|Paizo Pathfinder® Paizo Games|
|About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ|
All fort saves. The bit about avoiding the reduced effect on a save is an added and quite awesome ability.
Basically once per turn on any forced fort save (so not usable vs ingested poisons? See your DM to define 'forced') you make while wearing light or no armor you get to sub your REF save for the FORT save, AND if you make the REF save AND if the thing you are saving against has lessened effect on a successful save you avoid the lessened effect as well.
The downside for basically making your best save do double duty is that any time you use this you are staggered until the end of your next turn.
A good feat. Strong plus side but a wicked price to pay.
How populated is the island? Are we talking 200 medium zombies or 20,000?
With these kinds of numbers standing and fighting will mean death to the party. Action economy and natural 20's on attacks will wear the party down. Med sized PC can be surrounded by 8 zeds. That is 8 chances at a 20 each round no matter how good the players AC is.
The party will need to hide and run to survive especially if there are zombie birds whose dread croaking can alert the hoard.
Mind you this kind of adventure can easily bog down into an always fighting, always surrounded, grind if the players dray attention and cannot shake the dead army.
My 2cp on witches based on playing one for 5 levels so it may only be worth 1cp.
Witches lack most of the classic sorcerer/wizard defenses.
Basically Witches are glass cannons. If it is not immune to Mind -affecting magic the Witch has a chance. Otherwise cast Mount and run.
Witches need to focus on things like initiative, combat casting and toughness because their nonexistent defenses mean they WILL get hurt.
Be wary of the Flight hex. W/O invisibility/Protection from arrows you just made yourself a pincushion unless you can zip from cover to cover.
Abuse potions. Reduce Person, Mage Armor, Invisibility, Disguise self, these are your friends. Since there is another witch in the party look hard at the cauldron and coven hexes.
Fortune and Cackle. The meatshields will love you. Evil eye/Misfortune/Ill omen spell will help you save or die spells/hexes to land. You will want accursed hex and split hex when you can get them.
Get a lesser rod of reach if you are considering retraining the hair hex. You need a way to safely deliver touch spells.
Beg your GM to allow you access to the Web Bolt spell. I think it is the only low level Save or loose spell that targets Ref saves on your list.
Summon Swarm and Vomit swarm have subtle but important differences both will block charges though.
Mind you inhaled poisons have an odd exception here. Multiple doses can stack once delivered/dispersed into an area. The trick is delivery, which PF limits to traps and Poison Sand Tubes.
Even the modern gas grenades are listed as only being able to be loaded w/ mustard gas.
How is the poison being delivered? The only legal methods for delivering an inhaled poison in pathfinder are Poison sand tubes and traps. Unless I missed something.
There are also no rules, other than the Concentrate Poison discovery, allowing multiple doses of inhaled or ingested poisons to be stacked into a single container.
Also what are the gas bombs made out of and where are they kept? Looks like a good use of the Shatter spell unless they are in a Haversack, and if they are it is a move action to draw each globe which further slows the poison cloud creation.
Another issue. Per RAW inhaled poison clouds never disperse.
Poisons are an area in Pathfinder where the rules are weak the GM has to improvise a great deal. If I were the GM I would simply outlaw that discovery until such time as full poison rules exist.
Looks like it could be combined with Vital Strike.
Nope. Janni rush stipulates charge and Vital strike cannot be used on a charge.
I am more concerned with the jump requirement for Janni Rush. What does this requirement mean?
So assuming one cannot use acrobatics to charge over not otherwise chargeable terrain of what use is the Janni Rush feat?
Is the jump during a charge mentioned in the feat meant to be cosmetic only?
Is this a case of specific vs general allowing a Janni Rush charge to jump over normal charge blocking terrain?
For purposes of this thread please assume:
~The chargee is standing 5' back from the edge of the pit.
~The charger has a +10 acrobatics skill and will roll 11 on any check.
Hat meet ring.
