|Paizo Pathfinder® Paizo Games|
|About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ|
I think LazarX has the right idea. A True Primitive can't read or write, but might still be quite gregarious and well-socialized. The Feral Child seems like it's just asking for disruptive role-play ("I sniff the diplomat's butt because I was raised by wolves! I take a dump in the potted plant because that's how bears do it in the forest! Aren't I hilarious, guys?")
Brian Lefebvre wrote:
Only the penitent players shall pass...
Dennis Baker wrote:
"Do you have Prince Albert in a can?"
A Catholic priest, a Baptist preacher, and Jewish rabbi were all friends and liked to go out into the woods once a month to spend a weekend with nature, talk shop, and otherwise take time to refresh themselves.
One month, they ran into this grizzled old mountain man, who told them, "You know, anybody can preach to regular ol' people. It takes a real man to preach to the bears!" The three clergy decided they were up for the challenge, and agreed to meet back up the next month and compare notes.
When they met again, the Catholic priest was the first to speak up, and he had several stitched-up cuts and bruises. "Well, I was speaking the Gospel to this bear, and he started clawing me and biting at me, but when I sprinkled some holy water on him, he became as gentle as a lamb and converted, and now he's teaching Sunday School."
The Baptist preacher was the next to chime in, and he was even more injured, with an arm in a sling, and bandages covering numerous wounds on his chest and face. "Oh yeah? I was preaching the Word to this bear, and he started mauling me, but I worked him down to the river and dunked him in baptism, and after that he repented, and we're making him a deacon next week!"
The Jewish rabbi, who was in a wheelchair and covered head-to-toe in bandages, piped up. "Oh sure, you guys had it easy! You ever tried to circumcise one of those things?"
You could just name them both Darryl.
Just make him an Urban Barbarian with Dervish Dance and a clear spindle ioun stone, and watch him go!
Male Human Wizard (Manipulator) 3 | Init +1 | HP 21/23 | AC 12, T 11, FF 11 | Fort +3, Ref +3, Will +3 | CMB +0, CMD 11 | Perc +0, SensMtv +6
"I think this alleyway might be part of a network of alleys that interconnects the streets, an 'internet' you might call it, which would allow travel throughout this district without being seen. Such a thing would be a valuable resource for a thieves' guild. Anyone care to explore it with me?"
Kelly Youngblood wrote:
And since your gloves slot is taken up, consider spellguard bracers instead of gloves of elvenkind. +2 to concentration, and 3/day roll twice and take the better, for those times when you absolutely, positively, have to cast that spell successfully!
I finished my Hugo Awards reading today (and by "finished," I mean I gave up on two of the novel samples, and I'm not even touching The Wheel of Time).
Parasite by Mira Grant was the most readable of the three samples, and I was surprised with how quickly I got through the 100 pages I had. That being said, it's a zombie novel, but 100 pages in and there hasn't been so much as a nibble! It gets my number 2 spot, since it didn't bore me like Ancillary Justice or Neptune's Brood, but I'm not going to bother buying the full novel.
Now I can finally start on the new Monster Hunter book. So much glorious violence...
Vrog Skyreaver wrote:
...or as Jesus put it "do unto others as you'd have done to you".
I don't think Jesus is the right person to look to for table etiquette. He has a history of flipping tables over when he gets upset.
12. If you're going to eat a snack, don't eat something that's going to gross out the other people at the table (Once I played a game at a con next to a kid who was eating some kind of seaweed chip that smelled like dead fish).
13. Basic hygeine means more than just bathing. If something on your face starts bleeding (like because you were picking at it, or you just got a nosebleed), go get a tissue. Don't just lick the blood from your hand like a cat.
In general, extradimensional spaces don't function inside of other extradimensional spaces. Since the pit you create is an extradimensional space, you can't create another one inside it.
And that also means that when the wizard falls into the pit, he can't pull the scroll of spider climb out of his handy haversack.
I'm a bit worried that removing previously legal races will quickly lead to hurt feelings, as new players see others playing with Aasimars and Tieflings, only to find out that they missed the boat in being able to play one too. How much worse will the cries of "I can't play the race I want because I can't get a convention boon!" be when they know that most people didn't even need one?
