|Paizo Pathfinder® Paizo Games|
|About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ|
Do they make an image go bye-bye or no? On the one hand, "Every creature within the area of the spell is the target of a combat maneuver check made to grapple each round at the beginning of your turn, including the round that black tentacles is cast..."
Does the Stone shape spell work on a petrified creature? Say, A huge crocodile. Or whatever. The spell Soften Earth and stone states it does not work on stone or earth creatures...I take this as gargoyles/elementals and the like. Would Soften earth and stone work on petrified creatures? If you cast either of these spells on a petrified creature, and use them to remove parts. (tail, teeth, a jaw, heart, etc,) that creature would be screwed if it was ever changed back to flesh, right?
Wow...I go to bed last night, and when I get up, there are a butt-load of responses. That's the beauty of forums. All of you rock. I should have clarified a few points in my original post here. In my group, where several of us alternate gm-ing, two of the gm's have made a decision that "pit is too powerful" and have house-ruled out the 5 foot perimeter of the pit being sloped, along with the effects of that sloping. So now you have a cylinder, (or cube) not too different from a really deep pothole. I live near Chicago, and there are times when either monster potholes, or pits/trenches dug by construction crews can't be filled, and traffic needs to keep moving. The street guys place HUGE steel sheets over the holes, and cars just drive over them. These sheets are 1/2 inch to 3/4 inches thick, and need cranes to lift and place. So I got to thinking, hmmm...."Wall of Iron"
1) Total jelly-like death. Eww. No fun.
A wizard casts one of the pit spells. Baddie falls into said pit. The wizard casts a horizontal wall of stone over said pit. When the duration of the pit spell ends, fun ensues... "When the duration of the spell ends, creatures within the hole rise up with the bottom of the pit until they are standing on the surface over the course of a single round."
My question...how would gm's handle this situation? Squish? Save? Save details?
A spell like Blacklight effectively gives those within, (except the caster), the blinded condition. The blinded condition states some penalties, however, a penalty to a reflex save is not expressly addressed. Say a fireball was coming at a blinded (in total darkness) character. Or, one of the pit spells was cast beneath it, how would a reflex save be affected? Would the reflex save (being dexterity based), take the same penalty as AC? (Losing dex bonus to AC). Would the -4 penalty to dex-based skills apply? Would both of these figure in, or perhaps just the higher of the two?
I believe this should settle it. Thank you all. :-)
Party Barbarian is silenced by party cleric. Barbarian allows the spell, (does not make will save), because he knows to do so. Barbarian runs up to nasty spellcastins foe. Let's please keep the response simple...DOES THE ENEMY CASTER GET A SAVE AS THE BARBARIAN MOVES TO HIM? No spell resistance is involved. Thank you for reading...
Our party finished the first two adventures in the series. We began VV recently. We are 7th level. We went straight to Varnhold, found a map to the Nomens, got the bow from the Spriggans, were informed of the missing Centaur daughter, and got directed to the Valley of the Dead.We are heading West, I assume to where something major awaits us. We have a bunch of quest sheets, and have solved none of them. We have explored (for 100 xp...one full day), a total of 7 hexes, on the way to (and including) Varnhold. Now we seem to be on the fast track to the end of the adventure. Out GM posted this:
"If I remember correctly we are on day 15 of the month. If you choose, you need to rescue the Varnhold villagers by day 25. This is not your only option. Resolution of the Varnhold disappearance may not be your highest priority. That is up to you.
However I just want to be clear that events are not held in stasis until you decide to address them. Your choices have consequences"
Does this seem...abnormally abrupt to anyone who has played or GMed VV? Again, we are 7th level, and just beat the Soul eater and Zombie Cyclops...
Ok, the rules say: "Temporary Bonuses: Temporary increases to your Wisdom (or whatever stat), score give you a bonus on Wisdom-based skill checks and Will saving throws. This bonus also applies to any spell DCs based on Wisdom.
Permanent Bonuses: Ability bonuses with a duration greater than 1 day actually increase the relevant ability score after 24 hours. Modify all skills and statistics as appropriate. This might cause you to gain skill points, hit points, and other bonuses. These bonuses should be noted separately in case they are removed."
