My fiance and I played
Spoiler:and got the boon; she chose Jalmeray (a large island off the coast of Nex) as her special place, and is interested in playing the character in any scenarios/modules/sanctioned AP's etc. that take place there.
The Fabric of Reality
If you want information about Jalmeray (say to remind yourself where and what it is) I'd suggest looking at THIS LINK. Thank you to anyone contributing suggestions for what to play here.
*SPOILERS MAY FOLLOW IN OTHER POSTS AS WELL SAYING WHICH SCENARIOS/MODULES HAVE JALMERAY AS THEIR SETTING*
Relevant rules text:
Revelation: At 1st level, 3rd level, and every four levels thereafter (7th, 11th, and so on), an oracle uncovers a new secret about her mystery that grants her powers and abilities. The oracle must select a revelation from the list of revelations available to her mystery. If a revelation is chosen at a later level, the oracle gains all of the abilities and bonuses granted by that revelation based on her current level. Unless otherwise noted, activating the power of a revelation is a standard action.
Raise the Dead (Su): As a standard action, you can summon a single skeleton or zombie to serve you. The undead creature has a number of Hit Dice equal to your oracle level. It remains for a number of rounds equal to your Charisma modifier. At 7th level, you can summon a bloody skeleton or fast zombie. At 15th level, you can summon an advanced skeleton or zombie. You can use this ability once per day plus one additional time per day at 10th level.
I have been running this ability as having the same range as the Summon Monster/Summon Nature's Ally spells (that is, Close = 25'+5'/2 levels); is there anything to suggest a RAW/RAI range for this ability and/or that I'm doing it wrong?
Note that this is for a PFS character so RAW takes precedence for that, but as I don't know of any relevant text, I've been playing it based on intuition.
I'm moving east soon, and will be in one of these two places; specifically New York City or Storrs, CT (sort-of near Hartsburg, kinda?) and am investigating PFS opportunities in those areas.
Anyone know places to play in and around those two places? And/or who the current VC's are for those areas so I can e-mail them directly?
Thanks in advance for any information!
**stuff** I also have a build I could share that I've been avoiding playing for quite some time because I don't want to have to play it according to different sets of rules at different tables just because it makes some GMs go red in the face and drop their monocles.)The "Complicated Character Builds and Legality" thread has sparked my interest as to what people think are particularly complicated builds, and as Andrew Christian put it:
Andrew Christian wrote:
**stuff** We have yet to have any build posted that shows a complexity of the level being described.
So put on your thinking caps, loosen your belts ('cause tomorrow is Thanksgiving for us U.S.ians (that's Us-ians)) and post your favorite played or unplayed complicated build!*
*Bait for mousetraps = cheese if you didn't get the joke.
As you settle in for a night in this forest, you recall your journey’s beginning in a strange, dry ‘bathhouse’:
The burn-scarred form of Grandmaster Torch sits in the single tub before you, one of his two half-orc bodyguards stands nearby, his Kukri at the ready. A servant occasionally scoops some of the water from the tub to pour over one of Torch's many scars.
Giving you all an opportunity to talk to Torch as part of the flashback and introduce yourselves as you please to each other, when that's done we'll return to the "present" time which is: You're setting up camp at night in the Sanos Forest and hoping to find some trace of Jerome Keliks.
Here's the discussion thread; at present I'm expecting the following players (and have sent PMs accordingly):
Daron Woodson/Abandoned Arts
GM Razor/Ravagwen Darksbane
Just responded to a thread, and went to look up whether Master Craftsman from the CRB is PFS legal (I'm pretty sure it isn't). Well, it appears that (at present) there is no Additional Resources listing for the CRB. (Maybe I just fail at ctrl-F though). Anyway, if I am correct, you might want to look into remedying the issue!
Thanks for your efforts--I know you guys do a TON for us players.
