Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Enga Keckvia

Happler's page

Pathfinder Society Member. 1,914 posts. No reviews. No lists. 1 wishlist. 1 Pathfinder Society character.


RSS

1 to 50 of 1,914 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | next > last >>
Cheliax

RumpinRufus wrote:

Oh, also, are we missing this part of the spell?

Stone Shape wrote:
While it's possible to make crude coffers, doors, and so forth with stone shape, fine detail isn't possible.

Without proper faceting (which isn't possible using the spell,) there's no way that the final diamond will be worth 20,000 gp. You'll end up with a rough diamond that still needs to be cut and polished. So I think by RAW this idea really doesn't work.

But once again, if you think it's funny, just do it anyway!

Nothing states that it has to be a cut diamond. Only diamond that be worth the set value.

Things like this always get weird when you start to ask value to whom? A large uncut diamond would be worth a great deal to a gem cutter (who can cut it to their own desire). But that is a level of economics that almost no RPG gets into. Gold is always worth "x" per ounce, never changing by location, time, etc..

That being said, the fact that stone shape only works on a single piece of stone at a time kills the whole idea more.

I do think that I like the Pathfinder answer of using diamond dust worth "x" instead of single gems for spells. A little simpler in the long run.

Cheliax

Rogar Stonebow wrote:
But that is my point. When someone defines himself as a wizard, one has a basic understanding of whom that person is, one who studies the arcane. When one is known to be an oracle, one knows that they are cursed and thus derive their power from it. It's the curse that drives an oracle to pursue a great mystery and gain revelations.

Still slightly off topic I know, but I always viewed it the other way.

The oracle is cursed due to the raw, unfiltered touch of the divine. I view it as the mortal characters are unable to deal with the raw power and normally need it filtered via ritual (spell casting). Thus they are cursed because they have their powers and not the other way around. This raw, unfiltered divine touch is also what makes it almost impossible to remove the curse.

As to other classes with granted powers having negative effects stacked on, There is always the Paladin.

I agree, it is mostly RP and not mechanical, but to me, that is part of the fun.

Cheliax

MrTsFloatinghead wrote:
Happler wrote:


But what about the Druid and Wizard spell lists. After all that line is also in the Shared spells feature for their Familiars/Animal Companions.

This may just give me a reason to play a cleric with the animal domain and the boon companion feat.

Right, and the same reasoning applies - the first line is clearly not meant to say they can ONLY cast personal range spells on their familiars/companions, etc., because that would make them WORSE at buffing their familiars, not better. Plus, again, generally speaking there just aren't spells with range of personal and type restrictions - I've found exactly one so far: Paragon Surge, with a range of "Personal (half-elf only)". Everything else seems to be "Range: Personal" and "Target: You" or "Target: You and <blah blah blah>", all of which would be captured by the first line.

So, my cleric could cast Rapid Repair on my Animal Companion and grant them fast healing 5.

Cheliax

MrTsFloatinghead wrote:
Bacondale wrote:
MrTsFloatinghead wrote:
Mathwei ap Niall wrote:

share spells wrote:
The summoner may cast a spell with a target of “you” on his eidolon
enlarge person wrote:
Target one humanoid creature
Quote:

Share Spells (Ex)

The summoner may cast a spell with a target of “you” on his eidolon (as a spell with a range of touch) instead of on himself.
It's the second line that allows Enlarge Person on an Eidolon.

But a target of "you" is not a target of "one humanoid creature".

Spells that target "you" are personal range spells.

So? The first line is a benefit, not a restriction. The intent of the ability is clearly not to limit Summoners to ONLY casting personal range spells on their Eidolons.

Moreover, given that I'm not sure there ARE any spells that have both a range of "personal" and a "type" restriction on the Summoner's list (or any list, for that matter), it seems like your interpretation would render the second line meaningless.

But what about the Druid and Wizard spell lists. After all that line is also in the Shared spells feature for their Familiars/Animal Companions.

This may just give me a reason to play a cleric with the animal domain and the boon companion feat.

Cheliax

Nothing in Toppling spell states anything about attack rolls:

for reference

Quote:

Toppling Spell (Metamagic)

Your spells with the force descriptor knock the affected creatures prone.

Benefit: The impact of your force spell is strong enough to knock the target prone. If the target takes damage, fails its saving throw, or is moved by your force spell, make a trip check against the target, using your caster level plus your casting ability score bonus (Wisdom for clerics, Intelligence for wizards, and so on). This does not provoke an attack of opportunity. If the check fails, the target cannot attempt to trip you or the force effect in response.

