You were born with a strange birthmark that looks very similar to the holy symbol of the god you chose to worship later in life.
Benefit: This birthmark can serve you as a divine focus for casting spells, and you gain a +2 trait bonus on all saving throws against charm and compulsion effects.
How would you even present this if you had to? This is of course assuming it is on an area of the body that is not exposed.
Also if you actually had to use actions to maintain the uses you would not actually be able to benefit from many like the following:
Might of the Gods (Su): At 8th level, you can add your cleric level as an enhancement bonus to your Strength score for a number of rounds per day equal to your cleric level. This bonus only applies on Strength checks and Strength-based skill checks. These rounds do not need to be consecutive
I wasn't intending to get into a squabble over DM-always-rght vs. Rules-Lawyering with you, nor make a personal attack. Your original post had you in a disagreement with your DMs call of the Portable Hole.
The original statement I made was that the description CLEARLY states that the Portable Hole can be folded up "as small as a handkerchief" and that only the opening disappears.
You stated that your DM ignores the " logical impossibilities his version creates don't seem to bother him" but your idea of how the item should work is even worse. You claim "that you can close a portable hole from the inside and no trace of it would exist in the material plane"......how would you even open it again if "no trace of it exists on the Material Plane?". Would it not simply be gone forever? If your answer is "No, some trace of it remains" then you MUST go with the item description as to how small it can be made (and thus picked up and opened from the outside).
I am not jaded from years of DMing at all. As I stated I listen to players objections and make the ruling that needs to be made to go on with the advanture. Not a single person benefits from arguing all night about rules. If the player is right, the player is right. If the player is wrong then he/she needs to get over it and go with the DM ruling.
<<<---- Olive Branch. Argument and bad feelins over I hope.
The hand will not dissapate as it has a duration or 1 min/lvl.
The hand hovers where you are if you do not use it (or after using it returns to your side). You can continue to take whatevers actions you normally could. Keep in mind it does mess up Invisibility to a certain extent as anyone can see what square you are in simply by looking for the hovering Spectral Hand.
I believe you will not get the support you are so clearly wanting here as to debating/arguing with the DM.
DM's can indeed be wrong, but are NEVER wrong in making a decision to keep the game running smoothy. I have been running games for well over 25 years and I can tell you that NOTHING ruins having fun worse than rules-lawyers wanting to argue for an hour over little things.
And as for how I look at running games, I will certainly listen to your concerns, but after hearing all of the issues, will make the decision and we will move on.
I understand you are upset that the item did not work the way you intended (although it clearly states "as small as a handkerchief"), but it still a party-staple item that is so useful it is almost required. You can still use it like you wanted. Find an out-of-the-way spot to use it in.
Each domain grants a number of domain powers, dependent upon the level of the cleric, as well as a number of bonus spells. A cleric gains one domain spell slot for each level of cleric spell she can cast, from 1st on up. Each day, a cleric can prepare one of the spells from her two domains in that slot. If a domain spell is not on the cleric spell list, a cleric can prepare it only in her domain spell slot. Domain spells cannot be used to cast spells spontaneously.
So A cleric CAN memorize domain spells in his non-domain slots ONLY if it appears on his normal spell list.
If you take it literally by wording, it does not get any smaller than a folded up handkerchief (as small as, by wording), then you also have take it literally that once folded up from INSIDE (or outside) the entrance disappears. With that said, you can open it from inside or outside the same, as ONLY the entrance disappears, not the item.
You would be incorrect that no trace of the ITEM remains on the material plane, but correct in the fact that the OPENING does not exist on the material plane.
You would also be incorrect for arguing with the DM after he has made his ruling....his job it to keep the game running smoothly and not be bogged down all night arguing over rules.
