Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Viktor

Rebis Ouroboros's page

Goblin Squad Member. Pathfinder Society Member. 167 posts. 1 review. No lists. No wishlists. 20 Pathfinder Society characters.



Shadow Lodge

I'm playing a Wizard (Universalist)1, Magus (Bladebound Kensai)7. I had wanted to add Agile to my Black Blade, but I've been told I cannot because of this ruling:

Under the official FAQ, it says,

Can I use Craft Magic Arms and Armor to increase my blade's enhancement bonus?
No, nor can you use that feat to add other properties (such as flaming) to the black blade. You can use your arcane pool to temporarily add abilities to your black blade.

However, the blade that I use is my weapon I use as my Arcane Focus from my 1st level of Wizard. I took that level to be able to use it for Hand of the Apprentice, but there is this quote in there as well...

"A wizard can add additional magic abilities to his bonded object as if he has the required Item Creation Feats and if he meets the level prerequisites of the feat. For example, a wizard with a bonded dagger must be at least 5th level to add magic abilities to the dagger (see Craft Magic Arms and Armor feat)."

So would I, if I took the required feat, be able to add Agile to my bonded object weapon?

- Rebis Ouroboros

Shadow Lodge

... Is it possible to turn in one for store credit? I had just assumed that I would be credited for one of my passes since I'm GMing 5 events during the con.

What do you suggest I do?

- Rebis Ouroboros
(AKA Rich Crotty)

Shadow Lodge

I'm playing a Beastmorph Alchemist in PFS play.
I just achieved 3rd level, at which point, I get Beastform Mutagen.

That ability reads:

Beastform Mutagen:

"At 3rd level, a beastmorph’s mutagen causes him to take on animalistic features—whether those of an animal, a magical beast, an animal-like humanoid (such as a lizardfolk), or a monstrous humanoid. For example, when the beastmorph uses his mutagen, he may gain a furry muzzle and pointed ears like a werewolf, scaly skin like a lizardfolk or sahuagin, or compound eyes and mandibles like a giant insect. The beastmorph also gains his choice of one of the abilities listed in the alter self spell, which persists as long as the mutagen. He may select a different ability each time he creates a mutagen."

Alter Self reads:

Alter Self:

"When you cast this spell, you can assume the form of any Small or Medium creature of the humanoid type. If the form you assume has any of the following abilities, you gain the listed ability: darkvision 60 feet, low-light vision, scent, and swim 30 feet.

Small creature: If the form you take is that of a Small humanoid, you gain a +2 size bonus to your Dexterity.

Medium creature: If the form you take is that of a Medium humanoid, you gain a +2 size bonus to your Strength."

My question is, since it says that I can assume the FORM of any small or medium creature, do I use the creature's entry in the bestiary for my skills and soforth? My instinct is to say no, it's just cosmetic, but I thought I'd check in with greater minds than myself.

- Rebis Ouroboros

Shadow Lodge

2 people marked this as a favorite.

I'm about to start GMing Beginner Box for a group of possibly TEN 4th, 5th and 6th graders.

And yeah, I know I'm insane. But they were going to start asking random teenagers to GM for them. They're tiring of 4th Edition, and a few of them who have gamed with me have been telling the other kids about my GMing. I even had a mother offer to pay me.

I'm going to go with EdOWar's class conversions, and then attempt to "EdOWar-ize" up all of the races from the Advanced Race Guide for Beginner Box, as well. I'm calling it MonsterSquad ATTACK!, and I'll be running it at DTwenty Games in Normandy Park, WA.

I figure I'll make up some new goblin characters and have the whole chaotic pile of them go through "We Be Goblins!" to really get them to see how fun it is (along with all of the D&D Encounters players who will be there that Wednesday night - I have a feeling we'll have a few looky-loos). Then I'll let them make their own characters, whatever classes and races they want, and I'll start running them through a Sandpoint area campaign, using material from Rise of the Runelords, maybe Chopper's Isle, and The Brinewall Legacy (at least, the first half).
I haven't been this excited about running a campaign in years.
I have a feeling that when I get Pathfinder Society going at DTwenty in the next few months, this gang of kids will be responsible for converting over many more gamers than I ever could.

The reason I'm posting this is to thank the Paizo staff for the creation of the Beginner Box.

