Malcolm_Reynolds's page

Pathfinder Card Game, Class Deck Subscriber. Organized Play Member. 537 posts (1,045 including aliases). No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 1 Organized Play character. 3 aliases.


RSS

1 to 50 of 537 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | next > last >>

Pathfinder Card Game, Class Deck Subscriber

The second power has you recharge the card and shuffle your token into your location deck, then examine your location deck. Since that would then return the token card to the location, should you instead shuffle your token in after you examine the location deck?


Pathfinder Card Game, Class Deck Subscriber

These allow you to use Acrobatics for combat, but not to acquire. The other seven weapons (in this set) that allow you to do combat with Acrobatics also allow Acrobatics to acquire. Should these?


Pathfinder Card Game, Class Deck Subscriber

Thanks for sharing the load!

Also:

Ninja


Pathfinder Card Game, Class Deck Subscriber

Just a reminder this seems to have been missed, possibly due to Paizocon impending at the time.


Pathfinder Card Game, Class Deck Subscriber

Exciting!

Looks like the "What's changing" header didn't get formatted as intended.


Pathfinder Card Game, Class Deck Subscriber

Thank you!


Pathfinder Card Game, Class Deck Subscriber

Ultimate Intrigue:
Rovagug


Pathfinder Card Game, Class Deck Subscriber

Recharge power reads "you may succeed at an Divine 11 check" (instead of "a").


Pathfinder Card Game, Class Deck Subscriber

I'm just curious whether this should have the Mental trait, given that (thematically at least) it's looking for mental activity. But that could make it tricky interacting with Undead who are immune. I'm sure it could just be a particular kind of divination.


Pathfinder Card Game, Class Deck Subscriber

It's fine if they want it that way, it's just not consistent with typical cards. The Perception Spells, for example, can be acquired or recharged with Arcane/Divine/Perception, without substitution. I'm just wondering whether replacing Arcane with Knowledge was an error.


Pathfinder Card Game, Class Deck Subscriber

Ultimate Magic:
Vigilante
Qi Zhong


Pathfinder Card Game, Class Deck Subscriber

Has the Arcane and Divine traits, can be recharged with Arcane or Divine skills, but can be acquired with Knowledge or Divine. Is that right or should it be Arcane instead?


Pathfinder Card Game, Class Deck Subscriber

...but not today! It's still too early...the first of April...


Pathfinder Card Game, Class Deck Subscriber

Ultimate Combat:
Samurai
Tsukiyo
Shizuru


Pathfinder Card Game, Class Deck Subscriber
Vic Wertz wrote:
You're correct. The reason that Stole is getting the Clothing trait is not because it lacks the Magic armor recharge power, but because its damage reduction power is atypical for Light Armor. I modified the FAQ question; the answer and resolution are unchanged.

I understand. I meant the FAQ seemed oddly phrased since the situation with the Stole wasn't the same as the Cloaks.


Pathfinder Card Game, Class Deck Subscriber

The Stole of the Inheritor actually does have the Magic armor recharge power (the FAQ says it doesn't).


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Card Game, Class Deck Subscriber

Has the "Staf" trait. I didn't add it to the PSA since I figure it's probably just a typo.


Pathfinder Card Game, Class Deck Subscriber

I didn't catch anything new in the Hunter Deck, so here's Occult 1:

Mesmerist
Psychic
Investigator
Sign


Pathfinder Card Game, Class Deck Subscriber

This appears on the Redemption card (and in HV1) but is not in my deck. My box has 110 cards. Is the Ring missing or should it not be on the Redemption card?


Pathfinder Card Game, Class Deck Subscriber

Hell's Vengeance 2:

Dhampir
Zon-Kuthon
Urgathoa


Pathfinder Card Game, Class Deck Subscriber

This appears to be missing the Divine skill in the Checks to Acquire.


Pathfinder Card Game, Class Deck Subscriber
Mike Selinker wrote:
And yes, I did forget Boots of Elvenkind, but only because Chad did.

That's okay. Whoever wore them when Chad was looking for footwear probably recharged them to succeed at their Stealth check.


Pathfinder Card Game, Class Deck Subscriber

Hell's Vengeance:
Antipaladin
Dispater
Belial
Mazmezz
Mammon
Droskar
Mephistopheles
Baalzebul
Barbatos
Moloch
(The last three are not on any published cards, but Lazzero's Asmodean Advocate Role implies they will be released, probably in HV2)


Pathfinder Card Game, Class Deck Subscriber

Just generally. Thank you!


