Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Cayden Cailean

Protoman's page

Goblin Squad Member. FullStarFullStar Pathfinder Society GM. 1,937 posts (1,950 including aliases). 1 review. No lists. No wishlists. 10 Pathfinder Society characters.


RSS

1 to 50 of 1,937 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | next > last >>

The "until another command is given" is for the specific deactivation of the flaming enhancement.

In the 3.5 FAQ this situation was addressed:

Quote:
There’s nothing illogical about a flaming, frost, shock weapon (at least not within any framework that allows weapons to generate energy in the first place), and there’s no rule against such weapons (think of the weapon as having fiery, frosty, shocking flames). The character creating such a weapon decides how it can be activated. Most such weapons probably are made so that the wielders can activate all three powers simultaneously, or activate them one at a time, as desired.


Garbage-Tier Waifu wrote:
I think the easiest method to obtain two weapon fighting with a Gunslinger is the Maverick archetype for early, condition free access to Gun Twirling. It also has some cool features and free access to Improved Unarmed Strike, which has some decent uses in of itself. I recommend checking it out here

I plan on using the maverick archetype for easy gun twirling tone extra cool with the pepperbox pistol, but decided to forgo TWF because I need to invest feats for PBS, precise shot, and clustered shot.


avr wrote:
Stabbing shot is elf-only, and you're human with no racial heritage shenanigans. This also indirectly cuts out empty quiver flexibility.

Empty quiver style lets one ignore the elf race requirement for stabbing shot.

**

K cool I'll go with that. Thanks!

**

Ah totally missed that "rounded to the nearest gold piece" bit. I guess it probably wouldn't be applicable for regular bullets then since gunsmithing itself brings the price down to 1 sp and I doubt they intended artisan shop to have that rounded to 0 gp or have it rounded back up to 1 gp.

**

With the Gunsmithing feat, one can purchase black powder and regular bullets at 10% of regular price and alchemical cartridges at 50% of regular price.

Assuming one also has ranks in Craft (firearms) specifically to benefit from Artisan's Shop (Firearms) for a 5% discount on non-magical firearms and ammunition, how does that work with the Gunsmithing discounts?

Would the Gunsmithing prices be the new default price to apply artisan's discount? Black powder dose (10 gp) becomes 1 gp base price and 5% discount for 9 sp & 5 cp? And paper alchemical cartridge (12 gp) becomes 6 gp base price and 5% discount for 5 gp & 7 sp?

Or would the Gunsmithing and Artisan's Shop discounts be applied together? Black powder 10 gp dose gets a 95% discount (assuming Gunsmithing is considered a 90% discount) and becomes 5 sp? And paper alchemical cartridge 12 gp gets a 55% discount for 5 gp & 4 sp?

OOOOR would the two simply not stack?

**

Quick question as I'm volunteering to run this in the near future:

Does the robot's hardness get applied to damage against the force shield's temporary hit points? Or only to the robot's regular hit points once the force field gets taken down?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I'd be happy with more Golarion Sun Wukong lore.


Theodor Snuddletusk wrote:

I agree regarding charges. If you dont need to have permanent invisibility available. Just have it for 2-3 times each day. Why spend X times more gold?

Regarding limitations for religions or genders or similar things i dont view them as a bad move, generally yes, but not completely.

If a church of some religion gives out swords to their followers than they would not want them to be used by none-believers, or sold by fallen followers etc.

Just like Judge Dread`s gun that is imprinted with his dna, it would lower the creation cost quite a lot.

Making it limited to only certain users that the creator of the magic item specifies that doesn't limit himself shouldn't give a discount for himself. He made it an exclusive item and those wouldn't be cheap.

If trying to sell it, it should sell for less since there wouldn't be much of a market for it.

