|Paizo Pathfinder® Paizo Games|
|About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ|
I disagree. Craft check (arbitrarily say 15) X DC 12 for a simple weapon = 180 sp production a week. 180 sp is equivalent to how many 0 gp clubs? You can't answer, because it's a divide by zero. But if we were to find a close equivalent, a club studded with a penny, we could then determine that weeks production made 1800 clubs studded with pennies. 1800 / 40 hr work week = 45 CSwP an hour, or a little more than a minute each. Honestly, this is simple algebra people. There is no statement within the Craft skill as to minimum time. If you infer one, you've just put basket weavers and candle makers out of business, as they can only make one a day by that (il) logic.
Please tell me where it says the Craft skill can make more than one item at once? You can't. Because as written, you can only make one item at a time.
And there is a minimum time of 1 day, because that is all the Craft skill allows. There is no such thing as crafting by the hour, minute, or round. The minimum time is by the day. You will notice there is absolutely nothing in the skill about Progress by the Hour. The only thing you will find is Progress by the Day.
All skills have an Action section, detailing how long it takes to make a check. You will notice the Craft skill only mentions a week and a day. Not a hour, not a minute. Therefore, Craft checks take a minimum of one days time.
Does it make sense? No. But the Craft skill never has. Yet it has stayed unchanged for almost 15 years now, since 3.0 D&D. Why? Because when it comes down to it, no one cares about mundane crafting. Seriously. The game is about murder-hobos killing things for their shinies. It is not meant to simulate dung farmers or candle makers.
As an aside, per crafting rules, it takes virtually no time at all to craft a zero gp item. Fearspect, your 1 wk estimate is incorrect.
Actually, no it is not. By default, Craft checks are done by the week. At best, it still takes a day if you use the Progress by the Day rules.
Even if you have +1 billion in a Craft check, it still takes a minimum of 1 day to make something.
Action: Does not apply. Craft checks are made by the day or week (see above).
I have a question on behalf of a fledgling DM - Can you slap the half-fiend template on a demon, devil, or other type of fiend as a sort of advancement?This would probably be in addition to increasing the creatures hit dice.
Yes you can.
For that matter, you can add the Half-Dragon template to dragons to create a Half-Black Dragon White Dragon (a grey dragon? or a dalmatian dragon?), or use the Half-Celestial template to model the offspring of a Solar and Planatar angel couple.
Mike Johnson 320 wrote:
The bonus skill ranks you are getting are because of the boosted intelligence. Since the second item isn't boosting your intelligence any more, you should not get the skill ranks that item grants.
By RAW? Techinally yes. Wish doesn't have limits. Just a list of "safe wishes".
You may try to use a wish to produce greater effects than these, but doing so is dangerous. (The wish may pervert your intent into a literal but undesirable fulfillment or only a partial fulfillment, at the GM's discretion.)
Modifying another spells casting time is not one of the safe effects listed for Wish. So it is entirely up to the GM.
Though you could argue that the ability to duplicate a spell would include versions of that spell modified by metamagic feats. In this case, anything a relevant metamagic feat could do, wish could do.
Edit: Unless you mean using the Wishes ability to duplicate spells to duplicate lower-level spells without metamagic. Then yes, it is totally fine to use Wish in that way.
If a Druid has enough Wisdom to get a bonus level 4 spell, can they cast it at as a level one, even though they would normally have to be level 7 to cast a level 4 spell?
You only get bonus spells of a spell level you can actually cast. So a 1st level druid doesn't have that 4th level bonus slot, and won't until he is a 7th level druid.
The ability that governs bonus spells depends on what type of spellcaster your character is: Intelligence for wizards; Wisdom for clerics, druids, and rangers; and Charisma for bards, paladins, and sorcerers. In addition to having a high ability score, a spellcaster must be of a high enough class level to be able to cast spells of a given spell level. See the class descriptions in Classes for details.
It does make me sad that the DMG won't be out until November 2014. I wish they would just release the 3 core books all at the same time, not 1-3 months apart.
Hey, it could be worse. For 1st edition AD&D, the Monster Manual was released in 1977, the Players Handbook in 1978, and the Dungeon Masters Guide in 1979.
the layout of the basic pdf is ok, but not really phantastic. Even the simplest Pathfinder books have a more professional layout. What is really annoying that in my copy there was no index and no table of contents which page numbers.
