From the core book about performing a combat maneuver:
When you attempt to perform a combat maneuver, make an attack roll and add your CMB in place of your normal attack bonus. Add any bonuses you currently have on attack rolls due to spells, feats, and other effects. These bonuses must be applicable to the weapon or attack used to perform the maneuver. The DC of this maneuver is your target's Combat Maneuver Defense. Combat maneuvers are attack rolls, so you must roll for concealment and take any other penalties that would normally apply to an attack roll.
Thus per RAW, Black Tentacles would have to roll for concealment (unless they change it to state that the tentacles have blind sight/true seeing or something similar that allows them to detect all targets).
Nothing in the bad of holding section states that the bag must be closed. The exact sentence is:
" If living creatures are placed within the bag, they can survive for up to 10 minutes, after which time they suffocate."
What items are giving you skill points/int?
If you remove the items, your base int for skill points would be 18 (base + racial).
If you add a Headband of Vast Intelligence +2 then instead of adding skill points that you spend, you add the skills that are set on the headband. (this is per the bolded section below from the item):
This intricate gold headband is decorated with several small blue and deep purple gemstones. The headband grants the wearer an enhancement bonus to Intelligence of +2, +4, or +6. Treat this as a temporary ability bonus for the first 24 hours the headband is worn. A headband of vast intelligence has one skill associated with it per +2 bonus it grants. After being worn for 24 hours, the headband grants a number of skill ranks in those skills equal to the wearer's total Hit Dice. These ranks do not stack with the ranks a creature already possesses. These skills are chosen when the headband is created. If no skill is listed, the headband is assumed to grant skill ranks in randomly determined Knowledge skills.
So, if this headband has Kn: arcana attached to it, then whomever wore the headband for 24 hours would have access to their level in ranks of Kn Arcana.
D'oh, I blame pre-coffee Danka!
Due to Medium Elemental being a Summon Monster IV (4) and not a Summon Monster VI (6) spell, I think that the OP meant a maximized Summon monster 4 (so a 7th level slot). Otherwise, why summon 5 medium elementals for a 9th when you could be summoning 5 huge elementals for that same 9th..
Not that this does not change it much (still corner cases for usability), but I have made that typo in the past myself.
A monk's unarmed strike is treated as both a manufactured weapon and a natural weapon for the purpose of spells and effects that enhance or improve either manufactured weapons or natural weapons.
states that both Bless Weapon and Align Weapon would work on a monk (Align weapon would work at least until the monk count as "Lawful" at level 10) .
David knott 242 wrote:
Yeah, it was a sad day when we changed away from Xaratherus's Rules forum to the more general Rules Questions... j/k
I think that the change was 3.5, but would have to check my books again. Honestly it hardly ever came up in most games that I was in.
Your Mystic theurge levels do stack. In the section on spells per day for MT it says this (I bolded the needed section):
Spells per Day: When a new mystic theurge level is gained, the character gains new spells per day as if he had also gained a level in any one arcane spellcasting class he belonged to before he added the prestige class and any one divine spellcasting class he belonged to previously. He does not, however, gain other benefits a character of that class would have gained. This essentially means that he adds the level of mystic theurge to the level of whatever other arcane spellcasting class and divine spellcasting class the character has, then determines spells per day, spells known, and caster level accordingly. If a character had more than one arcane spellcasting class or more than one divine spellcasting class before he became a mystic theurge, he must decide to which class he adds each level of mystic theurge for the purpose of determining spells per day.
Note your mystic Theurge levels do stack with Wizard and Cleric, but Wizard and Cleric do not stack with eachother.
For example, if you are a 3 Wiz/4 Cleric/ 2 Mystic Theurge, your casting levels are thus:
Wizard = 5 (3wiz + 2 MT)
You can use either of these to make magic items. This is one of the special features of the Mystic Theurge class.
On a related topic. I have only seen this once, but it caused some problems.
A character is under the misfortune hex (roll twice and take the lowest on all d20 rolls that turn) and then gets hit with the fortune hex (roll twice and take the highest once per turn).
