Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ

Maezer's page

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber. Pathfinder Society Member. 931 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 8 Pathfinder Society characters.


RSS

1 to 50 of 931 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | next > last >>

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Cap. Darling wrote:

Is there really no one that find this problematic? A free ki point on every crit or kill(vs. Living targets) after level 11 on a monk using a ranged or a high crit weapon.

I think there is the possibility of abuse sure. Carting around a bag of mice to kill, or repeatedly dropping a fast healing/regenerating creature to 0, etc. But the overarching truth is even unlimited ki points doesn't really strike me as game breaking at level 11+.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Calculate your total speed than reduce for armor/encumbrance. In your example is 40' feet way however.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

1. A figments AC is 10+size modifier, as stated in the figment section under illusion. Can they dodge? They can appear to or they could appear to take damage from a hit. If creature recognizes the dodge or damage as an illusion is based on his will save for interacting with the illusion.

2. If the griffon is a figment and cannot attack, it doesn't threaten so no flanking bonus.

3. Magical effects should end when the hat is removed. Part of the requirement for using a slotted magical device is having the device in the proper slot. That said wind as defined in core rulebook doesn't cause players to lose attended objects.

4. Yes glammers can stack.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
DungeonMastering.com wrote:


I know this is an old thread, but we've got one of these builds in our party & I played him tonight. What is & where is this alternate racial ability?

Page 18-19 of Blood of Angels, it would replace their SLA.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

1) RAW, yes I think floor counts as a solid, immovable object that occupies a square. RAI, I have my doubts, so I'd expect funny looks even if technically right.

2) If by higher ground, you mean you actually occupy the square above your opponent, then yes it should work. Simply being on a mount larger than you opponent doesn't guarantee this though as the ground would not actually be in a flanking position.

3) No. The square opposing square is your ally not yourself. If you have something that grants a teamwork feet to your allies... it probably works by RAW but I'd expect more funny looks.

4) No. The object needs to be solid not just seem so.

5) No. Assuming for cliff you mean, empty space (ie force them off the top to fall) as opposed to a big wall at their back. Lava isn't solid pretty much by definition.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
RedDogMT wrote:

You can specify this new initiative result or just wait until some time later in the round and act then, thus fixing your new initiative count at that point.

In my experience most players choose the later option of that or statement declaring when they come back in. After whoever has the current turn.

Because your right, saying I delay until 10.0, I delay until 9.9, I delay until 9.8 .... repeatedly adds very little value to game.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Technically the listed penalty only a -1 to will, -2 vs fear. But its seems you are playing a little loose with the rules (which is fine as I am all for GM story telling), as technically your hat probably should not have fallen off in the first place to a white dragons breath attack.

My best advice would be talk to the GM. Try to find a penalty you both think is fitting for story telling purposes. Or maybe ask if you can give up whatever bonus trait you got, to clear the drawback entirely and then you should be relatively free and clear to roleplay your attachment to your hat any way you please.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
theillway wrote:


I would understand if "bleeding" were a condition like stunned or blinded, but it isn't. It is damage.

Bleed is a condition. Open your core rulebook, page 565, look in appendix 2: conditions, and the first one listed is bleed.

Bleed deals 0 damage as part of an attack. It deals damage as condition at the start of the afflicted characters turn with no attack roll involved thus it cannot crit.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Bleed has no attack roll, it is a condition that takes effect at the start of the afflicted creature's turn not when the condition is applied, so it cannot crit.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

The problem is most of your non cloak options are very expensive and don't scale.

The amber spindle ioun stone (Seeker of Secrets) is 10,000 and grants a +1 stacking resistance bonus to saves (max +5).

There are several expensive robes which grant a +4 bonus (Otherwordly kimono, Resplendent robes of the thespian, robe of the archmage.)


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

And it certainly doesn't work well as written.

It can only attack things adjacent to the wielder as it lacks reach, that's pretty awkward for a ranged weapon.

