The Dragon Disciple has access to his/her Bite and two Claw attacks. Assuming the base attack bonus of this character is 6/1 or higher s/he can make multiple attack with manufactured weapons or unarmed strikes.
Selgard is correct. When attacking with both claws you cannot use that hand to attack with a manufactured weapon. Monks can always make unarmed attacked even when their hands are full, I'm not sure if this is the case with Improved Unarmed strike.
When making attacks with both Natural Weapons and Manufactured ones all Natural Weapons are treated as 'Secondary' and therefor have a penalty of -5 to all attack rolls and use your full base attack bonus.
+6 Manufactured Weapon/Unarmed Strike
You should be able to make five attack as a Full Attack action.
Mister V wrote:
Whoops! I must be thinking of the '*' for your bloodline spells how the burning hands and scorching ray always deal the selected type of energy damage as your bloodline.
"These spells always deal a type of damage determined by your element. In addition, the subtype of these spells changes to match the energy type of your element."
Sorry for the mix up there!
There is a single one in the Pathfinder Society Field Guide. Looking on the d20pfsrd is also a good idea.
Captain’s Blade: You were born on board a ship and learned to fight beside the sailing men and women of the Andoren fleet. While on board any vessel afloat on water, you gain a +1 trait bonus on Acrobatics and Climb checks. One of these skills (your choice) becomes a class skill for you.
What I meant to say is that you still need two hands to fire a firearm but you can easily get one size category higher since ALL firearms require only two hands to fire.
Inappropriately Sized Firearms::
You cannot make optimum use of a firearm that is not properly sized for you. A cumulative –2 penalty applies on attack rolls for each size category of difference between your size and the size of the firearm. If you are not proficient with the firearm, a –4 nonproficiency penalty also applies. The size of a firearm never affects how many hands you need to use to shoot it, the exception being siege firearms and Large or larger creatures. In most cases, a Large or larger creature can use a siege firearm as a two-handed firearm, but the creature takes a –4 penalty for using it this way because of its awkwardness.
You draw a heavy crossbow back by
turning a small winch. Loading a heavy crossbow is a fullround
action that provokes attacks of opportunity.
Normally, operating a heavy crossbow requires two hands.
However, you can shoot, but not load, a heavy crossbow with
one hand at a –4 penalty on attack rolls. You can shoot a
heavy crossbow with each hand, but you take a penalty on
attack rolls as if attacking with two one-handed weapons
(see page 202). This penalty is cumulative with the penalty
for one-handed firing.
The repeating crossbow (whether
heavy or light) holds 5 crossbow bolts. As long as it holds
bolts, you can reload it by pulling the reloading lever (a free
action). Loading a new case of 5 bolts is a full-round action
that provokes attacks of opportunity.
You can fire a repeating crossbow with one hand or fire
a repeating crossbow in each hand in the same manner as
you would a normal crossbow of the same size. However,
you must fire the weapon with two hands in order to use
the reloading lever, and you must use two hands to load a
new case of bolts.
Here is the relevant text for Crossbows. It does make me quite sad seeing how firearms and bows just seem to outpace all Crossbows. Firearms have their own rules for inappropriate sized weapons, you just suffer -2 per size category difference. It just seems like Crossbows are by the way side now.
Can you wield a large crossbow? Does this increase the amount of 'hands' needed to wield it making it unwieldable by medium creatures or do you only take the -2 for size difference? I believe that will be my last question for this Society character, thank you Grick for taking the time to answer my questions!
So there is no ruling either way about this subject? Most likely since all the cool people using firearms or bows this will never be answered.
Next question, is a Repeating Crossbow a type of crossbow or its own type? Rapid reload mentions, light/heavy crossbows but nothing about repeating. After searching through the forum it seems that it's not RAW to be able to take rapid reload with the Repeating Crossbow.
Is there anything stopping someone from putting special ammunition like Fire Bolts, Acid bolts or even Drow poison bolts into the clip of a repeating crossbow(heavy or light)? Is there any ruling on replacing the normal bolts with Fire, Acid or Drow poison bolts? The character in question will be a Pathfinder Society character and I would like to make sure that I do not break the rules.
Crushing Blow (Combat)
Your focus allows you to smash your enemy’s defenses.
Prerequisites: Improved Unarmed Strike, Stunning Fist.