Abadar disapproves of but understands the attractions of gambling. Having a man on the inside would increase the local bank/temple's confidence in the venture
Can we ask what the folks you have lined up will be playing? I would hate to overlap too severely.
Do not dismiss grappled. The webbed for cannot move, take -4dex, and are pretty much restricted to v only spells. Spell hex means the Escape/CMB DC will keep 80% of your foes still till well after the fight is over. Or if you don't want to wait that long. Good old strangling hair or Aboleth's Lung will remove the problem.
Note Limp Lash is a nasty addition to the fun here. No save, a self directed Fortune /evil eye vs their AC should ensure a hit. Now they are trying to escape a scaled DC while losing d6 str & dex per round. Escape becomes difficult to say the least.
Teleportation/freedom of movement will bolix this tactic but them's the breaks.
That allows the instantaneous communication problem.
From previous post:
This view creates a problem.
If this is accurate, a level one class ability is able to communicate across planes. This may be unique in Pathfinder. It also creates an unblock-able means of sending secure, if quite limited messages."
Having the special inert due to creating alchemist making a second mutagen means some kind of non-detectable link remains between the creating alchemist and the mutagen. A link that stretches across planes and through anti-magic fields with ease.
Darksol the Painbringer wrote:
Exactly. What is more the 2 state solution gives the player alchemist a very good reason to have a lab. They will need a secure place, not on their person to store the mutagens. This can work against the wandering murder-hodo aspect of adventuring or at least lead to players having to work together.
The largest impact it has is on the Beastmorph which frankly could use the bump.
So you propose that the word 'inert' is used to represent two separate states. Allowing the alchemist to send messages through spooky action at a distance as mentioned above.Right?
Exactly. One at a time.Step one: make mutagen
Step two: hand mutagen to familiar/friend/shelf. Mutagen goes inert.
Step three: make second mutagen with different choices.
Repeat steps until bored
When alchemist does not have mutagen take one from familiar/friend/shelf and use.
This will not let mutagens stack. They don't see last line in Mutagen
I am just wondering why it is not possible to have multiple pre-made mutagens. Is possible for a seventh level Alchemist to prepare a mutagen while under the effect of another. (last 10min/level take 60min to make)
At most this adds some versatility to the Mutagen feature. It does not invalidate Infuse mutagen as that discovery allows multiple doses to be ready at a moments notice.
I am still not sure where you are getting the idea that an inert mutagen becomes usable when it is picked up by a alchemist. The text states that it only becomes active if it is the only one created by the alchemist the brewed it. Otherwise the text stating the alchemist can only have one mutagen at a time becomes moot, since the alchemist could put one mutagen down, allowing it to become inert, and simply brew a second, and third, and tenth. Creating a second mutagen causes the first to become not only "inert", but also completely unusable.
From here, bolding mine:PRD, Mutagens wrote
" As with an extract or bomb, a mutagen that is not in an alchemist’s possession becomes inert until an alchemist picks it up again."
What are you basing the completely unusable idea on? From the language we have it appears that a mutagen can be either maintained or inert, and if inert it becomes maintained if picked up by an Alchemist who is not otherwise maintaining a mutagen.
How? A dispell or an antimagic field shuts the cantrip down. Not so the mutagen.Or am I missing something?
I don't think it is transplanar either but if the 3 state solution is correct it has to be. Even ignoring the planar issue the ability to send an unblockable message is quite the trick for a vial of nonmagical regents.
You are assuming that a mutagen which becomes inert because you brewed a second mutagen can be revived. There is nothing in the rules that suggests that.
Then how does the "pick it up again" sentence apply?
Are you positing 3 states for a mutagen?
This view creates a problem.
If this is accurate, a level one class ability is able to communicate across planes. This may be unique in Pathfinder. It also creates an unblock-able means of sending secure, if quite limited messages.
So has there ever been an official answer as to what exactly this sentence means?
" An alchemist can only maintain one dose of mutagen at a time—if he brews a second dose, any existing mutagen becomes inert. As with an extract or bomb, a mutagen that is not in an alchemist’s possession becomes inert until an alchemist picks it up again."