The example of Judge Dredd's Gun, no one is gonna think it being DNA-locked is gonna make it cheaper. They had to invest MORE into the gun for it to do that.


haremlord wrote:
Imbicatus wrote:

Unarmed attacks include all attacks that are not weapon attacks. This include four subsets: natural weapons, touch attacks, unarmed strikes, and gauntlets. All are in the grey area of being treated as weapons for most effects, but not for others.

All unarmed strikes are unarmed attacks, but not all unarmed attacks are unarmed strikes.

I'm fine with this interpretation as well. And this allows for the "when you use an unarmed attack" allowing you to use Unarmed Strike.

This would also allow you to use some Style feats and Stunning Fist (as well as Dazing Fist and some others) with your Natural Attacks.

Oh, and by RAW, this would also allow you to still deal Monk unarmed strike damage with the Cestus and Brass Knuckles (despite Adventurer's Armory removing the part where it said specifically that Monks could use their unarmed strike damage, it still says that it allows you to deal lethal damage with your unarmed attacks... I'd like to quote an online resource for this, but I just noticed that d20pfsrd and archives of nethys don't agree with the exact wording, and neither matches my copy of AA).

Paizo seems pretty definite that everything but the gauntlet is weapon and not unarmed attacks.

Mark Seifter wrote:
Basically Herolab asked our Licensing Coordinator who asked me, so I asked Jason, and he said that gauntlets are basically just a way to do lethal damage with your unarmed strikes, not an actual weapon (basically an inexpensive modifier for unarmed strikes that's in the unarmed strike category) and can't be enhanced on its own, whereas all those other weapons are listed separately as weapons, including spiked gauntlet.
Paizo Response wrote:
Gauntlet is actually an unarmed attack, not a separate weapon, so it can’t be enchanted (it uses amulet of mighty fists instead) and it uses all the unarmed strike stuff. All the others are separate weapons and work like manufactured weapons.

Cestus has the wording that it affects unarmed attacks, but it's in the light weapons table. The developer comments work with how the "unarmed" weapons have always been seen to work in the past (they are manufactured weapons and monks don't get nice things), but this gauntlet thing is like a giant outlier that needs clarification.


haremlord wrote:
swoosh wrote:
Gauntlets are very very confusing, IIRC according to the most recent FAQ gauntlets are non-weapon weapons and you can't enchant them at all, so you still need AOMF.

If this is true, that changes everything. Do you remember where that is? I couldn't find it in any of the FAQs and it wasn't on d20pfsrd nor did I see anything like that in the prd.

Both sites just had gauntlets under weapons.

As Imbicatus says, it's not an actual FAQ but a rule clarification sent to Hero Labs. Hopefully an actual FAQ will clear it up because gauntlets and (magic) special material gauntlets and AoMF are kinda in a weird interaction territory right now.


"at 2nd level and every 2 levels thereafter, a kineticist selects a new utility wild talent from the list of options available to her."

You pick from talents available to you.

You got expanded element (aether)? Excellent you expanded your list of options available to you.

"If the kineticist's expanded element is different from her primary element, she treats her kineticist level as 4 levels lower for the purpose of determining which wild talents she can learn from her expanded element."

Your kineticist levels are 4 lower to determine which aether elements are available to you.

At level 10, your expanded element (aether) kineticist level is 6. That's too low to qualify for Telekinetic Maneuvers (level 4 talent), so it isn't available to you.


The -4 penalty applies to see if one even qualifies for the expanded element talent choice, whether it's picked up normally from regular progression, free swaps at the specified utiliy/infusion talent levels, or with the Extra Wild Talent feat (it uses -2 spell level but basically the same as -4 kineticist levels). If you don't count as a level 8 kineticist for expanded element (aether), you can't pick up Telekinetic Maneuvers at level 10 in any way.


No, you're still restricted by the -4.

Texas Snyper and OP's example of trying to get expanded element (aether) telekinetic maneuvers (spell level 4) at the 10th level swap won't work because his kineticist only counts as a level 6 aether kineiticst.

