|Paizo Pathfinder® Paizo Games|
|About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ|
This is a pretty great sale. In fact, for those that don't have the Sunken Pyramid adventure yet, this would be a fantastic time to pick it up at a great price!
From what I hear, the Sunken Pyramid is a way cool aquatic adventure that's received numerous positive reviews. That's just what I hear, of course :)
Jacob Audette wrote:
This book looks gorgeous. Can't wait to see the finished product. It looks like similar graphic design to the Beginner Box books.
I think that was intentional - this book is supposed to be the next after a new player has 'mastered' the Beginner Box, so the two products are pretty closely tied together
Project Managers make sure everyone does what they need to do, as well as they can do it, when they need to do it so that projects/products are finished on time, with the highest quality possible and with as few problems as humanly possible.
Can you tell I've worked with plenty of Project Managers? :)
Nate Z wrote:
Ha! I actually have 3 new feats written that modify force blast which I think are pretty cool. I'll see about getting them into a future incarnation of the book ...
Great ideas - writing them down!
Sounds like the Force Blaster archetype for the Battle Scion is more what you are looking for ...
I'll definitely work on a few force blast related feats, including the one above and we'll see what happens!
I don't really see it until the Battle Scion starts shooting blasts at will. I will say that I'm surprised that it doesn't. I found the blasts not particularly powerful with it's limit. I mostly use it for ghosts and when I cant do anything else. I see him more like a buff Magus than anything else.
Certainly interesting points. I don't think giving the core Battle Scion class at-will force blasts is in the cards - the Battle Scion has to be the base line balance-wise and many folks do not like at unlimited, at-will combat abilities.
HOWEVER, I could *absolutely* see a feat that 'upgrades' a Battle Scion's force blasts to at-will. Maybe I can work something like that up for a future printing of the NPC ...
Oh, I didn't know about the alchemist vestigial arm discovery! Well that certainly would seem to be a big nail in the 1 ring per hand argument then!
Oh, I agree, although I think it's pretty clear that the idea the developers were implying is that you can wear one ring on each hand - that's why I said "The rules definitely say you can only actively use two rings - one per hand clearly being the intent."
I was just commenting that a case could be made for one ring per hand, so if you have additional hands/arms beyond the normal two, you could use additional rings.
That's actually a pretty interesting question. The rules definitely say you can only actively use two rings - one per hand clearly being the intent.
BUT, I know of know official rule one way or the other that addresses if you literally have more than two hands. The strict, as-written ruling would certainly lean toward sticking with the two rings max rule, but I can absolutely see making a strong case for one ring per hand, so if you have additional hands/arms beyond the normal two, you can use additional rings ...
@Nate Z - that's an interesting question!
I would probably say no. force blast is essentially a variation on magic missile which cannot benefit from feats like weapon focus since magic missile is not a ray. That said, I don't see anything overly unbalancing in allowing force blast to be treated as a ray for purposes of determining what feats can modify it if your GM is willing. Doing so would simply make the battle scion's force blasts a more potent and significant combat option.
Of course, if you are really looking for awesome force blasts, you should play a battle scion with the Force Blaster archetype - great fun! :)
@Ed Reppert - I would love to see such a comparison!
Mark Seifter wrote:
This is simply FANTASTIC news!!!
PLEASE tell me that the 'Hunter can teach his animal companion Skirmisher tricks" and "What CR is a hunter's animal companion for purposes of applying templates such as celestial" questions are on that last! :)
I'm pretty sure I already know the answer to this but ... can you tell us *when* we we see the highly antcipated ACG errata?
I'd argue if a million people hit the FAQ button, then that topic kind of IS worth answering, unless your 1 voice/opinion is somehow more important than those other million.
In any case, you've expressed your opinion, so thanks for that. Other folks clearly don't agree and feel the question might be worth some clarification.
Well, as I mentioned in the original post, normally I see folks play that you can use all three of an Efficient Quiver's compartments to hold arrows. I've played with many different people over the years in many different groups.
Comments like "This is clearly not a real problem except for in very very very isolated cases" and "It is hardly worth the thread" are a bit dismissive and needlessly insulting, not to mention not all that helpful, don't you think? A number of people have clicked the FAQ, so clearly others also feel this is worthy of some official clarification.