The example above was for a Wisdom increasing item such as a Headband of Inspired Wisdom. My question would apply to any headband or belt which grants an enhancement bonus to 1 or more abilities.
What happens after 24 hours? The bonus is permanent, and the item no longer affects the wearer? I'm assuming the item doesn't "go dead", so to speak. Do you have to wear the item 24/7, or can you take it off to sleep, etc? Can another party member then put on the item and benefit from it? That seems quite powerful, but after reading it over and over, that is the impression I get.
Won't you please help? (Sally Struthers)
As far as expanding, we should only add a hex when all 3 Kingdom scores exceed the Control DC by 4. So...Our Control DC is now 29 (8 hexes, 1 city district - You were correct about that, Bill) Our scores are: EC 42, LOY 28, and ST 32. We should add a hex when we can get all 3 scores to 33. (Adding 1 ST and 5 LOY. This is a safe and fast way to expand. We should prepare a second district in Elkton soon. Same rule as adding a hex...it increases our Control DC by 1) I like the idea of each of us designing our own city.
Ok, as a player, we are effectively going into the Varnhold module with 8 hexes claimed. We have taken a total of 28 monthly game turns, both at the table, and online during this overall adventure. (2 modules completed so far). Bad rolls initally, and being unfamiliar with the Kingdom rules in general slowed us down significantly in the early going. As a player, I would like to know how many hexes had been claimed at the start of the Varnhold module, by as many gm's and players as possible. It seems 8 is way below where we should be. I'm looking for an "upper end"...the MAX number of hexes any group has controlled at this point, and a "lower end", which is very likely my group currently. Also...do the modules specifically state how many hexes we should have claimed at any given point? Thanks!
Turn 24 Noble Villa built Monster defeated +8,+8 BP
Saving turn 29 for the following year. Have to stop for tonight.
How does that table differ from the handout? It seems to suck...3 bad events in a row...
Turn 17 Hex Road (Road toward Tatz)
What table are you using for events? It's a percentage table on the handout... On turn 23, we get a monster. Current Stability is 26, current DC is 29. We need to roll a 3+ on a d20 now, or stop here to play it out. What do you think? What is your phone number? We built the caster tower on this turn. With our economy at 37, we will make the DC 35 check to sell a medium magic item automatically every turn, adding 8 BP. I'm not going to bother rolling individual items, since our characters don't just get them, anyway.
This seems to work...go ahead and do the next 11 turns...you know about the 75% chance for an event if there was no event the previous turn, yes? If you roll out the entire event, (when we have one), I can build and use your numbers that you roll. If you do roll an event, unless it's a Roleplay event, roll the effect right then, and give me the numbers. :-)
Hey all...we wrapped up the second module in the Stolen lands series, and took a break from playing for some 9 months. We just resumed with the Varnhold module. We had slain the owlbear, but didn't play out the return to town before stopping playing rather abruptly. Was there any type of reward or bonus in the module as written for slaying the Owlbear, being the apparent boss monster and climax of the entire module? Please help, and thank you.
As a Druid, can you be affected with a spell that targets an animal, or animals, if you are wildshaped into an animal at the time it is cast? If so, when you return to your normal form, it obviously doesn't function, but would it still be working if you wildshape back to an animal form? (assuming the duration hasn't expired).
Ok, A druid wildshapes into...whatever. The Druid is using the beastshape spell, (as beastshape)... Physical abilities are altered by size...
"Small animal: If the form you take is that of a Small animal, you gain a +2 size bonus to your Dexterity and a +1 natural armor bonus.
Medium animal: If the form you take is that of a Medium animal, you gain a +2 size bonus to your Strength and a +2 natural armor bonus."
That was Beastshape 1...My question, What are my ability scores as the creature I end up being? My own mental, but physical would be mine, modified by the spell? Or...the bestiary animal entry, modified by the spell? Help!
I thought I remembered a rule about summoning creatures that states you can't summon something into an enemy space, but I can't find the rule. If I were to summon stirges (tiny), could they appear in an enemy space and attack, or would they have to appear in an adjacent space, and then move into the target's space to attack? (drawing an attack of opportunity.) Summon Nature's Ally states: "...The summoned ally appears where you designate and acts immediately, on your turn." Where is the rule that says a creature can not be summoned into an enemy space? Thanks in advance.