Sorry I didn't see the example given at the OP's post.

Despite Telekinetic Maneuvers being same level as (example given of) Expanded Defense, the kineticist in question never qualified for Telekinetic Maneuvers at level 10.

Mark's post specifically gives the example of replacing low level primary element talents for low level expanded element talents.


Texas Snyper wrote:
I want to know if the -4 levels still apply for retraining to an expanded element. E.g. if I expand into aether can I trade something of equal level for telekinetic maneuvers at level 10?

The -4 levels for expanded element talent choices still applies to the talent swap.

**

Mitch Mutrux wrote:
Protoman wrote:
John Compton wrote:

The re-roll situation has not changed since Season 7, and one still receives only a single re-roll—and only when in possession of a qualifying shirt or other merchandise. I have not had the means or time to investigate the exact nature and source of this misprint, but I assure you that it is by my initial assessment an error introduced somewhere in the Guide's reorganization, rewriting, and/or editing. We'll address this and similar concerns after Gen Con.

Please help correct this misunderstanding by directing people to this post.

Does this apply just to players with no GM stars and GMs with stars get more than re-roll per session?

Or is the WHOLE re-roll situation out of whack and GMs with stars AND players with no stars limited to one re-roll per session? And if this is the case, does GM stars have any effect on re-rolls like previous season's guides' "number of stars = bonus to the re-roll"?

The reroll situation is the exact same as it was last year. Everyone playing gets one and only one reroll, provided they have a qualifying item. Players with GM stars get a bonus on the reroll equal to the number of stars they have.

Ah ok, I thought the misprint issue being corrected was about several re-roll granting items still only allowed one re-roll for players and the GM stars superceded that restriction. I'll stick with one re-roll + GM stars as bonuses.


I use the light quickdraw throwing shield (one each of different special materials) with the Quick Draw feat with my Shield Champion. Free action to unstrap (throwing shield), free action to draw it from stowed position (Quick Draw feat), free action to strap/don it (quickdraw shield + Quick Draw feat), free action to stow it (quickdraw shield + Quick Draw feat).

I list more reasons why the Shield Champion has action economy issues here and why I feel the need for the light quickdraw throwing shield.

The action economy is useful if the Shield Champion ever needs to throw the dang shield. You get it back at the END of your turn (whenever you declare your turn to be over) so no free action available to equip the shield again, so would need to equip it at the beginning of your NEXT turn, and it being a free action would be incredibly useful. Unequipping it and/or stowing it to have two free hands is also useful for climbing that needs two hands or other activities where don't want any armor check penalties like tumbling/jumping/swimming.

**

John Compton wrote:

The re-roll situation has not changed since Season 7, and one still receives only a single re-roll—and only when in possession of a qualifying shirt or other merchandise. I have not had the means or time to investigate the exact nature and source of this misprint, but I assure you that it is by my initial assessment an error introduced somewhere in the Guide's reorganization, rewriting, and/or editing. We'll address this and similar concerns after Gen Con.

Please help correct this misunderstanding by directing people to this post.

Does this apply just to players with no GM stars and GMs with stars get more than re-roll per session?

Or is the WHOLE re-roll situation out of whack and GMs with stars AND players with no stars limited to one re-roll per session? And if this is the case, does GM stars have any effect on re-rolls like previous season's guides' "number of stars = bonus to the re-roll"?


James Risner wrote:

In general if you gain something in exchange for some penalty you don't gain the something if you are immune to the something.

It isn't spelled out often when the writer doesn't think of it, look at ring of inner fortitude how it was changed to block using it to negate penalties of abilities.

That's only applicable if it actually states it. Like how the ring of inner fortitude now specifically states it after errata (which probably got errata'd due to unforeseen usage by alchemists), or how with kineticist rules state that if one is immune to nonlethal damage then can't accept burn.

