|Paizo Pathfinder® Paizo Games|
|About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ|
So the Ectoplasmatist archetype for Spiritualist states in it's Spiritual Combat ability:
At 3rd level, as a full-round action, an ectoplasmatist can make all of her attacks with a single light or one-handed ectoplasmic lash wielded in one hand, and also cast a single spiritualist spell with a casting time of one standard action as a free action either before or after making the ectoplasmic lash attacks.
The ability says you can only use the light or one-handed version of the Ectoplasmic Lash, but it does not have specific language stating the other hand must be empty/free. As Psychic spells do not have somatic components, strictly as written this would mean you can have a shield in use in your other hand.
I searched the forum far and wide and did much googling, and have not found any sort of ruling that contradicts my above interpretation. If anyone knows of any rulings of any relevance to this, I'd appreciate hearing what you've got.
Cherry Razarin wrote:
Oh, Sully and Cherry are in fact the exact same age! Sully was a street urchin up until about four years ago, when he began a tentative association with the local Sczarni (an arrangement he is now very much trying to get out of).
Cherry Razarin wrote:
Anyone still looking for potential character backstory connections?
Anyone who occasionally ends up on the wrong side of the law or in the bad parts of town that's been in Riddleport the last year or more would have a chance of being acquainted with Sully (possibly for not particularly positive reasons!).
@DM Czernobog: By "standard character sheet" do you mean you have a specific formatting you require? I usually format each chunk of my sheet (i.e. "offense", "defense", "feats", etc.) behind a series of blocked spoilers, because I find that's the easiest way for my brain to keep track of everything, but if you have a specific formatting preference I can adhere to that.
Blegh. I'm having a lot of trouble with my fluff. Every time I get the creative juices flowing I come up with something that doesn't really fit the whole "regular folk" premise. I'm going back to the drawing board tonight, but if I can't get something up in time I'd like to thank EltonJ for the opportunity and for being great at answering questions and providing background materials.
My character is finished mechanically, but it took a good bit longer than I thought. I don't think I've rolled up a Sorcerer since 3.0, so there was a lot of re-acquainting to be done with the mechanics. I'm pretty burnt out on staring at my computer screen, so I'll get his fluff/backstory done in the next day or two and then post him.
He's at bit of a ne'er-do-well, with a nasty habit of pilfering that he just can't seem to shake, so I feel like there's a lot of submissions here that would make natural associates for him. :D
Oh and his familiar is a raccoon, of course!
That might be interesting. Do you have any links on what Nagaji in the Forgotten Realms' whole deal is? Do they have much going on in the way of Mystra worship? (I'm pretty familiar with FR, but most of it is post ToT, and I wasn't aware that there were Nagaji in the setting!)
@DM Default: This is a minor issue, but do we get our ethnic language for free? I'm about 70% done with my character and want to know if I need to use one of my bonus languages on Varisian or not.
Secondly, at the moment, I've got one of the new Second Darkness campaign traits slotted onto my guy (the ones I PMed you). If you decide to veto them, I will happily change it to one of the listed options.
@DM Default: Regarding campaign traits, they published three new ones in the Varisia sourcebook specifically meant for use with Second Darkness. Would you allow those to fill the campaign trait requirement for this game?
Edit: I ask because one of them is 100% perfect for the character I've settled on.
Curious on whether you are including any Unchained content? My biggest concerns, in descending order, are:
Background Skills are the biggest for me, as I appreciate the increased design room to make my crunch reflect my fluff.
I have absolutely no idea what that is, so my initial response would be an objection. However, if it's not too much trouble to learn, or I end up choosing a class that doesn't have spells, then I would have no problem.
Derra Clawstrider wrote:
Two of the same class in one game is uncommon, but I would kill for the terrible "cats and dogs" puns our characters could trade back and forth!
Whooof. I just can't quite get the character I wanna do 100%. There's a couple things that just aren't clicking for me (not just mechanical concerns, either).
This game looks amazing, but I just don't think I'm going to have something I'm happy with before the cutoff.
Good luck to all who submitted, and good adventuring to those who are selected!
GM Waterhammer wrote:
Sorry, I'm not sure I was being clear enough in my question, so I just wanted to detail what I meant: Taking Boon Companion multiple times: Once for each dog. I believe, that by strictest RAW, you can't make use of it because both dogs function off the same class ability granting the animal companion. However, from what I have read a great many GM's allow for it to be taken once for each companion, in order to keep the archetype effective at what it's supposed to do.
If my question was clear the first time, I apologize for the repeat. I wasn't super explicit and I don't know if you're familiar with the issue in question, so I just want to be completely clear.
thegreenteagamer Presents "Of Gods and Death", a homebrew Pathfinder adventure set in the Forgotten Realms and Planescape slated to go Mythic
Got it, thanks!
@Samnell: A clarification: In the character creation guidelines, for traits it says to re-purpose for a campaign trait. Are you saying we have to take a trait marked as a campaign trait for one of the Paizo campaigns and re-fluff it for this, or can we take any trait, tie it into the campaign, and make that our campaign trait?
I really hope it's the latter, because I've been scrolling through the proper Campaign traits and finding it hard to re-flavor such specific material. :-/
@Samnell: After careful consideration, I've decided it would be much more fun to do running punching nonsense as a Halfling.
Still a foreigner, but came to Dalath to find extended family that's been enslaved. It's been years with little luck and few leads, but she's found relatively agreeable work with Zummabu during her extended stay.
Would that sync well flavor-wise with the setting?
Dot. So many dots.
The first thing that springs to mind is a Brawler(Shield Champion)/Magus(Skirnir) for lots of synergistic fun and style (you get to be Captain America, but also Kind Of A Wizard!).
OR! A Fighter(Brawler)/Unchained Rogue(Scout) using Outslug Style and a pair of... Cestuses?... Cesti?... Whatever... for lots of running and punching nonsense.
For the fluff, I think it'd be fun to do something in the realm of a Half-Orc foreigner who Unther hoping for easy mercenary work and wound up stuck there for the last few years. Hates the place, but doesn't mind too much working for Zummabu specifically.
Hmmm, yes. Much to ponder.
Amboy Yacolt wrote:
Haha, looks like I did miss you! Apologies.
@GM Of The Apes: Still waiting on a judgement call. Not trying to be a pest, but the deadline looms and I don't want to put an entire character together if it's not going to qualify.
@GM Of The Apes: I'd like to do an Unchained Rogue(Eldritch Scoundrel) VMC: Magus (I don't think I've seen any Rogues submitted yet), but using Eldritch Scoundrel with Unchained Rogue essentially requires a GM OK because it has an ability that interacts with a Chained Rogue talent, and an Unchained Rogue's access to those is subject to GM discretion. (Whew! A mouthful.)
For what it's worth, the the talent in question (Ki Pool), is not one I intend to take.