Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Arlindil

Erik Herrin's page

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber. 14 posts (241 including aliases). 1 review. No lists. No wishlists. 6 aliases.




If a vampire has successfully pinned a creature, does he deal negative levels in addition to constitution damage on subsequent successful grapple checks so long as he is choosing the 'deal damage' option and using a natural weapon?

Does he have to make an attack roll with a natural weapon to deal negative levels or is dealing natural attack damage enough?


...without losing access to her hexes?


If a monk with the crane style feat tree decided on her turn to fight defensively while making a maneuver attempt for which she didn't have the improved feat, would she still benefit from fighting defensively / the crane style feats for the attack of opportunity even though she hasn't made an attack yet?


Is there anything (other than GM fiat) that would prevent an animal companion, familiar, mount, eidolon, or cohort from ascending along with the PCs? I'd feel a little awkward if Mr. Ed dealt the killing blow to the source of power, then Wilber gets all the credit.

I've also seen some talk of companions being "incredibly useless" in mythic play. Would this be a way to solve that, or is the possibility too overpowered? What if companions had tier limits and restricted paths based on type?


"Apply penalties and bonuses in the most beneficial order"

This little innocuous statement has me baffled. I've seen it repeated over and over on these boards and others like them. It's been used for philosophical rules games and cheese factory character building alike.

...But where is this rule?

I've searched every copy of every book I own for this statement, even back into my 3.5 and 3.0 books. I've even looked online and I mostly find people using this "rule" for some build or such, posting it as gospel yet citing no source.

The closest things I've found that remotely look like a source are a Sage ruleing about poison and death attacks that I believe to have been written by Skip Williams and a question about the Practiced Spellcaster feat in the 3.5 FAQ (last updated 2008).

Where did this little gem come from? Why does it seem everyone knows it? Does it exist anywhere in pathfinder?

Inquiring minds (mostly mine) want to know!


A couple of questions have come to mind about a character I'm making for an upcoming evil campaign. This character will rely heavily on his ability to become ethereal.

Question #1) Does a vampire on the ethereal plane need to worry about sunlight? (No. This question has been answered by James Jacobs here)

Question #2) Is a vampire on the ethereal plane still influenced by mirrors or holy symbols?

Question #3) Can a vampire enter the ethereal version of someones home without permission?

Question #4; Though not ethereal based) What happens if a vampire reduced to gaseous form via damage is subsequently healed (inflicted) before reaching its coffin? What if it has fast healing or regeneration from a different source?


I was looking around at character ideas when this question popped up.

What are all the different ways for a PC to gain the scent ability?

Note* I would not count an animal companion as that's more "gaining a creature with scent" and not scent for yourself. A synthesist would work, though.


We'll be starting a new campaign soon. I proposed a character concept, to which my GM response was "You're doing that!". I'd like any advice or critiquing I can get.

We'll be going from levels 1 to 15 with 20 point buy, and we're allowed to use any Pathfinder published material.

The rest of the party will consist of a halfling witch jinxer, a dwarven mounted barbarian mammoth rider, and a gnome casting-focused nature oracle. We will be going through the Jade Reagent adventure path.

My Build- It's a dual-wielding archer. Mainly worried about the feats.

Human Internal Vivisectionist Alchemist 1/Fighter 1/I V Alch 3/Fighter 11
Attributes
STR 14
DEX 19
CON 12
INT 12
WIS 12
CHA 7
Human +2 went into Dex. Planning on putting all increases in Dex

Feats
1 Point Blank Shot, Precise Shot
2 Deadly Aim
3 Rapid Shot (discovery- Vestigial Arm)
4 -
5 Two-Weapon Fighting (discovery- Vestigial Arm #2)
6 Weapon Focus (Comp. Longbow)
7 Manyshot
8 Improved Two-Weapon Fighting
9 Weapon Specialization (Comp. Longbow)
10 Point-Blank Master
11 Clustered Shots
12 Improved Precise Shot
13 Greater Weapon Focus (Comp. Longbow)
14 Greater Two-Weapon Fighting
15 Improved Critical (Comp. Longbow)

Skills
5 skill points Alchemist levels; 4 at fighter levels (with fav class)
Max Perception, Diplomacy (I ALWAYS end up being the talker; taking a trait to get this), & Knowledge (nature)(adds to heal with Cruel anatomist which in our campaigns we use as Knowledge (medical & CSI)). Other skills open.

I'm also worried if my attack bonus will be high enough with the penalties I'll be accruing. -4 from two-weapon fighting, -2 from rapid shot, and up to a -4 from Deadly aim. That's -10 to attack at 13th level O_O. Will I be able to counter that to a respectable attack bonus?


I love the concept behind the WHW, but find the execution a little lackluster, giving up most of what makes a witch a witch. Starting with an attack with a bunch of holes making its weaker counterpart seem more powerful by comparison and ending with numerous roguish options that are either entirely ineffective or show up at too late a level to be relevant.

I made a few minor adjustments to give back some "witchiness" to the white-haired witch. Too strong? Too weak? Easy to understand? Feedback is much appreciated.