Pathfinder Card Game, Class Deck Subscriber

Is Hrym an intelligent weapon, and is that why it can be acquired with Cha/Dipl but not Str/Melee?


Pathfinder Card Game, Class Deck Subscriber

I'm not familiar with Pathfinder Tales. Can someone explain, thematically, why some of the cards interact?


Pathfinder Card Game, Class Deck Subscriber

Spells like Toxic Cloud and Chain Lightning tell you to display them to play them and then discard them at the end of the turn. During each step of a turn if multiple things happen you get to choose the order, so for spells like these at the end of the turn when they would be discarded Spell Sage Ezren may display them again, this time for his Spell Sage power. If it is Ezren's turn he then recharges them.

Note that displayed cards are subject to the power that displayed them. Powers that display cards tell you when to stop displaying them, and displayed cards only have powers delineated by the powers that caused them to be displayed. So to go back to the Toxic Cloud example, if it's not Ezren's turn and he plays it he displays it for its power, then at the end of the turn the power that told him to display it tells him to discard (or recharge it). Instead of discarding it he may use his Spell Sage power to display it and it will remain displayed until the end of his turn. While displayed in this manner it no longer adds 1d6 and the Poison trait to all combat checks because it has not been displayed by Toxic Cloud's power but the Spell Sage one.


Pathfinder Card Game, Class Deck Subscriber

So this isn't really a question about PACG, but it is a question for its designer.

I just got my copy of The World today. Is there going to be a place for forums elsewhere, since it's not a Paizo product?


Pathfinder Card Game, Class Deck Subscriber

Good point. As worded now, it would never have occurred to me to think a bonus was smaller than it should be.


Pathfinder Card Game, Class Deck Subscriber

Cool, thanks!


Pathfinder Card Game, Class Deck Subscriber

It can be acquired with the Arcane or Divine skills and revealing it uses your Arcane or Divine skill, but it only has the Arcane trait. Is this correct or should it also have the Divine trait?


Pathfinder Card Game, Class Deck Subscriber

It has the Poison trait, so revealing it for your combat check adds the Poison trait. Should additionally discarding it add only another 1d12 (and not the Poison trait) since the check already has the Poison trait?

Also, and this is just wording, since revealing the staff adds 1d6, should discarding it add "another" 1d12 or just "a" 1d12?


Pathfinder Card Game, Class Deck Subscriber

Magus Class Deck:

Angelkin


Pathfinder Card Game, Class Deck Subscriber

Thank you! That's what I've been doing. It can be hard to find a single sentence in the rulebook.


Pathfinder Card Game, Class Deck Subscriber

I'm pretty sure that's the correct interpretation.


Pathfinder Card Game, Class Deck Subscriber

Part of the flavor text is "Fend off the spectal ghost ship." (spectral)


Pathfinder Card Game, Class Deck Subscriber
Hall of Champions wrote:
On closing, add the displayed weapon and 1d4+1 random weapons from the box to this location without looking at them.

As worded, the phrasing doesn't account for the possibility that more than one weapon may be displayed as a result of previously closing the location temporarily. Should all weapons displayed by the Hall be added to the location? Also, should they be shuffled with those taken from the box?


Pathfinder Card Game, Class Deck Subscriber

Reepazo:

Bugzapper


Pathfinder Card Game, Class Deck Subscriber
Gingernatar wrote:
I picked up Reepazo at my FLGS, but the packs were open and I was only able to obtain three cards. These included one token card, one role card, and one advertisement card. Was that everything, or am I missing something?

Looks like your pack is missing the Character Card.


Pathfinder Card Game, Class Deck Subscriber

My FLGS closed, but the city in which I'm vacationing has one!

Reepazo's skills:
str d8; dex d8, Melee: dex+1; con d6; int d6; wis d8, Divine: wis+2; cha d6, Survival: cha+3

Reepazo's powers:
hand Size 4[]5; light armors & weapons.
When you encounter a card, you may display a boon that has the Divine trait ([]and you may recharge a card displayed by this power to evade your encounter). While displayed, your Constitution and Dexterity dice are d12, and you may only play boons that have the Goblin, Melee, Poison, or Vermin ([] or Divine) trait; add the Vermin trait to your checks. At the end of any encounter, you may recharge all cards displayed by this power.