Benefit: You can make a Stunning Fist attempt as a full-round action. If successful, instead of stunning your target, you reduce the target’s AC by an amount equal to your Wisdom modifier for 1 minute. This penalty does not stack with other penalties applied due to Crushing Blow.
Why? Because Crushing Blow was written as such. That's all.
I only asked since the Paladin I play needs Heavy Armor and is going into the Prestige class Hellknight, and it would be quite silly to waste money or even wait till sixth level just to get the armor. But I do agree with Mergy, they might not like that I run around in their armor until such a time I am a Hellknight.(But too bad for them I'm doing it anyways!)
All mundane (completely nonmagical) weapons, armor, equipment, and alchemical gear found in any other source that is legal for play are considered always available.
Does this include Hellknight Plate? If so does this mean I can purchase Hellknight plate with a +1 enchantment bonus on it? If so could you get this armor that would cost 3000 gold which is normaly only affordable at 13 fame?
Well that would most likely be taken offense by the GM, I bugged him about a 'dog people' race since he got the Kitsune(and says they're cats even though Vulpine are canines). So he build a race based on the human he had already made for this game. The additions were at will beast shape 1 and duel minded. While normally the races have 15 points to play around with I only had 9. This is the 'Werewolf' race of the game, I think we've decided I'm permanently stuck in hybrid form unless I use beast shape I(at will) to be in a wolf form.
The things we can change with the race points are limited to racial abilities, not our types or subtypes. Mostly everything else is fair game as long as we ask the GM, somethings might be on an item by item basis.
As far are feats are concerned, Power Attack, Weapon Focus, Weapon Specialization, Step Up, any other fighter only feats are high on my priority list.
In a home game I'm playing in I will be a Martial Artist Monk The character's stats are as follows. Rolled stats with the 4d6 drop lowest. The DM has made the races with the advanced race guide. I have nine race points to use and have chosen.
Moon Touched DR 5/ Silver Race Points (3)
Str 22 +6
Fortitude +5 (Base 2, Con +3)
CMB +6 (BAB +0, Str +6)
I'm just taking suggestions as to what feats to grab and should I change the nine race guide points I used. Martial Artists are able to count as fighters for purposes of feats. Weapon Specialization and greater weapon focus are all good feats that I will most likely take.
The only thing I know about the campaign is that it is similar to the Sword Art Online. There are two character the online character which is shown up there and another base line human that we'll be using though out the supposed 'offline' play.
Are there any suggestions that I should take for feats, race guide abilities, and traits? Thank you for everyone's time.
In Society play I know you can upgrade you weapons and armor enchantments if you have the gold and prestige to do so but I'm concerned about paying the difference between wondrous items such of a Cloak of Resistance.
Question: Is it legal to pay the difference between a Cloak of Resistance +1 and a Cloak of Resistance +2 to upgrade the wondrous item or is this only for weapons and armor?
The feats are all very interesting and being a fighter there isn't a shortage of those any time soon in my future, thank you very much Booksy. What magic items besides enchantment bonus to armor and weapons would you suggest? Gloves of the Duelist are a pretty easy choice seeing how they increase all bonuses from weapon training by two.
I would just like everyone advice on a human fighter I made that has a split focus on the Trip Combat maneuver, Damage, and being funny. While the last two on the list take a back seat to the combat maneuver.
Sammy of the Steps wields a Battle Ladder as his weapon of choice as he was raised by Gnomes. Luckily he has no significant brain damage due to the low ceilings.
Sammy of the Steps Third Level Fighter
20 point buy
The racial +2 to any ability score went into strength. Giving the final stats of...
Str 18 +4
What can I do to improve my to hit with my trip attempts? Any suggestions would be very helpful.
The traits that you presented are untyped trait bonuses that by RAW(as far as I know) do indeed stack. However remember that the cap for burning hands is 5d4 at caster level 5.
Benefit: The acid or fire effects of the affected spell adhere to the creature, causing more damage the next round. When a creature takes acid or fire damage from the affected spell, that creature takes damage equal to 2x the spell’s actual level at the start of its next turn. The damage is acid or fire, as determined by the spell’s descriptor. If a burning spell has both the fire and acid descriptor, the caster chooses what kind of damage is dealt by the burning spell effect.