For another example besides rage cycling on why being immune to something doesn't stop one from benefiting from something, there's the vest of stable mutation: it prevents one from taking mental ability score penalties, but still expects the mutagen-imbiber to benefit from the mutagen (typically physical ability score bonuses).


Gather power doesn't provoke. Just gotta be weary of enemies readying actions to smack your kineticist when it does gather power.

Blasts modified by infusions (itself an Su ability), remain as Spell-Like Abilities (but just modified by a Supernatural ability), so an infused blast would still provoke.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

The "heavy horse" part IS a mistake, it's holdover text from 3.5 D&D.

3.5: "Upon reaching 5th level, a paladin gains the service of an unusually intelligent, strong, and loyal steed to serve her in her crusade against evil. This mount is usually a heavy warhorse (for a Medium paladin) or a warpony (for a Small paladin)."

PRD: "The second type of bond allows a paladin to gain the service of an unusually intelligent, strong, and loyal steed to serve her in her crusade against evil. This mount is usually a heavy horse (for a Medium paladin) or a pony (for a Small paladin), although more exotic mounts, such as a boar, camel, or dog are also suitable. This mount functions as a druid's animal companion, using the paladin's level as her effective druid level. Bonded mounts have an Intelligence of at least 6."

Back in 3.5 the paladin used specific heavy horse stats with a much different advancement than Pathfinder's druid's animal companion system.

While Pathfinder's paladin says it's a heavy horse for medium paladins that's only a description of the whole thing. It states the "mount functions as a druid's animal companion" and you're supposed to use the regular horse animal companion but apply an Intelligence of at least 6 to it, which by a paladin's 5th level, would essentially be very similar to a horse with the advanced template.

A horse with the advanced template isn't a distinctly different creature. . It's a horse with the template on. Big cat isn't a small cat with a template.

And even then, the templates are applied to bestiary creatures, which the animal companions are not. They're class features with their own rules. And would need something way more specific like Vampiric Companion does.

**

I think one would be at the new level, but until the character is actually played, the updated build of the character isn't locked in yet and selling/purchases could be made in order to get whatever qualifications for a class/feat; like a paladin who had violated his edicts paying for atonement at 6 XP in order to still progress as a paladin.


JayOgden wrote:
it for pathfinder society i am a lvl 2 elf ranger> i am trying to change the racial traits of the elf thats all. thats way i printed out what the changes are

Have you played the ranger as a level 2 character yet?

Where are these changes you "printed"? List it out and others can tell you what the possible options/costs are if required to use the retraining rules from Ultimate Campaign.

Still got no idea what "change things on a charecter with out the book are computer. can you use print outs" is supposed to be asking for.


You're gonna have to be WAY MORE specific on what you want to do here and why.

Is this for Pathfinder Society? You can still change a character however you'd like while still level 1. If only using materials from the Core Rulebook, don't actually need the Core Rulebook as those are standard rules assumed to be available to all, but need to own any books for materials used outside of the Core Rulebook. Not sure why you'd need a computer. Or print outs?

If this is for a home game, ask your GM. Still not sure why you'd need computer or print out.


Nope. Brawler's martial training only counts for qualifying for feats and when feats and magic items that have different effects based on whether the character has levels in those classes.

The parent classes of the hybrid classes don't by default stack class features or class levels with the hybrid class; it would have to specifically state such a case.

EDIT: D'oh. Didn't notice all the duplicate threads.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Paladin's lay on hands is positive energy.

Positive energy doesn't heal/harm things that aren't living or undead, such as constructs.


The "consultant" saved our bacon!


Cantriped wrote:
The character definitely cannot accept burn; because as an undead he is immune to the non-lethal damage it would cause, and he has a class feature preventing him from accepting burn under that condition.

This is correct.

Cantriped wrote:
If an undead kineticist cannot be forced to accept burn, then Gather Power becomes an overpoweringly effective class feature for them because it has is no real penalty for failure. This is more than equal to the lose of access to utility talents which require accepting burn in my mind.