Plus, I'm sure I'll be kicking myself in a few months, thinking "D'oh! That's an awesome character concept! If only I'd thought of it earlier..."
I've seen variations on this crop up a few times, so I want to start more centralized post so we can hopefully get some clarity.
When a rule allows you to use one ability modifier in place of another for a skill check, ability check, or saving throw, does it still count as based on the original ability score, or the new one?
Example 1: A fighter with the Lore Warden archetype ("All Intelligence-based skills are class skills for lore wardens.") takes the Precise Treatment trait ("...you may use your Intelligence modifier when making Heal checks instead of your Wisdom modifier."). Is Heal a class skill for him?
Example 1b: A fighter with the Lore Warden archetype takes the Student of Philosophy trait ("You can use your Intelligence modifier in place of your Charisma modifier on Diplomacy checks to persuade others and on Bluff checks to convince others that a lie is true."). Do Diplomacy and Bluff count as class skills for him? Do they count as class skills only in those specific circumstances?
Example 2: An Inquisitor with the Conversion inquisition ("You use your Wisdom modifier instead of your Charisma modifier when making Bluff, Diplomacy, and Intimidate checks.") dons a circlet of persuasion ("This silver headband grants a +3 competence bonus on the wearer's Charisma-based checks."). Does she still gain the +3 bonus on Bluff, Diplomacy, and Intimidate?
-Because some people play PFS, and will therefore have a lot of different GMs who will adjudicate differently, so that character build that depends on a "grey area" may work some days, and not on other days.
-Some people are too immature to discuss rules with their GM/players like adults, so they run crying to mommy to settle their disputes for them.
Thus, if a GM were to declare a character with it as evil and thereby removed from PFS play then a player would be punished for having merely selected a viable skill.
Just because a skill or other choice is "legal" or "viable" doesn't mean it isn't also an alignment infraction. Torturing an NPC for information (or any other reason) is also a perfectly legal and viable player choice, but it's still an evil act that will shift your alignment. The same applies to your day job.
Hmm. My melee Oracle already believes that her curse that forces her to speak Abyssal is a sign that Aroden's power is reaching her from his prison beneath the Worldwound, and that evil ioun stone from [REDACTED] only confirmed her suspicions. She may just switch from Silver Crusade to the Dark Archive to see what other demon-tainted power Aroden has in store for her...
I played this Saturday with:
Level 3 support Bard (me)
The animated pyramid combat was brutal, but we had 3 PCs with high enough Strength to get through the hardness, so we survived. Most of the rest of the encounters were easy enough (the swarm fight was interesting, because we caught one of the boats on fire, then my fiancee and I pushed it into the corner to trap the swarm and kill it). But good Lord, that last fight! My fiancee's PC died just from damage, and two others contracted mummy rot before we finished the fight. But with several days of travel before we could reach anyone to cast the required remove spells, they both died and crumbled to dust, beyond our ability to raise them. That bit just felt downright insulting.
Been there. My fighter had to pick up the slack and ID the Secondary Success Condition item when the only spellcaster was a Druid with no Spellcraft. When I ran that scenario, the only spellcasters were a Paladin and a Ranger, so they missed that PP.
N N 959 wrote:
If you're willing to risk melee combat so I don't have to, I don't give a rat's ass if you contribute to your own healing....so long as your money is being spent to make you better at keeping me from taking damage.
But if my cleric has to keep spending money on wands and scrolls to keep that melee guy standing, then that's less money for me to buy metamagic rods and upgrade my Wisdom headband to make sure my blindness, plane shift, or sound burst spells stick (which makes that melee guy's job easier).
By demanding that someone else pay for his healing so he can afford the shiniest toys, that melee guy is demanding that I give up the shiny toys I had my eyes on.
My question is "can you take 10" while climbing or swimming? I mean, if you fail you could fall to your death/drown, so wouldn't that always be a stressful situation?
The description of the Swim skill specifies that you can't Take 10 in stormy water (DC 20), which means you CAN Take 10 in calm or rough water.
Ding ding ding! And I agree with your assessment.
Black Dougal wrote:
What About Bob?