A toppling spell only affects spells with the force descriptor. A toppling spell uses up a spell slot one level higher than the spell's actual level.

Cheliax

To answer your question about the damage. Per the spell, you take 3 missiles, each with 1d4+1 damage.

Going off of that, I would say 1 trip attempt per missile.

Cheliax

From a GM point of view, this seems like a perfect weapon to have some kind of curse effect on it as well.

I might just have to give that to an NPC in a future game.

Cheliax

Rikkan wrote:

You need an "off-hand" to use Two-Weapon fighting in the first place. Thus if you have no "off-hand" you can't use Two-Weapon fighting.

You might not be able to use flurry of blows either, depending on how you interpret "as if using the Two-Weapon Fighting feat".

Except the FAQ states that you can make a flurry of blows with only one weapon.

FAQ link

Quote:

Monk Flurry of Blows: When I use flurry of blows, can I make all of the attacks with just one weapon, or do I have to use two, as implied by the ability functioning similarly to Two-Weapon Fighting?

You can make all of your attacks with a single monk weapon. Alternatively, you can replace any number of these attacks with an unarmed strike. This FAQ specifically changes a previous ruling made in the blog concerning this issue.

So, you do not need an "off-hand" to use Flurry of blows. It can all be with one weapon.

Cheliax

I agree with Brf. "Fire" is not an object. The object in question is the thing on fire.

The fire would be invisible, but still give off light and heat.

(marks idea down for a trap involving invisible, red hot coals lined down a hallway of a fire based creatures house... )

Cheliax

Yep, looks right to me.

BTW, that feat (blind fight) is what I always thought of when the core book states:

Quote:
Characters who remain blinded for a long time grow accustomed to these drawbacks and can overcome some of them.

Cheliax

well per the PRD:

Quote:
Blinded: The creature cannot see. It takes a –2 penalty to Armor Class, loses its Dexterity bonus to AC (if any), and takes a –4 penalty on most Strength- and Dexterity-based skill checks and on opposed Perception skill checks. All checks and activities that rely on vision (such as reading and Perception checks based on sight) automatically fail. All opponents are considered to have total concealment (50% miss chance) against the blinded character. Blind creatures must make a DC 10 Acrobatics skill check to move faster than half speed. Creatures that fail this check fall prone. Characters who remain blinded for a long time grow accustomed to these drawbacks and can overcome some of them.

so


  • -2 penalty to AC
  • additionally, loses Dex bonus to AC (which also leaves them open to sneak attacks)
  • -4 on most STR and Dex based skill checks, and on opposed Perception checks
  • fails checks and activities that rely in site
  • all opponents have total concealment (50% miss chance, blinded character cannot make Attacks of Opportunity)
  • make a DC 10 acrobatics check (with the -4 penalty above) to move greater then 1/2 speed, fail check and fall prone.

That about covers it all..

Cheliax

My best guess at this:

a) the total travel distance is 10' but you only jump over the 5' chasm. Think of them as stepping to the edge (2.5 feet), leaping over (5 feet), distancing yourself from the edge for combat (2.5 feet). This makes the DC for a standing jump as a 10.

b) same idea as the first one. Total movement is 20' with a 10' jump in the middle.

c) I have not run into this often enough for a good answer on this one. I would follow this rule from the core book:

Quote:
Accidentally Ending Movement in an Illegal Space: Sometimes a character ends its movement while moving through a space where it's not allowed to stop. When that happens, put your miniature in the last legal position you occupied, or the closest legal position, if there's a legal position that's closer.

this would put him at the edge of the chasm that he started on. (But that is just how I would play it).

Cheliax

blackbloodtroll wrote:

3,4,5.

You will need special feats, class features, and/or items to do 1 and 2.

I always forget about the specials for those, thanks for mentioning them.

Cheliax

Any combat maneuver that you can do in place of a melee attack.

For example Disarm states:

Quote:

Disarm

You can attempt to disarm your opponent in place of a melee attack. If you do not have the Improved Disarm feat, or a similar ability, attempting to disarm a foe provokes an attack of opportunity from the target of your maneuver. Attempting to disarm a foe while unarmed imposes a –4 penalty on the attack.

Disarm can be used in place of any melee attack (including AoO).

