Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ

Juddimal's page

FullStarFullStar Pathfinder Society GM. 4 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 20 Pathfinder Society characters. 2 aliases.


That is a good catch that I had not seen. The wording in the Escape Artist skill is in conflict with the wording in the Entangle spell.

Making an Escape Artist check to escape from rope bindings, manacles, or other restraints (except a grappler) requires 1 minute of work. Escaping from a net or an animate rope, command plants, control plants, or entangle spell is a full-round action.

If you entangle someone using Fury's Snare, how long (what action type) does it take for them to escape?

Fury's Snare: The target can break free of the whip by making a DC 10 Strength check or a DC 15 Escape Artist check (add the enhancement bonus of the whip to these DCs), or by using a full-round action to disentangle himself.

Obviously, they can escape without a check as a full-round action. Reading the Escape Artist skill, the other circumstances that create the entangled condition seem to take a full-round action. I can't find a reference for what action type an ability check should take.

The closest thing that I can find where it is specified are the rules for a net.
Net: An entangled creature can escape with a DC 20 Escape Artist check (a full-round action). The net has 5 hit points and can be burst with a DC 25 Strength check (also a full-round action).

But it seems strange to offer three ways to escape all being full-round actions (and one does not involve a check).

Cheapy wrote:

Scenario 1: Two AoOs. Each ranged attack provokes. The act of making a full attack in and of itself does not provoke. The constituent parts of the full attack do.

Scenario 2: Yes, each attack is an attack. You can protect against each one.

I completely agree with you. Specifically, Table 8-2 of the Core Rulebook shows that a Full Attack does not provoke, so I believe that you would need to look at each component of the Full Attack to determine if there are AoO.

However, the people that I play with (and plenty of people online during my searches), do not play this way. Because of the way the movement is called out in the Combat Reflexes section, they have ruled that a single action cannot generate more than one AoO.

Combat Reflexes: This feat does not let you make more than one attack for a -given opportunity-

So the question really becomes does "opportunity" = "action"?

3 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

Combat Reflexes: This feat does not let you make more than one attack for a -given opportunity-

How many opportunities are generated by a full attack?

Scenerio 1:
A 6th level fighter making a full attack action with a bow against an opponent with combat reflexes who is 5 ft away. +6/+1

A full attack is a single action, so should generate 1 AoO?
You are shooting two arrows, so should generate 2 AoO?

Scenerio 2:
The real question that came up during the game was with the Bodyguard feat.

Bodyguard: When an adjacent ally is attacked, you may use an attack of opportunity to...

A 6th level fighter making a full attack action with a sword against your ally. +6/+1. You have bodyguard and combat reflexes. Is each swing an "is attacked"?

A full attack is a single action and only gives you one opportunity, so should allow you to protect once?
Each attack is a separate opportunity and you can defend against both?


©2002-2017 Paizo Inc.® | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
Need help? Email or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours, Monday through Friday, 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM Pacific time.

Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, Starfinder, the Starfinder logo, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc. The Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Legends, Pathfinder Online, Starfinder Adventure Path, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.