Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ

Jeff Clem's page

304 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


RSS

1 to 50 of 304 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | next > last >>

Can a medium character with exotic weapon proficiency Katana wield a large Katana taking -2 due to it's size.


If your improved familiar can use a weapon does it get the bab of it's master to hit with that weapon?


If you cast Bestow Weapon Proficiency on a Earth Mephit familiar would it use you BaB to hit with a melee weapon? Normally familiars can only use their master BaB to with natural weapons.

2.Could a Mephit use a melee weapon unskilled and attack at -4 with it's increased Int at higher levels?

Bestow Weapon Proficiency

School enchantment (compulsion) [mind-affecting]; Level alchemist 2, antipaladin 2, cleric 2, magus 2, inquisitor 2, paladin 2, sorcerer/wizard 2, witch 2
CASTING
Casting Time 1 standard action
Component V, S, M (pieces of shaved metal)
EFFECT
Range close (25 ft. + 5 ft./2 levels)
Target one creature
Duration 1 minute/level
Saving Throw Will negates (harmless); Spell Resistance yes (harmless)
DESCRIPTION
You bestow the subject with the ability to use a single type of weapon he is not proficient in as if he were proficient with that weapon. The weapon can be of any type, including an exotic weapon, but the subject of the spell must be holding the weapon.

Thanks for your input.


Ashram wrote:

1. The rules are really unclear since the original rules are written for non-Imp. Familiar familiars. Technically, the entry for attacks says that they add either their Str or Dex, whichever is higher, to their natural attacks; the BAB simply says that their BAB is equal to the master's. RAI would say that yeah, it would be master's BAB for manufactured weapons as well.

2. Considering a mephit starts at 6 Int anyway, I'd say they're smart enough to be wielding a Small weapon if they aren't proficient; it won't be very good at it (Unless you cast the aforementioned spell) but if you ask it to, it probably could. GM mileage may vary.

Familiar Basics

Attacks: Use the master's base attack bonus, as calculated from all his classes. Use the familiar's Dexterity or Strength modifier, whichever is greater, to calculate the familiar's melee attack bonus with natural weapons. Damage equals that of a normal creature of the familiar's kind.

The familiar uses his masters BaB from all his classes and adds his str or dex mod to attack. That seems pretty clear to me.


1. If you cast Bestow Weapon Proficiency on a Earth Mephit familiar would it use you BaB to hit with a melee weapon? Normally familiars can only use their master BaB to with natural weapons.

2.Could a Mephit use a melee weapon unskilled and attack at -4 with it's increased Int at higher levels?

Bestow Weapon Proficiency

School enchantment (compulsion) [mind-affecting]; Level alchemist 2, antipaladin 2, cleric 2, magus 2, inquisitor 2, paladin 2, sorcerer/wizard 2, witch 2
CASTING
Casting Time 1 standard action
Component V, S, M (pieces of shaved metal)
EFFECT
Range close (25 ft. + 5 ft./2 levels)
Target one creature
Duration 1 minute/level
Saving Throw Will negates (harmless); Spell Resistance yes (harmless)
DESCRIPTION
You bestow the subject with the ability to use a single type of weapon he is not proficient in as if he were proficient with that weapon. The weapon can be of any type, including an exotic weapon, but the subject of the spell must be holding the weapon.

Thanks for your input.


The Sense Motive roll substitutes the character's AC it's not adding to it's AC.


Nefreet wrote:

Interestingly, it's listed under Wondrous Items:

PRD wrote:

MAUL OF THE TITANS

Aura strong evocation; CL 15th
Slot none; Price 25,305 gp; Weight 160 lbs.
DESCRIPTION
This mallet is 8 feet long. If used as a weapon, it is the equivalent of a +3 greatclub and deals triple damage against inanimate objects. The wielder must have a Strength of at least 18 to wield it properly. Otherwise, she takes a –4 penalty on attack rolls.

CONSTRUCTION
Requirements Craft Wondrous Item, Craft Magic Arms and Armor, clenched fist; Cost 12,805 gp

I'd say if you were a Magus, Warpriest, Paladin, etc. you could enhance it with your class abilities, but I suppose as a Wondrous Item it can't be enchanted further.

Then again, the Craft Arms & Armor feat is also a prerequisite, so perhaps you can.

Might be difficult to determine a price, though.

And yikes, 160 pounds!!

On the d20pfsrd site the Maul of the Titans is on the Magic Weapons list as well as the Wondrous Item list. I'll have to check in the Ultimate Equipment Book to see if it's in the magic Weapon list there as well.


Can you add weapon properties to Maul of the Titans?


