Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ

Jeff Clem's page

290 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


RSS

1 to 50 of 290 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | next > last >>

If you have 2 different natural attack(ex. bite claw) do you have to take Feral Combat Training twice for each natural attack or just Weapon Focus twice for each different attack.


If you cast comprehend languages animal Companion will it be able to understand it's master verbally?


Chess Pwn wrote:
what do you mean? you'd be able to add your barb level to your druid level like it says in the animal companion description.

Yes is it possible and vice versa.


Would the Mad Dog(Barb) Pack Lord(Druid) animal companions levels
stack with each other if you took Boon companion for all 3 Animals companions?


Imbicatus wrote:
Jeff Clem wrote:


I have a state fair two handed hammer( ring the bell win a prize) and it weighs the same as a five lbs sledge hammer. I wouldn't want to be hit with this if it was a practice weapon lol.
In game terms, that would be a Greatclub.

True. Thanks for your input everyone.


CrazyElf wrote:

Sure, they are called practice weapons.. though they won't have the same heft as the real weapon.

I supposed if you had a druid cast Ironwood on the item after it was crafted, it'd be the same, and that'd hold it for a few days.. But you'd have to have permanency cast to make it permanent. You're talking about a lot of expense there.

I agree with you they would be practice weapons if they are slashing weapons.

I have a state fair two handed hammer( ring the bell win a prize) and it weighs the same as a five lbs sledge hammer. I wouldn't want to be hit with this if it was a practice weapon lol.


Can you make blunt weapon equivalents out of wood? (Ex. War Hammer)


If the revelation requirement is 7th level for example, do you get the revelation faster at the Favored Class Option level? Is it just the actual Oracle level not adjusted.


If you charge using Spirited Charge with a Flame blade is the damage doubled?


Can you us Style feats through weapon if it has the Ki Focus.


I would say you do fire shield damage before they attack, if they still have hit points left then it gets to damage the creature it attacking. My two cents. lol.


Zhayne wrote:
These abilities aren't replacing one another, they're building on each other.


If an ability is replaced later on in levels, can you still use that ability or is it gone from get go.

Monk of many styles(ex.)
Fuse Style (Ex)

At 1st level, a master of many styles can fuse two of the styles he knows into a more perfect style. The master of many styles can have two style feat stances active at once. Starting a stance provided by a style feat is still a swift action, but when the master of many styles switches to another style feat, he can choose one style whose stance is already active to persist. He may only have two style feat stances active at a time. At 8th level, the master of many styles can fuse three styles at once. He can have the stances of three style feats active at the same time. Furthermore, he can enter up to three stances as a swift action.

At 15th level, the master of many styles can fuse four styles at once. He can have the stances of four style feats active at the same time. Furthermore, he can enter up to four stances as a free action by spending 1 point from his ki pool.

This ability replaces flurry of blows.


Can you retrain a rogue talent then select the same talent at a later level.


Bacon666 wrote:

As I tell my players

When you need to know: "is this trick/loophole/etc legal?" The answer is always no...

With that said, it seems fair enough to me, so if any prerequests are fulfilled, sure. If it turns out to be broken later be prepared to changed on gm request...

I guess calling it a loop hole was not a good way of phrasing the question.


Can a Ninja take Extra Rogue talent feat then take the actual Rogue talent Ninja trick?


Can you retrain Rogue levels to Ninja levels. ( 2 levels) 5 days each level?


Thanks for your input Artanthos, the light bulb went off in my head I figured it out.


Artanthos wrote:

The enhance bonus available is set by magus level. At 5th level, for example, you can place the equivalent of +2 enhancement bonus by expending 1 point from your arcane pool.

Multiple expenditures do not stack.

I'm not trying to stacking anything! +1 enhancement bonus if the weapon is not magical +2 for shocking burst= +3. Now what I'm asking is how long would it take to add these properties to the weapon?


Artanthos wrote:
If the pool expenditure requires a swift action, only one (unless the ability itself specifies otherwise).

So if I used for example shocking burst(+2,+1) it would take 3 rounds to enchant, 2 rounds if my weapon has a =1 enchantment on it already?