And then it shares the space with activator, that makes its really difficult for any thrown ranged weapon to function as it cannot leave its square.

And there is no mechanic for the weapon to reload itself, a fairly severe handicap for projectile weapons if they want to take advantage of a full BABs worth of attacks.

Its not intended for ranged weapons. If its a concept of something you want, rewrite it and present as something new, but the dancing property, as written, on a ranged weapon would be pretty terrible.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

If you want to pitch the item as a truly custom item then by all means go ahead and do so. But don't try to couch it as valid because the rules don't state something. As I said, I expect most GMs not to allow it because its not on the ranged weapons table.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

It however doesn't appear on the ranged weapon upgrade chart. So I wouldn't expect most GMs to allow it.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

http://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic/all-spells/s/summon-natures-ally

Its a pretty good list, though do look up the original source to see what you have to do/worship/etc to get access to non standard summons.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Tiny Coffee Golem wrote:

Would the price of 67200 be fair for a folding boat that can fly at 40' per a flying carpet? I know the dimensions don't match exactly, but I'm not sure how to otherwise adjust.

Going from 5x5 to 10x10 increases the cost of flying carpet by 40,000 or by a multiple of 3 depending on how you look at it. I don't think increasing the size to 24x8 should be a mere 7.2k. Much less the perk of being more easily portable than a 10x10 carpet.

That said if it actually takes a crewman spending actions to operate as a vehicle rather than free action voice command, that's probably worth a hefty discount and then the 60k ish price is probably in the ball park. (And in the ballpark of what Ultimate Combat has flying ships priced at.)

Honestly though, an air ship should probably be more of a plot device then a character wealth sink. So I think the actual price should only be able as useful as knowing the price of a castle. Its not so much something you buy, as something you either have or don't have.


3 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
DarkPhoenixx wrote:
Does brace work if enemy is charging another character? Or only the user of the "brace"?

Brace only cares that the person you are attacking is charging not what they are charging.


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

It really depends on what kind of fights your GM throws at you. If you can stand your ground and force enemies to come to you the majority of the time then buffing isn't that bad.

But I don't find that's usually the case. When you have to move to your opponent pounce (and mounted (flying) full attacks are so much easier to get off its not really a fair comparison) is going to start you out 3 or 4 attacks ahead and the buff is never going to catch up on those missed attacks before the combat ends.

And don't delude yourself that you'll buff your companions on anything but the most rare time. With a duration of 1 round, its almost never going to be a very attractive use of your standard action.

-----

Instead of Boots of the Battle Herald, you might consider Karyukai tea set instead (AP#53). Its effective 12 hours of greater heroism + hero's feast for 6 people (the party) for 38,160gp assuming someone can make a dc 26 diplomacy check which should be very easy by 14th level.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

You could house rule it that way. But I see it leading to buying fully charged wands then selling them when they get down to 10 charges. To be even cheaper per charge than the standard wand.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

A wolf typical isn't eligible because it lacks the intelligence I believe. But if something that really needs to happen, I would just leave it at 1d3 baseline for medium creatures.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I would treat it as it does what it says it does until an errata is fortcoming. I very much doubt heroism was a typo as its been around for an awfully long time. I would guess the mythic version gaining damage was a mistake, but I doubt they ever officially change it as its not really game breaking and the text itself is fairly clear.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Lune wrote:


So that would make a Monk 8/Fight 4 have a Flurry BAB of +12 thus giving him 3 attacks at +10/+10/+5 with the second attack having to be a Combat Maneuver and either of the other two attacks being able to be a Combat Maneuver as well? But not both. And only if they can be done as an attack (like Trip, Disarm, Sunder or Quick Dirty Trick) rather than a standard action. Right?

A Standard Monk 8/Fighter 4, when flurrying has a BAB of +12. His attack sequence is +10/+10/+5/+5/+0.

