Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Shalelu Andosana

Kristen Gipson's page

FullStarFullStarFullStarFullStarFullStar Pathfinder Society GM. 260 posts (263 including aliases). 20 reviews. 3 lists. No wishlists. 18 Pathfinder Society characters.



Taldor *****

I know that the Exchange is taking the place of Qadira and Sczarni. My question is since season 5 does not have faction missions, but does have special boons that can be earned if you play the appropriate scenario and meet the requirements, do the Exchange characters receive boons from both Qadira and Sczarni scenarios? If it is a scenario that supports both factions, i.e. "The Stranger Within", and the complete the requirements, do they receive both boons?

I have not notice anything in the new guide that states how this is handled.

If they are able to receive boons from both factions, this seems incredibly unfair to the rest of the factions. They have half as many opportunities to receive boons.

Taldor *****

What are some good 7-11 scenarios that can be run in under 4 hrs?

Taldor

Boon Companion:(feat, Animal Archive)The abilities of your animal companion or familiar are calculated as though your class were 4 levels
higher, to a maximum effective druid level equal to
your character level.

Ascendant Recollection: (Magic Trait, Ultimate Campaign)Your first bloodline power is particularly strong. Your sorcerer level is considered to be 1 level higher when determining the effects of your 1st-level bloodline power.

I plan on making a sylvan sorceror. I want to know if the feat and the trait work together. The feat making the animal companion level equal to the character HD and then the trait making it the animal companion one level higher by increasing the bloodline ability.

Taldor *****

Bare with me, I'm not as familiar with summoning and how it functions as I should be.

When using Summon Monster Spells, creatures are celestial animals if your character is good aligned and you summon fiendish animals if you are evil. If you are neutral you get to pick whether you want the animal to be celestial or fiendish.

1. Do creatures always have to have a planar template?

2. Can you summon resolute creatures if you are lawful/neutral or entropic if you are chaotic/neutral?

3. Do summoned creature's alignment change to match templates? (i.e. You are a LG wizard, you summon a celestial cheetah. Does the cheetah's N alignment change to NG to match the celestial template?

4. Are you restricted by your alignment as to whether you can summon devils/demons/azatas/archons? Meaning the summons can only be one step away from your alignment. (i.e. You are a NG wizard, can you summon demons and devils or are you restricted to azatas and archons?)

Taldor *****

The extra hours boon allows a GM day job roll.

If the GM is wearing a reroll shirt or has a portfolio out can the have a reroll?

Taldor *****

1 person marked this as a favorite.

I would like to say congrats to So IL first 4-star GM, Venture Lieutenant Seth Gipson.

Taldor

When calculating hardness and HP do you add the cumulative enchantment bonus or just the base enchantment.

Example: +1 shocking greataxe-does it just get to add the +1 to make it (hardness 7, HP 20) or does the +1 from the shocking enchantment get calculated in (hardness 9, HP 30).

Taldor

Is it possible to have your bonded object also be a heirloom weapon?

Taldor *****

I'm in the market for a different or more efficient and lighter way to store my character sheets and their chronicles.

Currently, I am using a 1 1/2 inch binder with dividers and character sheets and chronicles in plastic protective sleeves. I am up to 9 characters that have chronicles and counting.

Anyone have any suggestions or ideas.

Taldor

I am GMing soon and one of the bad guys is an incorporeal.

Incorporeal attacks state that they bypass natural armor, armor, and shield, but mage armor (force spells) and deflection work normally against their attacks.

My question is: When monks receive a bonus to thier AC from their wisdom, what type of bonus is it? DEFLECTION, dodge, natural armor, etc.

Taldor *****

I'm going to be running this in about a week and a half and have a question.

Spoiler:
In Act 2, when the party is in the sewer it says "anyone who takes slashing or piercing damage needs to make a save for filth fever."

My question is what type of damage do a spider swarm and centipede swarm do. I am assuming (from looking at spider and centipede Stat blocks) that they are both bite attacks. I just wanted to get this clarified before next weekend.

Taldor *****

I have been informed that at higher levels the improved familiar feat can be taken and you can have your new and improved familiar wield magical items; such as a wand. What I would like to know is:

1. Per the FAQ, imps and quasits can wield a wand. So does that mean as long as the familiar is intelligent and can speak a language can others wield magical items as well. If that is not the case what are the requirements?

2. Does the familiar have to make a UMD check each time it goes to activate the item?

Taldor *****

I am considering making a cyphermage (Inner Sea Magic) as a new character. The additonal resource page says that the class is legal to play, but to switch the scribe scroll requirement for any spell focus feat. It also has the cypher magic feat (Inner Sea World Guide) as a requirement as well. However, the additonal resource page says that that feat is not society legal.

So I'm confused. Do I have to take the feat and not gain any of the benefits or is the feat no longer a requirement for the class?

Taldor

Is an 1 an automatic failure and a 20 an automatic success on concentration chcecks?

I know that those are the cases for attack rolls, CMB checks, and saving throws, but was unsure about concentration checks.

Taldor

I am making a character that uses rope as a weapon ( whip proficiency and equipment trick-rope). My question is: can I make rope masterwork and then magical or am I stuck with not being able to ungrade it, because rope typically a weapon.

Taldor *****

The Eye for Talent alternate human racial trait (APG) States that when the character acquires an animal companion, bonded mount, cohort, or familiar, that creature gains a +2 bonus to one ability score of the character's choice.

My question is does that also apply to eidolans.

I would say 'no', but figured I would ask before I veto the idea.

Taldor

I am wanting a play a grappler. I'm unsure whether I'm wanting to play the character as a barbarian or a monk.

I would love any suggestions on class, race, feats, traits, etc.

What I have so far for monk-dwarf

Str 16
dex 14
con 14
int 10
wis 16
Cha 8

Feats-improved unarmed, improved grapple

Barbarian-human

Str 18
Dex13
Con 14
Int 10
Wis 12
Cha 10

Feats-improved unarmed, improved grapple

Taldor

I have always been told that casting into melee prevents an attack of opportunity.

Recently, while playing someone casted a divine spell into melee. We said OK make your concentration check for casting defensively. They informed us that they shouldn't have to because the spell doesn't have a somatic component. (without movement it won't provoke).

I believe this to be untrue, but after looking through the magic section in the core and a little through the rules forum, I have been unable to find a ruling anywhere on this.

Taldor *****

I understand that you can not purchase wands of a higher caster level in society, unless the wand is on a chronicle sheet. What I don't understand is why.

I would think that has long as your have a high enough fame score and gp you should be able to purchase a wand of a higher caster level. (ie. Wand of magic missile CL 5th)

Taldor

The book says "when firing an early firearm, the attack resolves against the target's touch AC when the target is winthin the first range increment of the weapon, but this type of attack is not considered a touch attack for the purpose of feats and abilities such as Deadly Aim."

Does this mean:

While using the Deadly Aim feat you have to target the normal AC, instead of the touch AC, regardless of whether you are in the first range increment.

Or

Even though the attack resolves around the touch AC, it is not actually a touch attack. Therefore allowing Deadly Aim to be used and still target the touch AC.

Andoran *****

Is it society legal to make your weapon vicious?

Taldor

I'm going to play a human fighter/rogue. I plan on using the lucerne hammer for the reach and taking the feinting approach. I'm going take to 2 levels of fighter to get 4 feats before going rogue.

Need some help on the ability stats. It's a 20 pt buy. Here's what I have so far.

Str 16
Dex 14
Con 13
Int 13
Wis 10
Cha 12

The Int has to stay at 13 in order to get combat expertise. I want the cha to stay at 12 so I will have a bonus to bluff.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.


©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.