|Paizo Pathfinder® Paizo Games|
|About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ|
If you are recollecting the battle correctly, your characters got cheated. Prismatic Wall cannot be cast on top of characters as an attack. If a character is in a space that the wall materializes in, the spell is disrupted and wasted. Greater Dispel Magic also could not have been used on the cleric and Maze could not have been used on the Paladin during the Time Stop . Karzoug would have had to cast the Dispel Magic and Maze after the Time Stop was over.
In other words, major magic items slots might as well not exist since most major magic items are over the price range of even Metropolises?
The Rot Grub wrote:
While I haven't seen any official FAQ, I think that the Ultimate Campaign version is wrong. There is already a 75% chance that any magic item under the base value is available by those rules. In the Kingmaker path where the Kingdom rules come from, you roll for special minor, medium and major items with no reroll. That would be the rule I'd use. While there may some duplication of minor items under this, once you get to the higher value settlements, there are no minor items of high enough value to try to roll for.
If you do give every class a feat at every level, you may want to look at Monte Cook's Collected Book of Experimental Might from Malhavoc Press. While it does suggest giving a character a Feat at every level, it also gives Feats that are chosen by a Fighter boosts since that is their main ability. It is for 3.5, so would require some adaptation for Pathfinder.
Slavery in the Pathfinder World and it's implications...(series of weird questions regarding a controversial topic)
Azaelas Fayth wrote:
Rome had surprisingly strict laws against abuse to a slave, well save Gladiatorial Slaves.
The above statement is a load of Donkey droppings. Apologetic history books and popular culture may state this, but it is no way true.
Slaves were the absolute property of their masters and could for the most part be killed, raped and sold with impunity. The slave had no rights to resist their master's use of their bodies in any way he wished, including sexually. The only part of the above statement that is somewhat true is that during the Principate, some laws curbing the absolute rights of masters to kill or castrate their slaves were passed, but they were rarely enforced.
Good books on what slavery was really like in Roman society are Slavery in Early Christianity by Jennifer A. Glancy and Slavery in the Roman World by Sandra R. Joshel.
See my reply above.
Also Ultimate Equipment Page 352
All (Intelligent Items) must have an alignment, mental ability scores, languages, senses, and at least one special ability. These statistics and abilities can be improved during CREATION, increasing the items overall cost.
You can't say the Mythic Anvil is the only way you can create an intelligent item since the Ultimate Equipment Guide clearly says they can be created by crafting.
Ultimate Equipment Page 356''The following are examples of specific intelligent items that CAN BE CRAFTED or found in treasure hoards.''
Two missing episodes, believed to be from Troughton's era, will be made available digitally on iTunes on Wednesday according to the Radio Times. Its not been announced which series they are from except that they are from different stories. Whether BBC has more missing episodes they have chosen not to release yet is still unknown.
Cynicism can be wrong. Two missing episodes, believed to be from Troughton's era, will be made available digitally on iTunes on Wednesday according to the Daily Times. Its not been announced which series they are from except that they are from different stories. Whether BBC has more missing episodes they have chosen not to release yet is still unknown.
I think that there is room for honest disagreement on this and would like a FAQ answer because none of the metamagic feats use your specific phrasing. Instead they all have phrasing such as spells without the x are not affected by this feat. Why have that line if all Metamagic feats could be used with all spells, just to no effect?
On page 112 of the Core rulebook, it says that Metamagic feats cannot be used with all spells. See the feat description for spells a feat cannot modify. The way I read that is if a metamagic feat cannot actually modify a spell, it can't be used on that spell.
Not sure if in Pathfinder this work this way but let me explain, concussive damage is or can be interpreted as bludgeoning damage therefore you can apply damage reduction and since every rock inflict their own damage you apply the DR to each rock, still a lot damage pass but is something.
Another flaw is that Intensify, Empower and Maximize feats are not legal feats for Feather Fall. If the base spell cannot use these feats, I would not allow them to be used by the Mythic version since the Feats must be added to the spell first. You don't memorize Mythic Feather Fall, you have a Feather Fall spell that you know how to add Mythic Power to if you choose.
From the designer of the Call of Cthulhu RPG.
Great miniatures in 28mm scale so very useful for RPGs as well. Many of the best known Great Old Ones and servitors are already included in the base game and expansions are adding many more.
Already funded and heading for some great sketch goals. I'm looking forward to the Dreamlands expansion.
Erik Mona wrote:
I don't have any idea how expensive it would be, but one possibility would be to have plastic pockets to slip the front and back covers of the map packs into.
Yes and No.
The Magus can add multiple abilities at the same time. For example, a 17th level Magus could add both Frost and Keen as well as a +3 bonus to a weapon using all 5 'pluses' of his Arcana pool (3 for the bonus, 1 each for Frost and Keen).