I was reading this ability while thinking about creating a character, and realized that (at least to me) its function is quite unclear:
PRD Fascinate wrote:
The number of targets affected by level has been discussed elsewhere, and I believe it to be 1 at level 1, 2 at level 4, 3 at 7 and so on (i.e. 1+(1 more per 3 additional levels of bard)).
The range on fascinate is "90 feet, able to see and hear the bard, and capable of paying attention to him."
The biggest question in my mind is: if the bard uses Fascinate in an area with more targets than he can affect, how are the targets chosen, and in what order? I believe, depending on the answer to this question, this ability is either ridiculously underpowered, or quite overpowered.
Possibilities I see for how this works:
2) Bard picks "n" targets (underpowered: the target(s) save or not, if they all (all 1 of them for levels 1-3) save, then you wasted the ability)
3) Some combination: The bard picks the order in which things make the saves.
4) Some other intent entirely? (See the Celebrity and Demagogue archetypes for why I think it (probably?) works like sleep--what's the point of drawing together a crowd if you can only fascinate 1 guy and he fails his will save? Perhaps fascinate lets the bard fascinate (number of targets allowed for his level) PER ROUND (like at level 5 you get 2 members of the crowd in round 1, 2 MORE in round 2 and so on).
I'm wondering specifically how this works in PFS so I can decide whether to try a fascinate specialty bard or not.
I'm looking to make an Ifrit bard for a home game and specialize in Fascinating creatures:
The Hypnotic alternate racial trait give me +1 to the DC of my fascinate effects (i.e. the bardic performance, and if I cast it the spell Hypnotism)
(I've looked around on the boards and as far as I can tell you fascinate 1 person at level 1, 2 at 4, 3 at 7 etc. without this bonus).
SO: Advice I'm seeking:
I'm considering the Demagogue or Celebrity archetypes, (demagogue seems to be able to control the entire crowd gathered using its Incite Violence ability); should I consider any other archetypes?
Any cool ideas about what I can DO with fascinate/fascinated creatures (aside from incite violence)? And what feats/whatever do I need in order to do that cool thing?
I've written up a short adventure and am looking to playtest it with a couple of groups of players. I would like (but do not require) feedback at the end (even if it's just "That was cool!" or "You suck." I want to run the following groups:
1) Official Pathfinder pre-gens level 1 (group of 4-6)
The pregens are available on Paizo's GM Resources site on the right side under "Free Downloads;" Core rulebook and Ultimate Combat pregens are allowed.
If you're interested in playing please post/PM me:
b) Whether you want to run a pregen or your own character (remember, this is just for fun/testing, it's not going to be a campaign)
c) The level you want to play at (i.e. 1 or 4)
d) If you're making your own character, a link to your stats/etc.
e) Whether you are willing/able to play using Roll20 (http://www.roll20.net) or insist on PBP.
And of course, if you have any questions/comments you're free to post those as well.
I will try to form a couple of groups (depending on interest, the times people are available, and whether people want PBP or Roll20).
For PBP I really haven't done enough to estimate how long it will run. I ask players to be ready to post once per day (as that seems to be somewhat standard). I think I'm going to try using maps (I'll just make a Roll20 game and screenshot it or something) rather than combat-by-description.
Question for PFS: Can multi-classed arcane casters learn from themselves? For instance, if someone was a Wizard 1, Witch 1 could they teach their familiar spells (for witch purposes) from their own spellbook?
What about a sorcerer/wizard? Can he write down how to cast that sorcerer spell he knows?
Other combinations and their effects? (I've never played an arcane caster in PFS, so I have no idea how this would work, and I've read many threads regarding the significant cost of learning new spells by buying scrolls)
Core PRD wrote:
Upon reaching 4th level, and at every even-numbered sorcerer level after that (6th, 8th, and so on), a sorcerer can choose to learn a new spell in place of one she already knows. In effect, the sorcerer loses the old spell in exchange for the new one. The new spell's level must be the same as that of the spell being exchanged. A sorcerer may swap only a single spell at any given level, and must choose whether or not to swap the spell at the same time that she gains new spells known for the level.