This may change. The current Basic PDF is not the final version. They still have material from the Monster Manual and Dungeon Masters Guide to add to it. After that, they may include an index/table of contents.
Jacob Saltband wrote:
Also detect magic is a 1st level spell again.
But it is also somewhat better. 5e Detect Magic automatically senses magial auras within 30 feet of you, then you can spend an action to see the auras. In Pathfinder, you must spend one action to even determine if there are any auras within the cone, and two more actions to know where the aura is located.
A heavy horse is a Strength 20 large quadruped. Checking the carrying capacity rules, we see that a Strength 20 normally has a load of 133/266/400 (for light, medium, and heavy loads). A quadruped multiplies this value by x3, and a Large creature by x2. Using the normal Pathfinder multiplication rules, this totals out to x4 (you increase the highest multiplier by one less than the next multiplier, so x3 and x2 becomes x4).
Incorrect. You don't apply both modifiers. Both bipeds and quadrupeds each have their own multipliers based on size. A large quadruped multiplies the numbers by 3, not by 4.
Animals follow the same rules for encumbrance as humans.
A light load for a pony is up to 100 pounds, a medium load is 101–200 pounds, and a heavy load is 201–300 pounds. A pony can drag 1,500 pounds.
For a light horse, a heavy load is 690 pounds, a medium load is 460 pounds, and a light load is 228 pounds. A light horse can drag 3,450 pounds.
For a heavy horse, a heavy load is 1200 pounds, a medium load is 800 pounds, and a light load is 400 pounds. A light horse can drag 6,000 pounds.
Quark Blast wrote:
Nope. 1st edition Sneak Attack was called Back Stabbing. It could only be done with a club, dagger, or sword attack delivered to the opponents back. Not ranged weapons.
The wording on the ability in 2nd edition implies only melee weapons can be used to backstab.
As far as I can tell, the 30' limit was first added in 3rd edition.
Chess Pwn wrote:
2) no you can't, but if your DM allows for it you can.
There is absolutely nothing in the rules what so ever that prohibits further enhancing specific magic items. It is just harder to do, because not all magic items follow the pricing formulas and so adding additional abilities on top of what the item normally has isn't always clear cut.
It is prohibited in Pathfinder Society, but that is only because all item creation is prohibited.
Quark Blast wrote:
And what @DavidHaller said. Anyone have the 1E books handy?
2nd edition had 2 movement rates: one for inside, and one for outside. Outside, you could move your movement rate in 10s of yards per minute. Inside, in 10s of feet per minute. Human speed was 12, so 120 yards (360 feet) per minute outside, 120 feet per minute inside. That works out to 36 feet per 6 seconds outside, 12 feet per 6 seconds inside.
I'm pretty sure 1st edition was the same.
I think the idea is, at least in my opinion, you save your actual spell slots for special moments. Most of your actual attacks would be with your cantrips, which do scale automatically (eventually reaching 4d8 or 4d10 damage). Actual spell slots would them be saved for things like area damage, buffs, or miscellaneous spells (like Knock and Comprehend Languages).
Yes, they meant radius. When casting an area spell, you choose the center point and measure out from there.
At will abilities have no daily uses. They are unlimited.
I am currently GMing for a party of 5, and I have a Drow who was adopted by humans but took the Drow Nobility trait. As of that, he is able to use a number of abilities at will like Deeper Darkness, Faerie Fire, and others. I was wondering if these abilities are something like once a day? It seems a little bit absurd that a Drow who takes the nobility trait gets so many abilities because of that.
Do you mean this section below? Or do you mean the Drow Nobility feats? I can't find a Drow Nobility trait. Anyway it goes, how often the abilities can be used is listed.
No limit on Dancing Lights, Deeper Darkness, Faerie Fire, Feather Fall, or Levitate.1/day for Divine Favor, Dispel Magic, and Suggestion.
Some Random Dood wrote:
But using a manufactured weapon and natural attacks makes those natural attacks become secondary attacks, so the feat can still be of some use even if all your natural weapons are usually primary.
The only benefit Multiattack would give you is that it would reduce the penalty of adding in natural attacks when wielding a weapon at the same time.