When they go to use the fortune to make an attack how many dice are rolled?
It does not state that Fortune counter acts misfortune (and it would only for 1 roll per round).
We ended up saying that fortune over-ride misfortune for one roll a round.
But a normal precedent for all growing, evolving languages. The true horrid precedent is the addition of "Twerk" to the dictionary.. :(
that is right up there with the bored evil wizard casting explosive runes on about 1000+, one inch square pieces of paper each with a single letter on it and then scattering them over a city.
Hard not to read a piece of paper with just the letter "I" on it when it catches your eye.
As it would weigh 4 lbs, and a standard sap weighs 2 lbs, I would treat it as a Sap for a size L. This would make it an improvised two-handed weapon dealing 1d8 non-lethal damage base.
I am basing this off the note that:
1 Weight figures are for Medium weapons. A Small weapon weighs half as much, and a Large weapon weighs twice as much.
Yeah, I was thinking, if it's using your total, how do you calculate it as a non-caster using UMD?
that is a good question. UMD just says:
Use a Wand, Staff, or Other Spell Trigger Item: Normally, to use a wand, you must have the wand's spell on your class spell list. This use of the skill allows you to use a wand as if you had a particular spell on your class spell list. Failing the roll does not expend a charge.
Nothing about what the caster level is (since it does not matter for most spell trigger items).
My best guess comes from this line in using staves:
Using Staves: Staves use the wielder's ability score and relevant feats to set the DC for saves against their spells. Unlike with other sorts of magic items, the wielder can use his caster level when activating the power of a staff if it's higher than the caster level of the staff.
After reading that, I would guess that you would use the CL of the staff as the base. but I am not 100% sure on that.
There is a difference between Ability Damage (which does not change your ability score, only applies a penalty to the bonus from the score), and Ability Drain (which actually lowers your score).
Using your example.
Example A (Damage/penalty): character with a normal CON of 12 takes 8 con damage, their CON is 12, but they would apply a modifier of -4 to all CON based checks, and they would still need to get to -12 to be dead.
Example B (drain): character with a normal CON of 12 takes 8 CON drain, their CON is now 4 and would be treated as thus for all things that deal with CON, this would mean that they would only need to be dropped to -4 to be dead.
sorry, had to stop and read the spell..
This is just from my understanding.
So, you make a ranged touch attack as part of the spell to hit them with the lash
They can move around or attack as normal until one of the following happens:
Other than that, I am not sure. There appears to be nothing keeping the target in the 20' range during this time, and nothing stating what would happen if the target leaves or tries to leave the 20' range. My best guess (from the RAW on magic and the spell), is that the spell would end if the target left the range of the spell.
I would expect to see lines in the spell that state that the target gains the grappled condition, but there is nothing there.
From the Glossary:
Some spells and abilities cause you to take an ability penalty for a limited amount of time. While in effect, these penalties function just like ability damage, but they cannot cause you to fall unconscious or die. In essence, penalties cannot decrease your ability score to less than 1.
So, a Penalty to an ability score acts just like damage, but cannot drop a score to less then 1 and cannot cause you to fall unconscious or die.
Taking that in account, undead are immune to penalties to ability scores.
Per this FAQ
You can sunder as an AoO.
While they get to act in the surprise round, nothing states that they automatically go before the ambush (etc) (at least until the wizard is level 20, but at that time, many of the rules break down oddly). They still have to roll initiative, and are still considered flat-footed until they act. They just get the chance to act in the surprise round.
While this will give them the chance to act during surprise, it will not work 100% of the time (if they roll badly on init, and the enemy rolls well for example), and it cost everyone in the group a feat slot (which can be tough for some classes/builds). I do not think that it is overpowered.
MICHAEL DANNEMILLER wrote:
I was always under the assumption that retrieving components for spells, elixirs, and bombs where special case things that did not generate AoO. Unless you are counting it as a "Retrieving a stored object" action, which then takes the Move Action to do (instead of part of the spell casting action which is most likely a standard action).
