|1 person marked this as a favorite.|
Okay, it was nice of folk to drop links to relavent rules, however, I think better seing it all put together. I initially thought, WOW Ssalarn has come up with an amazing combo here! I was rethinking all sorts of character concepts. So, I dropped the rules in a word document and started looking at them together. I do not think it can work together. The quick answer of Vital Strike and Charge cannot be used together seems to apply.
Here are the rules.
Mounted Skirmisher (Combat)You are adept at attacking from upon a swift moving steed.
Prerequisites: Ride rank 14, Mounted Combat, Trick Riding.
Benefit: If your mount moves its speed or less, you can still take a full-attack action.
Normal: If your mount moves more than 5 feet, you can only take an attack action.
ChargeCharging is a special full-round action that allows you to move up to twice your speed and attack during the action. Charging, however, carries tight restrictions on how you can move.
Charging is a special full round action. It is not move and attack... But, it is the horse charging and not the rider...
If your mount charges, you also take the AC penalty associated with a charge. If you make an attack at the end of the charge, you receive the bonus gained from the charge. When charging on horseback, you deal double damage with a lance (see Charge).
At first, this seems to agree with the fact it is the horse charging and not the rider! But let's look at Spirited Charge.
Spirited Charge (Combat)Your mounted charge attacks deal a tremendous amount of damage.
Prerequisites: Ride 1 rank, Mounted Combat, Ride-By Attack.
Benefit: When mounted and using the charge action, you deal double damage with a melee weapon (or triple damage with a lance).
Which brings us to the old whammy of vital strike ...
Vital Strike (Combat)You make a single attack that deals significantly more damage than normal.
Prerequisites: Base attack bonus +6.
Benefit: When you use the attack action, you can make one attack at your highest base attack bonus that deals additional damage. Roll the weapon's damage dice for the attack twice and add the results together before adding bonuses from Strength, weapon abilities (such as flaming), precision based damage, and other damage bonuses. These extra weapon damage dice are not multiplied on a critical hit, but are added to the total.
And not using them in charges.
Can Vital Strike be used with Spring Attack? Can Vital Strike be used on a charge?No. Vital Strike can only be used as part of an attack action, which is a specific kind of standard action. Spring Attack is a special kind of full-round action that includes the ability to make one melee attack, not one attack action. Charging uses similar language and can also not be used in combination with Vital Strike.
So, in conclusion, I would say that Vital Strike cannot be combined with Spirited Charge. Despite Mounted Skirmisher.
Too bad, I wanted this to work :P