Bullying Brawler

Gary Bush's page

FullStarFullStar Venture-Lieutenant 2,484 posts (2,489 including aliases). No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 24 Organized Play characters.


RSS

1 to 50 of 2,484 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | next > last >>
Liberty's Edge ** Venture-Lieutenant

The tiers are 1 to 4, not 1 to 3.

Unless you have tickets for the special 1-99, you can play a level 1 in a 1-4 adventure.

The GM will calculate the APL (average party level) to determine how challenging the adventure will be. If others at the table are playing 3rd and 4th level characters you could be pulled into a high tier.

If this happens, you can play a 4th level pregen that you can apply to you created character.

What adventures do you have tickets for?

You get 1 XP for each adventure and gain a new level every three XP earned. It sounds like you have not download the free guide to Starfinder Society.

Liberty's Edge ** Venture-Lieutenant

I agree you did the right thing. Saw way too much of GMing at GenCon.

Liberty's Edge ** Venture-Lieutenant

2 people marked this as a favorite.

I received notice and verified that all my remaining starfinder tables from last year are reported. Thank you Todd!

Now just to find a nice VC to help me with my player table..

Liberty's Edge ** Venture-Lieutenant

It seems to be that some of the starting locations for monsters/PCs are missing from the PDF.

Liberty's Edge ** Venture-Lieutenant

Pradeep Pradjeet wrote:
Gary Bush wrote:

The Guide is the General Rule. The Adventure is a Specific rule. So the specific rule in the adventure granting additional reputation overrides the general rule that only the faction that has a slotted champion boon gains reputation.

Page 5 of the Guide under the Faction tag wrote:
This tag generally corresponds to scenarios with additional Reputation awards for the association factions. {emphasis added}
Nowhere in any scenario with a faction tag, which I reviewed, does it indicate that the general rule is voided (the general rule indicating that only the slotted faction can be accrued on p.22). That is an interpretation not supported directly in the text. The interpretation I have provided does not have anyone reading into the text that which is not explicitly stated. I am not saying that this in not ambiguous. I feel that it is. But I am indicating my interpretation does not have me reading into what I feel the developers meant.

I was going to continue the debate but BNW found the post that directly answered your question.

I can understand your hesitation about being burned. But there are a number of trust worth folks on these forums. It just takes time to realize who they are.

Liberty's Edge ** Venture-Lieutenant

BigNorseWolf wrote:

Here we go

You gain the extra faction Reputation regardless of your specific champion boon. The intent is that a character might end up with a handful of Reputation in factions they don't typically champion, just by virtue of playing scenarios associated with those factions.

Straight from our insect overlords mou..mandible.. things...

I knew I had read it. Just didn't have time to go and find it.

Liberty's Edge ** Venture-Lieutenant

It is important to keen in mind that you use whatever key ability that you wish when calculating RP.

Also, I just realized that at 5th level you get a stat bump.

Should this question be moved to the rules forum?

Liberty's Edge ** Venture-Lieutenant

Arc's advise is good.

Liberty's Edge ** Venture-Lieutenant

My burning question is will my Aspis slayer specialized skills be useful in the special?

Didn't see the magic words I was hoping to see.

Liberty's Edge

Made the links!

Try these previous threads:

http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2um5y?Casting-spells-in-combat

http://paizo.com/community/blog/v5748dyo5ljv8?Five-Differences-Between-Star finder-Rules-and#29 <<--- This one is the official ruling.

Liberty's Edge

Dracomicron wrote:
... but remember that the pregens have versions at 1st, 4th, 6th, and 8th levels ....

There are 1st, 4th, and 8th level pregens and no 6th level.

Liberty's Edge ** Venture-Lieutenant

The Guide is the General Rule. The Adventure is a Specific rule. So the specific rule in the adventure granting additional reputation overrides the general rule that only the faction that has a slotted champion boon gains reputation.

It is that simple. You are over thinking it.

The process works like this....

At the start of an adventure, a player slots a Faction Champion, lets say Wayfinders. The adventure has a tag of Dataphiles. If the character completes the required success conditions to gain an additional reputation point with the Dataphiles, they gain that reputation. The character would also gain (let's assume) 2 Fame and 2 reputation for their slotted champion, Wayfinders.