At Paizocon 2011, I actually had tears in my eyes while thanking Erik Mona, Jason Buhlman and Sean K. Reynolds for building the thing, because I remembered how much the D&D red box meant to me back in 1981, and I knew that my wife would absolutely FORBID ME to introduce it to my 10 year old son, such is her hatred of roleplaying and D&D.
To have gone from that a year ago to having her "pimp out" (her words) my GMing skills for babysitting services and not having a problem with my son playing Pathfinder -- it is incredibly meaningful to me.

Also, thank you, Ed (aka EdOWar) for doing the class conversions so that I can get these guys hooked on the full spectrum of Pathfinder, and then transition them over into regular Pathfinder, and Pathfinder Society. Ed, if you want those race conversions, you'll get 'em.

And to John Reyst and his d20pfsrd.com, for always being there on my smartphone, so I can use up all of my battery, checking nuances of character class combinations, or any and all of the other minutiae of the game.

To Jason, Sean, Erik, Lisa, Jeff, James, Sarah, Wes... To all of you and more, THANK YOU. I am genuinely in your debt.

And I am really excited to see how ridiculously insane this is going to be.

- Rich Crotty
(Rebis Ouroborous)

Shadow Lodge

If a changeling (2 claws doing 1d4+STR damage) at 2nd level takes the Claws rage power (2 claws doing 1d6+STE damage), would she normally do 1d4+STR, and then 1d8+STR when raging?
It makes sense to me since she already starts with claws where another barbarian wouldn't, but I'd like to get some other opinions.

- Rebis

Shadow Lodge

Farewell to Summer Sale

The sale began on Saturday, September 1st at 40% off!
The savings drop by 5% each day until Saturday, September 8th!

Our current deal today is:

30% off on selected products!

Be fast and forget the wishlist!

Attention! Tomorrow this sale will be 5% less!

Go to Lord Zsezse Works.

Shadow Lodge

Farewell to Summer Sale

The sale began on Saturday, September 1st at 40% off!
The savings drop by 5% each day until Saturday, September 8th!

Our current deal today is:
35% off
on selected products!
Be fast and forget the wishlist!

Attention! Tomorrow this sale will be 5% less!

Go to Lord Zsezse Works.

Shadow Lodge

My first inclination is to say, "No." But then, looking at it, I think, "Y'know, this is so crazy, it Just. Might. Work!"

Under Discovery: Vestigial Limb, it says, "The arm does not give the alchemist any extra attacks or actions per round, though the arm can wield a weapon and make attacks
as part of the alchemist’s attack routine (using two-weapon fighting)."

Under Multiweapon Fighting, it says, "Prerequisites: Dex 13, three or more hands.
Benefit: Penalties for fighting with multiple weapons are reduced by –2 with the primary hand and by –6 with off hands.
Normal:
A creature without this feat takes a –6 penalty on attacks made with
its primary hand and a –10 penalty on attacks made with all of its off
hands. (It has one primary hand, and all the others are off hands.) See
Two-Weapon Fighting.
Special: This feat replaces the Two-Weapon Fighting feat for creatures with more than two arms."

So, if an alchemist takes vestigial limb, could he then take multiweapon fighting to take advantage of his extra limb (or limbs, if he takes vestigial limb a second time)?
Also, this would be for a PFS alchemist.
Also, this would be for my personal 1st PFS character I'm creating for Paizocon. Go big or go home, right?

- Rebis Ouroboros

Shadow Lodge

Your Favorite D&D Modules

( This is a quick questionnaire for a possible business venture. )

1. What do you consider the “Glory Days” of Dungeons & Dragons?
(What version of D&D do you consider the best? And no, "Pathfinder" isn't a viable option, despite the fact that I agree with you.)

2. If you were to name your favorite and most memorable D&D modules, what would they be?
(Be as detailed as you want to be. I like to pull them out of my garage and read 'em from time to time, too.)

That's it!
Thank you.

- Rebis

Shadow Lodge

Lord Zsezse Works has a sale on their maps and papercraft models from April 7th until midnight on April 15th. Their stuff has to be seen to be believed, and many of their maps can have 1" gridlines turned on or off through filters in Adobe Reader.

http://www.rpgnow.com/index.php?manufacturers_id=3154

I know all of this because I'm helping them out cleaning up their English on their pdf's and webpages (Antal & Zoltan are from Hungary), and I got to write all the copy and name their newest map, The Sussurus Tomb.

http://www.rpgnow.com/product/101131/Battlemap---The-Sussurus-Tomb

It's weird knowing that copy I wrote on Thursday night, and the name I came up with for the map are now on their product and on the website on Saturday. Pretty cool.