The others that will work (that I know of) are:

Disarm
Trip
Sunder

The rest take standard actions, and thus cannot be done on an Attack of Opportunity.

Cheliax

Lets look at a specific hex:

Quote:
Evil Eye (Su): The witch can cause doubt to creep into the mind of a foe within 30 feet that she can see. The target takes a –2 penalty on one of the following (witch's choice): AC, ability checks, attack rolls, saving throws, or skill checks. This hex lasts for a number of rounds equal to 3 + the witch's Intelligence modifier. A Will save reduces this to just 1 round. This is a mind-affecting effect. At 8th level the penalty increases to –4.

Am I aware of them?

Are they within 30' of me?
Can I see them?

If the answer to these questions are "yes", they can be effected by the hex.

This may be an exception, but is an example where it would work. Nothing here states that it needs line of effect.

The issue here is that Supernatural abilities are not really described as a whole (since they can be very different) and are expected to have the info per ability. For example, and Alchemists bombs would be stopped by the wall, since they specify a ranged touch attack (which does need to follow LoE but not LoS by default). But there is limited info in the hex descriptions on "targeting" them. And nothing in the rules anywhere to provide a "general rule" for targeting (Su) abilities. So, you must resort to the text listed in the ability description, which, for most hexes, just states "creature within 'x' feet of the witch".

Add into it stuff like "scar" which allows a witch to hex a target up to a mile away. This to me points that LoE is not as important with a witch.

I have no problems being proven wrong, I just need to see where in the book it states that (Su) abilities, unless other wise stated, follow the same targeting as (Sp) abilities, which is the same as targeting a spell (you must have LoE and be able to see or touch your target).

Cheliax

blackbloodtroll wrote:

I still don't think there is anything, that everyone, can agree, works with Conductive.

Vendetta?

Lay on hands? (Being that it is the listed example in the description...)

Cheliax

Just to help back this up. Enlarge person states this, note the highlighted last line:

Enlarge Person wrote:
Any enlarged item that leaves an enlarged creature's possession (including a projectile or thrown weapon) instantly returns to its normal size. This means that thrown and projectile weapons deal their normal damage.

It does not state ammunition from a projectile weapon. But that projectile weapons deal their normal damage. Projectile weapons are a defined term in the Core book (quoted below) and are separate from their ammunition:

Quote:

Projectile Weapons: Blowguns, light crossbows, slings, heavy crossbows, shortbows, composite shortbows, longbows, composite longbows, halfling sling staves, hand crossbows, and repeating crossbows are projectile weapons. Most projectile weapons require two hands to use (see specific weapon descriptions). A character gets no Strength bonus on damage rolls with a projectile weapon unless it's a specially built composite shortbow or longbow, or a sling. If the character has a penalty for low Strength, apply it to damage rolls when he uses a bow or a sling.

Ammunition: Projectile weapons use ammunition: arrows (for bows), bolts (for crossbows), darts (for blowguns), or sling bullets (for slings and halfling sling staves). When using a bow, a character can draw ammunition as a free action; crossbows and slings require an action for reloading (as noted in their descriptions). Generally speaking, ammunition that hits its target is destroyed or rendered useless, while ammunition that misses has a 50% chance of being destroyed or lost.

So, it does not state that ammunition does normal damage, but that the projectile weapon deals normal damage (as opposed to the size increased damage). So, yes, ammunition does damage based on the size of the weapon that fires it, and the spell states that the weapon itself does normal damage. The specific that overrides the general is that the projectile weapon does normal damage.

Cheliax

Dropping the info for it here:

Quote:

Kitsune Star Gem

Aura faint transmutation; CL 1st (1st), 3rd (2nd), or 5th (3rd)

Slot none; Price 750 gp (1st), 3,000 gp (2nd), 6,750 gp (3rd); Weight —

Description

This magical jewel glows like faerie fire, shedding light as a candle. It acts as pearl of power, except it only allows a kitsune to recover a spent use of a spell-like ability of the appropriate spell level.

Construction

Requirements Craft Wondrous Item, creator must be a kitsune; Cost 365 gp (1st), 1,500 gp (2nd), or 3,375 gp (3rd)

It does not state that it is limited to the spell-like abilities granted by the race alone. My best guess would be any spell-like ability of the appropriate level (1st, 2nd, or 3rd depending on which version you purchased) . So a Kitsune summoner could, in theory, recover the use of their class "Summon Monster I" ability..

