|2 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite.|
So, I have been seeing a lot of people on the boards talking about how Arcane Deed can give a Magus a huge damage boost by picking up Precise Strike. However, part of the wording of Arcane Deed makes me wonder if it really works that way.
Arcane Deed (Ex): When a magus takes this arcana, he canpick any one deed from the swashbuckler class feature as long as that deed can be used by a swashbuckler of his magus level. The magus can use that deed by using points from his arcane pool as the panache points required for that deed. A magus can take this arcana multiple times, each time gaining a new deed. The magus must have the flamboyant arcana (see below) to select this arcana.
Arcane Deed doesn't say anything about gaining the passive effects of a Swashbucker Deed. It doesn't even say that the Magus really gains the dead. All it says is that you can use a point from your arcane pool in place of a panache point to use the deed. Maybe this was intended to place a limit on what deeds a magus could really benefit from?
Yea, I may just be reading into the rules too much, but I figured I should draw attention to this to see if it needs to be put in the FAQ.
EDIT: I just thought of something else. There is nothing in either Arcane Deed or Flamboyant Arcana that gives the Magus a swashbuckler level when using the deeds. So presice strike would give the magus a +0 damage bonus as written anyway....
Another Edit: Just so you know, I am asking this partly because I play in PFS. We often have to follow the rules as written regardless of the intent until the FAQ says otherwise. Because of that, the writting is a bit problematic here.