Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Hag Eye Ooze

James Risner's page

RPG Superstar 7 Season Marathon Voter, 8 Season Marathon Voter. Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Cards, Companion, Maps, Modules, Pawns, Roleplaying Game, Tales Subscriber. FullStarFullStarFullStarFullStar Pathfinder Society GM. 5,464 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 11 Pathfinder Society characters.

Owner of D20 Hobbies


RSS

1 to 50 of 5,464 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | next > last >>
Scarab Sages **** Owner - D20 Hobbies

I've played a couple of all Martials. One was 6x Pregen Fighters. Was fun, all combats done before round 2.

Scarab Sages **** Owner - D20 Hobbies

Finlanderboy wrote:
Some DMs want to be adversarial and wreck peoples fun at the tables.

Then I need to be clear, when I say some GM interprets the rule in a certain way. They always interpret in that way and they believe it is supposed to be interpreted that way.

Scarab Sages Owner - D20 Hobbies

Dirty Fighting Handbook has a good archetype for Unchained Monk.

Scarab Sages Owner - D20 Hobbies

E20?

Scarab Sages Owner - D20 Hobbies

I didn't do a good job of explaining my points.

I was saying the GM could let it work because we are talking about Level 12+ items.

Or we could say (as a GM deciding to change things) that it doesn't negate any penalties if by gaining those penalties you are also gaining benefits.

Scarab Sages Owner - D20 Hobbies

Is this passive voice I've heard developers talk about? The use of "prepare"? Or is that more like "you may" and such?

Scarab Sages **** Owner - D20 Hobbies

FLite wrote:

Plaid, I don't *think* James is advocating for crossbow mastery getting no benefit. I think his position was that MDC should be treated the same as DC for Crossbow mastery.

I think he was further making the separate point that you could run in to a GM ... [that says] ... I am just going to say it doesn't."

I might avoid that GM in future

You very accurately understood my point. I'd also avoid a GM that said it had no effect, but I won't say he isn't following the rules. Rules are interpreted and he is following his interpretation.

Scarab Sages **** Owner - D20 Hobbies

plaidwandering wrote:

objecting to your statement that you could see it as not aided in any way by crossbow mastery.

That goes beyond the table variance

No, it goes to interpreting RAW. Rules are interpreted. If you don't share someone's interpretation, you don't gain permission to reject theirs.

Scarab Sages Owner - D20 Hobbies

There is a recent con boon (player or GM I'm unsure) that allows you to apply a boon from another character to your current character. So if you are like me and you got this faerie dragon on a fighter, you can apply it to your next wizard by expending it on the fighter and using the con boon to apply to the wizard.

Scarab Sages Owner - D20 Hobbies

The Ring of inner Fortitude is probably more powerful than it should be, especially when used to negate beneficial effects with detrimental drawbacks.

As GM you are free to Rule 0 it as not negating any drawback of a beneficial thing until the benefit has lapsed.

You could also just let it work as written, it is a 12th level character or higher WBL item.

Scarab Sages Owner - D20 Hobbies

All those objections are probably why I've never seen a single GM allow that property. Ever.

Scarab Sages **** Owner - D20 Hobbies

plaidwandering wrote:
James Risner wrote:
you could see it as not being aided by Crossbow Mastery.
How do you figure?

Minotaur Double Crossbow printed in 2008.

Crossbow Mastery printed in 2010.
Crossbow, Double also printed in 2010.

You have to be pretty pedantic GM to conclude that Minotaur Double Crossbow doesn't have the same reload with Crossbow Mastery as Double Crossbow.

So if you don't agree with my rules interpretation, then expect table variance.

Scarab Sages **** Owner - D20 Hobbies

I'm totally seeing this for the first time. Just downloaded the journal cards.

Scarab Sages **** Owner - D20 Hobbies

FLite wrote:
no verbiage about crossbow mastery, you can reload it as a free action with crossbow mastery

That will absolutely result in table variance. You could see it as a free action and you could see it as not being aided by Crossbow Mastery.

Scarab Sages **** Owner - D20 Hobbies

Imbicatus wrote:
the Minotaur double crossbow is superior in to the standard double crossbow, which applies a static -4 to attacks.

Missed that. So -4 vs -2 and no wording about Crossbow Mastery.

