I was under the impression that the wording on "Its effects do not stack" was that you can't select one type like fire 5 times to get crazy fire resistance. This interpretation of the wording falls in line with the wording of feats such as weapon focus. You won't get a higher bonus from weapon focus for taking it again, but you will get a bonus in another weapon, which would certainly apply to both weapons if you were dual wielding say a dagger and a short sword and had weapon focus in each.
Or a megaphone style thing. I don't know what you would call the non electric ones, but they exist. Anyone know if that's still a megaphone or have any idea what I am rambling about? But yeah as long as you could make a reasonable item it should work. War paint or a well created mask would be good for intimidate, necklace not so much (IMO). But yeah I really think this won't be settled resolutely right now. Talk to the dm.
I recall that in a home game once we had an atheist paladin. When asked "Whu?" It was pointed out that paladins don't need a God. Obviously pfs is different but from that I would think that outside of pfs you could worship whatever you want.
And suddenly I imagine paladins of nachos. At least yours makes more sense than my examples.
Sorry about the off topic post, but isn't that basically what the term cheese means (sans the doody head part...well sometimes)? It's a lot quicker way of saying it and I was under the impression that it is basically what the term meant.
I would not be too worried about their stats, honestly I find that in the ends its not terrible when someone has a wide variety of good stats (still just as likely to roll a 1 or 20 on saves or hits, for example) and you had a particularly forgiving method. Usually the person with the stats will be amped up mentally at the start and feel powerful, but that usually stops after a couple sessions, particularly if something bad happens to them. Like who cares what your stats are when the current BBEG is the horseman death and he just critted you on a spirited charge.
Heck we roll in my group and I once rolled 18, 17, 17, 17, 17, 17 and if I am not mistaken I on average was the least effective in combat. Sometimes the dice just don't favor you.
I am pretty sure you do not need to take weapon finesse (claws) just weapon finesse and it applies to all finessable weapons. If I am wrong we have been using it wrong for years. Also are claws viable for weapon finesse? The claw blades would (as they are light weapons) but I don't know about natural attacks.
I am not the most familiar with wizards but what I did notice was a mistake with fast learner. It allows two options. Option 1: 1 hp and 1 skill point. Option 2: the alternate favored class bonus. I am not certain but I am pretty sure you cannot take the human alternate favored class bonus even with scion of humanity. A half elf or half orc would not be able to either.
For one campaign our dm threw a large construct who wielded a greatsword at us. My character specialized in greatswords so when we beat it he allowed me to use my craft skill to work it down to a workable size for me. This might be an option if you have down time and you could always have them bring it to a Smith if they don't have craft.
Also I thought they're was some rule already available for magic items to resize themselves. If it does not already apply to magic arms and armor, consider adapting it.
BUT you still have the option of using the card to buy only apples. Thats the difference between altering the archetype and altering the singular class ability. You can still use said card to buy apples in the exact same way as before, aka unaltered. So Basically to bring it back to Pathfinder, you altered the monk class to allow for other options but the options do not need to be taken, leaving the options not chosen exactly the same way they were.
Ximen Bao wrote:
Holy crap can you do that? I need to look at this archetype again.
I never considered using those, or the primal dragons for that matter and now I want to so bad.
It seems to me that the energy type would be fairly easy to determine and then you would just need to figure out what type of breath weapon they would get. It seems that all lines are 60 ft range and all cones are 30 for Draconic sorcerers, so Sea dragon would have 30ft cone fire (really, fire?), Sky would have 30ft cone electricity, Sovereign would have 30 ft cone sonic (which is pretty sweet), Underworld would have 60 ft line fire. Forest Dragon for some reason would have 30 ft cone piercing damage.
The only one I don't know how to deal with there would be Resistances. For instance as a Forest dragon, your claws you would gain an extra 1d6 points of piercing damage (I guess) at 11th level, but for the resistances I am not sure what to do. You would still get the Natural armor, but you would supposedly get Elemental resistance to your elemental type, but that does not work out right since it is piercing.This comes up again at 20th level when you gain immunity to your element.
EDIT: All of this is purely conjecture of course, I have no idea if there are some types of rules I am not following for this, but a simplified way that I viewed it.
Darth Grall wrote:
Not only that, but the alchemist's extra arms explicitly do not grant additional attacks.
Well it could have been clearer in that all I was looking at was the Coven Hex, and I was unaware that there were rules elsewhere for it elsewhere, and this is why I was asking.
However I am now confused. That line also does backup the idea that non hags can join a coven. If the only types of covens that exist are at least 3 hags, then why have a requirement for it having at least 1 hag instead of 3? Or can you form a coven with a hag and another witch?
I am not trying to argue, I want to make that clear. I am asking to learn more about this subject.
Aren't hags the only ones that can join covens in the first place?
It is possible, but to me the hex does not read like that. Especially with the line about a coven requiring one hag. Can it really be called a coven if there is only one person in it? IIRC by definition a coven is at least a group of people (and sometimes more specifically is a group of witches, and sometimes even more specifically a group of 13 witches).
So it seems to me that it is possible.
Those points are not opposed, as they're on a common plane.
By that logic the spell is useless. No matter what if you have two points they will share a common plane. If its going from the bottom quarter of this column to the top quarter of that column, you can draw a straight line between the two and extrapolate a common plane.
