I'll add to the caution of not closing a location when given the opportunity. We lost a scenario last night, partly because of poor die rolls against the villain but also because the druid didnt want to close a location (he really wanted to find a snake).
My DM "Wait... what?" Moment:
I was running a Dungeon adventure involving a group of vampires in a noble's villa. The adventureback presented rules for stakingretooling vamps. The group had long ago agreed on called shot rules. The party monk throws three stakes, aiming for the hearts of the last three vamps. Even after factoring nonproficiency and called shots, his three nat 20's are sufficident. I stop for a good minute, trying to salavge the situation and then just walk away from thr table.
I was playing a mid level rogue in a group chasing some baddies when the local LEO's show up, whistles blasting.
Me: What do you think you're doing, grunt?!?!
I've been tinkering and consolidating the various rules/spells/items/etc. for calling/binding outsiders and I noticed something interesting.
Both greater planar ally and greater planar binding have an 18 HD limitation. Yet the section on binding outsiders in the Ultimate Magic repeatedly references calling or binding outsiders with HD above that range (Balors, Draconals, Pitfiends, Solars, etc).
I see how gate circumvents that limitation for calling 18+ HD outsiders (its essentially a super planar ally spell) but there doesn't appear to be a Pathfinder canonical way to bind 18+ HD creatures. Am I missing something?
Also, given the Pathfinder rules for binding outsiders, how do people feel about the ensnarment and implore spells from Dragon magazine 336?
For those without access, ensnarment grants a +4 bonus v. SR of the target and allows the caster to use Intelligence instead of Charisma for Charisma checks but costs an extra 1,000 gp. Its clearly more useful for a wizard or sage bloodline sorcerer than any other kind of sorcerer but its available to both. I'd probably also allow it for witches given its creator/most famous user...
Implore allows the caster to bind a single creature of up to 22 HD, had an xp cost which converted to Pathfinder equates to 1,250 gp/HD (so max of 27,500 gp), imposes -4 penalty to the Will save/Charisma checks, ensured no double dealing, and granted the target a cumulative +1 bonus v. being called for 1 year.
Implore also required the caster to know the target's true name, which under the Ultimate Magic imposes a -5 penalty to the Will save and Charisma check. I think a total of -9 is a bit much, but then again you're paying more for a 22 HD binding than you are for a wish spell.
Iif you're asking for how to potray the blade speaking, then I'd totally recommend holdiing both ends of the conversation in front of people when its important. Maybe give the blade an accent or even hold up a pencil when its talking.
In an effort to not hog the spotlight, I'd usually just state during RP time "You see X arguing with his blade again..." and rarely interupt the action to yell (in character) something random like "I know she is smoking hot, but we're not her type". Really play up the whole "its my sword talking, I swear!" angle.
You could also watch either/both of the Vampire Hunter D anime movies if you want to see a symbiotic relationship between a protagonist and a gidt from his father. I could easily see a black blade with Lefty's personality, constantly chiding/goading the magus into indulging his darker nature.
Update: I'll try to post a Pathfinder appropriate picture later, can anyone recommend a picture hosting service?
On a more (maudlin) humor side, I figured out her Mythic stats (or at least one of them). She's got at least one Mythic tier. Her flaw is a dependence on bewbs and her hierophant path ability is sustained by faith (bewbs) based on the fact we've been cluster feeding her for 3.5 hours now. I gave up on sleep last night/this morning when the sun came up.
I just wanted to announce that my wife and I welcomed our first child today. Its my sincere hope that she enjoys the hobby my wfe and I do.
Little Girl, I hope I can still find this thread when you're old enough to know how much your mother and I love you.
Jason Bulmahn wrote:
Thats just fine Jason, thanks for responding. When you ponder the issue, please keep the 20th level mythic 1-10playtest scenarios in mind too.
As and aside, I was/am a huge fan of 3.x epic, but I'm really starting to love what I'm seeing here.
I must admit some of the above posts were more helpful than others.... For the record I've been DMing for 12+ years now and have often taken 3.x games to 30th+ levels. So if you feel I'm still on "training wheels"...
I think the most helpful comment has been the 10th level/5th tier character is not supposed to be an equal to a 15th level character. I'd love it if JB confirmed Matrix's quote, but I suspect he's correct.
I can't seem to find anything stating whether a PC's wealth by level should factor in his mythic tiers. Does a 10th level PC with 10 mythic tiers have the equipment of a 10th level PC or a 20th level PC?
If its 20th level PC, then what do we use for a 20th level PC with any mythic tiers? Just cap them at 20th levels value?
Hopefully I didn't miss a very obvious answer (wouldn't be the first or the last)!
Let me expand my question then... Does RP in this context mean then same it does in PRPG? Am I expected to talk in character at all times? Would you boot me for using terms like tank, dps, aoe, etc?
I'm a longtime fan of GW, but my MMO experience has always been that my friends ditch the game for the "teh newest release" while I plough along through content, so I've been fairly self reliant. I'd like serious mature players to party with on occasion, so I'm liking what I've heard so far.
Could someone elaborate on what they mean by an "RP server"?
I take it to mean I should (rarely) see things like "HotDog" and "BlondsHaveFun".
I was planning on going Dragonbrand or Darkhaven, but if my fellow paizo fans are in the Tarnished Coast I may want to make that my home.
Also, can you make a golem intelligent simply by using the intelligent item rules? Would it then gain feats/skills. (I acknowledge this may be going outside the scope of the project).
doc the grey wrote:
Because I have a couple of subscriptions shipping at the same time, I usually get my notification later in the process (c'est la vie).