Level Increase: +2 (a burning spell uses up a slot two levels higher than the spell’s actual level.)
You're correct a burning hands spell modified by the burning spell is a 3rd level spell and cannot be cast until the character has 3rd level arcane spell slots. However the damage from burning spell either means it deals 2 multiplied by the Original's spell level or the final modified spell level. Which for burning hands if it is the former it would deal 5d4 plus 2, the later it would deal 5d4 +6 damage. Assuming caster level of at least five(minimum required to cast third level spells).
After looking at both the Arcane blood line and the Seeker archetype I can confidently tell you that I have no idea Hogeyhead.
If this was a Fighter's archetype that replace armor training 1-3 and left 4, at the level you gained armor training 4 you would receive Armor Training 1. The most logical option I see is since the level 20 capstone ability of Arcane Sorcerer is one that replaces the third level arcana is that you simply gain the third level arcana. This is of course is if it follows the same rules as for a Fighter's Archetypes that change their armor and weapon training.
Controlled Rage (Ex):
When an urban barbarian rages, instead of making a normal rage she may apply a +4 morale bonus to her Strength, Dexterity, or Constitution. This bonus increases to +6 when she gains greater rage and +8 when she gains mighty rage. She may apply the full bonus to one ability score or may split the bonus between several scores in increments of +2. When using a controlled rage, an urban barbarian gains no bonus on Will saves, takes no penalties to AC, and can still use Intelligence-, Dexterity-, and Charisma-based skills. This ability otherwise follows the normal rules for rage.
It seems that the Urban Barbarian can use skills that require Intelligence-, Dexterity-, and Charisma based skills. But if it uses the normal rules other for it they 'still' cannot cast spells while under a controlled rage.
Ask your DM about a discovery that would give you a tail and taking extra discovery as your first level feet. While the Vestigial Arm and Tentacle discovery does not allow for extra attacks it would seem like a special circumstance that could be explained with a sufficient back story. Just as long as this isn't for PFS, Good luck with that Duskblade!
Duskblade, are you trying to imply a human alchemist with no tail can use a weapon that well is for tails? I'm not familiar with the Alchemist base class but if there is a discovery that grows you a tail and you have proficiency in the Ratfolk tailblade then there is no reason why you shouldn't be able to use it.
Recently I've found myself playing the Alchemist class while looking on the d20pfsrd I found a few discoveries that I would like to know how they interact with each other.
Breath Weapon Bomb:
Prerequisite: Alchemist 6
Benefit: Instead of drawing the components of, creating, and throwing a bomb, the alchemist can draw the components, drink them, mix them within his body, and then expel them as a breath weapon as a standard action. This breath weapon is a 15-foot cone and has the same DC as the bomb. Each creature within the cone takes damage as if it had suffered a direct hit from the alchemist’s bomb, but succeeding at a Reflex save (DC = 10 + 1/2 the alchemist’s level + the alchemist’s Intelligent modifier) halves the damage. Unlike throwing normal bombs, drawing, drinking, and expelling breath weapon bombs does not provoke attacks of opportunity.
Benefit: When the alchemist creates a bomb, he can choose to have it inflict cold damage. Creatures that take a direct hit from a frost bomb are staggered on their next turn unless they succeed on a Fortitude save.
Benefit: The alchemist’s bombs now have a splash radius of 10 feet rather than 5 feet (see Throw Splash Weapon). Creatures that take a direct hit from an explosive bomb catch fire, taking 1d6 points of fire damage each round until the fire is extinguished. Extinguishing the flames is a full-round action that requires a Reflex save. Rolling on the ground provides the target with a +2 to the save. Dousing the target with at least 2 gallons of water automatically extinguishes the flames.
The obvious best outcome for me(The PC) is that the character will eventually be able to use the Breath Weapon Bomb in conjunction with frost bomb and explosive bomb discoveries to make all targets with in the 15ft(30ft if they stack) make saves against the staggered condition. Or the other two conditions given by the Shock or Acid bomb being dazzled and an additional 1d6 the next turn. A How ever I feel this seems a bit to much being able to deal essentially sneak attack damage in a cone that could possible make the target staggered.
In short, do multiple discoveries that affect your bombs stack or do only certain ones apply? Of course I might look the fool I missed something while reading through the Advanced Player's Guide PDF.