|1 person marked this as a favorite.|
Dose by itself is not a certain amount, just like the word "amount" is not a certain amount by itself. Whereas a flask has a certain amount in Pathfinder (1 pint).
Sorry, I just can't let that go, it eats at me too much.
I think that I have to agree with Rysky on this.
Basically, there has to be a close proximity in value to the two components of the spell otherwise this throws the game economy out the window, (IMHO) and I'm not talking about the economics here in the rest of the imaginary world, just game economics.
Logically the two items must be closely related in value so they can be substituted, or at the very least it is certainly implied.
Secondly, as explained by Rysky by using the words "dose" it proscribes using a measured amount. A flask is a measure of an amount of water. It is defined and stated and by that standard can be described as a dose.
But you bring up a point, and Lorewalker I can totally see your point of view. I disagree with it, but I get it and respect it.
On the other hand by virtue of this discussion I now have a totally new image of how this spell is cast. It certainly implies to me (YMMV) that the recipient of the spell must ingest, or at the very least have the contents of the outsiders blood/unholy water placed on the wound of the injured. (gah) The things that desecrate water in my body is the image of nightmare fuel.
Based on so many traditions of having something unpure absorbed into your person for what ever reason is nasty stuff. I don't need rules for that, its unsettling.