Cheliax

Scrogz wrote:

I am not an expert on the crafting rules by any stretch of the imagination. I would like to build some light catapults.

By the book, a light catapult costs 550GP to purchase.

What would be the cost to construct and how much time would it take assuming my character has the Engineering skill? Is there a DC associated?

On a related note, if I fire Alchemist Fire how long would it burn after it lands?

Scrogz wrote:

I am not an expert on the crafting rules by any stretch of the imagination. I would like to build some light catapults.

By the book, a light catapult costs 550GP to purchase.

What would be the cost to construct and how much time would it take assuming my character has the Engineering skill? Is there a DC associated?

On a related note, if I fire Alchemist Fire how long would it burn after it lands?

So, per the book, you would convert the price of the item into silver (5500 sp). Then per week you make a craft skill roll. If the result X the DC (which I would put as a martial weapon, DC 15) equals the price in silver, then you have finished the catapult. You would also pay 1/3rd of the price in raw materials. For the catapult that is about 183 gp.

So, if you have a character with a total to craft as 15, and take 10, it would take you about 15 weeks to complete yourself (craft of 15 + 10 * Dc of 15 = 375 silver per week, 14 2/3's weeks to finish). You could shorten that by having others help with each making their own rolls and adding to the total value worked. For example, another worker of the same level, could lower the time to about 7 weeks.

At least this is my understanding of RAW.

Cheliax

Eldmar wrote:
Maklak wrote:
Personally, I'd dump 1 point into it to unlock it and on later levels get it to where I can take 10 on a DC 20 check.

As far as I understand the rules, you can never take 10 on the UMD skill.

That is true. From the end of the skill:

Quote:

Action: None. The Use Magic Device check is made as part of the action (if any) required to activate the magic item.

Try Again: Yes, but if you ever roll a natural 1 while attempting to activate an item and you fail, then you can't try to activate that item again for 24 hours.

Special: You cannot take 10 with this skill. You can't aid another on Use Magic Device checks. Only the user of the item may attempt such a check.

And you cannot take a 20 due to this ruling:

Quote:
Since taking 20 assumes that your character will fail many times before succeeding, your character would automatically incur any penalties for failure before he or she could complete the task (hence why it is generally not allowed with skills that carry such penalties).

Since you take any failures, taking 20 on UMD automatically assumes that you roll a 1, and thus cannot try again for 24 hours.

Cheliax

PatientWolf wrote:
Mojorat wrote:
Tossing a wand in the air and catching it should be a move action, well at the very least catching it. Really what the op wants to do is not remotely possible in one round. In fact i am not sure he can do it in two.
The tossing and catching is just fluff description. It is really irrelevant. He could draw one wand, Wildshape and assume Snake Style in one round easily. It is the extra wand that he couldn't technically do.

He wants to toss and catch to avoid this line from the Magic section of the PRD:

Polymorph wrote:
When you cast a polymorph spell that changes you into a creature of the animal, dragon, elemental, magical beast, plant, or vermin type, all of your gear melds into your body. Items that provide constant bonuses and do not need to be activated continue to function while melded in this way (with the exception of armor and shield bonuses, which cease to function). Items that require activation cannot be used while you maintain that form.

Since, by default, even a humanoid elemental is still an elemental and thus all his gear would meld into the new form. Since the wand would be merged, it would not be usable (at least per RAW).

Cheliax

Out of curiosity, what action would it be to remove a shirt and put on a new one? I know that donning a chain shirt (armor) takes 1 minute. I have a feeling that donning a normal shirt is a 1 full-round action and most likely generates an attack of opportunity at the minimum.

Cheliax

FAQ:

When do I count as having a class feature?

Quote:

When do I count as having a class feature?

You have a class feature when your class description tells you you gain that class feature, generally based on your level in that class (and perhaps altered by factors, see below).

If you have an archetype or other rules element that replaces that class feature, you do not have that class feature. For example, if your archetype replaces a rogue's sneak attack, you no longer have the sneak attack class feature (whether a requirement is as general as "sneak attack" or as specific as "sneak attack +1d6," you do not qualify for it).