That's fine, since not that many kineticists get hit while gathering power since it doesn't provoke, or even if they do because of readied actions, they can always use different tactics to avoid the readied actions (be further away or use more defensive abilities like party member's magic or magic items). Since you consider this "more than equal to the [loss] of access to utility talents which require accepting burn in [your] mind", that's good since Void Healer is waaaay less useful for an undead kineticist.

Cantriped wrote:
However I do think that the character can still take burn, because it isn't prohibited by the RAW; and prohibiting it would either significantly reduce or increase the effectiveness of Void Healer depending upon what happens when you attempt to force a creature that cannot take burn to take burn (see below).

They can't. Creatures that can't have nonlethal damage can't accept burn. Kineticists or otherwise. Void healer isn't as useful as kinetic healer, that's by design.

Cantriped wrote:
Ignoring his ability to channel negative energy for the moment (perhaps because the character already used it all up for the day) the character can use the Void Healer wild talent on either the dhampir, the skeleton champion, or the zombie to heal them, but he cannot use it on himself because he can't accept the burn for doing so, moreover he must choose to have the dhampir, skeleton champion, or zombie take the burn (because he can't).

Only the dhampir because that's the only creature listed that can have nonlethal damage.

Cantriped wrote:
Neither the character, the skeleton champion, or the zombie are subject to nonlethal damage as a general rule of their creature types, however the specific rule in the class feature says that the nonlethal damage from burn cannot be reduced, and it's effects cannot be ignored. So if any of them somehow do accept/are forced to accept/or take burn they would also take the nonlethal damage (and somewhere on another plane of existence, a paizo developer would cry in agony).

Since they aren't subject to nonlethal damage, they can't accept burn. No developer's tears today.

Cantriped wrote:
Neither the skeleton champion or the zombie are kineticists, so they can accept/be forced to accept/take any amount of burn, I assume even after it renders them unconsious. Although if I recall the rules for nonlethal damage it would convert back into lethal damage and basically be a wash.

They're undead and can't take nonlethal damage and can't accept burn. If they were a creature type that accepted nonlethal damage, they could have accepted burn beyond any normal kineticist daily limit.

Cantriped wrote:
The character cannot accept burn (and likely cannot be forced to accept burn either, see above), but he can still take burn whenever his cohort, the dhampir uses their Void Healer wild talent on the character. This is the only condition I can think of that would create this situation however.

Nope. Immune to nonlethal damage = no burn, even from outside sources.

Cantriped wrote:
The Dhampir can only accept a limited amount of burn, and can be forced to accept burn (such as when a Gather Power attempt fails), but he can take additional burn beyond that from sources outside of their control (Aka Void Healer). I am assuming for this hypotheses that the character's Void Healer qualifies as a source outside the dhampir's control, and vice versa. Since the dhampir doesn't get to choose whether he or the character takes the burn when the character uses void healer, and vice versa. Although I suppose the character/dhampir could try and save against the wild talent like any other "harmless" spell-like ability.

The dhampir's own use of Void Healer is a source within his control, but not from the character's use of Void Healer. The dhampir may not have a choice of who accepts the burn when using Void Healer on the character (because the dhampir is the only legal recipient of the burn), he had to control of "Not Using It". Kinetic Healer and and Void Healer only works on "willing" creatures, no saving throws involved. Unconscious creatures are considered willing, but undead don't get to benefit from such a state normally.

Cantriped wrote:
For the Zombie: The zombie doen't have an intelligence score, so it can never heal, regardless of how long it "rests". Channeling negative energy won't get rid of the nonlethal damage from the burn it has accepted either. Meaning the nonlethal damage from the zombie's burn will eventually render it "unconscious"... Forever. Making using void healer this way basically useless.

Zombie didn't have any nonlethal damage, because it's immune and couldn't accept burn.