Core PRD wrote:
At 3rd level, and every two levels thereafter, a sorcerer learns an additional spell, derived from her bloodline. These spells are in addition to the number of spells given on Table: Sorcerer Spells Known. These spells cannot be exchanged for different spells at higher levels.
I think this is fairly clear for a straight sorcerer--you cannot swap your bloodline spells (and that makes sense)... but what about a Crossblooded sorcerer (see below)?
Ultimate Magic PRD wrote:
Clearly in a home game one can ask the DM "Will you let me swap (at an even level) one of my bloodline spells for the same level spell of the other bloodline?" I want to know if this is something that was intended with Crossblooded, because RAW, it doesn't seem legal (and thus isn't legal for PFS).
NPC Gear Adjustments: You can significantly increase or decrease the power level of an NPC with class levels by adjusting the NPC's gear. The combined value of an NPC's gear is given in Creating NPCs on Table: NPC Gear. A classed NPC encountered with no gear should have his CR reduced by 1 (provided that loss of gear actually hampers the NPC), while a classed NPC that instead has gear equivalent to that of a PC (as listed on Table: Character Wealth by Level) has a CR of 1 higher than his actual CR. Be careful awarding NPCs this extra gear, though—especially at high levels, where you can blow out your entire adventure's treasure budget in one fell swoop!
Does this apply in the same way for classless NPCs? As in, if you give a goblin (CR 1/3) a masterwork short-sword, does it stay CR 1/3 or become CR 1 (or 2 or 3?)
(Before anyone comments, yes I realize these are guidelines, not exact values, but nonetheless:)
So, is this "uber" goblin CR 1, 2, or 3, or something else entirely? And does his XP value bump up to 400 xp (per Table: Experience Point Awards) or what? (Also, the Table: CR Equivalencies for multiple monsters confuses me quite a bit, or at least it falls apart at large groups of creatures.)
(I know as GM I can pretty much do whatever, but I want to make sure I'm doing proper challenges etc.)
Thanks for any advice/help with this one.
I'm thinking of making a gnomish Lone Ranger using 4 levels of Cavalier and the Horse Master feat, then the rest of the levels as a gunslinger.
Thus far, I'm looking at the Luring Cavalier archetype for the cavalier levels to give me the ranged challenge ability and using touch AC up to 2 range increments away.
For gunslinger I'm torn between Mysterious Stranger, either Pistolero or Pistolero with Gun Tank (I'll be in medium armor so losing nimble is fine). (Those are being considered for RP purposes as I really don't know the mechanics of gunslingers well; I've started reading through this guide but was hoping I might get some good advice here about how to build the character properly.)
I'm primarily asking for advice on 1-6:
7) Would a 1-level dip in druid (or Sable Company Marine ranger) be worthwhile to get a Roc/Hippogriff mount (loss of 1 BAB; lower HP; etc.)
8) Any other advice/suggestions/"this build will never work for the following reasons" (if so I may play it anyway, but at least I'll know in advance).
If a player takes 1 level in Sable Company Marine, does that change their companion list (i.e. the regular ranger companion list is badger, bird, camel, cat (small), dire rat, dog, horse, pony, snake (viper or constrictor), or wolf; Sable Company Marines must choose Hippogriff). How might this interact with the Cavalier class--can a Ranger (Sable Company Marine) 1/Cavalier 1 choose and ride a Hippogriff (which would seem to be on their list of available companions and is clearly a viable mount)?
d20pfsrd rules text:
You can gain a hippogriff as a companion. This ability works identically to hunter's bond when used to gain an animal companion, but can only be used to gain a hippogriff companion. You gain a +2 bonus on Ride checks made when riding your hippogriff companion, and whenever you are within 20 feet of your hippogriff, it gains a +2 morale bonus on all saving throws made against fear effects.
