|1 person marked this as a favorite.|
Claxon wrote:Not letting casters rule the world. It's not clarified within the rules that flying grants any exception, and you cannot move while being grappled unless you are in control of the grapple. From that, I say you cannot move, not even fly.
Hmm. I'm not sure it would help most casters even if they could do it, after all there is still a weight limit to Fly and most casters have an extremely low strength.
I'm considering house ruling this to allow for use while grappled, it doesn't make much sense not to and there doesn't seem to be much of a balance reason to keep it this way.
Thanks for the answers though guys.
It only doesn't "make sense" to caster players with a vested interest in the answer they want to hear. Wizard players turn in their right to yell. "But Physics!" when they play the class. Flying is like any other movment. It does not get special priviliges in the combat maneuver rules. If I got you, I can dig in to keep you from floating anywhere.
Also keep in mind those concentration checks for casting in a grapple. That's DC equals opponent's CMB plus 2x spell level gents.