Cantriped wrote:
For the character, the dhampir, and the Skeleton Champion: Thanks to their intelligence scores (or for the dhampir, thanks to not being undead), the character, the dhampir, or the skeleton champion can be left to rest for a day whenever the nonlethal damage from the burn (or damage they take subsequently alongside the burn) finally renders them "unconscious".

Only the dhampir would have removed the burn and nonlethal damage (from burn or otherwise) because it's the only creature listed that could have nonlethal damage and could have accepted burn. All the others are immune and so no burn for them.


Q-1) This means that the kineticist can choose to either accept the burn or the recipient takes the burn, correct?

A-1) For Void Healer an undead recipient cannot accept the burn. Whether the kineticist himself can accept the burn or not also depends on if he's undead or not. If the kineticist is also undead, he can't accept the burn either.

If undead kineticist (or other creature type that doesn't accept nonlethal damage), can't do anything because can't accept burn, can't give the burn to undead recipient, and no Internal Buffer because couldn't have accepted burn to begin with.

If non-undead kineticist (or other creature type that accepts nonlethal damage), can either accept burn himself or use Internal Buffer to heal undead targets.

Q-2) Does this also mean that they cannot be "forced to accept burn"? Such as because of a failed attempt to Gather Power (see below).
The Gather Power class feature says:

Quote:
If the kineticist takes damage during or after gathering power and before using the kinetic blast that releases it, she must succeed at a concentration check (DC = 10 + damage taken + effective spell level of her kinetic blast) or lose the energy in a wild surge that forces her to accept a number of points of burn equal to the number of points by which her gathered power would have reduced the burn cost.

A-2) Undead or other creatures that don't suffer from nonlethal damage don't ever accept burn, nor forced to accept burn. So if failed the concentration check while gathering power, no burn accepted.

Q-3) Is there a difference between "accepting burn", "being forced to accept burn", and "taking burn"?

A-3) "A kineticist can't choose to accept burn if it would put her total number of points of burn higher than 3 + her Constitution modifier (though she can be forced to accept more burn from a source outside her control)."
A kineticist can't use his own kineticist abilities (actions within their control) to willingly to accept more burn that daily limit. So no Void Healer, accept burn himself, and go over daily limit.

From actions outside his control, such as accepting kinetic healing and the utility talent's burn cost, or failing a concentration check while gathering power, or taking some special special items that force burn on folks (like the alchemical burn items in Ultimate Intrigue), could go over that daily limit of burn.

Q-4) The burn class feature specifies kineticists, does this mean that a non-kineticist can accept/be forced to accept/take burn even if they are incapable of taking nonlethal damage?

A-4) See answers A-1 & A-2, if a creature can't take nonlethal damage, can't take burn. The link in answer A-1 has Mark Seifter giving an example of undead recipients of Void Healer not being able to accept the burn cost of Void Healer because they're undead (immune to nonlethal damage = can't accept burn, forced or willingly).

Q-5) The Burn class feature specifies kineticists when discussing the number of points of burn you can accept. Does this limit also apply to non-kineticists?

A-5) See answer A-3, a creature capable of accepting nonlethal damage, can accept burn. A non-kineticist doesn't have the daily burn limit for accepting burn from their own kineticist abilities (because they don't have kineticist abilities).

Q-6) Does being healed by a kineticist other than yourself (using either Kinetic Healer or Void Healer) count as a "source outside [your] control" for the purpose of being able to accept/take the burn for them using this ability on you?

A-6 Yes. Another kineticist's abilities are outside your control. An undead recipient of Void Healer would still not be able to accept the burn cost though (answers A-1, A-2, A-4).

Q-7) If nonlethal damage from burn cannot be reduced, does a creature immune to nonlethal damage still take nonlethal damage from Burn if it somehow acquired burn?

A-7) See answers A-1, A-2, A-4, A-6. Creatures immune to nonlethal damage (either naturally or an ability that negates it temporarily that got implemented before the acceptance of burn) can't accept burn, and subsequently that means no nonlethal damage.