Scarab Sages **** Owner - D20 Hobbies

Looks to me like the Minotaur crossbows applies a static -2 to attacks in exchange for +20 ft distance and no verbiage on using with Crossbow Mastery?

Scarab Sages Owner - D20 Hobbies

Thanks Quandary!

Scarab Sages Owner - D20 Hobbies

Guided is attack and damage, but it is also 3.5 and considering agile is damage only and limited to a more restricted list of weapons, I don't think many GMs would or should allow guided in pathfinder.

Scarab Sages Owner - D20 Hobbies

Doomed Hero wrote:
It sounds like the Spirit Talker/Arcane Enlightenment combo is only really useful for casting spells that can take effect within the hour that the character has access to them.

Actually Shaman are prepared casters, so they need to spend 1 hr memorizing spells. Which means that by the time they are done memorizing, they have lost those spells they memorized.

I supposed you could memorize spells on Monday at 8 am, then leave 4 slots open. Then on Tuesday when you get Arcane Enlightenment, you could spend 15 minutes to memorize one into an unused and intentionally left open spell slot at 8:10 am. Then at 8:35 am cast that one spell.

Scarab Sages Owner - D20 Hobbies

Nigrescence wrote:
You don't make any sense at all.

Sorry, I assumed you knew enough about PFS to get the way it works. I now assume you are not familiar.

In FPS, you may not choose any option unless:

1) It is in the Core rules and not prohibited in Additional Resources.

2) You have a chronicle sheet like the one that permits you to take a Faerie Dragon (not on the Additional Resources sheet, but a sheet of paper entitling to you to take the Faerie Dragon specifically by name.)

3) You have sufficient wealth (if it costs money or prestige points) or qualify by the pre-reqs, and it is specifically allowed in the Additional Resources page.

Assuming these 3 bits of base knowledge, I was asking you:

Which sentence on the Additional Resources page did you see it permitting Improved Familiars by page in a book and that page in that book listed Faerie Dragon.

Scarab Sages Owner - D20 Hobbies

Nigrescence wrote:
Pretty sure that as long as you have the feat, are seventh level, and your alignment is within one step of Chaotic Good, you may select it as your familiar.

You check the additional resources and found it on one of the page references listed as allowed? Not the one where it was listed but was in a "Improved Familiar ... may choose ... except ... faerie dragon" section.

Scarab Sages Owner - D20 Hobbies

Mark Seifter wrote:
You can take the utility talent expanded defense. You just can't take a defense straight-out.

Nice to get a confirmation!

Scarab Sages Owner - D20 Hobbies

So you can't take a defense talent, but you think taking a utility talent that the only benefit is you take a defense talent is ok?

Whether or not Herolab is right, you absolutely will see table variance on this subject until there is an FAQ saying you can or can not take Expanded Defense.

Scarab Sages Owner - D20 Hobbies

Sunder yes applies
Golems and all constructs no doesn't apply
Animated objects. No doesn't apply

Scarab Sages Owner - D20 Hobbies

Chess Pwn wrote:


doesn't matter if their already prepared, you can't use your slots to cast them once they are off your list.

+1

Anything else leads to a very pedantic way to read the rules, which is known to be foreign to the way they are written.

Scarab Sages Owner - D20 Hobbies

Rynjin wrote:

Number 2.

-Prestige Classes
-Arcane Strike
-Crafting Feats

assuming Paizo knows best in every rules alteration they make, and that they don't understand their ruleset well enough to understand even the basic ramifications of said ruling.

I know the rules very well, and I couldn't think of Arcane Strike and Crafting Feats when I asked what else.

I don't assume that Paizo is more perfect than myself, which is why I assumed Option 1. That they didn't think of Arcane Strike or Crafting when they made that FAQ.

graystone wrote:
NOTHING about Arcane Strike or Crafting Feats.

Which is consistent why my experience, as I forgot about those until mentioned here.

Scarab Sages Owner - D20 Hobbies

graystone wrote:
Things like arcane strike feat entry that where unrelated to PrC entry

So a few (you only listed one) minor ways?

You have a reason to believe they knew about these and narrowed their discussion to PrC entrance? As opposed to not realizing there were order corner case ancillary connections like Arcane Strike?