So, depending on the interpretation chosen, we'd be looking at either:
SR11 (HD5=CR5 +1 + 5) or SR9 (HD5-2=CR3 + 1 + 5) for the celestial animal companion of a 5th level divine hunter.
Either certainly sounds reasonable at that level. It will be interesting to see what the Design Team rules ...
Be sure to click that FAQ if you haven't already!
Wow, I had no idea this book had additional crunch, such as class archetypes, feats etc! I guess I assumed with a name like 'Advanced Class Origins' it was all fluff - i.e. expanding on the various ACG iconic's origins/back stories.
So, what's in there for the hunter? Maybe I'll need to pick the book up after all ...
See, this is why I'm a vegetarian! :P
Just use the PCs level. It's easy and it produces reasonable results. An Animal Companion literally has no CR, it's counted as part of the character's CR.
I think that's certainly a reasonable approach. It's of course essentially a house rule until we get an official ruling (for instance, I wonder how they handle divine hunters in PFs?)
Still, it seems like a good house rule for the time being.
Any other thoughts, comments or ideas?
Alchemist, you clearly have a strong opinion on this, and that's cool, but let's try not to let this thread devolve into back and forth arguing.
Remember, the original question wasa) how does everyone else handle this, and b) has there ever been any kind of official ruling on this one way or the other? Not, who is right and who is wrong, OK?
Once again, PLEASE click the FAQ link so we can all hopefully get some clarification
Normally, you don't need to know the CR of an animal companion. However, with the new hunter class from the Advanced Class Guide, one of the hunter archetypes is the Divine Hunter, which gives the animal companion the Celestial Creature template. So far, so good ...
The Celestial Creature template says:
A celestial creature's CR increases by +1 only if the base creature has 5 or more HD.
A celestial creature gains SR equal to its new CR +5.
At 5th level, the hunter's animal companion's HD increases to 5
So, a 5th level Divine Hunter's animal companion gets at least SR6 (CR1 +5). The question is, how do you calculate the animal companion's CR and does that CR increase as the character and/or animal companion increases in level?
The strictest ruling would probably say something like use the CR of the base animal (a normal wolf is CR1, for example). However, an animal companion is clearly more powerful than a normal animal, especially at higher levels, so that doesn't really work.
Perhaps an animal companion's CR should equal the the CR of the PC? That seems more reasonable, but to my knowledge, there is no hard and fact rule for calculating a PCs CR. It's typically said to be something like PC level -1 = CR or sometimes PC level = CR.
So, maybe a 5th level hunter/divine hunter's animal companion CR might be 4 or 5?
Is there any official word on this? If not, how do most GMs handle this?
Oh, and if there is no official word yet, I'd ask that folks click the FAQ link on this post so we can get it on the FAQ/errata radar!
Normally I see folks play that you can use all three of an Efficient Quiver's compartments to hold arrows. Just how many arrows the other 2 compartments can hold is usually up for debate although typically I see people go with each compartment holding up to 60 arrows
My question is a) how does everyone else handle this, and b) has there ever been any kind of official ruling on this one way or the other?
Woops! Yes, yes I did! :)
Boring!?!?! How DARE you sir! :)
White Necromancer from Kobold Press has received 7 out of 7 5-Star reviews, including a 5-Star review from the great Endzeitgeist himself.
In addition to the class itself, there are also two archetypes: the Necrotic Healer, which gets greatly increased healing capabilities, and Grave-Bound, which gains an intelligent undead companion that scales up in power as the character does.
The White Necromancer is also one of the 7 new classes in the New Paths Compendium, also from Kobold Press :)
Would the shaman spells from Deep Magic be useful or even able to be used by the Shaman class from the ACG? I actually don't have a problem with using both versions at the same time. I was just curious.
I think that's gotta be a GM call. On the one hand, I'd say sure (see my comment a little up stream). On the other hand I believe the new ACG shaman uses mostly arcane spells drawn from the witch spell list, while the original Kobold Press shaman's spells have a bit more of a druid / nature / spirit world feel