How many points can a Magus spend using a swift action?


I didn't think you could vorpalise your weapon using all your points at 5th level. That would be pretty unbalancing. Thanks DRS#


Lets say your a 5th level Magus and you have 6 points to use, When you add weapon properties to your weapon is it also limited levels(aka. For every four levels beyond 1st, the weapon gains another +1 enhancement bonus, to a maximum of +5 at 17th level.) So you wouldn't be able to put vorpal on your weapon till 17th level because it being a +5 weapon property or does it matter as long as you have the points to spend?


Would Perfect Strike Kensai ability be considered an immediate action or a free action because you spend a 1 point from your arcane pool to use it.


Does disrupt undead spell effect incorporeal undead fully or is it 1/2 damage due to incorporeal undead traits?


Would the Invulnerable Rager Dr stack with the Magus damage shield arcana ability?

Damage Shield (Su)
Benefit: The magus can spend 1 point from her arcane pool as a immediate action to resist damage from each attack she is subject to in a single round. She reduces all damage dealt to her for each individual attack by her magus class level for 1 full round.


Thanks for the input.


If a kensai has tranformative magic ability on his favorite weapon and he changes it to a different weapon, is it still considered his favorite?


Arachnofiend wrote:
The OP is talking about Stalwart the feat, not Stalwart Defender the prestige class. Stalwart specifically calls out the Barb's DR as something it stacks with.

Oops my mistake. Yes it stacks.


Thanks for the input.


Clustered Shots (Combat)

You take a moment to carefully aim your shots, causing them all to strike nearly the same spot.

Prerequisites: Point-Blank Shot, Precise Shot, base attack bonus +6.

Benefit: When you use a full-attack action to make multiple ranged weapon attacks against the same opponent, total the damage from all hits before applying that opponent’s damage reduction.

My question is if you are playing a Arcane Archer with multiple attacks and you imbue your arrows with fire. Does the fire damage get the benefit from clustered shot feat as well?


Can you mage armor and Bark skin stack spells?


Rod of Nettles

This wooden rod is engraved with serrated-edged leaves of stinging nettles.
This rod acts as a +1 light mace that deals no damage. Instead, the rod's venomous touch (melee touch attack) deals 1d3 points of Dexterity damage and causes the target to become sickened for 1d6 rounds (DC 14 Fortitude negates the sickened effect and halves the Dexterity damage); on a critical hit, no saving throw is allowed.

Once per day on command, the wielder may touch the rod of nettles to ordinary vegetation, causing a 20-foot cube to become tangled with nettle-choked overgrowth as the overgrowth ability of the plant growth spell. Furthermore, creatures entering or within this area are affected as if touched by the rod, though creatures with a natural armor bonus of +3 or greater are immune to this effect.

A creature that saves is unaffected by the area's poison for 24 hours.

My question is if I roll dex damage of 1 and the creature makes it's save for half does it take the 1 damage or no damage?


KaeYoss wrote:
General Dorsey wrote:
So I'm almost half way through the animals
Go tiger! I do the same. Let's show PETA what we think of their vegetarian cult! :D

And we know what PETA stands for......

P- People
E- Eating
T- Tasty
A- Animals


Get quick draw feat problem solved. No two weapon draw ability for free unless quick draw.


I would say you need both weapon and(or)armor +1 enhancement before you can add any weapon and armor abilities. Even though the bashing ability is in the armor list it is still a weapon ability per say and can only be applied to shields. That is why you +1 enhancement to hit and damage only. Think of this, a shield is the only item that can have both weapon and armor abilities because on it's versatility.


Thanks for your input.


How many times a day can you enlarge using Pauldrons, Juggernaut’s enlarge feature?


Monks of the empty hand are proficient with the shuriken only. A monk of the empty hand treats normal weapons as improvised weapons with the following equivalencies (substituting all of their statistics for the listed weapon): a light weapon functions as a light hammer, a one-handed weapon functions as a club, and a Two-handed weapon functions as a quarterstaff.

My question.
If I use a light weapon which is equivalent to a light hammer can I use weapon finesse even though it's considered an improvised weapon?