Just to quote the relevant part:
Creatures with natural attacks and attacks made with weapons can use both as part of a full attack action (although often a creature must forgo one natural attack for each weapon clutched in that limb, be it a claw, tentacle, or slam). Such creatures attack with their weapons normally but treat all of their natural attacks as secondary attacks during that attack, regardless of the attack's original type.
Opalescent Obelisk wrote:
Ability damage causes penalties to appropriate checks. Ability drain actually reduces the ability score, which can cause things like skill point loss, changes when the character dies at negative hit points, and everything else modified by the ability score.
Paul Murray wrote:
Most (if not all) skills contain a section detailing what kind of action is required to use the skill. For Fly:
Action: None. A Fly check doesn't require an action; it is made as part of another action or as a reaction to a situation.
So yes, you can hover and make a full attack.
You can "turn more than 45° by spending 5' of movement", and "Turn 180° by spending 10 feet of movement". 180 is greater than 45 - why can't you just spend the 5'? Is there some errata to the effect that 5' will buy you more than 45° but only up to 90° or 135° or something?
There doesn't need to be errata. If you turn more than 45 degrees, you spend 5 feet of movement. If you turn 180 degrees, you spend 10' of movement.
When you sacrifice 5' of movement to turn, do we assume that this 5' does not count towards the requirement to move at least half your movement to stray aloft? I suppose so, otherwise you could hover by just spinning in place.
Correct. You are sacrificing movement, not actually moving. Only actual movement counts.
The fly spell states that it "requires no more concentration than walking". I read this as "it requires no more concentration to fly than a creature with a fly speed needs". That is, you still need to make fly checks when you are flying with a spell.
Correct. But note you only need to make Fly checks when performing a complex maneuver. Regular movement and gentle turns (less than 45 degrees) do not require checks.
Robert Young wrote:
This is correct.
Regardless of the shape of the area, you select the point where the spell originates, but otherwise you don't control which creatures or objects the spell affects. The point of origin of a spell is always a grid intersection. When determining whether a given creature is within the area of a spell, count out the distance from the point of origin in squares just as you do when moving a character or when determining the range for a ranged attack. The only difference is that instead of counting from the center of one square to the center of the next, you count from intersection to intersection.
Since the spell must start from an intersection, you choose which intersection this is. That includes any that are inside the creatures space, as well as those on the edge (creatures of medium size or smaller only have intersections on the edges of their spaces).
No FAQ entry, but here is a post from James Jacobs. Hardly official, but its the closest thing we have.
It doesn't matter if it is supernatural or not. In order to overcome DR/Magic, a weapon must have an enhancement bonus of +1 or higher.
Overcoming DR: Damage reduction may be overcome by special materials, magic weapons (any weapon with a +1 or higher enhancement bonus, not counting the enhancement from masterwork quality), certain types of weapons (such as slashing or bludgeoning), and weapons imbued with an alignment.
Does the Sneak attack bonus ( +2) only apply to damage roll, or it applies to Attack roll as well?
I'm not sure what you are talking about here. There is no +2 Sneak Attack bonus. Sneak Attack only adds a certain number of extra damage dice.
It means you don't get to add your Dexterity modifier to your AC. Several conditions apply this, such as being attacked by an invisible attacker.
Can you use sneak attack twice in a turn if you attack with both daggers?
You can apply Sneak Attack damage to any attack that qualifies. If you have 10 attacks a round, and they all qualify as sneak attacks, all 10 get sneak attack damage.
I don't like it. Partly I think it does go too far, too early in preventing deaths. Partly it becomes another "must carry" spell for clerics, forcing them more and more into the healbot mode, at least if it isn't reliably available as potion or scroll. It's just too necessary as an emergency spell to not have ready at all times.
Well, Revivify is a domain spell for the Life domain (which is focused on healing). So those clerics won't have to prepare it at all, as they get it for free. Other clerics would have to prepare it if they wanted it, however.
For that matter, so is Cure Wounds. So a healbot cleric won't have to prepare the healing spells, as the basics ones are prepared for free anyway.
It is in the Basic PDF. Has a 300gp consumable material component.
You touch a creature that has died within the last minute. That creature returns to life with 1 hit point. This spell can’t return to life a creature that has died of old age, nor can it restore any missing body parts.