There is no faction selective toggle currently in reporting. The reporting system is not intended to track that.

Something else to keep in mind. Not all scenarios will have a faction tag.

Page 5 of the Guide under the Faction tag wrote:
This tag generally corresponds to scenarios with additional Reputation awards for the association factions. {emphasis added}

Liberty's Edge ** Venture-Lieutenant

1 person marked this as a favorite.

I just picked up two tickets for my son and I to play our twin brothers rogues.

Liberty's Edge ** Venture-Lieutenant

I would be open to GM scatter shot. My son missed out on playing it.

Liberty's Edge ** Venture-Lieutenant

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Hilary Moon Murphy wrote:

Sometimes the scenario you get isn’t the best match for your style. My scenario is super simple — it’s meant as a demo, not a fully-fledged, story-rich scenario. I’m normally a storyteller and roleplay GM. So I am digging deep and considering that this is a teaching exercise for beginners. What I want them to do is to experience the joy of discovery and focus on the teaching. What can i do to to add to the excitement? How can I best answer their questions and bring sound effects and verve?

Find your cool bits where you can, and generate your own excitement!

Hmm

This was my experience last year running the demos for Starfinder. I still ran into great role-players a enjoyed the experience a lot.

Liberty's Edge ** Venture-Lieutenant

3 people marked this as a favorite.

Post your GenCon 2018 GM Schedule. Feel free to copy and paste as needed.

Slot 1 Thursday AM:....... OFF
Slot 2 Thursday Afternoon:.. OFF
Slot 3 Thursday PM*:...... OFF
Slot 4 Thursday Overnight:.. OFF
Slot 5 Friday AM:......... OFF
Slot 6 Friday Afternoon:.. OFF
Slot 7 Friday PM*:........ OFF
Slot 8 Friday Overnight:... OFF
Slot 9 Saturday AM:....... OFF
Slot 10 Saturday Afternoon:. OFF
Slot 11 Saturday PM*:.. SFS 1-99 Invasion of the Scoured Stars (5-6)
Slot 12 Saturday Overnight:.. OFF
Slot 13 Sunday AM:......... OFF

I am only running one table this year because I will have my son and we will enjoy the con.

Looking forward to seeing everyone at the Con!

Liberty's Edge ** Venture-Lieutenant

Received my assignment and confirmed it by email!

Cannot wait to run the SFS special at Tier 5-6.

Liberty's Edge ** Venture-Lieutenant

Gary Bush wrote:
Charli Poshkettle wrote:
Kate, Dennis, Kyle and I bought tickets for Tier 5-6. Charli wants to follow the Scoured Stars plot!
If I get 5-6 I hope you will consider me as a GM!

Hey, guess who will be GMing tier 5-6 of the SFS special...

That's right, me!!

So please Charli, bring your happy crew to my table!!

Liberty's Edge ** Venture-Lieutenant

So a question about the process outlined to report missing tables.

How long will it take to process these reports? Will we receive an acknowledgement that the request was received and then processed?

Liberty's Edge ** Venture-Lieutenant

Cool! Happy 4th of July everyone!

Liberty's Edge

Just like it says, ranks. It is a common question that has been asked before.

Liberty's Edge ** Venture-Lieutenant

Agree. You can buy ammo as outlined by the feat.

As to gun, you can't buy any. You only get the free one or two depending on you choice.

Liberty's Edge ** Venture-Lieutenant

"Dr." Cupi wrote:

I think it is a silly question that doesn't really matter. If you apply the extra 1 for digital play at your questioned point, you still can't add another 1 for digital play until you get a new tier. The bounds of the rules are not broken. This question is not worth the time of the SF organized play team, because in the end nothing is different.

I feel minor regret about my intonation thus far, but silly questions need to be pointed out as such.

Wow that was harsh.

For the record, I think the question was a very good one.

Liberty's Edge ** Venture-Lieutenant

Yes. You would need to own the resource however.

Liberty's Edge ** Venture-Lieutenant

I would not worry about reporting the previous 5 rep. Only report what you earn for that adventure.