If you have an archetype or other rules element that replaces part of a scaling class feature, or delays when you get that class feature, you do not have that class feature until you actually gain that class feature.
Example: If you have a fighter archetype that replaces weapon training 1 (but not weapon training 2, 3, and 4), you don't gain the weapon training 2 ability until fighter level 9, which means you don't have the weapon training class ability at all until you reach fighter level 9. Anything with "weapon training" or "weapon training class feature" as a prerequisite is unavailable to you until level 9.
Example: If you have a cleric archetype that replaces channel energy at level 1 (but not later increments of channel energy), you don't gain the channel energy ability until cleric level 3, which means you don't have the channel energy class feature until you reach cleric level 3. Anything with "channel energy" or "channel energy class feature" as a prerequisite is unavailable to you until level 3.
Example: If you have a witch archetype that replaces your hex at level 1 (but not later hexes, major hexes, or grand hexes), you don't gain your first hex ability until witch level 2, which means you don't have the hex class feature until you reach witch level 2. Anything with "hex" or "hex class feature" as a prerequisite is unavailable to you until level 2.

—Pathfinder Design Team, 07/09/13

So, per this, since extra Discovery has the pre-req of the discovery class feature. You cannot take the feat until you gain your first discovery @ level 2.

Cheliax

Some Random Dood wrote:
I don't think it's generally a good use of resources, but it could be useful in certain situations.

The best use I have seen for conductive is an elf Alchemist. When needed, you can spend 2 bombs to hit something with a bomb from a much greater distance using a conductive longbow (100' range increments with a max of 10 increments instead of a normal bomb's 20' increments with a max of 5).

It is also nice that you do not have to use the bombs until the ranged weapon hits. At that point you have the choice to use the 2 bombs to activate or not. This can save bombs over the explosive missile discovery.

Cheliax

Cevah wrote:
Devilkiller wrote:
Actually, I think a wand of Haste would cost 11,250gp at "Ye Olde Magic Shoppe" or the local magical mega-mart since Haste appears on the Sor/Wiz list as a 3rd level spell. It is really the cost to craft the item that I was wondering about though.

Earlier you wrote:

Devilkiller wrote:
I suppose another approach might be to use the rules for item pricing where spells are assumed to come from the Wizard list, then the Cleric list, then from...somewhere I can't remember. Does anybody know where those rules are listed?

This sequence reference is the order of determining arcane or divine spell-like abilities found in the bestiary (here). No relation to magic item pricing. Since a Summoner can cast Haste as a 2nd level spell at 4th level, the price is 6000 per CRB. If you don't want to allow alternate casters to drive the price of an item due to early access, then you have a house rule.

/cevah

Of course, for that extra 5,250 gp for the wizard version, you are paying for it to hit an extra person and last 1 round more.

If this is not enough of a difference for most people to notice, then you think that the summoner would just sell it at the higher cost (since it may be the more common cost).

Cheliax

Darche Schneider wrote:

Actually.. I would hazard on a no for that.. But at the same time, huh. That is some interesting things I didn't know as far as a character builder type of things went.

Does Goblin/Dwarf Subtype in the character builder automatically cost 1 or 2 points?

I could be wrong, but from my quick search, the only subtypes that cost in the race builder in the Advanced races book is half-undead, and half-construct.

Cheliax

♣♠Magic♦♥ wrote:

So, I'm starting out a druid at level one and this is the first time I've played a prepared caster.

I'm doing the easy thing and putting most of my point buy into Wisdom.

I have a wisdom of 18 and am playing a druid at level 1.
It says you get all the bonus spells you are capable of casting. And to cast a spell you must have Wis of at least spell level+10.
So if I had the spells per day of it, I could concievably cast level 8 spells.

With the bonus spells per day, I get extras of 1 first, 1 second and 1 third.

Do I only get the extra first level spell because that's as far as my normal spells per day go or do I get a single second and third level spell a day?

If the former, it seems kind of lame (even at lvl 1) that a druid can cast a grand total of 2 useful spells a day.

If it is any help, they answer this in a FAQ:

FAQ Link

Quote:

Bonus Spells from a High Ability Score: Can I use these even if my spellcasting class level isn't high enough to give me access to those spell levels?

No. You only get the bonus spells if your class level grants you access to those spell levels. You can't even use them for lower-level spells. See page 16, Abilities and Spellcasters section: "In addition to having a high ability score, a spellcaster must be of a high enough class level to be able to cast spells of a given spell level. "

For example, a 1st-level wizard with 18 Intelligence has (according to table 1–3: Ability Modifiers and Bonus Spells) 1 bonus spell at spell levels 1, 2, and 3. However, he can only use the 1st-level bonus spell because as a 1st-level wizard he only has access to 1st-level spells (his class-based number of 2nd- and 3rd-level spells per day are "—", meaning "no access to spells of this level"). As soon as he becomes a 3rd-level wizard, he gains access to his 2nd-level spell slots and can use that bonus 2nd-level spell slot from his high Intelligence, and likewise for 3rd-level spells and bonus spells at wizard level 5.