This ability replaces favored terrain 1 and hunter's bond.
This post is in the Pathfinder Society section because I want to use the idea for a PFS character; so please do not respond with "ask your DM," as that is exactly what I am doing.
treats her sorcerer level as 4 higher than normal for the purpose of determining what bloodline powers she can use and their effects.
1) cause sorcerers' abilities to gain four levels, and 2) cause sorcerers to GAIN abilities 4 levels sooner.
I know in PFS there are generally rules against "take the item off, put it back on, get a different bonus" (i.e. Headband of Vast Intellect and the like). But how does this robe interact with the Arcane Bloodline 9th level power:
New Arcana (Ex): At 9th level, you can add any one spell from the sorcerer/wizard spell list to your list of spells known. This spell must be of a level that you are capable of casting.
Seems to me that forcing a player who wears their robe at level 6 (when they can first buy it using fame for instance) to choose a new spell to learn (up to 3rd level spells possible) really makes for an unfair (and unintended) situation. If the same sorcerer waits until 9th level (or even 8th level) they can instead gain a 4th level spell known.
Even the ability to swap spells at even levels does not remedy this problem, as
The new spell's level must be the same as that of the spell being exchanged.
Thanks in advance for any responses addressing this issue.
Pathfinder PRD wrote:
Backpack, Masterwork: This backpack has numerous pockets for storing various items that might be needed while adventuring. Hooks are included for attaching items such as canteens, pouches, or even a rolled-up blanket. It has padded bands that strap across the chest and the waist to distribute its weight more evenly... When wearing a masterwork backpack, treat your Strength score as +1 higher than normal when calculating your carrying capacity.
Yes, I searched this issue; there are discussions about wearing both, they don't answer the following:
In Pathfinder Society play can a Bag of Holding/Handy Haversack be "upgraded" to have "Masterwork Backpack (linked, you have to scroll)" as their base form (i.e. pay the extra 50g, your bag of holding/haversack will have "Hooks ... for attaching items ... padded bands that strap across the chest and the waist to distribute its weight more evenly..." and (importantly) "When wearing a masterwork backpack, treat your Strength score as +1 higher than normal when calculating your carrying capacity.")
It seems to me that this should be the case, as there is no reason that a masterwork backpack cannot be used for crafting a bag of holding/haversack instead of a "regular" backpack.
(At the very least, the Haversack, which has multiple pockets like the Masterwork Backpack would seem to be subject to this upgrade).
Question regarding the (monster) elemental abilities whirlwind and vortex: PRD says whirlwind(and thus vortex, which references whirlwind) should be formatted as "whirlwind (3/day, 10–30 ft. high, 1d6+6 damage, DC 15);" however those abilities for (e.g small) elementals are written: "Special Attacks whirlwind (DC 12)."
2) What is the size category of an elemental in whirlwind form? -- A small air elemental on the size chart is:
However "The whirlwind is always 5 feet wide at its base ... A whirlwind's width at its peak is always equal to half of its height." So a small elemental's whirlwind is 5' at its base (same as a Huge one) but at the top it can be 10' to 20' in the air and 5' to 10' wide--which would seem to make it large (i.e. able to pick up medium creatures).
3) "The whirlwind can eject any carried creatures whenever it wishes as a free action, depositing them in its space" and "Another creature might be caught in the whirlwind if it touches or enters the whirlwind, or if the whirlwind moves into or through a creature's space." How do these two statements interact--if the whirlwind drops a creature in its own space, does the creature have to save again (or be picked up) on its turn? What about when the elemental turns back? (i.e. small air elementals can only maintain whirlwind for 1 turn, do creatures they pick up all stay in the same space piled on top of each other? Roll 1d8 to see which square they are ejected into like the Throw Splash Weapon rules?)
Thanks in advance for any advice on how this works.