|RainyDayNinja RPG Superstar 2014 Top 16, RPG Superstar 2013 Top 16|
|28 people marked this as FAQ candidate.|
I've seen variations on this crop up a few times, so I want to start more centralized post so we can hopefully get some clarity.
When a rule allows you to use one ability modifier in place of another for a skill check, ability check, or saving throw, does it still count as based on the original ability score, or the new one?
Example 1: A fighter with the Lore Warden archetype ("All Intelligence-based skills are class skills for lore wardens.") takes the Precise Treatment trait ("...you may use your Intelligence modifier when making Heal checks instead of your Wisdom modifier."). Is Heal a class skill for him?
Example 1b: A fighter with the Lore Warden archetype takes the Student of Philosophy trait ("You can use your Intelligence modifier in place of your Charisma modifier on Diplomacy checks to persuade others and on Bluff checks to convince others that a lie is true."). Do Diplomacy and Bluff count as class skills for him? Do they count as class skills only in those specific circumstances?
Example 2: An Inquisitor with the Conversion inquisition ("You use your Wisdom modifier instead of your Charisma modifier when making Bluff, Diplomacy, and Intimidate checks.") dons a circlet of persuasion ("This silver headband grants a +3 competence bonus on the wearer's Charisma-based checks."). Does she still gain the +3 bonus on Bluff, Diplomacy, and Intimidate?