A Maneuver Master 8/Fighter 4, when making a full attack has a BAB of +10. His attack sequence is +10/+5 & two combat maneuver checks at +10/+7. (The combat maneuver checks are at a BAB of +12 with a -2 & -5 penalty respectively.)

Both these sequences combine the figthers BAB with monk's as detailed in the FAQ.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

1. I might have misunderstood your question. A Maneuver master 1/fighter 10 will have a BAB of +10. Will be able to make an attack at +10/+5 and a free maneuver at +9.

This is different than the standard monk 1/fighter 10 who, when using flurry of blows, would have BAB of +11. And have attacks at +9/+9/+4.

Neither the standard monk/nor the Maneuver master get the extra free attacks at levels 8 or 15 unless they have 8 or 15 levels of monk.

3. I'd certainly ask your GM. The question at hand here, is can you use a free bonus action granted from doing something else to maintain a grapple. If a monster can use the free action grapple from using an attack with grab (ex) then by all means the Maneuver master should be able to maintain using the free action grapple granted from using the flurry of maneuvers ability.

In my experience the majority of GMs say the monster can't utilize the free action grapple from grab to maintain their grapple. So using the same logic I'd say the Maneuver master cannot maintain via this method. You can find this question on these boards a few times over the years. Generally from the grab (ex) perspective, but I see logically coming from the same place.


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Opuk0 wrote:
So it only counts as +3 for the purposes of the +10 total bonus limit?

No. It only counts as +3 if you are trying to randomly generate a +3 property on a weapon. For all other purposes its just a flat +10,000gp.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Lune wrote:


On 6. why would I not get the -2 for grappled? It says right in the description that you BOTH gain the grappled condition, does it not? Is -2 to attacks not a penalty that the grappled condition applies?

"A grappled creature is restrained by a creature, trap, or effect. Grappled creatures cannot move and take a –4 penalty to Dexterity. A grappled creature takes a –2 penalty on all attack rolls and combat maneuver checks, except those made to grapple or escape a grapple. "

Your check in pin is a grapple check, so it is one of the listed exceptions. I don't think there is going to be much debate about that.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Its position on the table is purely for random creation properties. Its cost is on +10,000 as you can read in its entry.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Komoda wrote:


A strength modifier is not a bonus or a penalty, it is a base modifier. It always multiplies.

No. http://paizo.com/pathfinderRPG/prd/gettingStarted.html

"Determine Bonuses
Each ability, after changes made because of race, has a modifier ranging from –5 to +5. Table: Ability Modifiers and Bonus Spells shows the modifier for each score. The modifier is the number you apply to the die roll when your character tries to do something related to that ability. You also use the modifier with some numbers that aren't die rolls. A positive modifier is called a bonus, and a negative modifier is called a penalty. The table also shows bonus spells, which you'll need to know about if your character is a spellcaster."

http://paizo.com/pathfinderRPG/prd/combat.html
"A critical hit means that you roll your damage more than once, with all your usual bonuses, and add the rolls together. Unless otherwise specified, the threat range for a critical hit on an attack roll is 20, and the multiplier is ×2.

Exception: Precision damage (such as from a rogue's sneak attack class feature) and additional damage dice from special weapon abilities (such as flaming) are not multiplied when you score a critical hit."


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

2d2 - 2 for a crit.

Criticals only multiple bonus damage not penalties. Minimum remains 1 non lethal damage.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

1. No. You are making a full attack action (not a flurry of blows) thus you do not get the benefits associated with flurry of blows. So you only get the attacks based of your standard BAB + the free maneuvers.

2. No. Its not the archetype falling on its face, its one particular combat maneuver. If you are asking your GM, then consider whether or not creatures with the grab ability can maintain a grapple by using the free action grapple associated with attacks. If monsters are maintain via method, then you should be able to maintain with flurry of maneuvers, but if not then you should not.

3.
a. No (as 2). To maintain you'd have to use a standard action.
b. If you are gaining constrict via the Anaconda Belt all you get is the 1d6 + strength (it is overriding the standard constrict damage). If you have constrict from a different source (polymorph spell etc) then everything that applies to your unarmed strike should apply.

