Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Golden Orb

Roshan's page

Goblin Squad Member. FullStar Pathfinder Society GM. 864 posts (1,235 including aliases). 3 reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 10 Pathfinder Society characters. 7 aliases.

1 to 50 of 76 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>

There are a few teamwork feats like Enfilading Fire and Coordinated Shot that pretty much do nothing because they require a character to be in combat with an enemy or to flank an enemy. Generally speaking though the guys that are going to be in combat with the enemy won't have point-blank shot or precise shot which in the case of Enfilading fire are prerequisites.

Aside from just reworking how teamwork feats work I think it'd be a good idea to add a new feat that would allow an ally to provide the benefit of the teamwork feat to their ally who does have the feat while gaining no benefit themselves. Require the feat to spend some time every so often training with that ally and limit the number of feats they could provide benefits for.

This is an idea of how this may work.

Battle Buddy (Combat, Teamwork)

Benefit: By spending 8 hours training under an ally with a teamwork feat you may count as having that feat for the purposes of granting benefits to your allies, you can only grant benefits for a single teamwork feat, if you train to grant benefits for another you no longer grant benefits for the previous teamwork feat. At fourth level and every four levels thereafter you can grant benefits for another teamwork feat without losing the previous.

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Does the Verdant Vine wrist item continually grow new charges or when you expend all 5 does it just turn into a bit of shrubbery?

Consisting of a vine with five green berries, a verdant vine is worn tied around the wrist. Once per day on command, the wearer can pinch a berry off the vine, and throw it up to 30 feet away, like a splash weapon. Viciously thorny vines erupt in a 20-foot radius from the point of impact, even if the berry misses its target. Creatures within the area must succeed at a DC 16 Reflex saving throw or become entangled, as the spell entangle, as the vines coil around the creature's legs. The vines persist, but at the start of the affected creature's turn, it gains a new saving throw against the effect. If the affected creature fails the saving throw, it also takes 1d4 points of damage.
A DC 20 Strength check, made as a standard action, allows an affected creature to break free and end the effect. Failing the check causes the vines to constrict, dealing 1d4 points of damage.

Binding Ties (Su): As a standard action, you can touch an ally and remove one condition affecting the ally by transferring it to yourself. This transfer lasts a number of rounds equal to your cleric level, but you can end it as a free action on your turn. At the end of this effect, the condition reverts to the original creature, unless it has ended or is removed by another effect. While this power is in use, the target is immune to the transferred condition. You can use this ability a number of times per day equal to 3 + your Wisdom modifier.

Every GM I have talked to has had something different to say about this ability but the general consensus is that RAW it's too strong for a first level ability. From a PFS standpoint how does this ability work and does it work for every condition? (Dead, grappled, flat-footed, incorporeal, etc)

If you can only make one Attack in a round, can you still decide to use a full round action to make the attack gaining the benefits of say the Shield of Swings feat or the Defensive Parry ability of the Aldori Swordlord fighter archetype?


I have GM credit for Rivalry's End that I was about to apply to a character when I read the boon a little more closely.

You cannot benefit from both this boon and the Triumph of the Lantern Lodge boon.

Does this mean no single character can benefit from the same boon? Or does it mean that you can never have both boons on any of your characters?

A paladin has a large number of spells with a cast time of Immediate Action, this is pretty cool but when they cast these kinds of spells they can't heal themselves with lay on hands. Can a paladin use a Standard Action to heal themselves instead of a swift action?


When playing a Pregen Caster that prepares spells such as Ezren and Kyra can you change their prepared spells or are you locked into their prepared spells?

Edit: Mind you I'm not asking to swap out spells known or anything like that. Just preparing spells that the characters already have access to, like those from Ezren's spellbook or from the Cleric List for Kyra.

When charging while Mounted with a Reach Weapon such as a lance does the mount stop when you make your attack at the required 1 square away?