The key issue seems to be the phrase "...until an alchemist picks it up again."
I see some very interesting exploits with a beastform alchemist and either good friends or a tumor <monkey> familiar wearing a tiny master-work pack.
The step by step
Step two: Melvin the tumor-monkey puts the potion in the tiny pack Al has crafted for Melvin.
Step three: Repeat one selecting different abilities until you run out of time or get bored.
Step four: When a specific mutagen is needed Al swaps the one he/she is carrying with Melvin and has a refreshing drink.
Note: The role of Melvin can be played by a friendly PC or a hired retainer Or a shelf in Al's lab.
So where does this fall apart? The sentence in question seems to clearly state that mutagens can move from inert to maintained status by being in possession of an alchemist who does not currently posses a mutagen. Even if undue, in my view, stress is placed on sentence in the Mutagen description before the one in question:
"An alchemist can only maintain one dose of mutagen at a time—if he brews a second dose, any existing mutagen becomes inert."
the plan still works. Al will simply buy or trade inert mutagens with other alchemists. In fact with a sufficient trade network and cash Al may never have to make a mutagen.
So where am I wrong or is this a nice minor versatility buff for Alchemists willing to do the extra work?
I think you will find that I am the source of the Speak-singing Queen link.
You are very very welcome.
Well if you sever the leg first....Peg-leg trait will help here....And enchant the leg with Gentle Repose....And if you play a Monk of the Empty Hand you can even flurry with it. You only get the 1.5 str if you don't flurry but how bad is it to put the beat-down on some poor b@s+A5d using YOUR OWN SEVERED LEG!
This must be done in PFS soon. You will clear the table.
Exactly. Just fun. Very little about Pathfinder combat bares more that a nodding relation to actual fighting. The 'Harmonious Shatner fist' is a fun visual and nothing more.
With my background in Aikido I laughed my dice off when I saw the Flowing Monk/ Maneuver Master. All in fun.
Not to trek out too much here, but Commander Sisko and Major Kira used this move extensively in DS9, as well. Not Shatner only. As a martial artist (level 3-ish?), I could never figure out how this gave one any benefit at all...
Yes but Shatner was one of the first to use it extensively on the telly. Though I do remember James T. West using the move on the old Wild Wild West TV series. Which as it aired just under a full year before the first Star Trek episode means we should be really be naming the move after Robert Conrad.I however find Shatner's portrayal more evocative.
I hadn't thought of Tiger strike....Nice
Ok so assume 14 STR (can't believe I missed that)
Oh right and light weapons can't be 2-handed. A moron is me.
Still as a home-brew feat.....
"Heavy Handed. Your blows may be slow but you hit, hard.
By bashing your foe with both hands linked together you can treat your unarmed strikes as a 2-handed weapon.
Note: may not be used with any form of flurry or twf."
Might be a good option for a spring attack type.
Forgive me is this has been answered before My search-fu is weak today.
I was wondering if it was permitted to use unarmed strike as a 2-handed weapon. To be precise getting the 1.5STR bonus for not being able to use either hand for anything else just then.
In an effort to forestall thread-wandering please assume the question applies to a 1st level commoner with STR12 and all other stats 10 with any feats/traits/skills being used to augment profession: Ham.
Fortune Hex and constant cackling by the local witch-for-hire would give a roll twice and take the best.
the Guidance cantrip is an option as well. only lasts 1 min/level but can be spammed by the cackling witch as needed. Alternately an assistant with 10 potions of guidance preloaded into tiny injection spears could do the job in a more painful and more comedic manner.
Embrace Destiny would also be good for an effective reroll. Diviners fortune might help as well.
Sorry to see you go, Jakob. It's been fun having you with us--sadly, I foresee the party will descend into barbarism and debauchery (well, moreso than it already has) without its moral compass. ;P
Moral compass? That would be Tebati. Jakob stopped being useful/needed somewhere before Freehold. Still it was fun tagging along.