Liberty's Edge

Disciple of the Void wrote:
GenCon 2018 is now only 36 days away. I'm missing 5 scenarios that I GMed at GenCon 2017. Any word on those?

Why yes there has been. See this thread on the PFS side of the house for information on what you should do.

GenCon 2017 Reporting should be complete

Liberty's Edge ** Venture-Lieutenant

Thank you.

I too am missing 1-00. I am also missing 2 tables of quests. I will send another email to try and get these resolved. I don't know if the 1-00 table is reported or not.

I will find a VC to help with my missing special player table.

Liberty's Edge ** Venture-Lieutenant

Odd. Is it public yet? I can see the option to download session sheets link (not really a button) on all the events that I created or I can report on.

Liberty's Edge ** Venture-Lieutenant

So the only way to get a Champion Boon for "Faction J" is with a new character because an existing character could not purchase it since it is not in the guide.

Is that correct?

PS. Love what you are doing for us Thurston.

Liberty's Edge

What is the source? Generally, armor provides protection against all that as outlined in the armor section of the CRB. The description of the armor could override the general rule however.

Liberty's Edge ** Venture-Lieutenant

allvaldr wrote:
Gary Bush wrote:
World of Dim Light wrote:
Actually, according to the text, even if you get it for GMing first, you can't get a box for playing it.
I am not reading it that way.

a 16-page module (not including this one)

The part between brackets to me sounds like as a player you can never gain a credit marked on the boon for this specific 16-page module.

Yea I see what you are saying now. It does appear that a player can never get boon credit even if it is on a Chronicle that was earned as a GM. I hope that is not intentional.

But the "powers that be" have posted in the thread and not made any statement of correction.

So I guess a player can not get credit for boon even if they earned it by running it.

That's for helping me get this into my thick head.

Liberty's Edge

Awesome news. Well earned.

Liberty's Edge ** Venture-Lieutenant

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Right but I read it for the copy of the Chronicle. If you two. Gm and player, you can get credit for the adventure.

I agree you cannot get boon credit for the same adventure on the boon. You can get credit once, either player or GM.

But you can get boom credit if you GM a second table on a Chronicle that was earned from an earlier run.

Liberty's Edge ** Venture-Lieutenant

I am not sure you have to wait but I have not really thought about it.

But the discussion is able getting credit on Dave's boon for GMing a second time.

Super jealous of that 3rd nova. Congrats.

Liberty's Edge ** Venture-Lieutenant

There has been no comment on that yet but I believe they will have something for SFS, likely at GenCon.

Liberty's Edge ** Venture-Lieutenant

World of Dim Light wrote:
Actually, according to the text, even if you get it for GMing first, you can't get a box for playing it.

I am not reading it that way.

Boon Text:
Each time you play (with any character or GM an adventure for which you have not previously received credit on this boon, your GM or event organizer should stamp, sigh, or otherwise mark off one of the boxes below, regardless of how man sessions it takes to complete the adventure. You cannot earn credit from a particular adventure (even repeatable) more than once. If you have multiple copies of this Chronicle sheet, you can only check boxes on one copy of a time.

The credit the text is referring to is on the boon, not credit for running table and the reward associated with that.

I read it the following way.

GM the adventure, earn the chronicle and apply to a character, lets call it Dave. Do not get credit on the chronicle for the boon, but get credit as normal for running an adventure.

GM the adventure again. Since it is not repeatable, you can't earn a new chronicle but you do earn credit on Dave's chronicle and you get table credit towards your Nova. You can do this because you do not have credit for Skitter Shot on Dave's boon. Now you can no longer get credit on Dave's chronicle.

Now you play Skitter Shot and earn a chronicle for a second character, lets call it Sue. You can then GM Skitter Shot again and earn credit on Sue's boon but not on Dave's.

That is how I read it. Where am I wrong?

Liberty's Edge

Owen K. C. Stephens wrote:
If it doesn't say it's a feat, don't assume you can use it as a feat for prerequisites.

Ok so this is a little different than how I was understanding it. Thank you for the clarification.