Song of Surrender (Su)
A buccaneer of 4th level or higher can use his performance to encourage an enemy to surrender. To be affected, an enemy must be within 30 feet and be able to see and hear the buccaneer’s performance. An affected enemy feels the irresistible urge to drop any held weapons and fall prone. This effect lasts for 1 round—essentially, the affected enemy takes no actions on its next turn other than to lie prone, although it is not considered flat-footed or helpless. A Will saving throw (DC 10 + 1/2 the buccaneer’s level + the buccaneer’s Charisma modifier) negates the effect. This ability affects only a single creature. Song of surrender is an enchantment(compulsion), mind-affecting, language-dependent ability and relies on audible components.
This ability replaces suggestion.
What seems to be the issue? It is spelled out very clearly what it does. Don't read into it. It doesn't add the line about being immune for 24 hours, so the target isn't. It replaces SUGGESTION, not Fascinate.
It does not seem overpowered as it is a fairly normal save, only affects the target for one round (and is not helpless or flatfooted). It does also use up the Bards resources.
I usually find that using a dispel to attack ITEMS is much more fun....shut down the BBG's weapon, armor, cloak, etc. It is a very safe bet that they will be magical. It is usually easier to shut those items down also as they have low caster levels (as opposed to attacking the casters actual SPELLS).
It seems clear that as it attacks AS A WEAPON, all things that affect weapon attacks would affect this attack as well. Miss chances apply from darkness, blur and such. Concealment would NOT apply if the weapon is a MELEE weapon as it is next to the creature. If you gods weapon is a RANGED weapon and you are attacking from distance then cover/concealment might apply.
I would suggest this as opposed to a torch then:
School evocation [light]; Level cleric 3, sorcerer/wizard 2
Casting Time 1 standard action
Components V, S, M (ruby dust worth 50 gp)
Target object touched
Effect magical, heatless flame
Saving Throw none; Spell Resistance no
A flame, equivalent in brightness to a torch, springs forth from an object that you touch. The effect looks like a regular flame, but it creates no heat and doesn't use oxygen. A continual flame can be covered and hidden but not smothered or quenched.
Light spells counter and dispel darkness spells of an equal or lower level.
The short answer is "because it says you can't". Why not invest in Goggles Of Darkvision? Explain to your party that they could ALL benefit from you having darkvision as your torches mess THEM up also. They might kick in those gold pieces to help you out.
I understand your frustration about the others having darkvision....they got that and you got an extra feat, extra skill points/hit points every level, better move rate and such. I would be willing to bet at some point those Dwarves will invest in something to increase their move rate defecit just like your vision handicap.
It also seems like your friends will be sitting the table around doing nothing as you Eartlglide around the place attacking everything yourself. They won't be able to go into the dungeon without suffering most of the Guards and Wards effects also.
Earthglide doesn't let you see what is above you either, so you may end up attacking prisoners/captives/story hooks.
The webs and misdirection at intersections are the only real problems I see for the denizens there. Most everything will affect your party (and YOU!) as it affects the bad guys, too. (The confusion says "intruders", so I would say you aren't affected, and of course you know where the doors are and control the Arcane Locks.)
Nothing in the spell implies it has to be YOUR home or dwelling that you ward. If you can get the eyes around without being seen, no one interrupts your casting (30 minutes, remember? Burning incense, remember? Audible casting, etc), you could do it. Even at 20th level it would only be 4000 square feet....and that's not a lot in reality. A single 10x10 section of corridor is 100 square feet.
If you are high enough level to get a lot of square feet, your enemies are high enough level to have someone with a decent chance of dispelling it.
"Counterspell: When dispel magic is used in this way, the spell targets a spellcaster and is cast as a counterspell. Unlike a true counterspell, however, dispel magic may not work; you must make a dispel check to counter the other spellcaster's spell."
and Invisibility reads:
"For purposes of this spell, an attack includes any spell targeting a foe or whose area or effect includes a foe."
You become visable.
"Effect ethereal 5-ft.-by-8-ft. opening, 10 ft. deep + 5 ft. deep per three levels"
It is certainly possible it could take slower moving creatures more than a round to go through and thus spending more than one round insode. With that said, I don't see why you could not stay inside. This seems like a big loop hole, but it seems how it is written.
