Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Boggard

HelloMonty's page

Pathfinder Society Member. 27 posts (29 including aliases). 3 reviews. 1 list. 1 wishlist. 2 Pathfinder Society characters. 1 alias.




Cleric Cloud subdomain:

Thundercloud (Su): At 8th level, you can, as a standard action, summon a storm cloud. This power functions as fog cloud except that creatures inside the cloud are deafened and take 2d6 points of electricity damage each round from the flashes of thunder and lightning. Once created, you can concentrate on the cloud to move it up to 30 feet each round. You can use this ability for a number of rounds per day equal to your cleric level. These rounds do not need to be consecutive.

At my table, there are two competing interpretations of this:

1) The storm cloud lasts only as long as you are willing expend your "number of rounds per day equal to your cleric level", and immediately dissipates when you don't wish to expend any more of those rounds. With your remaining rounds, you can summon and move a new cloud just the same.

2) Once you summon a cloud (using one round of your ability), the cloud stays and dissipates according to the fog cloud rules. No further rounds of your ability are expended unless you choose to spend one to move the cloud, as stated in the rules.

It seems to me that both of these interpretations are compatible with the "These rounds do not need to be consecutive" clause. The real question is: what is the duration of the fog cloud?


Just wondering about the mechanics of the Body Shield feat. Specifically, I am wondering if the user of this feat should declare it before the incoming attack roll is made. It seems to me that it should be declared (otherwise you could just wait until you got hit and declare it), but it doesn't actually say that. Some other immediate actions DO say this (Duelist/Parry says it must be declared before the attack roll).

I figure it will go down like this at my table: Enemy successfully grapples PC caster. PC warrior declares he will attack the enemy. Before he rolls, I declare the enemy will use its Body Shield feat and put the caster in the way of the attack. The warrior will then say "well I will do something else then".

Now, you could go back and forth about whether the warrior would or would not know this was happening and could react to it, and whether or not this was metagaming, so I think this is best resolved as a rules mechanics issue:

It seems to me that once someone has declared an attack, and an opponent has expended his immediate action to react to it, even if the roll hasn't yet been made, the attack must proceed as normal. But I don't see this in the rules anywhere.

Thoughts?


I have a couple questions about Issilar's stat block.

spoiler:

Why does his Imunity Fire say 60 points? Shouldn't it be 72 (6x12)?

Also, why does he have four 3rd and six 2nd level spells. Shouldn't it be 3 and 5? I'm sure I am missing something, but I can't find it.


I can't figure out how the First Mate, in the Game Mastery Guide, p295, gets 4 attacks when wielding 2 short swords.

Melee +1 short sword +15/+10 (1d6+6/17–20) or
+1 short sword +13/+8 (1d6+6/17–20), +1 short sword +13/+8
(1d6+5/17–20) or
+1 short sword +13/+8 (1d6+6/17–20), mwk whip +11 (1d3+1
nonlethal)

I get the 2nd attack on the offhand from Improved two-weapon fighting, but what about the main hand? What am I missing?


I have a halfling cavalier with a riding dog mount in my campaign. I am wondering, are there some animal companion stats for riding dogs somewhere? Like 4th/7th level advancement bonuses? I can't find them.

It seems odd to me that I can find companion stats for something so unlikely as elasmosaurus, but not so bloody obvious as a riding dog.


Crystal ooze on a successful hit, causes 1d6+1, plus 1d6 acid, plus grab, plus toxin for Fort save DC20 or become paralyzed for 3d6 rounds? That seems pretty harsh for CR4. Plus its immune to lots of stuff. What am I missing? I'm afraid it's going to kill my four 5th level players.


The shocker lizard's Shock (Su) text says:

"Shocker lizards can deliver an electrical shock to a single opponent within 5 feet. This attack deals 1d8 points of nonlethal electricity damage to living opponents (Reflex DC 12 half). This save DC is Constitution-based."

So is it a Reflex save or a Con save? This looks like an error to me, but maybe someone can point out something I've missed.


Not sure if anyone has commented on this yet. Since updating my iPad to iOS 4.2 a few days ago, I no longer have this issue:

http://paizo.com/paizo/faq#v5748eaic9na5


©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.