Since a hero point can be used to bolster an attack roll or save by 8 (if announced before rolling), would you, as a gm, allow it to increase the save dc of a spell you are about to cast by 8 as well? You aren't lowering the target's resistance roll...you are increasing your own dc by 8 for one spell that HAS to get through. Seems equivalent to an attack roll...
Lord Orion wrote:
Heh...U and I came to the same conclusion about 38 seconds apart. :-p Thanks to all who responded.
Bane Wraith wrote:
Reading the text of both spell descriptions, what they both seem to say is, you can hit the "real" creature with as many missiles as you like, but you can't affect any of the figments. Or...a hit on a figment won't make it disappear, and will be wasted...that is likely how my current gm will play it. I wish the rules would have given a specific reference to these 2 spells effects on each other...
Hey all. I have been reading the description of Mirror Image. It seems to be saying that magic missile with multiple missiles at different figments won't work like in the old days. (1st, 2nd, and all the 3rd editions)of D&D. Since magic missile is not a roll-to-hit spell... Can someone please clarify whether magic missile can still be used to get rid of multiple figments? Thanx
If a monster has damage reduction, how does this work against attacks from creatures, other monsters, or falling into a spiked pit? Can a summoned creature strike a monster that has DR that requires a certain alignment, or magical plus, or whatever? If a Demon, (or whatever), needs a holy weapon to be able to strike and damage it, does this mean a Dragon can do it no harm? There must be a rule that addresses this issue, but I have been unable to locate it...
Here's one for you guys...The detect Magic spell: "...The spell can penetrate barriers, but 1 foot of stone, 1 inch of common metal, a thin sheet of lead, or 3 feet of wood or dirt blocks it." Suppose a magic item is under water? You are standing on a dungeon floor, and a magic ring, for example, is under 6" of water in a small pool, or font. Does it glow? Say it's 12" deep? 3 feet? What if the water is dirty? Must you stick your head under water to look for magic auras?...
Ok...you are in a closed 15x15 room, and some shmuck wizard casts a fireball into that room from way above . There is nowhere to dodge to. Can you still make a dex save at all? There was an adventure a few years back in 3rd edition?...that the party was levitating down a large cylinder, and the vampire/wizard cast a cone of cold up the cylinder. The module specifically stated that there could be no save against the effect, everyone took full damage. Is there a rule that addresses this currently? Common sense should dictate, but...
I thought that was the case as well...what's the point of stirges? Then I read their bestiary entry more closely. Take a standard troll as an example target: Touch AC of 11. A stirge attack is a +7 touch attack. That stirge need only roll a 4 for it's attack to hit. Then:
Blood Drain (Ex)
When the target of a multi-stirge attack get's his action, any grapple-breaking/escape artist checks, or attacks to a stirge are attacks he is not making on a pc.
Thank you all for the responses. My DM tends to not like ideas the players come up with that are clever, original, or tend to work well. My plan is to cast several Summon Nature's Ally spells consecutively, and use higher level slots so I get multiple creatures from the first level SNA list. They would all be stirges. Each one is likely to roll a hit, and each hit Drains 1 CON with a hit/attach, then 1 CON per round automatically, for up to 4 CON total per stirge. If a single bad guy has 6, 8 or 10 stirges,(stirgi?), on him...ouch. Do the math. My DM won't like the (completely legitimate) results, and will likely make some arbitrary ruling as to why I cant do this. I'll continue this thread and let everyone know what happens next time we play. I have a 6th level Druid, btw.
Help!!! This will come up in my group shortly. Is there any rule that says a caster of Summon Nature's Ally (or Summon Monster, for that matter), can only have creatures summoned from one active spell at a time? In other words, a 7th level caster summons 3 stirges on round one of combat. He used a 3rd level Summon spell to do so. These creatures will last 7 rounds before disappearing. Is there a rule that says this caster can't cast another summon spell on the following round, adding additional creatures to the battle? What about casting this spell 3 or more times in a row? I can't find any rule that prohibits doing so. If there is such a rule, can someone point it out to me? Thank you in advance.
Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, Starfinder, the Starfinder logo, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc. The Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Legends, Pathfinder Online, Starfinder Adventure Path, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.