Came to see if there's gonna be genie-kin options for new season of PFS.

Saw the "the elemental purist kineticist archetype" mentioned and I don't even care what I came here for. I want ALL the kineticist stuff! If it lets me play a single element pyrokineticist without having to worry too much about fire immunity (or even some way to bypass a little bit without needing a "fire subtype" to target) I'd be happy and might spend some prestige points to retrain my level 12 pyrokineticist that expanded to air that retired and waiting for next round of Eyes of the Ten to get started.

**

Also investigators should have Craft (alchemy) listed. The gun-totin' Steel Hound investigator archetype isn't even PFS legal, don't see why they or even gunslinger/investigator multiclassed characters would all of a sudden be crafting things with that skill when even gunslingers don't. Heck even gunslingers would have 1 rank in Craft (alchemy) over anything else to get discounted alchemical ammo.


Canthin wrote:
Protoman wrote:
Canthin wrote:
Scent to a range of 10'(able to pinpoint creatures within 5' automatically as a Move Action).
You get scent up to 10 feet. If a creature is adjacent, their pinpointed automatically without an action needed. The move action is for figuring out direction if creature isn't adjacent.
"Within 5'" is adjacent. Requires a Move Action, but no Perception check right?

Doesn't require a move action or a perception check. When a creature is within 5 feet/adjacent to someone with scent, the person with scent knows what square they're on.

PRD wrote:
The creature detects another creature's presence but not its specific location. Noting the direction of the scent is a move action. If the creature moves within 5 feet (1 square) of the scent's source, the creature can pinpoint the area that the source occupies, even if it cannot be seen.

Further than adjacent, move action to find out direction. Once it's adjacent, the first sentence of not knowing the creature's "specific location" is voided as they're able to be pinpointed; that won't require an action as it's unstated for the new situation, whereas a move action was necessary for a creature that can't be pinpointed.


itsneverfutile wrote:
Java Man wrote:

The cost for dueling is a flat increase beyond the equivalent "plus" of the weapon, it does not add to the "plus", just final cost.

Having trouble finding the specific citation, but there is nonother way to compute this consistently.

Thank you for your answer.

Chess Pwn wrote:

to find the price, remove the dueling price, add the upgrade price, re-add the dueling price.

Find the price of the item without dueling, add dueling price to that. Compare that to current weapon price and that's the cost.

All roads lead to the same answer is the real answer.

Thank you as well.

So here's another question along those lines then...

Does the enhancement bonus and damage conferred by (bane, lesser) stack with the enhancement bonus and damage from bane burst?

bane, lesser

bane burst

Ignoring the fact those two "bane" abilities are third party and usual d20 rules are still the same, the enhancement bonuses provided by any of the magic weapon "bane" effects won't stack. So lesser bane is useless when there's also bane or bane burst on a weapon.


Canthin wrote:
Scent to a range of 10'(able to pinpoint creatures within 5' automatically as a Move Action).

You get scent up to 10 feet. If a creature is adjacent, they're pinpointed automatically without an action needed. The move action is for figuring out direction if creature isn't adjacent.


You should RP it just like Dr. Dinosaur!


Phalanx Formation is great if you're wanting to use a reach weapon.

Level Dip in Wild Child brawler would keep your animal companion progression up, gets you Improved Unarmed Strike, and Brawler's Cunning which can get you to qualify for Pack Flanking. That with Phalanx Formation would let flank with wolf while standing behind it and it not providing cover to the target.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

This would be a great trait for you.


In that case, no. No benefiting from a tower shield without actually using an arm.

Ranged Tactics Toolbox Players Companion has gambion in the equipment section. Large cylinders one can fill with rocks, dirt, etc to provide some cover, can be stacked for better cover. Takes several minutes to set up though.

**

Unchained Rogues may freely rebuild into an Unchained Rogue.