PRD Link

A grease spell covers a solid surface with a layer of slippery grease. Any creature in the area when the spell is cast must make a successful Reflex save or fall. A creature can walk within or through the area of grease at half normal speed with a DC 10 Acrobatics check. Failure means it can't move that round (and must then make a Reflex save or fall), while failure by 5 or more means it falls (see the Acrobatics skill for details). Creatures that do not move on their turn do not need to make this check and are not considered flat-footed.

The spell can also be used to create a greasy coating on an item. Material objects not in use are always affected by this spell, while an object wielded or employed by a creature requires its bearer to make a Reflex saving throw to avoid the effect. If the initial saving throw fails, the creature immediately drops the item. A saving throw must be made in each round that the creature attempts to pick up or use the greased item. A creature wearing greased armor or clothing gains a +10 circumstance bonus on Escape Artist checks and combat maneuver checks made to escape a grapple, and to their CMD to avoid being grappled.

Can a creature take a 5-foot step within the area of a grease spell? I believe it can and heres why I think so.

Very often I've heard that because of the sentence "A creature can walk within or through the area of grease at half normal speed with a DC 10 Acrobatics check" That means that the Grease is difficult terrain and therefore you can't 5-ft step. It doesn't say that grease is difficult terrain, as it does in Web, Shifting Sand and Ice Storm. Furthermore walk speed has absolutely nothing to do with your 5-ft step, creatures with movement speeds of both 100 and 10 have the same 5-ft step distance.

When an action type isn't listed for a domain's power is it assumed to be a free action? The Action of the power it replaces? Or are these just errors.


Souls Subdomain
Touch the Spirit World (Su): With a touch, you can empower a weapon to affect incorporeal creatures. The weapon touched deals half damage to incorporeal creatures, or full damage if it is a magic weapon. This benefit lasts for a number of rounds equal to your cleric level. You can use this ability a number of times per day equal to 3 + your Wisdom modifier.

Defense Subdomain
Deflection Aura (Su): Once each day, you can emit a 20-foot aura for a number of rounds equal to your cleric level. Allies within the aura gain a +2 deflection bonus to AC and combat maneuver defense.

Can Summon Minor Monster summon swarms?

This spell functions as summon monster I, except you can summon 1d3 Tiny or smaller animals, such as bats, lizards, monkeys, rats, ravens, toads, or weasels. The summoned animals must all be the same type of creature. As with animals summoned with summon monster I, you may apply one alignment-appropriate template to these animals.

The only limiting factor in this spell is that all creatures summoned by this spell must be tiny or smaller, animals, and the same creature.

A Venomous Snake Swarm meets all of these requirements.

This question may have (and probably has) been asked before but I can't find any definitive responses that clearly define how the different Aid Another traits and feats interact with one another.

Question 1

For things that actually change the bonus granted by aid another such as the Helpful trait and Improved Aid class feature, do they stack or would they overlap?

From a strict reading I would probably say they wouldn't but I'm not sure.

Question 2

How would something like the Helpful trait that actually changes the bonus from +2 to +4 interact with the Swift Aid feat which already changes the bonus from +2 to +1? Does it overlap again? Are you granting +3 instead?

What product is being used for the map. Those 3-D Walls are pretty cool.

I know that off the shelf magic items are assumed created at the minimum requirements and so the DC's are kinda low. Can you create an item at a higher DC? Say my wizard makes a wand of lightning bolt, does the DC NEED to be 14 or do I add my int/feats?

Can I cancel this order please?

I know this is probably a no brainer but does the feral speech witch hex have a duration, time limit, or daily limit of any kind?

PRD Link


Feral Speech (Su): This hex grants the witch the ability to speak with and understand the response of any animal as if using speak with animals, though each time she uses the hex, she must decide to communicate with either amphibians, birds, fish, mammals, or reptiles, and can only speak to and understand animals of that type. The witch can make herself understood as far as her voice carries. This hex does not predispose any animal so addressed toward the witch in any way. At 12th level, the witch can use this hex to communicate with vermin.

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Spell Text:
Summon Minor Monster

This spell functions as summon monster I, except you can summon 1d3 Tiny or smaller animals, such as bats, lizards, monkeys, rats, ravens, toads, or weasels. The summoned animals must all be the same type of creature. As with animals summoned with summon monster I, you may apply one alignment-appropriate template to these animals.