When you attempt a check that invokes the Poison, Swarm, or Vermin trait, add 1d6 ([] and before the roll, you may draw a card).


Pathfinder Card Game, Class Deck Subscriber

Howdy! The general rule is any power may be used once per check or step. If Ahmotep's power were meant to allow you to discard multiple cards it would have been written something like this: "On your check, after the roll, you may discard any number of cards. For each card discarded, you may add or subtract 2 from the result."

Hope that helps!


Pathfinder Card Game, Class Deck Subscriber
cartmanbeck wrote:
I am EXTREMELY excited that there are more Iconic Heroes minis coming! Can't wait to see what the inserted promo cards are!

Seconded! Have these been officially announced yet? I see the release dates are November and December.


Pathfinder Card Game, Class Deck Subscriber

I've always played it as you choose, but you don't activate any powers that care about you moving (actively) because you are being moved (passively).


Pathfinder Card Game, Class Deck Subscriber

Thanks, guys!


Pathfinder Card Game, Class Deck Subscriber

I usually make alterations to my cards based on FAQ entries. I sleeve my cards and write errata/clarifications on post-its to avoid actually writing on the cards. While making this current round I noticed some variety in poison use.

There are five "weapon-coating" poisons I readily found: Centipede Venom, Black Marsh Spider Venom, Bloodroot Poison, Wyvern Poison, and Tears of Death.

I noticed three different phrasings of use:

1) "Reveal this card to add...to your combat check with a weapon,"
2) "If you played a weapon on your combat check, reveal this card..."
3) "When playing a weapon on your combat check, reveal this card..."

The first four poisons listed appear in the Rogue deck and use the first phrasing. The other poisons I found use the second. Wyvern Poison from Mummy's Mask uses the third. The new FAQ entry revises Wyvern Poison from the Rogue Deck to use the Mummy's Mask phrasing.

I think the first and second phrasings are functionally the same (the second has better phrasing). The third uses "When playing a weapon," which means it can be played each time that thing (playing a weapon) happens. This means the Mummy's Mask Wyvern Poison (and now the one from the Rogue Deck, but no others) can be used multiple times in a single check. So if a character, like Simoun, plays multiple knives she can use the Wyvern Poison each time she plays one of those knives. I don't have a problem with this thematically and each use will carry the risk of burying a card. My question is, is Wyvern Poison intended to work differently than other "weapon-coating" poisons or should they all be worded similarly?

As an aside, the Tears of Death from the Alchemist deck says "If you used a weapon on your combat check" instead of "If you played a weapon."


Pathfinder Card Game, Class Deck Subscriber

Thank you but I can't claim credit since it's based on the wording of other such powers.


Pathfinder Card Game, Class Deck Subscriber

I think this is covered under End Your Turn (page 8):

"First, apply and effects that happen at the end of the turn. While you do this, unless a power directed you to end your turn, you may play cards and use powers."

The power that allows Simoun to evade also directs her to end her turn. Therefore, she may not use any other powers.


Pathfinder Card Game, Class Deck Subscriber

The last part of the first power reads, "she may bury a card to add 1d6 and the Cold trait to to her combat and Wisdom checks." (double to)

Also, is the bury power intended to be used once and last for the scenario (bury a card to add to ... checks) or meant to be used once per check, like "on her combat or Wisdom check, she may bury a card to add..."?


Pathfinder Card Game, Class Deck Subscriber
Autoduelist wrote:


It sounds like the play-by-play examples could be a real maintenance headache for the rulebook. With a living document used across sets, you want to touch established sections as little as possible.

Speaking of which, page 11 includes an example of adding traits. "...revealing the weapon Heavy Pick for your combat check adds the Pick, Melee, Piercing, and Basic traits to the check." While this is true, there is no Heavy Pick in Mummy's Mask, but there is in Wrath of the Righteous, the previous set.


Pathfinder Card Game, Class Deck Subscriber

Yeah, it's funny how easy it is to overlook some of these things. Having played since RotR it's easy to read the book uncritically because it feels so familiar and I already know how to play. Our minds readily fill in the blanks that new players might stumble over.

Here's another oddity: each of the four rulebooks mentions "entering" or "leaving" a location under the Move step description. I don't recall any powers on locations or other cards that use those two terms; they only refer to moving to or from a location.

1 to 50 of 537 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | next > last >>