|Paizo Pathfinder® Paizo Games|
|About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ|
Isaac Zephyr wrote:
All of those natural attacks would still be at appropriate penalty. My TWF character is actually an unarmed, so there are kicks and punches available, however how much she can do is still limited. Choosing any 2, if a character had say a bite and 2 claws, one is the primary attack, and the second is secondary (off hand), so you could pick a combination and still be limited as any other.
That isn't how Natural Attacks work.
GM John Napier wrote:
Masterwork armor only adds 150 gp to the cost. Also, Spell Storing armor now exists. Since that Armor Special Ability has a +1 equivalence, +1 Spell Storing armor has a +2 equivalent enhancement bonus. So the cost is 100 gp (chain shirt) + 150 gp (masterwork) + 4000 gp (+2 equivalent enhancement bonus) = 4250 gp.
@Malovec, I'm getting the cost of the equivalent enhancement bonus from the Armor and Shield Pricing by Bonus Table.
GM John Napier wrote:
Again, follow the above process for weapons. Unfortunately, again, Corrosive Burst isn't in the Core Rulebook. However, all other energy burst qualities are at +2, so your Acid Burst should be at +2 also. So, that's 20 (Great Axe) + 300 (Masterwork) + 18,000 ( +1 base enhancement, +2 energy (Acid) burst, total +3) for 18,320 Gold.
Your calculation is correct. Corrosive Burst is, indeed, a +2 equivalent enhancement bonus.
@Malovec, We are getting the cost of the equivalent enhancement bonus from the Weapon Pricing by Bonus Table. Note that the costs on this table are twice that on the Armor Table. Similarly the masterwork costs for the weapon are twice that of the armor. Armor is, magically speaking, cheaper than weapons.
All in wrist wrote:
blahpers' example is actually impossible since Alchemists don't have 7th level slots, but it is numerically correct. You use a single slot that is two levels higher than the highest level formulae in the combination. So if you have access up to level 4 extracts (say you were a 10th level Alchemist) then you could...
...combine two 2nd level formulae in a single 4th level extract slot.
But you could not combine a 3rd level formulae with any other formulae because that would require at least a 5th level extract slot which you don't have yet. Since you can never have 7th level or higher slots, you will never be able to combine a 5th or 6th level formulae with anything.
I see. The saves for using the Chakras. I somehow thought you were talking about a Chakra granting Cha Mod to your saving throws as a benefit like an Occult version of Divine Grace. Thanks.
Re-read the OP, and I don't see how this is an effective combination. You have to first find a way to use Sneak Attack against an opponent or just hope that you score a critical. If you pull off either of those then you get a chance to intimidate nearby opponents so that they are shaken for at least one round. If you manage to move and then hit any shaken opponent before the condition wears off then you can use Shatter Defenses to leave them vulnerable to your Sneak Attack for subsequent attacks. It seems like a long chain of somewhat iffy steps to get that Sneak Attack vulnerability.
A couple of additional options...
The Dazzling Trail portion of Equipment Trick (cloak) increases the duration of the Intimidation's demoralize effect by 1d4 rounds. (Plus a Rogue will probably get some use out of the Distracting Cloak portion.)
You can also use a Dazzling Radiance weapon which will blind and/or dazzle everyone within 15' when you use Dazzling Display.
This FAQ may answer some of your questions.
Mark Moreland wrote:
I just want to say that I think you all did a great job with Adventurer's Armory 2. It's one of my favorite Pathfinder purchases. And I definitely appreciate your participation in this thread.
It's a Race Trait from Humans of Golarion and requires that you be Ulfen, a human ethnicity, so I'm pretty sure that the race in question is human. d20pfsrd isn't allowed to use terms like Ulfen so I'm guessing that's why the entry is incomplete. Archives of Nethys is a much better source for Pathfinder information.
I might also point out that +2 Damage isn't worth jumping through an enormous number of hoops for. Martial Focus is half of Weapon Specialization, but lets you take weapon specialization feats, some of which are fun options.
There are also several Traits that give you a +1 trait bonus to damage.
- Shield Bearer (race): Shield.
- River Rat (region): Dagger.
- Quain Martial Artist (region): Unarmed Strike.
- Monk Weapon Skill (combat): Any one Monk weapon other than Unarmed Strike.
- Weapon Training (race): Bastard Sword, Battleaxe, Greataxe, Greatsword, Handaxe, Light Hammer, Longbow, Longsword, Shortbow, Short Sword, Throwing Axe, and Warhammer.
Combining the last one with Martial Focus (hammers, bows, axes, or heavy blades) would get you the numerical equivalent of Weapon Specialization with multiple weapons at once.
Mark Moreland wrote:
Dragonborn3 is correct. Proficiency does not affect the weapons in which one is proficient. So you need to take EWP to get proficiency with the hornbow. Weapon Focus needs to be Weapon Focus (hornbow) to affect this weapon, because you normally need to take it twice to affect both long- and shortbows, while a fighter's weapon training would apply to the hornbow because bows encompasses both long- and shortbows.