Basically, ignore the columns for higher-level spells on table 1–3: Ability Modifiers and Bonus Spells until your class grants you access to those spell levels.

—Sean K Reynolds, 07/21/11

Cheliax

Torbyne wrote:
Forseti wrote:
Of course bane and favored enemy will work with it. They are pretty straightforwardly effects related to race. Or cause such effects, if you will.
Wait, what? You cant have it both ways; your statement requires you to re-interpet the clearly written rules alrady out there for Bane and Favored Enemy. Both abilities require a check against Type and Sub Type. They dont care if you are half-elf, drow, Elf or any other flavour of tree hugging hippy, all they look for is Type: Humanoid (Elf). Even your previously quoted spell allows you to pretend a creature has a different Type so your Favored Enemy bonus can apply. If you hold that Racial Heritage does include counting as if you have a different sub type than i need no supporting comment from a developer, just look at the existing rules on how these abilities work.

Just curious, if my human cleric took "Racial Heritage, Goblin", by your reading would I gain Stealth as a class skill?

from the PRD:

Quote:
Goblinoid Subtype: Goblinoids are stealthy humanoids who live by hunting and raiding and who all speak Goblin. Goblinoids treat Stealth as a class skill.

Since I would now be a Human (type: Humanoid, Subtype: Human, Sub-Subtype: Goblin)?

Of if it was dwarf instead of Goblin, would I gain 60' darkvision?

Quote:
Dwarf Subtype: This subtype is applied to dwarves and creatures related to dwarves. Creatures with the dwarf subtype have darkvision 60 feet.

?

Just trying to understand your point of view better.

Cheliax

Well, maybe "Oil of Cure Moderate Wounds" would work.

Cheliax

I know the the general rule states:

Quote:
Note that all items have prerequisites in their descriptions. These prerequisites must be met for the item to be created. Most of the time, they take the form of spells that must be known by the item's creator (although access through another magic item or spellcaster is allowed). The DC to create a magic item increases by +5 for each prerequisite the caster does not meet. The only exception to this is the requisite item creation feat, which is mandatory. In addition, you cannot create potions, spell-trigger, or spell-completion magic items without meeting their spell prerequisites.

The bolded section states that, in general, you can use other spell casters or magic items to cover the spell prerequisites for a magic item. The last line does not counter act this statement (other then to reinforce that you need the spell prereqs for potions, spell-trigger, or spell-completion items and cannot bypass them by adding +5 DC).

The only part in question is under creating wands and staves where it says:

Creating Staves wrote:
The creator must have prepared the spells to be stored (or must know the spells, in the case of a sorcerer or bard) and must provide any focus the spells require as well as material component costs sufficient to activate the spell 50 times (divide this amount by the number of charges one use of the spell expends).

and

Creating Wands wrote:
The creator must have prepared the spell to be stored (or must know the spell, in the case of a sorcerer or bard) and must provide any focuses the spell requires.

But this is highly similar to the text in magic weapons, armor, rings, and wondrous items.

Craft Weapons wrote:
If spells are involved in the prerequisites for making the weapon, the creator must have prepared the spells to be cast (or must know the spells, in the case of a sorcerer or bard) but need not provide any material components or focuses the spells require.

To me this all states that you do not need the spell personally, only that you need to have it available each day. So crafting a wand of Cure Moderate wounds (price 4500 gp, 5 days to craft), could be done with 5 cure moderate potions and a wizard with the Craft Wands feat.

Cheliax

The big thing for me was the "move action to teleport". Having a standard left to do things is a pretty big thing with that kind of movement. You are, after all, getting 30' movement that provokes no AoO, and can bypass most all barriers (wall of force for example), and still allows you to cast another spell, attack, or any other standard action afterward.

Note, I am only looking at it from a combat point of view. Also, from my point of view, it feels right power wise for a standard at that level.

Cheliax

Yeah, I was going to ask if it was more powerful then a "quickened Dimension door" (verbal only, swift action, effectively a level 8 spell). I think that it is. (limited to 30', but more then 1 jump per casting, move action so you still have a standard action afterwards, etc). I, too, vote for the standard action.