Pummeling Style is like cluster shot for Monks. It's suppose to help monks get past creatures DR.
Pummeling Charge is like pounce for Monks using unarmed attacks.
This is no difference than a barbarian Beast Totem, Greater rage power. yes I know a Barb gets this at 10th level but he can use any weapon with this while a monk can only use unarmed strikes.


Ok thanks.


Chess Pwn wrote:
you get both, natural attacks are "weapons". Only if it says manufactured weapon does it exclude natural attacks.

The reason why I thought it wouldn't count towards natural weapons is because Magic Fang spell is only for natural attacks.


If you cast Divine Favor on an Animal companion would it benefit from the luck bonus but not the weapon bonus because it's attacks are natural weapons?


Dimminsy wrote:

"...allowing her to use her special ki attacks through the weapon ..."

(quoting Life Funnel) "If the monk has at least 1 ki point in his ki pool and scores a confirmed critical hit against a living enemy or reduces a living enemy to 0 or fewer hit points, he heals a number of hit points equal to his monk level."

I'll go ahead and say I'm not an expert on the Monk. However, I don't think Life Funnel is a "special ki attack" but rather just a passive ability that relies on you having a remaining ki point. I think you actually have to expend a ki point for it to count as a special ki attack.

Just because your not spending any Ki it's still powered by your Ki which makes it a Ki special attack.


Can you use Hungry Ghost Monk Life Funnel ability through a weapon if it has Ki Focus ‎Magic Weapon Special Ability?

Ki Focus

Price +1 bonus
Aura moderate transmutation; CL 8th; Weight —
DESCRIPTION

This special ability can be placed only on melee weapons.

The magic weapon serves as a channel for the wielder's ki, allowing her to use her special ki attacks through the weapon as if they were unarmed attacks. These attacks include the monk's ki strike, quivering palm, and the Stunning Fist feat (including any condition that the monk can apply using this feat).


If you have 2 different natural attack(ex. bite claw) do you have to take Feral Combat Training twice for each natural attack or just Weapon Focus twice for each different attack.


If you cast comprehend languages animal Companion will it be able to understand it's master verbally?


Chess Pwn wrote:
what do you mean? you'd be able to add your barb level to your druid level like it says in the animal companion description.

Yes is it possible and vice versa.


Would the Mad Dog(Barb) Pack Lord(Druid) animal companions levels
stack with each other if you took Boon companion for all 3 Animals companions?


Imbicatus wrote:
Jeff Clem wrote:


I have a state fair two handed hammer( ring the bell win a prize) and it weighs the same as a five lbs sledge hammer. I wouldn't want to be hit with this if it was a practice weapon lol.
In game terms, that would be a Greatclub.

True. Thanks for your input everyone.


CrazyElf wrote:

Sure, they are called practice weapons.. though they won't have the same heft as the real weapon.

I supposed if you had a druid cast Ironwood on the item after it was crafted, it'd be the same, and that'd hold it for a few days.. But you'd have to have permanency cast to make it permanent. You're talking about a lot of expense there.

I agree with you they would be practice weapons if they are slashing weapons.

I have a state fair two handed hammer( ring the bell win a prize) and it weighs the same as a five lbs sledge hammer. I wouldn't want to be hit with this if it was a practice weapon lol.


Can you make blunt weapon equivalents out of wood? (Ex. War Hammer)


If the revelation requirement is 7th level for example, do you get the revelation faster at the Favored Class Option level? Is it just the actual Oracle level not adjusted.


If you charge using Spirited Charge with a Flame blade is the damage doubled?


Can you us Style feats through weapon if it has the Ki Focus.


I would say you do fire shield damage before they attack, if they still have hit points left then it gets to damage the creature it attacking. My two cents. lol.


Zhayne wrote:
These abilities aren't replacing one another, they're building on each other.


If an ability is replaced later on in levels, can you still use that ability or is it gone from get go.

Monk of many styles(ex.)
Fuse Style (Ex)

At 1st level, a master of many styles can fuse two of the styles he knows into a more perfect style. The master of many styles can have two style feat stances active at once. Starting a stance provided by a style feat is still a swift action, but when the master of many styles switches to another style feat, he can choose one style whose stance is already active to persist. He may only have two style feat stances active at a time. At 8th level, the master of many styles can fuse three styles at once. He can have the stances of three style feats active at the same time. Furthermore, he can enter up to three stances as a swift action.

At 15th level, the master of many styles can fuse four styles at once. He can have the stances of four style feats active at the same time. Furthermore, he can enter up to four stances as a free action by spending 1 point from his ki pool.

This ability replaces flurry of blows.


Can you retrain a rogue talent then select the same talent at a later level.


Bacon666 wrote:

As I tell my players

When you need to know: "is this trick/loophole/etc legal?" The answer is always no...

