|Owen K. C. Stephens Developer|
|4 people marked this as a favorite.|
Sadly, Shield Brace does not say "normally" anywhere in its text.
Okay, I'll take a step down into the pedantic death spiral these types of debates usually turn into.
You can use a two-handed weapon and a shield with Shield Brace.
However, according to all the shields descriptions in the Core Rulebook, when shield bashing "Used this way, a heavy shield is a martial bludgeoning weapon."
Does Shield Bash allow me to use a martial bludgeoning weapon with my two-handed weapon? No, only a shield. If a use a shield to bash, it becomes a martial bludgeoning weapon. I am now not using it as a shield, so the ability to use it with a two-handed weapon no longer applies, I am using it "as a weapon" (as written later in the shield bash description), not as a shield.
Does parsing the rules that thinly make sense? No, not really. But that's the direction this kind of argument goes.