This would make area effect spells ugly against the party.. :)
Flame blade would also not be a legal target.
Just curious on how it would not be a legal target.
It has a variable effect (1d8+1 per 2 caster levels). I understand how shillelagh is not (as it just treats a weapon as larger and has no variable effects listed), but flame blade seems to fit:
Here are the rules for maximize:
As for Vital strike, you attack with a flame blade as if it is a scimitar, if a feat is able to be used on a scimitar, you should be able to use it on a flame blade (improved critical, weapon focus (scimitar), etc). Can you use vital strike on a scimitar? If so, you should be able to use it on a flame blade.
Best guess. From the Additional Rules section of the core book:
Steel has a hardness of 10 (+2 for each +1 magical enhancement bonus it has) so the basic boulder helmet should have a hardness of 10 (assuming it is steel).
for its hit points, I would go with: 10 hp. (It adds a +2 AC vs crits, I am okay using that AC for the hit points of armor (AC x5))
I would give 5 AC for a standard helm, but a boulder helm states that it is reinforced.
Note, this is not RAW, but my best guess.
If you look at the spell Spiritual Weapon you get the following info:
The weapon that you get is often a force replica of your deity's own personal weapon. A cleric without a deity gets a weapon based on his alignment. A neutral cleric without a deity can create a spiritual weapon of any alignment, provided he is acting at least generally in accord with that alignment at the time. The weapons associated with each alignment are as follows: chaos (battleaxe), evil (light flail), good (warhammer), law (longsword).
Not sure how that plays into the cleric weapon profs though...
the lightning bolt is easy to center. It is a 120' line. Just have the line go 60' in front and behind the target, in the direction the shot came from.
The other answer I have seen is to treat the shot location as the origination point for the spell. Works for fireball as it would be the center, but for cones and lines, you choose the direction the spell goes from there. So, with the lighting bolt, it may start on the East side of someones square and go 120' West, going through the target square, and the next 24 squares west of the target.
Baleful Polymoprh has this line in the description:
Any polymorph effects on the target are automatically dispelled when a target fails to resist the effects of baleful polymorph, and as long as baleful polymorph remains in effect, the target cannot use other polymorph spells or effects to assume a new form.
So a druid under Wild Shape, would convert back to human, and then into the shape chosen for the BP.
Dragon Style permits you to move through difficult terrain with no penalty when you Run. I have a player with a move of 20, who wanted to move only 20 but while "Running" to avoid the difficult terrain. Is this permissable or to "Run" do you have move more than x2 your move (IE, faster than a "Hustle"). Yes, this was in a straight line, so we know that rule wouldn't be an impact.
Sure, nothing states that you have to move more than 2x your speed, but a couple of things make it not as worth it:
Run is a full round action (no matter how far you go). It states it in the first line of Run in the Combat section of the PRD:
You can run as a full-round action.
So they moved 20' as a full round action.
Also, unless they have the feat run(feat), they loose their dex mod to AC while running.
I would be tempted to ask this in the PFS boards then.
Or just wait to see if it gets an official answer or FAQ.
going off this, if this was a game I was running, I would say no penalties (not 100% sure on PFS though, I would think it would be the same).
I did FAQ the initial question though in hopes of getting it added to the FAQ.
Since the monk of the empty hand's flurry states:
Flurry of Blows (Ex): Starting at 1st level, a monk of the empty hand can make a flurry of blows using any combination of unarmed strikes or attacks with an improvised weapon. He may not make a flurry of blows with any other weapons, including special monk weapons. A monk of the empty hand's flurry of blows otherwise functions as normal for a monk of his level.
you have to take into account this line from the normal flurry:
A monk applies his full Strength bonus to his damage rolls for all successful attacks made with flurry of blows, whether the attacks are made with an off-hand or with a weapon wielded in both hands.
So, a monk of the empty hand, wielding a two handed melee improvised weapon, would only deal x1 str and not x1.5 str damage.