Cheliax

I would go with the last book released: Ultimate Equipment.

UE Poisons

This puts Belladonna @ 100 gp and Wolfsbane @ 500gp.

Cheliax

I would say no action or free action.

This is only to commend them to move, they are still limited to a move speed of 100' / round (and I would have them move on the casters initiative).

but I can find nothing in the rules to clearly state that myself.

Cheliax

I think that I am getting dizzy with the amount of circles this thread is going in.

Cheliax

2 people marked this as a favorite.

Sounds like a surprise round.

Cheliax

VargrBoartusk wrote:


Okay.. One fluff is not rules until someone official says so.. At witch point I'll concede the argument and stop patronizing the company. Not over the tail attack thing but over a company making its descripive fluff part the mechanics without letting me reskin visuals how I want to. The text on humanoids I'll grant you is more binding but it also says usually. It also says nowhere that you cannot have a tail as a human or as an elf or as anything else. It also doesn't say anywhere you need a tail in your descriptive fluff to make a tail attack. All of these things are RAW...

You are more then welcome to reskin the visuals as you wish (aka house rule them to be different then what is stated in the book). But the default visuals for a Kobold include a tail, and the default visuals for a half-orc do not.

Part of the design of the game is this, If you own the core book, you should be able to join in someone's game with limited difficulty. (Especially in a PFS game). If you want to reskin the visuals as you put it, you would need to give the player the list of changes (and other house-rules) that you use in your game. Otherwise they will assume that the races are as described in the book.

Cheliax

For those saying that humans don't have arms and legs due to lack of description in the fluff text. They do not need to put it in the fluff text, since it is already called out by the creature type of Humanoid.

Quote:

Humanoid

A humanoid usually has two arms, two legs, and one head, or a human-like torso, arms, and a head. Humanoids have few or no supernatural or extraordinary abilities, but most can speak and usually have well-developed societies. They are usually Small or Medium (with the exception of giants). Every humanoid creature also has a specific subtype to match its race, such as human, giant, goblinoid, reptilian, or tengu.

The only time it would need to be called out in the description of the race, is when the humanoid race differs from this description.

Cheliax

VargrBoartusk wrote:
Xaratherus wrote:

The description block for the kobold race calls out that they have a tail. That's also true for catfolk, ratfolk, merfolk, and vanara. While the kitsune do not mention it in the descriptive text, it's implied they have one because of the "extra tail" statement in the racial Magical Tail feat.

And if this is true many races don't have arms and legs because the descriptive fluff block doesn't mention them. You can't have it both ways.

You are right, it is not called out in the fluff block, it is in the creature type:

Quote:

Humanoid

A humanoid usually has two arms, two legs, and one head, or a human-like torso, arms, and a head. Humanoids have few or no supernatural or extraordinary abilities, but most can speak and usually have well-developed societies. They are usually Small or Medium (with the exception of giants). Every humanoid creature also has a specific subtype to match its race, such as human, giant, goblinoid, reptilian, or tengu.

Cheliax

So the Tail terror feat does not cause there to be a tail. And the Racial Heritage (kobold) feat does not cause there to be a tail. So, per RAW, neither of these feats cause a tail to exist.

So, the tail must preexist for the Tail Terror feat to be used with it?

What causes the tail in the Half-orc to begin with?

Cheliax

So a kobold who (for some reason or another) lost their tail (mostly RP change since the tail has no other mechanical bonus), who took the tail terror feat, would grow one?

Cheliax

So, are you stating that the Racial Heritage (kobold) feat causes you to grow a tail, or that the Tail Terror feat causes you to grow a tail?

Pardon me if this was already asked.

Cheliax

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Link to the FAQ to help out:
FAQ

Cheliax

Methabroax wrote:
I've read through the Kobold entry a few times in the PFSRD, nowhere does it mention that THEY have tails...

Kobold in the PRD

Quote:

Kobold

This short, reptilian humanoid has scaled skin, a snout filled with tiny teeth, and a long tail.

Cheliax

Abraham spalding wrote:

Magic bypasses DR -- it's not a 'normal' attack.

Damage Reduction

Quote:

Whenever damage reduction completely negates the damage from an attack, it also negates most special effects that accompany the attack, such as injury poison, a monk's stunning, and injury-based disease. Damage Reduction does not negate touch attacks, energy damage dealt along with an attack, or energy drains. Nor does it affect poisons or diseases delivered by inhalation, ingestion, or contact.