Having a common plane does not preclude being diametrically opposed. The top right corner of a square and the bottom left corner of the square are diametrically opposed and still share a common plane.
Covens can cast certain spells with rituals and get a caster level boost I believe, that's the benefit.
That is the benefit of joining a coven period. I was asking what the benefit of being a hag for the purposes of joining a coven were. If there is no benefit to being a hag joining a coven (as opposed to being anyone joining a coven) then would it not be reasonable to believe that it's intent is to qualify you as the required hag?
I had considered that already but thank you for pointing it out.
I should have been more specific. While yes I agree they would be able to use wands from their limited spell list, they should not be able to do so for any spell on the sorc/wizard spell list. Dust Raven specifically asked about casting a wand that had a spell from that list, which is different from the Faerie Dragon's list.
I do realize, however, that I was pretty vague originally by just saying its not a sorcerer. So thank you again for bringing that up.
Edit: Of course for all I know I am misinterpreting how the Faerie Dragon's spells work, if he does somehow have access to the rest of the sorc/wiz spell list, I would like to see how, for future reference.
I agree with Vendle, I see nothing to suggest it is actually a sorcerer. It has no class levels, its HD are d12's, and if it was a 3rd level sorcerer not only would it have more abilities (bloodline stuff) it would also not need to specify that it casts as a 3rd level sorcerer.
As such I don't think it could bypass the umd prerequisites. It simply casts as a 3rd level sorcerer, it is not a 3rd level sorcerer.
You do not get both a Master Trick and a ninja trick at level 10. You get a ninja trick and the class ability Master Tricks. The Master Tricks class ability is that when you would get a ninja trick, you may instead get a master trick.
As someone who has nothing invested in this argument (never used masterpieces, don't really play bards a lot, don't particularly care, and I don't know either of you) I wanted to comment on this part especially.
Reading this thread has given me the position that you are most definitely in the wrong, and the personal attack on MPL here just adds to that. You have been given evidence to the contrary of what you believe, you are lifting things from irrelevant sources that do not actually back up your claim and even admitted at one point that you cannot find any written evidence to back up part of your claim, yet still insist you are right in that regard.
MPL has gone out of their way to provide evidence to the contrary and has not been lifting arguments from irrelevant sources to do so. I think it is fairly obvious that MPL has it right here.
This did come up in another discussion so I would like to hear if there is an official answer as well. However, as it has been pointed out I do understand if this takes a long time to happen.
If not, what is probably going to happen is that we will just continue not dealing with that part of it as we have in the past.
The spidery Tiefling does not work out too well because when dealing with townsfolk (in this campaign) they will treat more monstrous races as monstrous. Even the Drow is stretching it. I have been made aware that such a race is allowed, I should just have reasonable expectations of how people might react to me.
Also I can't believe I missed vermin shape. That might be just what I was looking for.
I was thinking about making a spider themed character (preferably a druid) but I can't seem to find a good way to do it. I can't find a way to wild shape into a spider, and is it just me or is the spider animal companion a little lackluster? I am not super familiar with AC rules, but its stat block seems weak.
I am open to other classes, but I do want to be able to fight as a spider. So any suggestions?
There is one in "Ultimate Combat" called the meteor hammer, I'm not entirely sure it is a monk weapon, but it should be IMHO, and I would houserule that it is, but the monk must still take the feats for it.
It's still not a polearm, same problem as the others. It's another rope weapon. I find it weird that monks only get reach weapons like that.
Yes it its true that by RAW it does not work, but not only is that the obvious RAI, the guy who wrote it posted on the boards about it. I can't link the post right now (on my phone) but you should be able to find it. Also I feel any sane GM should be able to see the RAI and as long as you're not playing PFS should allow it. Now if your GM is a stickler for RAW or it is PFS you have to go with that but then you should not use the archetype as IIRC the biggest weapon you could use would deal 2d6 damage. Same as a great sword.
I don't know about multi classing into oracle, but if the campaign has enough room for it, I would suggest the mammoth rider prestige class. Earliest entry is level 10 but it has some great synergy with the mounted fury.
Huge mammoth (there are other options, but I like them best) and if you take the beast totem line and the rage powers that are focused towards the mount it gets claw attacks alongside its normal natural attacks while you are using your lances.
I can't quite remember exactly what it did, but I remember that the first time he used it combat stopped because everyone (on both sides) just stared at him.
As for Pepsi Jedi, the dm said he would have to trade out an ability and I think because of the character he was playing thats the one they agreed on.
Radiarch Eklesya wrote:
For our group our dm often allows certain customizing with races. Like obviously there is multiple colors for gnomes and how orcish the half orc looks, but when one player played a tengu he was allowed to choose the bird and was a Kookoobura (I think that's how you spell it) and so the dm replaced the bite for a chirping ability. If youlook them up you will see why.
Yeah, I want that FAQ'd, that seems like an oversight from the creation of alternate racial traits.
Do not get me wrong. By RAW if you are an elf you are immune no matter your racial trait because of the Bestiary entry. No argument about that here. However, that does not seem to me to be the intended effect.
I would like to know as well, as to most of our group the logical conclusion is that its poorly worded but you do not need to meet the prerequisites of Elemental fist, but you do need Elemental fist for the style feats that require it (since they would be unusable otherwise).