Summon Monster

This spell summons an extraplanar creature (typically an outsider, elemental, or magical beast native to another plane). It appears where you designate and acts immediately, on your turn. It attacks your opponents to the best of its ability. If you can communicate with the creature, you can direct it not to attack, to attack particular enemies, or to perform other actions. The spell conjures one of the creatures from the 1st Level list on Table 10–1. You choose which kind of creature to summon, and you can choose a different one each time you cast the spell.

A summoned monster cannot summon or otherwise conjure another creature, nor can it use any teleportation or planar travel abilities. Creatures cannot be summoned into an environment that cannot support them. Creatures summoned using this spell cannot use spells or spell-like abilities that duplicate spells with expensive material components (such as wish).

When you use a summoning spell to summon a creature with an alignment or elemental subtype, it is a spell of that type. Creatures on Table 10–1 marked with an “*” are summoned with the celestial template, if you are good, and the fiendish template, if you are evil. If you are neutral, you may choose which template to apply to the creature. Creatures marked with an “*” always have an alignment that matches yours, regardless of their usual alignment. Summoning these creatures makes the summoning spell's type match your alignment.

I tried to use summon minor monster to summon 1d3 bats and have them use aid another. I'm a witch with the Feral Speech hex and can communicate, unfortunately the DM said that only trained animals can use tactics. So what exactly are the "Other Actions" you can command things to do if you speak their language?

Visually, is there any difference between silent image and any other illusion spell?

Doing the math for a command word item of CL 1 Unseen Servant that doesn't have charges.

1st level spell x caster level 1 x 1,800 = 1,800 gp

So browsing spells, came across Death Kneel. Because the Caster Level bonus is typeless could I stack it indefinitely? I mean obviously there is the time limit but with 10 standard actions per minute could you kill 50 weenies and run around like a badass for 5 minutes with a caster level +50?

Context A few friends and I were having a talk about some possible summon/gate loops that are still possible in pathfinder but from that discussion came an interesting question.

Usually when I think of something that's summoned, as soon as the duration is over/the creature dies/the creature is banished then it poofs back from whence it came (equipment included). But then it was presented in another light, say a player character was summoned via gate or something like that where it actually brings a creature into the world. If a character gated into a different plane drops his sword he doesn't magically teleport back with it, most GM's (myself included) would say that yea, his sword is still on that plane when he poofs back to Golarion.

If it's that way for PC's then why wouldn't it be the same way for summoned creatures? Say a Legion Archon gets gated into the mortal plane, if someone took his +1 Flaming Burst Greatsword and +1 Flaming Javelin and then sent him back I would (based on this new outlook) let the player keep the weapons.

Question Is there anything out there that defines what happens to equipment belonging to a creature that is summoned from it's native plane and could this by extension allow you to summon a creature and take fillets out of it?

Liberty's Edge *

Generally it's thought that a Paladin has to be within one Alignment step as their Deity but nowhere in the description of the Paladin class does it say that your deity has to be good.

Is there anything stopping me from becoming a paladin of Pharasma?


Okay, so I'm not completely sure how to handle this next part. The party has made it to the final act, Blackraven Betrayal. They have arrived in the morning, have posted guards within the room WITH the goblins. The goblins at this point have been changed in attitude from indifferent to friendly.

I am right now unsure how to handle what's supposed to happen next. The way I played it there were Blackravens who saw the PC's enter the longhouse and confine themselves with the two in the extra room and so they wouldn't just enter in through the secret entrance when there's two armed people in there.

How should I handle this? I know that without intervention from the party Enrik will do his best to kill the goblins but how would he do it? I'm sure I'll come up with something but I'd like some input.

Biped Base Form

So you can spend 1 Evolution point to replace the two claws with a single slam, can you spend another evolution point to get another slam attack with that same pair of limbs?

I can understand it ruleswise if it's a no. Two 1d8 attacks is pretty crazy but it's just strange that you'd need both hands to do a slam attack when in most situations it just isn't feasible to use both hands to hit someone.

