|Paizo Pathfinder® Paizo Games|
|About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ|
No. Empowered does not interact with maximize at all. You get the separate benefits of each.
As far as WBL, yes. The action economy of detect magic is poor for identifying spells as they are being cast.
The item of detect magic would only be needed for identifying magical items, which is something you don't generally do in combat anyway. Detect magic is totally unnecessary for identifying spells as they are cast.
Also useful if you plan to use Use Magic Device. You need to decipher a scroll before you can cast it.
And as for identifying magic items, you can't just roll a Spellcraft check and know what a magic thing does; you have to cast Detect Magic/Identify/Etc. as well, which is something a non-caster can't do.
As it is a cantrip, a magic item of detect magic is cheap. 900gp for a command activated, unlimited use item.
And yes the Lord of the ring orc where elf. Don't know why.
That was one of the possible origins that Tolkien had for orcs (he had like half a dozen or something). Different books said (or implied) different things. Supposedly Tolkien began to dislike that particular origin, but never really did anything about it.
Franz Lunzer wrote:
It isn't shooting directly aay from the caster, as that is not a requirement. It just has to shoot in some direction away from the caster. Everyone that is saying that the line must go through the center of the caster's space is flat out wrong.
You are complaining about carrying capacity (which does somewhat work as has been shown)? Your real problem should be with reach - a 3 foot halfling and a 6 foot human both have the exact same reach (5 feet). A human with a human-sized longspear and a halfling with a halfling sized longspear have the exact same reach (10 feet).
For that matter, a 2' tall creature (the bottom end of small) and an 8' tall creature (upper end of medium) have the same reach. They also take up the exact same amount of space on the battle grid (1 square).
Charon's Little Helper wrote:
Except tower shields are described as nearly as tall as the person carrying them. The scutum isn't nearly that big. It may have been what the designers had in mind, but it isn't what they described or stated out.
Why is this even a question? All Paizo sources say "-", and some third party site says something different. It isn't that hard to figure out.
The only time it has something other than a "-" is in the Piecemeal Armor variant rules, where it has a +10 max dex (no armor has a max dex of - in those rules).
Mongrelmen are monstrous humanoids, not humanoids. They receive 4+ Int mod skills per hit die, and have 2 hit dice. That is 8 skill points total.
Climb +6 = Str (+2) + 1 rank + class skill bonus (+3)
The skills are correct.
Third Mind wrote:
As the title asks. Under the Deinonychus listing it says one can utilize the large template to make it a megaraptor. However, I'm not sure one can do this using beast shape 2. Can...one?
No, you can't.
Unless otherwise noted, polymorph spells cannot be used to change into specific individuals. Although many of the fine details can be controlled, your appearance is always that of a generic member of that creature's type. Polymorph spells cannot be used to assume the form of a creature with a template or an advanced version of a creature.
Incorrect. Wands can be used even if you can't cast spells yet. Paladins are even listed as an example.
Spell Trigger: Spell trigger activation is similar to spell completion, but it's even simpler. No gestures or spell finishing is needed, just a special knowledge of spellcasting that an appropriate character would know, and a single word that must be spoken. Spell trigger items can be used by anyone whose class can cast the corresponding spell. This is the case even for a character who can't actually cast spells, such as a 3rd-level paladin. The user must still determine what spell is stored in the item before she can activate it. Activating a spell trigger item is a standard action and does not provoke attacks of opportunity.
They can also use scrolls. It just requires a caster level check equal to the scrolls caster level +1.
From the description of a full attack:
If you get multiple attacks because your base attack bonus is high enough, you must make the attacks in order from highest bonus to lowest. If you are using two weapons, you can strike with either weapon first. If you are using a double weapon, you can strike with either part of the weapon first.
A Mite Excessive wrote:
Use a large club, and just cast shiellelagh on that.
Not quite the same thing, as you take a -2 penalty on attack rolls with the large club as it isn't sized properly for a medium wielder. Plus, a large club deals 1d8 damage (3d6 with shillelagh) compared to a greatclubs 1d10 (3d8 with shillelagh, if it worked).
Only because the rules say you need a +1 first. If you could put special properties on without the +1, a shocking weapon would be just as magic as a +1 weapon.
Thor Odenson wrote:
4000 gp x 3 is 12,000, not 16,000.
Every additional power beyond the first gets the 1.5x multiplier, not just the lowest.
The prices in the book are correct.
It works perfectly fine. All the phylactery does is create a new body for the lich after the lich is killed. Outsiders can be resurrected just fine (it just requirestrue resurrection, which creates a new body just like the liches phylactery does.
Not to mention that the process of becoming a lich makes the outsider turn into an undead. It is no longer an outsider, so the oustider type rules no longer apply. The creature's soul is no longer one with the body (like it is with normal outsiders), as it has been removed and placed into a little box.
