation.
2) House rule that immunity to an energy type has a upper limit. Say immunity = Rez 25 or 30.
3) Come up with a good side quest or adapt one with the reward being a feat/item that allows a player to convert part of his spell damage (50%) type to Sacred. Allowing it to bypass immunity and damage. This would allow him to still deal damage even if its not as much as he would like.
This feat or item could be a boon from his deity. Sort of like a divine approval from his deity in his fight against evil, tying him closer to the campaign.