4.
a. You "Add any bonuses you currently have on attack rolls due to spells, feats, and other effects. These bonuses must be applicable to the weapon or attack used to perform the maneuver." So if you normal add it to an unarmed strike roll then you add it. The items that add to attack rolls from 3b would all apply.

b. You take the -4 penalty to your dex. This -4 does effect your CMD. You do not lose all your dex bonus. This text primarily exists because in 3.5 you did lose your dex bonus (ie could be sneak attacked by others).

5. Stunning fist requires you to do damage to force the stun saving through. Thus its not typically very useful. If you are doing damage via the combat maneuver than it should work.

6. You have the +5 circumstance +2 improved grapple and -2 flurry bonus for a net +5. The -2 attack penalty from being grapple would not apply because pinning an opponent is still grapple check and thus does not apply. If the penalty to dex effects your attack roll it would apply.

When pinning an opponent, you are not pinned though you remain grappled.

7. Not sure off the top of my head.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

The theory is the ring overrides the target restrictions on (all) spells when it states: A spellcaster can cast any spells into the ring, so long as the total spell levels do not add up to more than 5. Otherwise a great many spells would not be allowed into the ring.

Most probably consider putting a spell into the ring about like putting the spell on a scoll. With the difference between the time it takes and that anyone can trigger the ring given a command word instead of a successful UMD check.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

The -2 penalty is less significant, as bonuses to attack generally scale more quickly than bonus to defense. If you find yourself using a build on these boards with a martial class, you'll likely find yourself hitting on a 2+ a good percentage of the time. That said TWF definitely hits its stride much later than 2HW do.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

1) No, they need to make a fly check. This is not usually relevent in 3.x or Pathfinder by the fact you can choose your starting direction at the beginning of your turn without reference to your previous turn. But if you want to make the turn all within one turn (flying around a buoy or whatever) you would need to make the check.

2) If you winged flight, and fail by more than 5 you would fall. If using non-winged flight you just cannot preform that maneuver.

3) You can hover just by making the fly check. You cannot produce the debris cloud without the feat.

-

I think you will find 3.5 largely as complex, but I doubt you see any real issues with using it. Though clumsy flier are were always a frustration as its very difficult to make to make a <45 degree turn on a grid map. But if you feel that much more comfortable with them, I doubt your players will mind.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Bob Bob Bob wrote:

That's the same price as 4.8 happy sticks. You will have to blow 240 wand charges to equal buying this item. It's possible you can do that in a day of adventuring but we're looking at more like a month.

Please. I have seen people use 240 wand charges after a single encounter. You are talking about an adventuring party career source of HP healing.

Bob Bob Bob wrote:


Do you want examples of at-will first level spells?

No. We want to compare it to the cost of things with similar effects.

Make comparisons to magic items that give healing. Particularly unlimited healing per day... over multiple people. Most items with unlimited healing are incredibly expensive ring of regeration/pearl white ioun stone at 90k/20k respectively.

When the Boots of the Earth were printed, they became the knew baseline for the cheapest (by far) form of unlimited magical healing (to my knowledge). So its what you should be making the comparison to when pricing your unlimited healing wand.

Honestly I think it would be a steal at 10k and probably price it significantly higher if I was to price it. ...Of course I would attach the only heals damage taken while wearing the Boots of the Earth in my home games to thwart passing them around.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

No one complained about the cure minor wounds orision, because you could only cast a finite number of 0th level spells per day. So it translates to 5ish HP per day.

But you are right. Essentially the GM needs is going to set a price for healing. Its lots of CLW wands, infernal healing wands, boots of the earth, or some other effect its pretty much assumed that if time is not an issue PCs are going to fully heal after most combats.