It comes down to:
1) They didn't think of Arcane Strike so they wrote PrC as an all inclusive list.
2) They knew about Arcane Strike and limited their scope to PrC only but decided to hit AS also.

Which is more likely?

Scarab Sages Owner - D20 Hobbies

graystone wrote:
The FAQ ACTUALLY said that they might revisit early access to PrC in an extra line at the bottom of the FAQ.

I see. Well considering they never counted for anything in 3.5, some of us assumed the "revisit" line would apply in a more broad way.

Can you articulate a way this has impacted other than pre-reqs for PrC or other stuff?

Scarab Sages Owner - D20 Hobbies

graystone wrote:

When an FAQ says only part of it might get reversed, you get the same kind of reaction when it's ALL reversed.

If the entire FAQ was in question

I'm so confused.

The FAQ basically said "they count but wasn't intended to count, we might change".

They changed.

How is this a problem? They did what they said they might do? Reverse it.

Scarab Sages Owner - D20 Hobbies

Doesn't the ability swap Wis for Cha when you gain it via Spirit Guide?

Scarab Sages Owner - D20 Hobbies

Thanks! Hopefully more will think it's pretty and click FAQ!

Scarab Sages Owner - D20 Hobbies

Moospuh wrote:
The shaman can add a number of spells from the sorcerer/wizard spell list ... to the list of shaman spells she can prepare.

Spells known is basically the list of spells you may cast. The only problem with this ability is the "she can prepare" phrase.

I suspect the intent is to be able to cast them. So expect table variance, as you will have people key upon the "prepared" word.

Scarab Sages Owner - D20 Hobbies

Skylancer4 wrote:
Quote:
Yes. The feat says you can apply "effects that augment an unarmed strike," and the monk's increased unarmed damage counts as such.
It was called out to work. This is a flat out reversal after calling out that it worked.

That FAQ was from a thread asking if you could use your 1d3->2d6 bumps from Monk Unarmed to likewise bump your 1d6->4d6 bite.

They answered whether or not you can use your 2d6 Monk damage in place of your 1d6 bite. But never clearly confirmed or denied whether the "increased damage die" effects counted.

I and others kept asking if this was what that FAQ meant, and got nothing but silence.

Scarab Sages Owner - D20 Hobbies

Gauss wrote:
Correct, it is no longer solid to you, but it is still solid to them. You cannot drag them into the ground.

+1

Scarab Sages Owner - D20 Hobbies

Both work together, apparently one works only on your size or smaller.

Scarab Sages Owner - D20 Hobbies

LilyHaze wrote:

Wouldn't you be level 16 by the time this came online?

What level did you start at? I can't imagine playing from level 1 with 14 strength as an Oracle even, unless I rolled stats and had some weird results.

For me yes, but if I knew about doing it samsaran I'd have built differently ;-)

Level 1. Just finished RotRL. 28 months

Scarab Sages Owner - D20 Hobbies

LilyHaze wrote:

I'm actually really curious why you had all of that. Were you an Eldritch Knight of some kind?

and also can find an ice sculpture of said creature..

Half Elf Lunar Oracle Ancient Lorekeeper with Dreamed Secrets.

All the good spells from Cleric and Wizard spell list.

The game just about ended when I started doing simulacrum. I had to tone that down because the whole table basically said "what use do we have if he can create an infinite army of ancient red dragons.

Scarab Sages Owner - D20 Hobbies

LilyHaze wrote:
that's 9 points of strength damage all at once. Most wizards I know are created with 7-9 strength

In an AP my character had a blood reservoir of physical prowess and a ring of inner fortitude plus 14 str and belt of str.

I could do up to 23 STR in one go. 23 HD is good.

Had a staff with lesser restoration so Another pc would lesser me until I'm crying Nagios again.

Scarab Sages Owner - D20 Hobbies

Crimeo wrote:

Is there a rules text for this somewhere I am not finding

Because it doesn't say that in the magic section.

Yes

Quote:
Range: Touch

But this has already been shown to you in previous posts.

Scarab Sages Owner - D20 Hobbies

graystone wrote:
If this is true, then the old FAQ should be removed to prevent confusion/issues.

Yep

Driver_325yards wrote:
Nerf

Maybe, but the question of using unarmed damage dice and/or "using unarmed's 3 bump up in dice" to my slam attack was never adequately answered.

