1. Yes. It won't come into effect untill later. While the patron for a regular witch, rules wise, only grant patron spells, in flavour they also grant the hexes and all the other powers.
Right, but...let's compare it to the VMC cleric. A VMC cleric has to choose a deity (or a philosophy, or what have you), and it has a specific effect on the game. The VMC sorcerer has to choose a bloodline which fluff-wise grants mystic powers, and it has a specific effect on the game. The VMC witch has to chose a patron, but it has no effect on the game. It's like the VMC fighter choosing a favored weapon, but instead of granting a bonus to attack and damage, you're just selecting what weapon you're rather fond of.
2. It's actually 10+1+Int mod (1 is = 1/2 rounded to a minimum of 1). But it seems to be what you say. I don't think the hex is supposed to scale with your character level.
You're quite right. There's no way to edit posts on this forum, is there?
Remember, this is instead of multiclassing, which means that you don't need to break level progression in your primary class and still gain some scaling abilities from the VMC, unlike a regular multiclassing where you'd not gain it.
Right, but almost all the other VMC abilities scale enough to keep them at least vaguely useful. At level 14, nothing is failing a saving throw of 11+Int, whereas a VMC Druid might be able to use Wild Empathy effectively and a VMC paladin is still using lay on hands for 5d6 healing as a swift action.
Novawurmson wrote:The hexes a VMC witch chooses are "as a 1st level witch." A witch's save DCs are based on the witch's class level. Does this mean all VMC witches' hexes have a save DC of 10+Int until level 15, at which point one of them becomes 14+Int? Alternatively, is there supposed to be text that reads something like "The DC of the witch's hexes is equal to 10+1/2 the witch's character level+Int modifier"
I'm not clear what you mean by "all VMC witches' hexes have a save DC of 10+Int until level 15." You only get one hex before level 15.
At 7th level you get a single hex and you treat your effective witch level as 1 for this hex only. At 15th level your effective witch level becomes 8th for this hex only.
At 15th level you get a second hex that counts your effective witch level as 1. This never changes.
At 19th level you get a major hex for which you count as a 10th level witch. This also never changes.
And that is all. You don't get any other hexes and you can't take the Extra Hex feat.
Sorry if it wasn't clear - I wrote "witches' hexes," i.e. multiple witches. If there are 10 characters, all of them have all take VMC witch, and all of them are less than level 15, the saving throw DC for each of their respective hexes would be 11+each of their respective Intelligence modifiers.