Thank you! I love getting insight from Paizo staff! And I now also have an answer to my longstanding gladius question. :)
Interesting that you think this is less questionable. I read "effects" as at least as broad "feats and abilities." That is, I think feats and abilities would both be considered effects.
Does Herolab assume that classes that grant short sword profiency but not proficiency with all martial weapons (Bards, Investigators, Rogues, etc.) are also proficient with the gladius?
Knowing that might help clarify how they are viewing proficiency.
Bob Bob Bob wrote:
Sorry, I was thinking about using it with Slashing Grace, Spell Combat, and similar things. My mistake.
Spell Combat prevents you from using a buckler. It is a form of TWF in which your spell counts as your off-hand weapon so you lose the buckler’s AC Bonus. The Skirnir archetype gets the 8th level ability Shielded Spell Combat to get around this. Other Magi can use Spell Combat while keeping the AC Bonus by taking the Unhindering Shield Feat.
It's been stated several times that bucklers can be used with two-handed weapons because they aren't actually used in the hand, they are strapped to the forearm.
Please cite these sources.
You normally can’t use a buckler while using a two-handed weapon. You can use a two-handed weapon with the buckler strapped to your arm, but you lose the buckler’s AC Bonus for that turn. (Plus you take a -1 penalty on your attack rolls.)
It is a Magus Arcana, not a Feat.
You aren’t technically required to have Spell Combat to select it, but i can’t imagine why you would want to do that since it would be useless if you didn’t have Spell Combat.
To use 3 claws and 1 bite while casting a Spell you would need to select the Arcana at least 3 times and have the Spell Combat Class Feature.
Mark Seifter wrote:
While Investigators don’t get Uncanny Dodge, they do have access to the Inspired Alertness Investigator Talent which I think of as Uncanny-Dodge-on-demand.
Inspired Alertness (Ex): Whenever the investigator becomes flat-footed, he can expend one use of inspiration to ignore that condition. He must be conscious to do so, and must decide to do so when he becomes flat-footed. Using this ability doesn't require an action.
Since it’s a non-action, I would think it could be used to remove the flat-footed condition as soon as the trap caused it. Then the Trap Sense Dodge Bonus would apply?
Mark Seifter wrote:
My Haunt Collector Occultist enjoys that.
Mark Seifter wrote:
Well, someone made sure that the Medium Spirit Bonuses included options for boosting any of the six ability checks. ;)
Mark Seifter wrote:
I don’t know. I never played 3.5. I went from 1st edition to Pathfinder with only a very short stop at 2nd edition.
The Ring of Force Shield doesn't block Magic Missiles.
Fair enough criticisms of the Summon Monster path. Perhaps I've gotten spoiled by the Occultist's standard action Servitor ability. ;)
It is true that you don't need cheap material components, but focus components are required just as they are for other types of magic.
richard develyn wrote:
Although there are some spells which are particularly called "ray", the term seems to have been used as flavour text in some places (e.g. Disintegration) leading me to believe that "ray" was never meant to be a game concept as such and that it is really just synonymous to ranged touch.
I am confused by your reading of Disintegrate using 'ray' as flavor text. That it is a ray is mechanically important.
I don't believe that there is such a table in print, but Ultimate Campaign suggests that the Designers incorporated the concept into the choices of slots.
Ultimate Campaign wrote:
There are still some items that don't fit into those patterns, though. The Snakeskin Tunic granting a +2 DEX Enhancement, for example.
I've never tried playing a Psychic, but it seems to me that they could be decent at summoning. You get the Summon Monster spells at the same levels as a Sorcerer. The Conjured Armor Phrenic Amplification can boost their AC, and you'd want the usual Spell Focus (conjuration) -> Augment Summoning chain to boost STR and CON. Note that the Summon Monster spells do require a Focus Component which psychic casters aren't exempt from needing, so casting them in fox form could be problematic. (I have a Psychic Detective with Superior Shapeshifter that I was building that way until I realized this would be an issue.)
The OP stated that this was for a PFS character, and Superior Shapeshifter isn't PFS legal.
CRB->Magic Items->Armor wrote:
Activation: Usually a character benefits from magic armor and shields in exactly the way a character benefits from nonmagical armor and shields: by wearing them. If armor or a shield has a special ability that the user needs to activate, then the user usually needs to utter the command word (a standard action).
That you can choose to deal no damage with an attack by taking a -4 penalty on the attack roll. (See "Normal" below.)
And a number of FAQs use the term, including this one which explains the use of the word (which matches Chemlak's description).
an "iterative attack" is an informal term meaning "extra attacks you get from having a high BAB"
I wouldn't consider the extra attacks from ITWF and GTWF to be iteratives because you don't get them from merely having a high BAB. You have to actually take feats to get them. That said, the successive -5 penalties is clearly meant to mimic that of iteratives.
Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, Starfinder, the Starfinder logo, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc. The Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Legends, Pathfinder Online, Starfinder Adventure Path, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.