That said if you want to use Boots of the Earth as a baseline at 1 hp per round for 5k (where its usually considered a good deal). Your wand should probably run twice that, as it heals 5.5hp per round and is probably less cumbersome than passing a pair of boots around the party.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I general expect them to pay the cost to scribe it into their spellbook beyond the free spells they would gain from leveling up. Assuming at some point while they were leveling they had a source to copy from. If they are very high level, they can side step a fair amount by purchasing Blessed book.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Quote:
Well, it never actually made it into an official FAQ or errata, so I think it kind of died in committee. I mean, that comment is from 2010...

No. If you enter into your time machine and read the shield master feat pre-errata it read:

"Benefit: You do not suffer any penalties on attacks rolls made with a shield while you are wielding another weapon. Add your shield's shield bonus to attacks and damage rolls made with the shield as if it was an enhancement bonus."

That is what the rule was when that particular JB post was made.

After the 2nd printing it was errata'd as follows:

Page 133—In the Shield Master feat, change the last sentence of the Benefit paragraph to read as follows: Add your shield’s enhancement bonus to attack and damage rolls made with the shield as if it was a weapon enhancement bonus.

Now, its not exactly the change the JB implied with his post but they did errata it.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
tsuruki wrote:

Small creatures are much larger then the backpack allows. A halfling/ gnome is roughly the size of an adolescent kid 12-14 years old, you dont carry an adolescent kid that age in a backpack like its nothing.

The average halfling male is 2'8" +2d4" tall. That's about the size of a 2-3 year old human (earthling). By weight they are about the size of 4 year old. Logically its actually fairly reasonable to carry them around.... they should probably logically have a -12 penalty to strength too but its really the game mechanics that should shut it down.

A caster doing this doesn't bother me so much as a GM. I generally disallow free movement as much as I can because of melee getting free full attacks off. It shouldn't be better to be mounted on a human, than a horse. And if you are getting a full round attack at the end of it, its much better.

If you a GM. Do you know the player and the table? Is he or anyone going to be upset at or abuse the power given to the player? Or will it be an primarily enjoyable experience for everyone involved.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I am too lazy to deconstruct this at the moment. But wouldn't a way to check would be to look at the fly skill check modifier of creatures in the bestiary with a constant-fly spell in effect. (Most devils some others). See if that includes the bonus for good maneuverability or not.

Not that the bestiary is perfect, but if its fairly consistent then that's probably the way it should work.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
wraithstrike wrote:


GM: Why is your smite giving you a +3 to attack?

Player: Because Herolab said so

GM: Wrong answer.

... Do you really prefer the answer, "I don't know." Or "because my friend who built my character for me told me it was." I hear those answers at least as often if not more often than because HeroLab said so. I know players with 10+ years of experience in 3.x/Pathfinder who still use those answers. They just don't care about rules mastery.

A very limited percentage of players familiarizes themselves with the rules to the degree that those of us reading 70+ posts into a thread on the rules forums do. Turning away players who fall short of rules mastery in this incredibly complex game because they chose to use a crutch to help them get a handle of this ever expanding rule set is not an ideal strategy for the health of the game.

Hero lab is an incredible, fairly user friendly way to get people into the game. Take a novice playing pathfinder for the first time at a convention. I have far more faith and believe the player will have a better experience spending 15 minutes with hero lab, than 60 minutes filling out a character sheet with a pencil with the a stack of rulebooks in front of him, or playing a pregen. And that hero lab player probably has a better understanding what choices he made to. Is he an instant rules master, no but neither is the guy with the rule book or the pregen.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Nefreet wrote:


If you only brought a character built with HeroLab, I have every right to not allow that character at my table.

Assuming you mean for PFS, I don't believe you have that right technically. Any more than I can kick you for bringing a (vastly more difficult to read) hand written character sheet.

If you mean for your personal home game. Sure you can pretty much set whatever rules you want. But if you go to a convention or public setting and refuse to play because you don't like the layout of someones character sheet I expect you to become persona non grada pretty darn quickly.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I don't see how are you are getting a +6? What is letting you cast 6th level spells as a blood rager.

