Primary/secondary only refers to natural attacks. If you were to attack with both longsword and bite the longsword would be made at normal bonuses but the bite would take a -5 and 1/2 str to damage. You don't need two weapon fighting when using natural attacks.
One thing I should mention is that we're using maptools so I actually have to build (at least a portion of) the city. If we were all sitting around a table I would just describe the basic idea and let their imaginations do the rest, but I've got to have maps for them to go to and do things otherwise they're just staring at a black screen.
Bart Vervaet wrote:
I saw the hobbit movie and while I did enjoy that part it never really showed more than a few room and a mine.I don't think I'll have time to read the entire trilogy in a few days but I might be able to find an excerpt describing the city, thanks. That adventure path would definitely be something to look for as well.
I'm currently DMing a game where the PCs are a bunch of dwarves who are going to go do dwarfy things. Right now they're heading to an abandoned dwarven city which has presented me with a problem. While dwarves are everywhere in fantasy, very rarely (at least in my experience) do we see what a dwarven city looks like. The two major ones I can think of are Moria and Ironforge. In Moria we never really see more than a couple of tunnels and nothing that looks like a city where large numbers of people would live. Ironforge is alright but I'd like to be a little more creative than copy-pasting it. So I was wondering what dwarven cities are like in other people's campaigns or if anyone could recommend other sources of inspiration.
The reason it says it doesn't count as a 5ft step is so you can still move on the same turn. It is designed to be used in conjunction with a regular move or a charge, usually to get into a better flanking position without provoking.
Technically you could combine it with a 5ft step if you had 2 swift actions somehow.
I'm fairly sure he is counting the extra +1 damage you get for a +1 enhancement bonus. An extra 1d6 damage will do 2.5 more average damage than that.
Adamantine Dragon wrote:
That would be my opinion on them. I would much rather hit with regularity than do a bit of extra damage (barring a campaign where a specific energy type is particularly useful). More accuracy can also have tangential benefits with certain types of combat maneuvers and certain challenges the DM might throw at you.
I rather like the golden idol one. I was considering running a campaign where the PCs are dwarves attempting to recover an ancient dwarven stronghold. This sort of trap would be an excellent addition, especially with a group of greedy dwarves. I might make the small change of making the water near freezing since it would use melted snow from the mountain above. I'll have to check if there are rules for icy cold water.
Going by the definitions of ally used by spells you would only need two other party members and a npc.
I can see what you mean by the lesser trials not being barriers to entry but even so I think there does need to be SOME effort involved rather than things a non-mythic spellcaster accomplishes on a regular basis.
Rogue Eidolon wrote:
I will agree on hierophant being easier although I would say it is MUCH easier. You already covered master healer. Deliver soul is just using a save or die. Deadly duo, while more difficult, is just solo warrior (from the champion line) except you get extra help. Wild warrior is basically "beat a mythic foe as a druid of 4th level or higher".
As for boon giver I think the wording (intentionally or not) is pretty clear that as long as the allies use the bonus then it counts. So as long as you bless at least 4 allies (not sure if you count as your own ally in this case) and all of them either roll an attack roll or a fear save then you've completed the trial.
Sounds reasonable, though I would give them hints, (both through Wis checks and in character nudges) pointing them in the right direction, if that where the case. I can actually see that as really interesting, possibly going out of my way to insinuate, (and let the draw the conclusion) that it is something a little special that a certin coffee shop adds in, or maybe it isn't the coffee, but rather an exchange of goods with a certain individual, or something really OCD, and allow them to find out their limits from there.
That sounds like an absolutely HORRIBLE way to play a game. Not only would you have to spend a session or two of the character binge eating and drinking (sure to be fun for the rest of the group who already have their powers) but now that character can never leave the city for any length of time unless he can literally pick up the coffee shop and take it with him.
You've made a common mistake in thinking race trait and racial trait are the same thing. A race trait (what adopted allows) is just a trait that is typically specific to one race.
Racial traits (the things automatically given to all members of a race) are a different thing entirely.
I know that when you use a natural weapon (such as a bite) with a manufactured weapon the natural weapon is considered to be secondary and thus takes a -5 to attack. My question is, does this still apply when you're using the natural weapon in place of a "normal" attack? In other words, if you were twf with a dagger and a claw would the claw still be at a -5 penalty? In this example the user would not be getting "extra" attacks outside of what his Bab would normally allow.
Actually one would have to jump at least 15 ft in the air. Keep in mind that the creature takes up a 5ft square and their reach extends 5ft above that. If anything it would go about 5ft since most people are taller than 5ft but hey...abstraction.