- Rich

Shadow Lodge

I'm going to be running it to schoolkids in 3 sessions of 1 hour and 45 minutes each.
I know I can get the dungeon done in they time, but I was wondering if I mohr be able to run the first session with the premade characters, then use the second session making their own personal characters, and then finish up the final session with the new characters, after discovering the bodies of Ezren, Kyra, Valeros, Merisiel, and Harsk (a dwarven barbarian I've premade).
Whattaya think? Will this work?

- Rich

Shadow Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

I've been in love with the Falcon's Hollow setting since the moment I first read Hollow's Last Hope, and Age of Worms is extremely appealing to me. I know that I'll have to cut the adventure path (seriously) short, but I really like the concept of putting these adventures together (Hollow's Last Hope, Crown of the Kobold King, The Whispering Cairn, Revenge of the Kobold King, Three Faces of Evil, and then maybe Hungry Are The Dead as a grand finale).
Am I a fool for even attempting this?

Oh, also, the PC's are the MONSTERSQUAD!
It's my 9 year old son and my 10 year old nephew playing two characters apiece, this time playing monsters I've worked up with PFBB stats and using classes from EdOWar's blog:

http://edowarsblog.wordpress.com/downloads/

We have:
A whisper gnome ninja,
A tengu monk,
A goliath oracle of lore,
A wayang witch,
A compsognathus familiar.

Together, they are MONSTERSQUAD!

I've gotten them right to the gates of Droskar's Crucible and they'll be going in today, as soon as my two year old goes to playtime with his mommy. If anyone is interested, i'll try to do up the campaign under the heading "MONSTERSQUAD, ATTACK!"
And I'd really appreciate any advise anyone could give me on how to make this frankensteinien hodgepodge somehow work.

Rich

Shadow Lodge

Sorry if this has been covered before, but I simply must know.
When a summoning spell ends, does the summoned creature go back to where it came? What if the creature is killed? Would there be a way to prevent this (perhaps some sort of planar lock spell)?

I can't find the answer to this in the core rulebook or anywhere online.

- Rich

Shadow Lodge

I have a question about black friday sale shipping.
I'd like to buy the Dragon Magazine Monster Ecologies book (on sale today for $2.99), but the idea of paying more for shipping than the cost of the book makes me not want to purchase it. However, sometime in November or December, i'm supposed to be coming in to the Paizo offices for the PAX GM's game.
Could I but it now and pick it up then?

-Rich

Shadow Lodge

I was a GM at PAX, and so I earned the PFS reward where I can pick either a Aasimar, Tengu or Tiefling for PFS play. I still have never played in a PFS scenario, and I like the idea of playing a Demonic Tiefling Magus. I know that Bastards of Erebus has a feat that allows a player to pick their origin and also roll 3 times to see what special ability they receive instead of Darkness 1 time/Day.
I know that PFS players are not allowed to take traits from adventure paths, and I figure that feats from AP's are out too, but I thought I'd ask.

Whattaya think, sirs?

Shadow Lodge

Oh, how I need this book!

I'm going to be starting an all-goblin campaign in the next month or so. Two of the players are going to be playing Chuffy Lickwounds, Overseer of Village Stabbings and Poog of Zarongel, Master of the Pit. We also have a barbarian, a Warlock (male Witch) a Blue Psion, and a feral Blue baby Psychic Warrior, just a precious bundle of teeth and claws that comes at you like a spider monkey...

I am salivating about this one.

- Rebis

Shadow Lodge

I promised myself last year when I became free at the last minute, wandering the halls while forlornly watching all the fun, that I would never miss it again.
Now, I'm free to go, but I can't find anything but the shotglasses on the website, where tickets were listed on Sunday night.
This was going to be my Father's Day present to myself.

Am I too late?

- Rebis

Shadow Lodge

That's where I have my campaign set, and I've done a pretty good job so far of placing Falcon's Hollow in eastern Karrnath, and The Styes as a suburb of Karrlakton.

I'm going to be doing workups of all the Eberron races to update them for Pathfinder. Is anyone interested?

Or has anyone else out there already done the work so I can just steal and goof off?

- Rebis

Shadow Lodge

Just wondering. I did my damndest to get my local library to convert their Dragon Magazine subscription over to Pathfinder, but there was some glitch in the transfer process.
I don't own any of the books, and I'm wondering if I should just wait for them to be collected since it's at the end now...

- Rebis


©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.