I just got off the phone with the Redmond Town Center Marriott, I'm on a limited budget and I'm flying in from pretty far so I'm trying to get all my expenses laid out so I can budget around that. I had thought that with the full cost of the room paid for that it was taken care of, apparently you're charged (pretty sure but not certain, the guy was mumbling) Room + Tax + $75.00 per night on top of whatever you're already paying for the room.

That's a pretty steep cost and now I'm wondering why they didn't say that up front.

If I'm wrong PLEASE let me know but if I'm right then I'm sure that there's at least a couple more people like me who didn't know about it and didn't plan on spending $200.00 more than what they already have.

I got two copies of the jousting event, levels 1-3 and 4-6. Unfortunately the level 1-3 conflicts with the grand convocation which I would REALLY like to go to. I've posted a trade for it but at this point there are still 34 open spots.

Can I just drop an event?


So I'm confused, I could have sworn that the only races allowed were those out of the core rulebook, but in the allowed resources it mentions that all the tiefling heritages are legal for play.

Could I please get a list of the legal races?

I ordered this on the 24th of last month and I haven't gotten it yet. It says to allow 4-9 business days but I'm on day 10 (day 9 if you don't count the day I ordered it).

Male Human Oracle of the Heavens 20/Horizon Walker 10

I'm going to start the newcomers on a different thread so as not to cause confusion with the two seperate plot lines.

Maeltheron, Reiko, Ariella, Eben, Breunnor. You all find yourselves aboard River Stalker a fine shallow bottomed ferry that frequently sails up and down the Vassa river. All heading to the small town of Bosh after hearing of a great bounty and perilous adventure you come to find the town in ruins. While there are no bodies in the streets it's still plain from the blood stained walls of abandoned houses and storefronts lining the docks that something terrible happened here.

Captain Kors, a haggard man steps out to the railing wearing a grimace "Neer' thought it was this bad..." he says to no one in particular. The crew go about the business of docking River Stalker and within minutes she's been tied off and the gangplanks been lowered.

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Scenario: Frostfur Captives
Tier: 1-5
Subtier: 1-2
Players: 3-5

Preference given to players from This thread.

If your character has seen action before you must show me your chronicle sheets. No sheets, no seat.

Seat 1: ---------
Seat 2: ---------
Seat 3: ---------
Seat 4: ---------
Seat 5: ---------

Male Human Oracle of the Heavens 20/Horizon Walker 10

Please direct any OOC questions you may have here.

If your character has seen action before either post the chronicle sheets here or private message me a link.

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Male Human Oracle of the Heavens 20/Horizon Walker 10


I have a belt of dexterity +2, at the most recent level I increased my dexterity from an even score to an odd one. Is there anything stopping me from increasing my belt of dexterity from +2 to +3?

Previous Thread/Creation Info

Creation Rules in the Link above and some other helpful info here. Looking for 2-3 replacement players, would like a general idea of a background and from there I can help craft your introduction.

Currently the party is level 5, with a Rogue/Fighter and a Bard.

So I've had this idea kicking around in my head for a while, I was thinking about taking it to my local group to see if anyone wanted to try it out but I figured that we're already playing one dedicated game right now so I'll lay it out on PbP first.

I'm pretty sure how I'm going to handle it but I just wanted to flush out my ideas and get some feedback.

The Concept

Pathfinder Heroes in the Modern World with none of that time travel/planeswarping mumbo jumbo, they know where they are and are children of this era.

The players are part of ORDER, an organization that on the surface is a Private Military Company but in actuality deals with Monsters and Magetouched.

The United States Government is aware of the existence of these creatures and contracts ORDER to take care of these situations when they arise. As such they are provided with support from a multitude of military branches but never any active combat roles and always under the guise of a black op.

The public is largely unaware of what goes on and the government/ORDER go to great pains to keep it that way.