The template can be applied to any living creature. If outsiders could not be liches than an exception would be made, and it would instead say "any living creature (except outsiders)".
Pathfinder outsiders can be liches just fine. Especially in this case, as ifrits are native outsiders, not true outsiders.
Again, outsiders do have a soul. It just isn't separate from their body like it is for other living creatures.
An integral part of becoming a lich is the creation of the phylactery in which the character stores his soul.
Nothing more than fluff. The only requirements to make a phylactery are Craft Wondrous Item, caster level of 11, the ability to cast spells, and 120,000gp worth of components.
This entire issue comes up because Paizo decided to change the rules from 3.5. 3.5 clearly stated you needed to see the components of the spell to identify it as it was cast. Pathfinder changes it so it says you need to see the spell as it is cast.
3.5 implies spells have no visual indication, as it is the components that matter for identification.
At least he didn't also favorite it.
Gol Zayvian False. We know that a move action is roughly about half a round, so 3 seconds. Since 15 feet with a move action is the max distance we can easily calculate maximum acceleration. There is more than enough information here.
No, it isn't enough information. Is the object moving the entire move action? Or do you spend the move action, and the object doesn't move at all until afterword, moving more or less instantly? Are you concentrating for a second, and then the object moves?
We just know that moving the object takes a move action. We don't know just how much of that time is the object actually moving.
On top of that, a move action is not 3 seconds. There is no way to convert an action into seconds. If a move action is 3 seconds, and you get both a standard action and a move action in a single 6 second round, then a standard action would have to be 3 seconds as well. Which would imply you could get 2 standard actions per round.
James Risner wrote:
You need 1 hand to hold the tower shield, one hand to cast a spell with spell combat, and a third hand to attack in melee. Bronzekin do you have 3 hands?
That doesn't matter. Even if you do have 3 or more hands, you still can't do it. You can't take a standard action (to get the tower shield to grant cover) and a full round action (spell combat) at the same time.
You still need 8 hours of rest to get your spells back. And you can't cast spells or use skills during that time. You can't use the extra time you gain from the ring to craft.
Rest: To prepare his daily spells, a wizard must first sleep for 8 hours. The wizard does not have to slumber for every minute of the time, but he must refrain from movement, combat, spellcasting, skill use, conversation, or any other fairly demanding physical or mental task during the rest period. If his rest is interrupted, each interruption adds 1 hour to the total amount of time he has to rest in order to clear his mind, and he must have at least 1 hour of uninterrupted rest immediately prior to preparing his spells. If the character does not need to sleep for some reason, he still must have 8 hours of restful calm before preparing any spells.
Even if you could use that time, your efforts are still halved, as crafting while adventuring only nets you half the actual time spent crafting.
Pretty sure that as long as you have the feat, are seventh level, and your alignment is within one step of Chaotic Good, you may select it as your familiar. By the rules, at least. If the DM is just insisting for some reason that he doesn't want you to have it just yet, well, I guess you can't have it. But you should point out the rules at least.
This is about a PFS character, which doesn't always follow the same rules as characters in a home game.
Milo v3 wrote:
Casting a 3rd level spell, yes. Not using a 3rd level slot.
Effects of Metamagic Feats on a Spell: In all ways, a metamagic spell operates at its original spell level, even though it is prepared and cast using a higher-level spell slot. Saving throw modifications are not changed unless stated otherwise in the feat description.
To prepare a spell, the wizard must have an Intelligence score of at least 10 + the spell's level.
Spell level, not spell slot.
From the Magic chapter of the core rulebook. Specifically about divine spells:
Spell Slots: The character class tables show how many spells of each level each can cast per day. These openings for daily spells are called spell slots. A spellcaster always has the option to fill a higher-level spell slot with a lower-level spell. A spellcaster who lacks a high enough ability score to cast spells that would otherwise be her due still gets the slots but must fill them with spells of lower levels.
That and the wording of everything else says the minimum stat needed is based on the spells level, not the slot it uses.
That section seems to have been removed from the arcane magic section in the crossover from 3.5 to Pathfinder, however.
While there have been some changes, Pathfinder is still mostly 3.5 D&D just with a different coat of paint.
Not all items follow the formulas. Some items have had their price increased/decreased, and others may of just been given prices that sounded right.
Spell Trigger is not the right activation method. That requires an action on the part of the user, which an unconscious character can't do. Actually, all magic items require the user to activate them or function continuously. There isn't any guideline to make one that activates upon unconsciousness.
Aside from that, the minimum caster level has to be at least 3, as that is the minimum necessary to cat the spell. If we assume the item falls under the category of use-activated (it doesn't really, but again no other category really fits either) that puts the cost at 2 (Spell level) x 3 (minimum caster level) x 2000 gp, or 12000 gp. But that allows unlimited uses per day. For a 1/day item, you divide that by 5, for a new total of 2,400 gp. It would grant 1d10+3 temporary hit points for a maximum of 3 hours, or until those hit points are lost through damage.