Per James Jacobs (not FAQ, but shows intent), they do not take the penalty as improvised weapons.
James Jacobs wrote:
so, for 10x the cost you gain one other gauntlet and an extra 8 lbs of weight to carry around, and do an average of 1 point more damage?
I think that I would rather just spend 10 GP and buy two spiked gauntlets and just punch people with them if I am in grapple. Heck, spend 10 GP (for a total of 20 GP, still 30 GP less then the armor spikes) and get a barbed vest for that extra 1 point of damage from time to time.
So, how does this FAQ effect the monk armed with a quarterstaff? Can he flurry with it in two-hands, and kick in the same round (assuming that he has the BaB for the strikes)? I know that they called out that Flurry is different the TWF (letting you do all attacks with the same weapon), but is it also different in this stand point?
Also, does this FAQ effect the Sea Knife?
Barry Armstrong wrote:
Nope Berry, only if you are trying to get more attacks then normal BaB.
Useful FAQ link:
Which basically states the same thing, don't take the penalty, unless you are trying to get more attacks then normally allowed by BaB.
All the following do not cause the two-weapon fighting penalty.
this would include the following single attacks also:Longsword at +6
Mace at +6
Hmm, a "divine" trickster that is a rogue/druid...
The druid spell "Spike Stones" would be a great one to use. At Character level 14 (3 rogue/1 druid/10 trickster), they would cover 4,400 sq feet (one 20-fq square per CL, CL 11), and do 1d8(spell) + 7d6 (sneak) damage per 5' of movement and last for 11 hours (aka, a don't follow me spell).
Other fun spells for this combo:
(sorry, just trying to think of what spells may work well with that surprise spell ability that are not normally in the arcane lists.)
Thinking on it. This makes "Heat Metal/Chill Metal" much uglier.
out of the 7 rounds of spell you would get this (at the above levels) to 5 different targets (each no more then 30' apart):
you are right, I do not think that this is game breaking, but adds some fun flexibility.
Agreed on the derailment. LOL
As for the other, it does not need to spell it out in Time Stop. "Range Personal" says it all. Spells with a range of personal do not effect anything else.
It is the same as saying that you have the shield spell up (another range personal buff spell), and gate in a creature. Does the gated creature also get the benefit of the shield spell? Of course not.
Time Stop is not a "control" or "de-buff" spell anymore. It is now a buff for the caster. It happens to be a buff that allows the caster 1d4+1 rounds of extra actions, but it is still a personal range buff spell.
well, question 1 is easy to answer:
Question 1. Said wizard cast Time stop. On his first round he cast Gate (Calling Creatures) to summon a planar creature he knows and has a pre existing contract with (No need to bargain because the price has already been determined). Question: Is the creature under the effects of the Time Stop or is he simply frozen in place until the Time stop ends?
Time Stop does not effect anyone else in the area but the caster as it is a range personal spell. It does not stop time for everyone, but instead speeds the caster up so that everyone else appears stopped (which is why it has no Saving Throw or Spell Resistance). Since you do not share spells with summoned or called creatures, it would be there, but stopped, until the time stop ended.
For a basic run, you can find it at the top of the page here:http://paizo.com/pathfinderRPG/prd/magicItems.html
It basically states this for magic items:
Also, some items state it in the stat block. For example, a ring of protection states:
As for it detecting invisible things, it takes 3 rounds.
First round would be simply "There is magic before you".
Second round would be, "There are x (replace x with number of aura's) magic aura's before you, the strongest is (faint/moderate/strong/overwhelming)"
and the Third would be (after a successful Kn (Arcana check) vs an invisible npc with +1 leather armor and a +1 dagger), "There appears to be some illusion, abjuration, and evocation magic in that square."
Now if this is an invisible creature, illusion over a trap, or something else is not answered.
this also assumes that the invisible thing does not move after that first round and only stands still.
Speaker for the Dead wrote:
It says it right in the spell description for the light spell...
But in the official PRD:
Not sure where the pfsrd pulled that chunk of text...