Is Pathfinder Savant prestige class 3rd party material?


Nefreet wrote:

Eek!

Apologies. I had no clue that was an illegal download site. I even installed the app on my phone =(.

Oops I didn't know it was either. I have the actual book in my collection can I share the info?


Many Forms (Su): As a standard action, you can assume the form of a Small or Medium humanoid, as the alter self spell. At 7th level, you can assume the form of a Small or Medium animal, as beast shape I. At 11th level, you can assume the form of a Small or Medium magical beast, as beast shape III. At 15th level, you can assume a variety of forms, as greater polymorph. You can use this ability for 1 minute per day per oracle level. This duration does not need to be consecutive, but it must be spent in 1-minute increments. You must be at least 3rd level to select this revelation.

At 11th level you can also assume the large animal form of the beast shape III as well or is it just Small or Medium magical beast.


Why wouldn't you threaten above. If the creature is hovering above you and it only has a 5ft reach then it has to next to you in to attack you. It threatens you you threaten it. Just because the creature is flying doesn't change the rules.


In the Arms and Equipment Guide 3.5 on page 97(in the book) there's a magic weapon ability called Impact.

page 99 in the pdf
www.scribd.com/doc/6105229/arms-and-equipment-guide

Impact: +1 bonus
Any bludgeoning weapon with this ability has it's threat ranged doubled.


Martial are considered improvised weapon to a Monk of the Empty Hand. Would they get the bonuses to hit from these traits?

Combat Traits‎ > ‎
Surprise Weapon

You are skilled at fighting with objects not traditionally considered weapons.

Benefit: You gain a +2 trait bonus on attack rolls with improvised weapons.

‎Regional Traits‎ > ‎
Freedom Fighter

You come from a family of farmers, but are determined to fight for your rights.

Benefit: You gain a +1 trait bonus on attacks made with improvised weapons. If you do not possess the Catch Off-Guard or Throw Anything feats, you still take penalties on these attack rolls as normal.


blackbloodtroll wrote:

Using a Wand of Flame Blade, is like casting the Flame Blade spell.

Nothing changes how the spell functions.

It's an immaterial Scimitar of Flame, and you can attack with it.

Could you flurry with it if you were using Monk of the Empty Hand class?

Monk of the Empty Hand

The monk of the empty hand eschews normal weapons in favor of whatever is lying around—rocks, chair legs, flagons of ale, even a simple quill pen all become deadly weapons in the hands of such a monk. A monk of the empty hand draws on his own ki to infuse his improvised weapons with power, and can transform a broken bottle into a magical weapon.

Weapon and Armor Proficiency

Monks of the empty hand are proficient with the shuriken only. A monk of the empty hand treats normal weapons as improvised weapons with the following equivalencies (substituting all of their statistics for the listed weapon): a light weapon functions as a light hammer, a one-handed weapon functions as a club, and a Two-handed weapon functions as a quarterstaff.


blackbloodtroll wrote:

Wait.

Trying to combine Flame Blade with Weaponwand?

Maybe use the Weaponwand spell, on a Flaming improvised weapon?

A wand of Flame blade.


Would a flame blade wand be considered an improvised weapon when casted?
Could be use in conjunction with Monk of the Empty Hand.


Slacker2010 wrote:

It gives access to all tricks.

This would be a problem for a rogue cause a rogue does not have a Ki pool to activate Forgotten Trick.

EDIT: Yes, Rogue levels and ninja levels are effectively the same thing as the ninja is an alternate version of the rogue.

I'm 2 levels in rogue and going the rest of the way Monk so Ki pool isn't a problem. I'm taking Extra Rogue talent Ninja Trick(Acrobatic Master)and Extra Rogue talent Ninja Trick(High Jumper)to give it the feel of the old martial arts movies from the 70's. (Five Deadly Venoms)


Does Forgotten Ninja Trick give you access to all the Ninja Tricks you don't know or is it just one trick and one trick only.

Second question. If a rogue chose takes the rogue talent ninja trick and chooses Forgotten Ninja Trick would he his rogue levels count as ninja levels for the duration of the trick.

1 to 50 of 290 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | next > last >>

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.