Philip Sgrignoli 662 wrote:
I posted this in the rules forum because this spell should be combat applicable and no guidelines are present. On top of this, I see no rules in place for concentration checks for spells already active since the guides only account for during casting. I then posted what I did as a model. There was no home-brewing where this was used it merely was not an official pathfinder society session.
The rules forum is specifically for the actual rules of the game. This is very much a home-brewed rule, as it does not appear in the actual rules of the game.
You may also be overlooking that is is a standard action to maintain a spell with a duration of concentration.
Concentration: The spell lasts as long as you concentrate on it. Concentrating to maintain a spell is a standard action that does not provoke attacks of opportunity. Anything that could break your concentration when casting a spell can also break your concentration while you're maintaining one, causing the spell to end.
You can't really do anything if you are concentrating on a spell except move. Especially since you have to concentrate for at least 3 whole rounds to get the surface thoughts. That is a massive waste of actions. You are just standing there - any even remotely intelligent creature would just ignore you, making the defensive abilities pointless.
Aside from that, nothing about the actual spell scales with your level. There is no reason to make any defensive bonuses scale either. You aren't looking deeper into someones mind or getting the results faster as your level increases, it stays the same from 3rd level to 20th. The same should apply to any defensive abilities you want to give it.
The Advanced Race Guide has this to say:
Constructs do not breathe, eat, or sleep, unless they want to gain some beneficial effect from one of these activities. This means that a construct can drink potions to benefit from their effects and can sleep in order to regain spells, but neither of these activities is required to survive or stay in good health.
I've never quite understood it, but the devs really really really really really don't want PCs to be able to draw anything quickly unless it is a traditional weapon. The Quick Draw feat for Pathfinder has its wording changed from 3.5 to explicitly forbid all of the adventuring items one would expect PCs would want to draw quickly, such as positions.
I know this is an old post, but just for those reading for the first time, this isn't true. The 3.5 Quick Draw feat as written only works with weapons.
3.5 Quick Draw wrote:
All Pathfinder did was clarify it. It didn't actually change what 3.5 Quick Draw as written did.
PF Quick Draw wrote:
Alchemical items, potions, scrolls, and wands cannot be drawn quickly using this feat.
By definition, all magic items are made from masterwork items, no matter what the final appearance. None of the items you referring to then, are of simple make, even if they are plain in appearance.
The only things that have to be masterwork are weapons, armor, and shields. No other magic item crafting feat requires a masterwork item.
There is no such thing as a masterwork ring, or masterwork parchment.
As a side note; doesn't standing up count as moving? So a person couldn't stand and take a 5 foot shift in the same round.
You can't use a 5-foot step in a round where you move - that is, go from 1 square to another.
Standing up isn't movement - it is a move action. Those are different things. Not all move actions are movement.
Good Subtype: This subtype is usually applied to outsiders native to the good-aligned outer planes. Most creatures that have this subtype also have good alignments; however, if their alignments change, they still retain the subtype. Any effect that depends on alignment affects a creature with this subtype as if the creature has a good alignment, no matter what its alignment actually is. The creature also suffers effects according to its actual alignment. A creature with the good subtype overcomes damage reduction as if its natural weapons and any weapons it wields are good-aligned (see Damage Reduction, page 299).
The other subtypes say the same thing. It is entirely possible to have a creature that detects and is effected by opposing alignment effects - a Lawful Good succubus (which has the Chaotic and Evil subtypes) is affected as a lawful, chaotic, good, and evil creature.
1. Can you make wands with meta magic feats tied into their "spell level" like a wand of maximize magic missile? Or a staff with Maximize magic missile? (Kind of want one for my wizard so he can have an easy thing to use on some rounds)
Magic Items and Metamagic Spells: With the right item creation feat, you can store a metamagic version of a spell in a scroll, potion, or wand. Level limits for potions and wands apply to the spell's higher spell level (after the application of the metamagic feat). A character doesn't need the metamagic feat to activate an item storing a metamagic version of a spell.
2. Do you need the meta magic feat for crafting the appropriate meta magic rod? IE: Maximize
Normally, yes. But that may be one of the things you can remove by increasing the crafting DC by +5.
This is the Rules forum. The only correct answers here are the actual rules. And by the actual rules, focuses are not material components, and therefore Eschew Materials has no effect on them.
Nathanael Love wrote:
No it can't. +5 swords can only get through DR/magic, alignment-based, adamantine, cold iron, and silver.
It wouldn't be able to get through any other material-based DR (should one exist). +5 weapons won't get through DR/piercing, slashing, or bludgeoning (unless the base weapon was one of those, of course). DR/Epic also can't be overcome by a +5 weapon.
+5 weapons don't automatically overcome all forms of damage reduction. Just most of them.