With that said, it seems fair enough to me, so if any prerequests are fulfilled, sure. If it turns out to be broken later be prepared to changed on gm request...

I guess calling it a loop hole was not a good way of phrasing the question.


Can a Ninja take Extra Rogue talent feat then take the actual Rogue talent Ninja trick?


Can you retrain Rogue levels to Ninja levels. ( 2 levels) 5 days each level?


Thanks for your input Artanthos, the light bulb went off in my head I figured it out.


Artanthos wrote:

The enhance bonus available is set by magus level. At 5th level, for example, you can place the equivalent of +2 enhancement bonus by expending 1 point from your arcane pool.

Multiple expenditures do not stack.

I'm not trying to stacking anything! +1 enhancement bonus if the weapon is not magical +2 for shocking burst= +3. Now what I'm asking is how long would it take to add these properties to the weapon?


Artanthos wrote:
If the pool expenditure requires a swift action, only one (unless the ability itself specifies otherwise).

So if I used for example shocking burst(+2,+1) it would take 3 rounds to enchant, 2 rounds if my weapon has a =1 enchantment on it already?


How many points can a Magus spend using a swift action?


I didn't think you could vorpalise your weapon using all your points at 5th level. That would be pretty unbalancing. Thanks DRS#


Lets say your a 5th level Magus and you have 6 points to use, When you add weapon properties to your weapon is it also limited levels(aka. For every four levels beyond 1st, the weapon gains another +1 enhancement bonus, to a maximum of +5 at 17th level.) So you wouldn't be able to put vorpal on your weapon till 17th level because it being a +5 weapon property or does it matter as long as you have the points to spend?


Would Perfect Strike Kensai ability be considered an immediate action or a free action because you spend a 1 point from your arcane pool to use it.


3 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

Does disrupt undead spell effect incorporeal undead fully or is it 1/2 damage due to incorporeal undead traits?


Would the Invulnerable Rager Dr stack with the Magus damage shield arcana ability?

Damage Shield (Su)
Benefit: The magus can spend 1 point from her arcane pool as a immediate action to resist damage from each attack she is subject to in a single round. She reduces all damage dealt to her for each individual attack by her magus class level for 1 full round.


Thanks for the input.


If a kensai has tranformative magic ability on his favorite weapon and he changes it to a different weapon, is it still considered his favorite?


Arachnofiend wrote:
The OP is talking about Stalwart the feat, not Stalwart Defender the prestige class. Stalwart specifically calls out the Barb's DR as something it stacks with.

Oops my mistake. Yes it stacks.


Thanks for the input.


Clustered Shots (Combat)

You take a moment to carefully aim your shots, causing them all to strike nearly the same spot.

Prerequisites: Point-Blank Shot, Precise Shot, base attack bonus +6.

Benefit: When you use a full-attack action to make multiple ranged weapon attacks against the same opponent, total the damage from all hits before applying that opponent’s damage reduction.

My question is if you are playing a Arcane Archer with multiple attacks and you imbue your arrows with fire. Does the fire damage get the benefit from clustered shot feat as well?


Can you mage armor and Bark skin stack spells?


Rod of Nettles

This wooden rod is engraved with serrated-edged leaves of stinging nettles.
This rod acts as a +1 light mace that deals no damage. Instead, the rod's venomous touch (melee touch attack) deals 1d3 points of Dexterity damage and causes the target to become sickened for 1d6 rounds (DC 14 Fortitude negates the sickened effect and halves the Dexterity damage); on a critical hit, no saving throw is allowed.

Once per day on command, the wielder may touch the rod of nettles to ordinary vegetation, causing a 20-foot cube to become tangled with nettle-choked overgrowth as the overgrowth ability of the plant growth spell. Furthermore, creatures entering or within this area are affected as if touched by the rod, though creatures with a natural armor bonus of +3 or greater are immune to this effect.

A creature that saves is unaffected by the area's poison for 24 hours.

My question is if I roll dex damage of 1 and the creature makes it's save for half does it take the 1 damage or no damage?


KaeYoss wrote:
General Dorsey wrote:
So I'm almost half way through the animals
Go tiger! I do the same. Let's show PETA what we think of their vegetarian cult! :D

And we know what PETA stands for......

P- People
E- Eating
T- Tasty
A- Animals


Get quick draw feat problem solved. No two weapon draw ability for free unless quick draw.


I would say you need both weapon and(or)armor +1 enhancement before you can add any weapon and armor abilities. Even though the bashing ability is in the armor list it is still a weapon ability per say and can only be applied to shields. That is why you +1 enhancement to hit and damage only. Think of this, a shield is the only item that can have both weapon and armor abilities because on it's versatility.

1 to 50 of 304 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | next > last >>

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.