However, a Magus cannot add Vorpal to a nonmagical weapon. A 17th level Magus has a max of 5 'pluses' to add. To add any weapon properties to a weapon, it must be at least +1. If the +1 is added using the Arcane Pool, that only leaves 4 'pluses'. Since Vorpal uses 5 'pluses', the Magus would not have enough. The weapon must already be at least a normal +1 to add Vorpal and no other abilities or bonuses could be added thru the Arcane Pool.
You will be able to increase your pledge when the Pledge Manager comes online for around 30 days.
Knight Magenta wrote:
The character actually takes up a 5ft square, not cube. After all, some people could be 6' tall and using your scale would acually take 4 squares and be large. The character does not actually take up all the space in the square. This is a representation of the area that it needs to be able to effectively move and fight.
Marc Radle wrote:
I've just started getting into painting miniatures and two DVD sets I like are 'Masterworks Miniature Painting with Jen Haley and Anne Foerster' who I believe are Reaper Staff painters and 'Hot Lead' by Laszlo Jakusovszky. Both are avalible at FRP Games.
Greg A. Vaughan wrote:
I purchased this yesterday, but for some reason the shipping was not included in the price. Should I just send it to Bill seperately or wait to be contacted when it is time to ship?
Those sound awesome! Ive been wanting to try Aquatic setting for a bit now.
Cerulean Seas is a great book. The art is excellent, in full color and includes minis for the various races in the back. The underwater civilizations described give you enough detail to get a sense of the setting, but there is still a ton of room for expansion. Unfortunately, the book was so expensive to produce, it seems making it drove the company out of business. The PDF is avaliable here at Paizo and RPGNow.com has a full color softbound version you can order.
Two settings that I'm currently using.
Cerulean Seas (Alluria Publishing)- Underwater adventuring. All characters are either of an aquatic or an amphibious race. Has a lot of underwater monsters, new aquatic classes and feats, and a fairly developed setting in one book.
Freeport (Green Ronin)- Pirate Adventuring. There is one generic book that describes the setting (Pirate's Guide to Freeport). Green Ronin then published various conversions for mutiple systems that contain characters stats, new feats, and new classes. The Pathfinder version is Freeport Companion: Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Edition.
Tome of Horrors Complete has stats for Lucifer, Lilith, and many other named devils from Mythology.
I would assume it's only up to a level you can cast, right? So a 1st level wizard can't use any metamagic because he can't cast 2nd level spells. Or am I wrong?
He could use +1 Metamagic feats such as Still or Silent Spell on o-Level spells, but they would use up one of his first level spell slots.
Liz Courts wrote:
I've already got several sets. As a stopgap measure, they're fine. I just tend to like the art in the actual modules better and think they would be great as pawns.
that sounds about right any body know the history? of said rule?
Pulling out my 1st Edition DMG, there is a small section on Intervention By Deities. While its not really a rule, it does give an example guideline if DMs wanted to use Divine Intervention. The Basic 'rule' was a 10% chance of a creature being sent to the character's aid the first time the character called (with 00 meaning the God himself came). Each time the character was sucessful in calling for Divine Aid, the chance for sucess went down by 5%. There are some other modifiers such as how closely the character was following his alignment and if the mission was directly to the benefit ofthe god.
Thanks for the reply. Since both weapon training and sneak attack give bonuses and the example used was sneak attack, I didn't even think of that. A better example might have been Uncanny Dodge replacing Improved Uncanny Dodge.
Prices vary widely according to the level of quality you desire. Doing a websearch for Miniature Painting Service will give you a large list of studios.
One I've used in the past and really liked their work is PigmentedMiniatures.com.
David Fryer wrote:
Actually, I think it works out better for some of the lesser known properties. Disney is going to milk this for all they can. In fact, my guess is that since Disney is going to want to make the most money they can off of this, the biggest group of people who should be worrying are the other comic companies. My guess would be tht Disney is going to make their most talented people offers that they cannot refuse.
However, it is quite possible Marvel may actually end up losing many of their artists because of this deal. Disney does not allow the artists that work for them to keep their original artwork, unlike comic companies where this has become the standard. Many artists make a good amount of money from selling their original artwork. If Disney makes an exception for Marvel artists and allow them to keep their art, this may cause problems with the artists that work in other divisions of Disney. If they do not make an exception, many artists may leave when their current contracts are up. It's going to be interesting to see which way Disney goes.
DON'T READ UNLESS YOU WANT SPOILERS FOR MORRISON'S WORK OR FINAL CRISIS
He was not hit by the Omega Beam, but by the Omega Sanction. Read the Seven Soldiers of Victory: Mister Miracle mini-series by Morrison or early Kirby New Gods for what this means.
The Second Darkness adventure path is still calling them Drow. Since the Drow are in the SRD, Pazio can still use them without having to rename them or get permission from WOTC to use them. The Yuan-Ti are not, so Paizo can't use them without special permission (such as the Scarred Lands setting got).