I have a player who is an alchemist/master chymist (8/7) who just levelled and is looking at going (8/8). He is keen to get the Advanced Mutagen (Draconic Mutagen). However I read it and the way it is worded would lead me to believe that this mutagen is unable to be ever taken by a 16th level character although in the text it says you must have an effective alchemist level (alchemist + master chymist level) of 16. The reason that I suggest that it would not be available is because the second part of the criteria is that the character must know the form of the dragon 1 extract.
The reason why I would think this is contentious is the fact that the player at minimum needs to be a second level master chymist and 14th level alchemist to meet the 16th level criterion, however, due to not obtaining a caster level at level 1 for master chemist, the character is a 15th level caster and does not qualify for a 6th level spell (which is what form of the dragon 1 is). Is this the intention of the rule?
I have allowed my player to take this power through a little bit of inventiveness. My player actually has the extract in his formula book but cannot yet make the extract. That is he "knows" the extract (as per the wording in the advanced mutagen), he just can't make it yet. Is my interpretation what was actually intended? Or am I getting it all wrong?