Liberty's Edge

This appears to a Homebrew question so flagging to have it moved.

Liberty's Edge

Straight damage. Nothing is added to overcome any DR. A GM could allow but the rules don't say anything so there is none.

Liberty's Edge ** Venture-Lieutenant

Arc Riley wrote:

Can you? Because you can only fill out boxes for games you run after you receive the sheet.

Of course, you could run it multiple times but a scenario only counts once on the sheet...

Yes you can because of the line "...you have not previously received credit on this boon..."

So you GM it to get the first chronicle. GM it again to mark 2 (or 3 depending) boxes. You would not get a second chronicle for GMing a second time because it is not an evergreen.

You could not GM, then play, then GM again to get more boxes checked. Either play for 1 box or GM again for 2(or 3) boxes.

Liberty's Edge ** Venture-Lieutenant

I have on my Aspis slayer with favored enemy Aspis.

Liberty's Edge ** Venture-Lieutenant

Joe Bouchard wrote:

I am both excited and terrified of GenCon. I'm taking on a lot of tables, and it's going to be a new con in a new place, but I'm looking forward to it and I want to meet all sorts of people from these forums there!

I'm also hoping to hit 4 stars either at GenCon or shortly thereafter.

How many different adventures did you say you would be willing to run?

Running the same adventure over and over does get tiresome, it does help in the prep time.

Liberty's Edge ** Venture-Lieutenant

Iammars wrote:

So I'm waiting on the PFS Prep forum to be created for Skitter Shot so I can upload it, but in the meantime, here are my GM notes for Skitter Shot.

Player Cheat Sheets will be coming later.

I am little confused. When I look at your file (which is awesome, as always) I see an Orbital Battle and an Orbital Drone Platform. I don't see this in the adventure. Is it a holdover from a different adventure?

Liberty's Edge ** Venture-Lieutenant

Flagging to be moved to rules forum.

Liberty's Edge ** Venture-Lieutenant

3 people marked this as a favorite.
Paul Lang wrote:
And it doesn't have to be a GM - Skill Monkey dialog, anyone can join in on the discussion to add their point of view for an aid.

To keep people engaged and thinking I require the player to tell me what they are doing in order to make an aid roll.

Liberty's Edge

Porthosteg wrote:

Is the damage bonus at odd levels rounded down or up?

Always round down.

Porthosteg wrote:
Another question is how does an Mechanic character get a proficiency say in Advanced Melee?

Burn a feat and take Weapon Proficiency (Advanced Melee) or take a dip in class that grants it.

Liberty's Edge

Dracomicron wrote:
A level 4 Operative gets +4 to Sniper weapons. The specialization bonus is only halved for Operative melee weapons and small arms.

Just so everyone is clear, the Operative special weapon property only appears on one-handed basic melee weapons.

Liberty's Edge

Claxon wrote:
So it raises the question, unless that is the reason why does it exist? Which makes me question whether or not the class granted weapon spec qualifies you for weapon versatility.

It is clear that class granted weapon specialized qualifies you for weapon versatility. Owen has posted in this thread. If that was not case, he would have said so.

A reason for the existence of weapon specialization is for characters who want to gain the benefits of it without taking a 3 level dip in a class that would grant the weapon proficiency. It also makes it handy to point to from the class prospective.

Rest assured that at 3rd level, when your character becomes specialized in their class granted weapons (except for grenades), they also become eligible for weapon versatility.

It is very straight forward.

Liberty's Edge ** Venture-Lieutenant

Arc Riley wrote:
These problems have persisted since SFS was launched and given that web developer priority is given to troubleshooting store issues they're unlikely to get addressed with the current team.

The lack of functionality has been with PFS for a long time too.

Agree that a dedicated developer or two would help a lot. The problem is that reporting functionality does not produce revenue.

Liberty's Edge ** Venture-Lieutenant

Thurston Hillman wrote:
That being said, please feel free to keep the conversation going and know that I'm here... lurking.... hiding... watching O_O

Know it! Need to put more ranks in perception....

On a serious note, there are some good ideas here. I don't agree with them all but some are really good.

1 to 50 of 2,484 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | next > last >>