Should I assume that it was a prismatic spray instead of ray? That makes a big difference. Also, because of the mistake your DM made that you already mentioned this obviously had a much bigger effect than is intended in the spell. I also don't see you mention the saving throw anywhere in your post (will negates). And while I'm at it I'll just go ahead and chastise your DM for using a spell he thought could instantly kill (petrify) the party or send them to another plane of existence.
All that being said; no I don't believe the insanity effect is broken. You just have to use it correctly.
Perhaps, but all of his hitting things with a sword abilities require a sword.
You may not like the biology behind it but it's actually sound. In real life we call these species "Ring Species". Essentially there exist one or more "middle" species which can interbreed with the species on either side of them. The edge species cannot interbreed with each other as they are too genetically different.
As far as balance goes, yes this would fubar things up quite nicely. It would effectively force most melee classes to pump dex as hard as they do str right now with the downside that they will do MUCH less damage than they do currently. Furthermore, monsters won't be affected nearly as much since they tend to have much higher stats to begin with. Try to explain to your DM that 1. It will SEVERELY gimp most every melee class and destroy the already wonky CR system. and 2. That Dnd and Pathfinder aren't meant to simulate how things work in real life, they're supposed to simulate high fantasy (or low in earlier editions).
If you absolutely HAVE to play with these rules I would reccomend a caster of some sort or a character that would normally use dex such as a rogue or magus (free feat).
It's not useless, but it could definitely be better. One die size increase and a crit threat upgrade are all it offers over the simple, free quarterstaff. If there's a martial weapon with the 19-20/x2 but only d6 damage, I'd take that instead in a heartbeat and save the feat on exotic proficiency.
You mean 2 shortswords?
Bandavaar the Brave wrote:
I'm a little confused as to what you mean when you say "extra Str stats". As far as allowing him to look like one race and play another...well there is a bit of precedent for human-like half-orcs but for him to have no orc features is a little too far for my taste (although he could hide them). I think the bigger concern is if he intentionally hid it from you or just changed it one night at 1am and forgot to mention it. Might be something you want to talk about.
Lord Phrofet wrote:
The only issue with the rod is the fact that drawing it would be a move action unless she already had it in her hand. The Inquisitor is going to be using a greatsword and quickdraw does not apply to rods....so the issue here is the wasted move action to draw the rod.
Tell her to have it hanging on her belt. That way she can easily grasp it and cast then let it go without interfering.
I obviously don't know your group at all but I feel like most people wouldn't automatically know to do some of these things. Ordering the crew around for example. Or if some of your players aren't familiar with what rigging is they might just say "I guess I'll just hold on to this" instead of tying it off like you want them to. I doubt any of them will actually try to coax the dog out from its hiding spot (wherever that is), especially with all the other things going on. Having him hiding actually seems preferable to having him run about on deck. I'd also be curious to know what would cause the ship to sink if they guy in the crow's nest died and the dog and boy burn (but the fire is put out eventually). You didn't mention what Ralin does but it must be very important if his death could cause the ship to sink.
You could use a rod of quicken metamagic.
I was reading over the scroll creation guidelines and the wording used raised a question for me. We've established that a wizard can use a sorcerer to "power" a scroll for him, but the phrase used in scroll creation is:
It doesn't say the spell has to be CAST like I had assumed it did. It seems to just happen automatically. The question I had was "Does the person providing the spell in this manner have to be willing?" Would it be possible to have an unconscious or otherwise incapacitated spell-caster nearby when scribing the scroll that is used to "power" it?
Not really a PC viable thing to do most of the time but it could be a very interesting trick for a evil wizard BBEG.
Using intimidate on party members is a terrible idea.
And besides that, even if you play it strictly by the rules, treating the PCs like NPCs, the intimidate skill says this: "After the intimidate expires, the target treats you as unfriendly and may report you to local authorities." It's one thing to make the bartender mad at you. It's an entirely different thing to have a powerful wizard angry at you.
Bluff/sense motive? Sure
I'M wondering why that is worth 12k gold but to answer your question pot may or may not be an "edible" plant. Catnip is though.
I'm fairly certain teleportation effects don't require line of sight or line of effect. If they did the max range on them would be quite a bit shorter.
Actually he could only make one claw attack since the other hand would be holding the scimitar. But considering he's getting 4 attacks out of it I'd say it's worth it.
A CR20 Seagull wrote:
Notable F2P MMO that makes headlines...Guild Wars 2 anyone? O.o
Guild wars 2 isn't going to be free to play it's going to be buy to play just like every game that isn't a mmo. I would much prefer that model to the one that DDO uses because after a certain point you run out of things to do in that game unless you want to sub.