Attacks that deal no damage because of the target's damage reduction do not disrupt spells.

However:

Quote:
Early Firearms: When firing an early firearm, the attack resolves against the target’s touch AC when the target is within the first range increment of the weapon, but this type of attack is not considered a touch attack for the purposes of feats and abilities such as Deadly Aim. At higher range increments, the attack resolves normally, including taking the normal cumulative –2 penalty for each full range increment. Unlike other projectile weapons, early firearms have a maximum range of five range increments.
I would argue that means it's not a touch attack for damage reduction.

Thanks for pointing that out, not sure how I missed that line in DR.

and wow, that is a cross-refference and RAI hell to figure out, I could see that easily missed by many new gamers.

Cheliax

KainPen wrote:

Should be negative energy as it is necromancy spell. but it does not state it like the other touch attack necromancy spells. Thus it remains a untyped. As a touch attack has no type. Touch attack specifically called out to ignore DR along with any effect they yield.

Same goes if you sneak attack with Vampiric touch all the damage stays untyped and ignores dr.

Can you point me to the rule where touch attacks are called out to bypass DR? I am curious as to how they interact with the ranged touch attacks of firearms.

Cheliax

KainPen wrote:
Bizbag wrote:
I personally think Vicious would be overpowered if it were that easy to mitigate or ignore it. It's an insidious magic device; I see it as an untyped backlash.

I don't think it would over powerd because what is good for the goose is good for the gander and it fall right in the same place as other weapon enchantments. They lose their effectiveness as you level. Because dr would apply to the 2d6 extra that is done. At the early levels it is very strong but at later levels it is nothing. What maybe 2-12 points of damage to what you attack. If that has dr/- it is reduced same as wielder. Dr 3/- gets it to 0 to 9 averages 3 points of damage.

The problem is it is untyped. untyped becomes the same type as what is causing the damage, if it is fire untyped becomes fire, if it negative energy is becomes that, if it is slashing it becomes slashing, which is physical damage which DR. effects. All Dr works on the effect but magic works on it as the weapon is already magical.

In this case it comes when it is on a weapon it becomes piercing ect. This the rules on untyped damage as I stated earlier they don’t suddenly change for vicious. Now if you have a flaming weapon, you could argue vicious becomes fire damage instead piercing, ect. As the untyped energy damage that is listed. Following the rules of untyped damage should become another form of energy before physical type. Which may make for some useful effects and it would simulate the 3d6 energy epic level weapon powers in 3.5. even this would not be super powerful as it is subject to ER.

So, what type of damage does Vampiric Touch?

Quote:
You must succeed on a melee touch attack. Your touch deals 1d6 points of damage per two caster levels (maximum 10d6). You gain temporary hit points equal to the damage you deal. You can't gain more than the subject's current hit points + the subject's Constitution score (which is enough to kill the subject). The temporary hit points disappear 1 hour later.

Since, per you, untyped does the same damage as what is causing it, it is 1d6 "touch" damage per caster level?

Cheliax

On a side note, what category is a bastard sword if it has the transformative magic ability?

Assuming a bastard sword sized for a medium character, would it be considered a 1-handed weapon (since it is listed as a one-handed exotic weapon), or a two-handed weapon? The FAQ in question does not really clear that up...

Cheliax

Not sure on the answer so dotting this for future.

I am looking at getting this feat for my Trickery(deception)/Chaos cleric. As he has mirror images and mislead (both of which would be great fun to use with this as a melee cleric).

Cheliax

Torbyne wrote:
But mechanically you have paid the same resources as a Kobold for the same benefit (ignore my previous question about D4/D6 for the moment) Would you also argue that Racial Heritage (Tiefling) wouldnt let you take Armor Of The Pit as humans dont normally have scaly skin and gain no benefit from the feat? Or Expanded Fiendish Resistance as the first line reads "You gain extra fiendish resistances." and you dont have any existing resistances before this feat?

Would you allow a half-orc with racial heritage (kisune) to take the feat "Realistic Likeness"?

For those who do not want to look it up:
Realistic Likeness

When you are in human form, you can take the shape of a specific individual.

Prerequisite: Kitsune.

Benefit: You can precisely mimic the physical features of any individual you have encountered. When you use your racial change shape ability, you can attempt to take the form of an individual, granting you a +10 circumstance bonus on Disguise checks made to fool others with your impersonation.

1 to 50 of 1,914 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | next > last >>

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.