Ninjas unfortunately cannot rebuild, nor take another of the unchained rogue options.


By level 5, a brawler with close weapon mastery will be increasing the gauntlet damage.

Hero labs treats the gauntlets as unarmed attack for some stuff (weapon focus, amulet of mighty fists, Quain martial artist trait) but keeps the damage die of the gauntlet.

How it's supposed to work officially, Paizo still has to clarify that. Recently they gave indication that it'll be brought up for discussion for FAQ, but nothing so far.


Terevalis Unctio of House Mysti wrote:
Protoman wrote:
Terevalis Unctio of House Mysti wrote:
Magic Missile should do full damage correct?

Incorporeal: Creatures with the incorporeal condition do not have a physical body. Incorporeal creatures are immune to all nonmagical attack forms. Incorporeal creatures take half damage (50%) from magic weapons, spells, spell-like effects, and supernatural effects. Incorporeal creatures take full damage from other incorporeal creatures and effects, as well as all force effects.

Magic missile has the [force] descriptor and states doing force damage. Incorporeal creatures takes full damage from magic missile unless they got stuff to defend against it.

This is good to know, I am fighting a greater shadow in a game right now.

If you got it prepped, might wanna cast mage armor and/or shield spells. Incorporeal touch attacks don't ignore force effect armor bonuses to AC.


Terevalis Unctio of House Mysti wrote:
Magic Missile should do full damage correct?

Incorporeal: Creatures with the incorporeal condition do not have a physical body. Incorporeal creatures are immune to all nonmagical attack forms. Incorporeal creatures take half damage (50%) from magic weapons, spells, spell-like effects, and supernatural effects. Incorporeal creatures take full damage from other incorporeal creatures and effects, as well as all force effects.

Magic missile has the [force] descriptor and states doing force damage. Incorporeal creatures takes full damage from magic missile unless they got stuff to defend against it.


Ah ok, never knew about the harrow deck of many things.

I don't know if the monster advancement table is ever used for anything besides actual "monster advancement" and creation.

The polymorph stuff I'd assume is used for any magical effect, but I don't really know much about transmutation/polymorph stuff (I stay away from it as a player because it looks too complicated for a fun time for me to use for a character).

But if unstated, I'd assume it's a simple -/+ size modifier to attack/AC/CMB/CMD/skills and no ability score changes, like how one can make a small sized tiefling/aasimar as specified from Blood of Fiends/Angels books, or with kineticists' kinetic form utility wild talent.


Have you changed the size of your weapons/armor on hero labs? They might not change on they're own simply because you changed race/size unless via a spell effect listed in the Adjustment tabs. Try putting in a new medium heavy flail and see if it's still 2d8 (make sure the equipment size drop box has "medium" selected.

Is there a link for online source for these card effects to reference?

I'm not sure where it's stated anywhere if you'd actually get a change to Strength and Dexterity simply for changing size category. Does the card state it's a polymorph effect or enlarge person or something?


That's great to hear, Amber!


1 person marked this as a favorite.

"What sort of monster would be drawn by magical energy?"

Why the very worst kind!

Dangerous.

Disgusting.

Kills without remorse or question.

Defiles corpses and its belongings.

...ADVENTURERS!

**

2 people marked this as a favorite.

Very wordy posts comes off as weaselly/shifty and can cause others to be skeptical or suspicious of things left unsaid or hidden behind all the text.

Not to mention when wordy posts don't say clearly what is intended to be said.


Mark Seifter has said before that "treat your X level as your Y level for purpose A does not give you a Y level for purposes other than A. Feat prerequisites are their own purpose (several classes do treat their levels as some function of fighter levels for that purpose, like magus and warpriest)."

So I'd say magus fighter training is just for feat prerequisites and doesn't help with effects that are actually dependent on fighter's levels.


Wyrwoods!

1 to 50 of 1,937 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | next > last >>

©2002–2016 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.