ORDER is kind of like a cross between the Freemasons and (drawing a blank on the name) the organization that polices time and makes sure things go the right way without actually changing anything. ORDER's Edicts (among killing monsters) deal largely with not taking sides on any real world topic, it is because of this reason that there is some friction with the Government and ORDER.

The Monsters and Magetouched aren't some isolated problem, it's systemic. Nearly every city has a goblin infestation and at least a couple two-bit wizards running around. Mostly the monsters stay hidden, they have grown very adept at this over the last century but something is riling them up and they are becoming more bold.

The Mechanics

Classes, Players may choose any class including the Modern Hero Class

Races, everyone is going to be human though the other races did exist at one point, most of the humanoid races died off in the dark ages, victims of plague, war, and racial tension. Because of this the player may choose a heritage (Only one race) and choose race traits from that race (traits as in character traits, not racial things like darkvision or keen senses).

Equipment, The game will use both Pathfinder and Modern equipment tables, for example, while a club is a simple weapon a shotgun is also a simple weapon. ALL characters are proficient with simple weapons. Characters as Agents of ORDER will recive a budget with which to purchase their equipment. They get a paycheck as well as a bonus for missions completed.

Magic, magic exists within the world though it doesn't react well with technology. Passive magic such as a magical item is fine around technology though active magic is met with volatile results. A wizard for example is able to use a cell phone with no problem. Though when he casts a spell his cell phone runs the risk of malfunctioning or even exploding. It is for this reason that all firearms are considered mundane and that ORDER still employs swords and similar weapons, because at times they're the only thing able to hurt some of the monsters they hunt down.

Religion, this part is going to be largely left up to players. If you wish to worship one of the Golarion Deities I suggest you find a real world equivalent. For those that are interested in this sort of thing I'll come up with a table. Aroden for example would be Jesus while Irori would be Buddha.

Setting, for the most part this campaign will be largely placed in the United States, the ORDER headquarters is in Washington DC though they have offices in nearly every state (construction is currently underway for ORDER Alaska). The campaign will start in New York and the players will be stationed there but may be shifted around the country due to job requirements.

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Okay, so a Ninja can take an advanced rogue talent as a ninja trick. I'm wondering if the Ninja needs the prerequisites for these advanced talents.

Normally I'd assume yes but it's just the third sentence in the ability has me curious.

Advanced Talents: The ninja can select a rogue talent from the list of Advanced Talents in place of a ninja trick. The ninja cannot select a rogue talent that has the same name as a ninja trick. The ninja cannot select improved evasion unless she has evasion (either as a class feature or as a ninja master trick).

If the case was that you needed the prerequisites for the advanced rogue abilities then why would they specifically say that improved evasion requires evasion? To me this is saying that improved evasion is the exception and you need it's prerequisites but as for the rest, you don't.


A panicked creature must drop anything it holds and flee at top speed from the source of its fear, as well as any other dangers it encounters, along a random path. It can't take any other actions. In addition, the creature takes a –2 penalty on all saving throws, skill checks, and ability checks. If cornered, a panicked creature cowers and does not attack, typically using the total defense action in combat. A panicked creature can use special abilities, including spells, to flee; indeed, the creature must use such means if they are the only way to escape.

Panicked is causing some contention in our group. One player is arguing that the description of random only refers to the initial direction and the GM is saying that when you reach a fork (Left and Straight) it's random, the player is saying that he would go straight, directly away from the threat.

My thoughts on the matter are in favor of the GM's view on the matter. Specifically because of the wording of the panicked condition where it says "Path" and not "Direction".


What are some good puns for a character that has lost an arm?

Okay, so this question came up last time we played, does a spell have to be on a Witch's spell list in order for them to learn it from a scroll? My gut says yes but looking more closely into the matter there doesn't seem to be any restriction.

Advanced Players Guide wrote:
Spells Gained at a New Level: A witch's familiar learns a certain amount of lore and magic as the witch adventures. Whenever a witch gains a level, she may add two spells from the witch spell list to her familiar. The two free spells must be of spell levels she can cast.

Under the section about learning spells from scrolls it doesn't mention the part about the spell having to be a part of the Witch's spell list (At least none that I've been able to find).