As for the mithral cauldron.... thats hilarious!
Saying "It has five new ioun stones, including one that allows you to fight like a monk!" is okay.
Copying/pasting the actual entry for an item/feat/etc. has brought out the paizo staff in the past. The fact that the stats will make it to D20pfsrd in due time has not stopped them from making the reasonable request not to put their brand-spanking new material on the web, at release, for free.
First... so jealous....
Second... any new ioun stones? (what can I say I'm a fan)
What about stuff for wizards (spellbooks, new bonded items, wizard equivalent of robes of arcane heritage)?
Remember not to post any specifics out of respect for the host.
I had hoped that you would have received more feedback from others on this... Oh well.
I acknowledge your point on the "prepared" v. "exchange" terminology. I think this is an instance of RAW v RAI as I don't think the designers intended this to allow the situation you described above (no matter how much fun it would be!), hence my gut reactions above.
A further argument to support more flexibility on issue 3) is examining the clerics ability to spontaneously cast metamagiced versions of cure/inflict spells using higher level slots. Again, not expressly called out in spellbond but it is more internally consistent I believe.
Dotted for interest to see how others rule but my gut instinct is:
1) No because that slot is only available for school spells
Tiny Coffee Golem wrote:
Take a look at the spellbinder. If you can find where it says it replaces the "arcane school" then I'll concede your point.
Arcane school determines specialization/universalist status.
Arcane School: A wizard can choose to specialize in one school of magic, gaining additional spells and powers based on that school. This choice must be made at 1st level, and once made, it cannot be changed. A wizard that does not select a school receives the universalist school instead.
Arcane bond does not and thats all spellbinders give up.
Tiny Coffee Golem wrote:
TCG and LazarX
The spellbinder only gives up arcane bond in exchange for the spellbonding. As evidenced by the last part of the entry (other than recommended discoveries) saying "This ability replaces arcane bond." So technically the feature is available to all wizards....
The feat does not replace a class feature, it effectively adds a claass feature at the cost of Skill Focus and Eldritch Heritage.
99% certain its legit unless I missed something in the Eldritch Heritage.
The inner sea primer has a good archetype to replace HotA (bonus metamagic feat and bonus on crafting metamagiced magic items).
I've played a universalist extensively (almost exclusively) and have become a bit of a metamagic focused character (wonder why). The ability to modify any spell (other than my highest) on the fly has created some fascinating events.
I wouldn't mind the bonus slot per spell level (even if restricted to metamagic spells).
Also for those who want a familiar in addition to bonded item/spellbinder elf wizard, remember that Skill Focus (Knowledge (aracana)) + Eldritch Heritage (Arcane) gives you both.
Actually, could use that to get Amulet of Magecraft and Spellbinder...
Vic Wertz wrote:
Then to quote the eloquent Sketchpad above, Sold!
It depends. Obviously not answering will result in torture/personal suffering. But if not lying will result in harm to his allies, then I'd allow it without revoking status if the pc immediately went for atonement @ the firts chance.
I'm another who is on the fence about whether I'll keep the subscription. More than $500 a pop, 2-3 times a year pushes what I feel comfortable budgeting for minis. As you can see, I subscribe to a fair number of Piazo's products besides the minis.
Now that's a better citation than a "nothing says you can" argument. Which makes me wonder about Undead Anatomy as I cited above. Thanks!
Shar Tahl wrote:
Maybe back at PRPG release I could buy that argument. But taken in context with the Undead Anatomy spells clearly allow one to take the vampire template, I no longer see the "no template allowed" argument as being a sovereign defense.
To be clear, I'd treat the "half-dragon" form as any other polymorph ability, where the PC would get the LESSER of the abilities granted by the template or the form of the dragon spell (the lower Str mod, the lower darkvision, the lower claw attack, etc).
Ignoring for the moment the actual ability/stat modifications, is there anything other than a strict interpretation of the statement that "you become a Medium chromatic or metallic dragon" preventing a PC from using Form of the Dragon/Shapechange to become a Medium sized half-dragon?
Remember that the half-dragon template changes the base creature to "dragon" and (to my knowledge) the only possible half-dragons available are chromatics and metallics.
I think its technically legal, but it may violate the intent of the spells.
Umbral Reaver wrote:
While I would love epic level rules, I don't believe they would be needed to have an inter-planetary based AP.
Distant worlds stressed that there are a number of connections between various worlds as well as ship plying the steller seas. I'm sure the best and brightest at Paizo could create a plausible way to traveling between worlds.
Now if the travel is supposed to be at will, that may indeed be at the higher echelons.
I think his concern is more that they may not grasp pathfinder (or roleplaying games) than freelancing.
The US tax laws are fairly consistent with the approach you described in your spoiler, some minor differences. Biggest may be in determining whether a given line of income/expenses is truly for profit or a mere hobby. Under our case law, that's not always an easy call. As a gamer/lawyer (or lawyer/gamer) I'd love to litigate that issue. Heck, I'd be willing to take either side.
But that's not to say I'd recommend taking an aggressive position in what expenses to claim. Hence my earlier post.
As a tax attorney in the US, I'd urge caution in deducting 100% of your books/convention expenses. Remember that there is clearly a hobby aspect to your chosen career path and if you went to trial over your expenses, you would have the burden of demonstrating that you properly allocated between professional and personal pleasure.
If you're consistently reporting losses year after year, then you may face 26 USC 183, the "hobby loss" restriction.
In short, consult a professional. If their response is an automatic "sure its always deductible, no problem" then RUN!