If my geokineticist uses kinetic cover, as shown, with the intent of giving himself total cover against his enemies, which of those enemies shown does he end up having total cover against?
I want to say 1, 2, 4, and 5, because kinetic cover is clear in its description: As a standard action, you can select one face of a square within 30 feet of you and move elemental matter to block that face, providing total cover from that direction.
However, my GM argues that my geokineticist would have only partial, or even no cover against all of the enemies, as shown.
If he is correct, then I fail to see how this ability, despite its description, would ever really be able to give someone total cover short of having two medium creatures back to back against the wall--which will pretty much never really happen.
So the question is simple: How much cover does kinetic cover really give? Does its description, "you get total cover from anyone from the chosen direction," being the more specific rule, trump those of the normal cover rules?