Advanced Players Guide wrote:
A witch can use a scroll to teach her familiar a new spell. This process takes 1 hour per level of the spell to be learned, during which time the scroll is burned and its ashes used to create a special brew or powder that is consumed by the familiar. This process destroys the scroll. At the end of this time, the witch must make a Spellcraft check (DC 15 + spell level). If the check fails, the process went awry in some way and the spell is not learned, although the scroll is still consumed.

Doesn't mention anything about that new spell having to be on the Witch's spell list and there is no flat out rule like for wizards that strictly prohibits them learning spells from either spell list.

Core Rulebook wrote:
Wizards can add new spells to their spellbooks through several methods. A wizard can only learn new spells that belong to the wizard spell lists.


Advanced Player's Guide wrote:
Bonus Spells: burning hands (2nd), resist energy (4th), fireball (6th), wall of fire (8th), summon monster V (fire elementals only, 10th), fire seeds (12th), fire storm (14th), incendiary cloud (16th), fiery body (18th).

Why is this a thing? Considering Clerics and therefore Oracles get EVERY summon monster (if they choose to take it) why would they limit a spell that they can already take to only summoning one type of creature? I'd understand if clerics didn't get summon monster to limit it to a single summon but this just doesn't make sense to me.


Reguarding Modules, I was going to start running mods for my local group and taking a look at some of the higher mod chronicle sheets for modules that just came out it seems that the rules about how characters have to be within a level for a module but looking at the chronicle sheet I just downloaded it says this (Spoilers)

A player may also create an 11th-level version of an existing Pathfinder Society character for use in the module. This character may have up to 82,000 gp in total wealth, with no single item worth more than 41,000 gp. Such a character is considered to have no Prestige Award.

Yet the blog post on 4.1 said this:

Paizo Blog wrote:
We added a new chapter titled, Chapter 6: Sanctioned Modules. There are big changes to sanctioned module play. Gone are the artificial leveling up or down of a character. Now, the sanctioned modules must be played by a character within one level of the module’s starting level. I know this is not a popular decision for some. However, campaign leadership feels this change is what is best for the campaign. Death and use of consumables now have consequences. New Chronicle sheets have been completed for all 15 sanctioned modules that adjust the wealth received to be in line with wealth received when playing the equivalent number of scenarios. These Chronicle sheets are available for download on their respective product pages.

So are the chronicle sheet is saying that it's cool to make an artificially leveled up character but the paizo blog isn't, yet the paizo blog says that they updated all the chronicle sheets (Unless ruby phoenix tournament chronicle sheet is just the one that they forgot to change)

Can I get a clarification? If the case is that you need to play a mod within a level of your character why is witchwar legacy a sanctioned mod? Level 16-18 when there are no scenarios planned past 12th level?

If the case is that at a certain level you CAN artificially advance your character why is it that none of the super high level modules (beyond what normal PFS characters could hope to achieve) why were the details of this taken out of some but not others.


I'm sure this has been asked before but after searching with the paizo searcher and Google searching I've come up on zilch. So just for clarification, I know that the first steps introductory scenarios can be applied to a player's characters the first time they play them with that character, but does a GM receive credit every time they run it?

You have a custom avatar image. Please contact customer service to change your avatar image.

Can you reset it please?

Male Human Oracle of the Heavens 20/Horizon Walker 10

Talkin stuff.

Post here and we'll get started by Monday.

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Male Human Oracle of the Heavens 20/Horizon Walker 10

As you make your way to the small trading town of Bosh that sits on the bank of the mighty Vassa River you come to find that the news you heard was correct. It looks like every farmboy with a sword within a hundred miles of here has shown up, most likely seeking to make their name as a Hero. Glancing around you see that some of those milling about town look quite competent, dressed in fine armor and wielding expensive-looking weapons.

Asking one of the passerby heroes what's going on he tells you "Ain't you heard? the headman's offerin a bag of gold to anyone who deals wit dem shadow beasties, dey only come out at night tho so we waits."

1 to 50 of 76 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>

©2002–2016 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.