And don't think of it as bringing them back to life. Think of it more like when, on television and movies, you see someone perform CPR or use a defibrillator on a seemingly dead person, and they come back. You weren't dead. Just mostly dead.
I didn't think to mention this, but we have always ruled that polymorph effects do change the type here. Because in all seriousness, Pazio messed up on that one. (think about becoming a bear. The spell gives you the exact body as a bear, blood and all, so there is no possible reason that a poison that only effects bears shouldn't work on it because it is "officially" a human, because the bear body would still be affected.
No it doesn't.
Polymorph: A polymorph spell transforms your physical body to take on the shape of another creature. While these spells make you appear to be the creature, granting you a +10 bonus on Disguise skill checks, they do not grant you all of the abilities and powers of the creature. Each polymorph spell allows you to assume the form of a creature of a specific type, granting you a number of bonuses to your ability scores and a bonus to your natural armor.
You may look like a bear and have some of the abilities of a bear, but you are not a bear. You do not get the exact abilities of a bear, you get lesser ones. If you actually became a bear, you would have the bears exact stats, not get a bonus to yours.
That being said, if a polymorph effect changed your type to animal (and by the rules, it doesn't), then yes the druid would receive the bonus.
First of all, this thread died about four years ago. Please check the date of the last post (or couple of posts) before posting.
Second, yes. Wands are Spell Trigger items:
Spell Trigger: Spell trigger activation is similar to spell completion, but it's even simpler. No gestures or spell finishing is needed, just a special knowledge of spellcasting that an appropriate character would know, and a single word that must be spoken. Spell trigger items can be used by anyone whose class can cast the corresponding spell. This is the case even for a character who can't actually cast spells, such as a 3rd-level paladin. The user must still determine what spell is stored in the item before she can activate it. Activating a spell trigger item is a standard action and does not provoke attacks of opportunity.
Vincent The Dark wrote:
It also says "Armor bonus x 5" which I don't understand.
Armor has a number of hit points equal to whatever its armor bonus is multiplied by 5. So, since full plate has an armor bonus of +9, it has (9x5=) 45 hit points. Leather armor has an armor bonus of +2, and so has (2x5=) 10 hit points.
Armor hardness varies by material. Padded armor would have Hardness 0, leather/hide armors have Hardness 2, and metal armors have Hardness 10 (15 for mithral, 20 for adamantine).
If anyone knows where the "you're not the new type" is still listed, I'd appreciate pointing it out (or anything else relevant here). Thanks
The way all Polymorph spells and effect works is you only get what is listed in the individual spell/ability, or the general polymorph effect rules. So unless an entry somewhere says "Your type changes to match the form assumed", your type does not change.
The Trip property on a weapon doesn't give you a free, automatic trip when you hit with the weapon.
In order to trip someone, you must use the Trip combat maneuver, which takes the place of one of your attacks. The only thing the Trip weapon property does is allow you to drop the weapon to avoid being tripped yourself on a failed Trip attempt.
Scoundrel the Tiefling wrote:
I'm not talking about mechanics. I'm talking about how often they have put out a new edition. 3.5, 4th and now 5th ed so soon? I think that's Hasbro's doing.
Unlikely. Hasbro probably doesn't really care about D&D, as long as it makes enough of a profit. They bought WotC to get hold of the Magic the Gathering and Pokemon card games. That is where most of WotCs profit comes from. (Well, M:TG now. WotC no longer makes Pokemon cards.)
I can't even find any D&D books, of any edition, on Hasbro.com. You would have to figure that, if Hasbro really cared about the D&D RPG, there would be something besides a Lego knockoff named KRE-O. Yet there is nothing.
(Side note: KRE-O Drizzt)
Scoundrel the Tiefling wrote:
So if you're upset with 5th ed, perhaps you're aiming your hate in the wrong direction? It's Hasbro who is ruining D&D and treating it like it needs a new edition every few years isnt it?
Hasbro does own WotC, but that doesn't mean they are the ones calling the shots about when/if a new edition is released. Hasbro probably just wants WotC to make them X-amount of money with their RPG line, and Y-amount of money with their collectible card game lines, and its up to WotC to do what they need to to meet that requirement.
Either way it goes, WotC is definitely the ones responsible for the mechanics of said RPG. So if the problem is how the game plays, that is WotCs fault, not Hasbros.