Overall I think the fact that the blood rager spell list is so limited, as are their spells per day, and the fact I rarely see bloodragers pump their DC to obscene levels, I don't see this as a problem.

Is there some particular combination giving you trouble?


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

The official rule is this:

"In order to utilize content from an Additional Resource, a player must have a physical copy of the Additional Resource in question, a name-watermarked Paizo PDF of it, or a printout of the relevant pages from it, as well as a copy of the current version of the Additional Resources list. (If you're bringing a printout of the pages, it must be from the Paizo PDF and not text copied and pasted into a blank word processing document). Since the core assumption for Pathfinder Society Organized Play is the Pathfinder RPG Core Rulebook and Guide to Pathfinder Society Organized Play, we cannot assume that every Game Master will have the products listed below. As such, it's up to players to bring these items in order to familiarize their Game Masters with the rules."

Hero Labs is a very customizable product. Its not really realistic for every GM to be familiar enough with Hero Labs to be able to discriminate between user created content and official content (just like they don't expect the GM to have read and understood every rule in every book.)


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

You would take the feat to wield a (good) reach weapon in 1 hand. Allowing you to 2wf with them or combine a shield etc. Or they plan on maximizing their size beyond the one step in which case the -2 penalty may be less significant compared to the damage buff.

That said it's not so game breaking I'd disallow it for a mechanical reason. If you want to do it for re reasons then go ahead.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

See I would get almost the other way. Silence as a standard action is vastly more powerful. Since it reduces the casting time from 1 round to standard it because a counter any verbal spell (via readied action).

Thus I would vastly increase the cost silence portion (because of the reduced activation time.) Where as the +3 ac seems fine to me.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Yes. Though as he doesn't have a spell list he'd have to UMD the wands.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Base price to buy.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

No. A Neutral Good character would not qualify for the Summon Neutral Monster feat. There are 9 possible alignments. This feat allows for 3 (Lawful Neutral, Neutral, and Chaotic Neutral).

You would qualify for Summon Good Monster which allows for the Lawful Good, Neutral Good, and Chaotic Good Alignments).


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

1. No, the speed property grants the wielder an extra attack not the weapon. As a GM, I'd probably let you use the attack if you so wished so long as you aren't trying to stack multiple haste like effects. But by RAW no the weapon would not benefit from speed.

2. Being colossal does not changes its reach. The dancing property defines the length at which it can attack. Against adjacent creatures or up to 10 feet away if the weapon has the reach property (which the spiked chain doesn't.)

3. Its expensive, and requires an action to activate, only has a 4 round duration, and is dependent on the users BAB to hit. As a GM I wouldn't object. By the time this could be afforded (even just a +1 dancing weapon) 6d6 damage isn't that much. Honestly I could probably be talked into giving you a discount depending on how your character compares to the rest of the party.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Craps, might be an easy game to learn. But that's a gross oversimplification that would gives the player a substantial advantage.

Though I don't really believe most players bother to learn the rules. Modern craps has a relatively slim (0-2%) house edge on many of the bets, some bets are true even. So its a easy game to play, but the odds certainly don't favor the player.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Trekkie90909 wrote:


Then please explain the bolded section to me, because I don't see any language in the natural attack, or attack bonus (see quote below) language which prevents it.

They are refering to attack types that default to secondary attacks. For example the aboleth (bestiary 1, p8) has only tentacle attacks. Tentacle attacks are generally secondary attack, but since tentacles are the only kind of natural attack the aboleth has they are primary attacks (full Bab to hit, and full strength to damage.) But despite having a BAB of +6, it has no iterative attacks with natural weapons.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

It's a choice. And is better for DR, very rarely does a mob have 2 or more differing types of weapon shape DR. (Usually achieved via spell buffs.) But I would say it is just as often you don't want to do a particular type of damage (ie split an ooze or something similar. )

1 to 50 of 931 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | next > last >>

©2002–2015 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.