|1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.|
OK, it seems like most folks seem to feel Spellstrike probably cannot be used in conjunction with the Spring Attack feat. I've done some searching here on the boards and there are a couple threads, with various viewpoints, but so far it looks as though there has been no official clarification, errata or FAQ.
The question is, can a Magus use his Spellstrike ability in conjunction with the Spring Attack feat?
The Spring Attack feat says, in part "As a full-round action, you can move up to your speed and make a single melee attack". I understand that the "As a full-round action" part is important here - it means you can't do anything else as part of Spring Attack which requites a standard action.
Spellstrike says "whenever a magus casts a spell with a range of “touch” from the magus spell list, he can deliver the spell through any weapon he is wielding as part of a melee attack. Instead of the free melee touch attack normally allowed to deliver the spell, a magus can make one free melee attack with his weapon (at his highest base attack bonus) as part of casting this spell."
This would certainly seem to imply the two can't be used together
However, Spellstrike ALSO says "If the magus makes this attack in concert with spell combat"
... and Spell Combat says "As a full-round action ..."
So ... Spellstrike *CAN* be used as part of Spell Combat, which is a full-round action, so it would seem that Spellstrike should also be able to be used with Spring Attack, which is also a full-round action.
Clicking the FAQ button might be a good idea so this can be calrified (unless of course, it already HAS been officially clarified and I just missed it!)