I suspect the "as well as things that augment unarmed" was to catch things like "Weapon Focus Unarmed" and not things like Monk unarmed.

So I'd say the language was removed to remove unintended consequences of the language.

Scarab Sages Owner - D20 Hobbies

Yes, to the FAQ is no longer valid.

FCT allows you to flurry with natural weapons now and apply the effects of any feat with IUS as a pre-req to your natural weapon.

Quote:

Choose one of your natural weapons. While using the selected natural weapon, you can apply the effects of feats that have Improved Unarmed Strike as a prerequisite.

Special: If you are a monk, you can use the selected natural weapon with your flurry of blows class feature.

Scarab Sages Owner - D20 Hobbies

claudekennilol wrote:
I've made at least two topics specifically asking how overrun works and I still have no idea what it does.

I played a character with Greater Overrun, Charge Through, and Elephant Stomp to level 10 before I gave up. I can tell you that just about every table ruled the various feats working differently. Of the 27 games maybe there were 20 different combinations of "that works this way, this works that way".

Scarab Sages Owner - D20 Hobbies

LilyHaze wrote:

Do keep in mind that Simulacrum requires an Ice Sculpture of the target and 500g per HD off the target.

In PFS thats rarely going to even be feasible

In PFS you say "I cast blood money for the sculpture and spend 12 hrs before the start of the module. I then cast some lesser restoration spells to heal the STR damage. I now have the use of this thing for the rest of the module at 0 gp cost.

LilyHaze wrote:
I may be jumping the gun a little on my, "strict grammatical approach," to things.

In general Paizo's writing is way above average for a book, especially a RPG book. But I wouldn't assume perfect grammar style in all cases.

LilyHaze wrote:
So, I suppose, RAW, it really can be either. Sooooooo...

This is all too common for things in debate.

Scarab Sages Owner - D20 Hobbies

It is interesting that the rage power was updated in unchained. It may be more clear now?

Quote:
Animal Fury (Ex): The barbarian gains a bite attack. This is a primary natural attack that deals 1d4 points of damage (if the barbarian is Medium; 1d3 if the barbarian is Small) plus the barbarian's Strength modifier. If made as part of a full-attack action with manufactured weapons, the bite attack is made at the barbarian's full base attack bonus – 5, and she adds only 1/2 her Strength modifier to the damage roll. The barbarian can make a bite attack as part of the action to maintain or break free from a grapple. If the bite attack hits, grapple checks attempted by the barbarian against the target until the end of the round gain a +2 bonus.

Scarab Sages Owner - D20 Hobbies

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Valor Axeflail wrote:
LizD wrote:
Who should take feats such as Improved Overrun, the character or the mount?
This is one of those options I would avoid.

I strongly suggest avoiding Overrun all together. It has massive table variance without adding the complication of who needs it (rider or PC).

Risner

Scarab Sages Owner - D20 Hobbies

Rathendar wrote:
yes, that is correct...is this a serious question?

I'm sure it was serious. Every PC has teeth in their mouth and fingers and toes.

Scarab Sages Owner - D20 Hobbies

I'm guessing you looked at the errata not the book?

The book says:

Quote:
At 8th level, the master of many styles can fuse three styles at once. He can have the stances of three style feats active at the same time. He gains a bonus on attack rolls equal to the number of styles whose stances he currently has active. Furthermore, he can enter up to three stances as a swift action.

Scarab Sages **** Owner - D20 Hobbies

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Imbicatus wrote:
Any ETA on Dirty Tactics Toolbox legality? I love this book so much.

I'm totally playing with 2 or more features from that book. Playing level 1 characters now (pregens) and hoping it lands before I hit level 2.

Scarab Sages Owner - D20 Hobbies

LilyHaze wrote:
so why not petition the officials and get a clear answer

I'm sorry. I wasn't saying "don't hope for this." I was more saying, don't play if you don't get an official without being prepared to play a pregen as you say.

There are a very small percentage of issues that get FAQ treatment. We are still waiting for promised errata/faq on Overrun from 2009. Currently from experience, I'd strongly recommend not playing any character that focuses on Overrun. You won't have a good time.

1 to 50 of 5,464 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | next > last >>

©2002–2015 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.