After searching the message boards, this came up a couple of times, but there was no definitive response.
In a PFS game I was running yesterday, an alchemist was rolling Craft: Alchemy checks to identify found potions. This morning, it was pointed out to me that he may have been interpreting that ability incorrectly.
In addition, an alchemist can use Craft (alchemy) to identify potions as if using detect magic. He must hold the potion for 1 round to make such a check.
The clause "as if using detect magic" seems to muddle what had been, up to that point, a clear rule. Detect magic doesn't allow you to identify a potion. It allows you to identify auras. I believe the phrase "As if using Spellcraft" would also have been easily understood.
I would house-rule this in favor of the player. But since this is PFS, I feel like I need to make sure I'm being consistent with the larger community.
Does an Alchemist's successful Craft: Alchemy check identify the potion? Or does it identify the potion's auras?