Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Sargava Vignette

Pulgoso's page

Pathfinder Society Member. 3 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 7 Pathfinder Society characters.


RSS

Dark Archive

I am going to play my first glass cannon (Zen Archer, indeed) and I dont know to apply weapons blanch on my arrows.

Quote:
These alchemical powders have a gritty consistency. When poured on a weapon and placed over a hot flame for a full round, they melt and form a temporary coating on the weapon. The blanching gives the weapon the ability to bypass one kind of material-based damage reduction, such as adamantine, cold iron, or silver. The blanching remains effective until the weapon makes a successful attack. Each dose of blanching can coat one weapon or up to 10 pieces of ammunition. Only one kind of weapon blanch can be on a weapon at one time, though a weapon made of one special material (such as adamantine) can have a different material blanch (such as silver), and counts as both materials for the first successful hit.

emphasys mine.

The question are
1. Do i need a forge or some special tipe of great fire? or I can apply the weapon blanch with a bonfire, torch or something similar
2. the statement says "temporary" How much time is it? until arrow is used? I guess the answer is yes and temporary only means that it is nos permanent, But i would like to have confirmation.

Thank in advance

Dark Archive

Nefreet wrote:
Also, for PFS, this isn't much of an issue, since Diplodocus isn't legal (most of the exceptional reach Companions are not), and you wouldn't want an Elasmosaurus because it's ill-suited as a land-based Companion.

Ok, Diplodocus is just an example. I really want the Elasmosaurus ( I´m playing the chain of modules about pirates in the shackles).

The issue is the Elasmosaurus and diplodoucs are quadruped, so:

pulgoso wrote:

In the CRB, table 8-4 states that large (tall) creatures have a reach of 10', while large (long) creatures have a range of only 5', with the footnote that:

* These values are typical for creatures of the indicated size. Some exceptions exist.

People thinks Elasmosaurus is long, so it has only 5´reach. My point is that Elasmosaurus (and diplodocus) have a long neck, and they use the bite attack, so from natural weapon point of of view both are tall. Therefore they should have reach. I can show the bestiary with their counterparts as proof....

Saddly, I dont have a statement saying "Elasmosaurus is tall..." and some GMs do not accept my point of view. Because of this, I am looking for a source clarifiying reach of companions

Dark Archive

I have a question regarding reach of quadruped animal companion when the base monster has reach.
I.e. Diplodocus monster is Colossal and it has reach 60. Elasmosaurus is huge and it has reach 20.
However it seems like Diplodocodus and Elasmosaurus companions has no reach beacause both of them are quadruped and quadruped has no rech.

In the CRB, table 8-4 states that large (tall) creatures have a reach of 10', while large (long) creatures have a range of only 5', with the footnote that:
* These values are typical for creatures of the indicated size. Some exceptions exist.

Seems clear that Diplodocus and Elasmosaurus are excepcion because of their large neck. Besides, we can reasonably base a creatures reach on the reach of the original creature, but from a PFS point of view tehere is nothing write thats support this statement.

Is there some errata or FAQ, or anything else to support the reach of these kind of companions?


©2002-2017 Paizo Inc.® | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours, Monday through Friday, 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM Pacific time.

Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, Starfinder, the Starfinder logo, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc. The Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Legends, Pathfinder Online, Starfinder Adventure Path, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.