As a GM I would have made ruled that concentration applies or the spell collapses, and that if the Wizard casts another spell it would also collapse.
First off, the fighter will be losing EVERY round he waits while the mage will not be. The fighter has no clue when it will end (but the mage knows exactly when it will), so he will need to constantly "ready" his action.
The mage could also ready his action to cast after the fighter takes his shot if need be. If the init says he goes 1st, no biggie, he recasts. If the init says he goes after the fighter, he recasts also (assuming he survives the hit).
I see all of your points and they are valid, of course. But if I have a spell that has had ALL of the casting parts removed I STILL have to make that check. NO verbal, NO somantic, NO components....but it still technically casting a spell.
Virtually ALL of the above arguments defend the VERBAL portion, which can be removed by a MetaMagic Feat or Rod.
By the same argument of "The grappler is doing what he can to mess you up and keep you from doing X", I should have to make a check to draw a light weapon and attack. There is NO check for that. I can even pull out a readied potion and DRINK it. How hard would it be to DRINK while wrestling around. There is NO check for that either.
Grappling has been a thorn in designers sides from the beginning.
Can anyone explain to me why I cannot Teleport out of a grapple when it is Verbal only? How about why I can't Teleport out of a Grapple even when using the Silent Spell MetaMagic Feat?
Basis: Talking is free...heck, I can even talk out of turn per the rules. But someone throws a wet noodle over me and I have to make a nigh-impossible concentration check?! lol...
"Subjects resist this control, and any subject forced to take actions against its nature receives a new saving throw with a +2 bonus. Obviously self-destructive orders are not carried out. Once control is established, the range at which it can be exercised is unlimited, as long as you and the subject are on the same plane. You need not see the subject to control it."
It seems that the fact they are attacking you as a GROUP should warrant the +2 new save. You find one of them alone it should not get a new save to bomb the other creatures you encounter.
Charm Person should not increase anything for you as YOU are already controlling the creatures actions with the Dominate Person spell.
Picture the opposite of the CE sorcerer as a Lawful Good cop. If I Dominate him and tell him to start blowing away people, would it matter more if I was his best friend?
If you used your Move Action this round and then started casting a 1 round spell, it would go off the next round and would use up the move action from that round. So it would go: Move, Start casting, use up move action and not move, spell completes and you make whatever choices you need to for that spell and resolve it and then you have a standard action for this round.
The spells Shield and Mage Armor (and others) state:
"Shield creates an invisible shield of force that hovers in front of you. It negates magic missile attacks directed at you."
"An invisible but tangible field of force surrounds the subject of a mage armor spell, providing a +4 armor bonus to AC."
Can I see it with a See Invis spell?
It CLEARLY states that you CAN wait until enemies are on the rope bridge before you cut the rope. Therefore, the same holds true for waiting until someone is under the portcullis to drop it. It is fair game also.
You need to drop the word "intent" from your arguments as that words appears NOWHERE under the spell listing. You used "Intent and unintentional" 6 times in your statement. Intent was used in previous versions of D&D...but not this one.
"Indirect attacks are non-intentional." Ummmm ...if I intended to cut the rope bridge to drop my enemies to their death, it is pretty dang intentional. And fair game by the exact wording of the spell. This is an incorrect statement and over-simplification.
You are correct, however, in the fact it is not rocket science. DIRECT attacks by the person Invis'ed break the spell. Indirect attacks do not.
Aura strong (no school); CL 17th
Slot none; Price 3,000 gp (lesser), 11,000 gp (normal), 24,500 gp (greater); Weight 5 lbs.
The wielder can cast up to three spells per day as though using the Selective Spell feat. For each spell, he can select up to four creatures of his choice within the area that are unaffected.
Requirements Craft Rod, Selective Spell; Cost 1,500 gp (lesser), 5,500 gp (normal), 12,250 gp (greater)