White-Haired Witch Redux:
White Hair (Su): At 1st level, a white-haired witch gains
the ability to use her hair as a weapon. This functions as
the prehensile hair hex except as noted below. The hair is
a primary natural attack with a reach of 5 feet that
deals 1d4 points of damage (1d3 for a Small witch). In
addition, the witch gains the Grab ability with her hair When
a white-haired witch grapples a foe, she does not gain the
grappled condition and is not forced to move the opponent
adjacent. The witch is not limited in the amount of time she
may use her hair in this manner.

At 4th level and every four levels thereafter, a white-haired
witch’s hair adds 5 feet to its reach, to a maximum of
30 feet at 20th level.

A white-haired witch can choose from any of the following
upgrades to her white hair in place of a hex:

Constrict (Ex): The white-haired witch gains the constrict
ability with her hair, dealing damage equal to that of its attack
whenever she successfully maintains a grapple.

Trip (Ex): A white-haired witch who successfully strikes a
foe with her hair can attempt a combat maneuver check to
trip the creature as a swift action.

Pull (Ex): A white-haired witch who successfully strikes a
foe with her hair can attempt a combat maneuver check to
pull the creature 5 feet closer to her as a swift action.

Strangle (Ex): When the white-haired witch’s hair is
grappling with an opponent, that creature is considered
strangled, and cannot speak or cast spells with verbal
components. You must be at least 8th level to select this
upgrade.

This ability replaces the hexes gained at 1st and 2nd level.

Rogue Talents: At 4th level, a white-haired witch may
choose to learn a rogue talent instead of a hex, using her
white-haired witch level in place of her rogue level. A
white-haired witch cannot select an individual rogue talent
more than once. These tricks must be selected from among
the following: assault leader*, combat trick, finesse rogue,
major magic, minor magic, positioning attack*, resiliency,
surprise attack, and weapon training. At 14th level a
white-haired witch adds the following advanced rogue talents
to the list: another day*, defensive roll, improved evasion,
opportunist, redirect attack*, slippery mind, and thoughtful
reexamining*.


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

During the events of book 2, Curse of the Lady's light, the

Enemy:
Standard Grey Maidens

have a tactic of "using bull rush to force PCs into squares
occupied by other enemies or furniture in order to make
them fall down".

Is this a valid use of bull rush, as I can't find rules for it anywhere?


If you have the curse of tongues and "gift" somebody your curse in combat, are they then forced to speak a language they (probably) don't know? Does this mean they can't talk? Just wondering, since oracle's burden says they don't receive the benefits of the curse, in this case knowledge of the language they're forced to speak.


4 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

Could a character ready an action to "strike the next thing that comes at him" and use it to sunder arrows or shurikens out of the air?


Could a character ready an action to "strike the next thing that comes at him" and use it to sunder arrows or shurikens out of the air?


Around December this question came up and I don't believe it was ever answered: does a human sorcerer under the words of power rules who takes the favored class bonus from the APG get a bonus spell or a bonus word?


Hello everyone and thanks for reading in advance!

I just got my copy of The Inner Sea World Guide and was blown away at the amazing amount of time, devotion and talent put into this book. I love the excessive amount of information available in this book. Now I'm willing to say that Golarion has beat out Eberron as my favorite setting, and one of the many reasons why is the Red Mantis Assassins.

From the interesting and unorthodox fighting style to the ninja-like castle/temple headquarters and standardized uniform, everything about them makes me love those evil bastards more. I couldn't wait to play one in the next game my friend is running (he already o.k.ed it because he knows I've been wanting to prove that evil can be played at the gaming table if it's done properly, cooperatively, and with maturity). So naturally I threw around some ideas and put some builds together and was shocked . There were so many...problems. It started with one then led to more and more. Let me bullet point:

#1 The Sawtooth Saber- Casually reading through the weapons section, I spied The RMA's favored weapon and noticed that it weapon finesse no longer worked with it (which explained its removal as a prerequisite). In fact, the only time it was treated as light was for Two-weapon fighting. At first, I thought “Alright. Now people won't be power attack & piranha striking, but dex is still very much an assassin staple: stealth, light armor, mobility-style feats like... TWO-WEAPON FIGHTING! Wait, I need a minimum 15 dexterity (provided I don't want to continue the tree), but need strength for hit and damage, charisma for spells and prayer attack, AND constitution for three other class features. But thats...

#2 M.A.D.- Yes folks, my favorite class has become “Multiple Attribute Dependant”, just like the 3.5 paladin. I would love to know the reasoning behind this choice in particular. Never being one to fret when a challenge is set, I continued my build. Looks like two levels of ranger are necessary to free up some of the point buy, but that just doesn't feel right. Was my assassin going to be running around in medium armor? Even the Mantis form reinforced the dex dumping decision with +4 Str,-2 dex, and large size with a 1d6 natural attack (I would bullet point this but it's a minor adjustment... I just wouldn't use it until ninth level, maybe not then either) Crap, I was going to be the slowest assassin in the world. I would have such a hard time making a quick escape with the impedance placed on acrobatics , limited move speed, and penalties (both armor and lack of dex) to stealth, escape artist, ride, and disable device. And I didn't even know if the RMA could cast spells in medium armor. Let me check...

#3 Spell Failure- Turns out the RMA can't cast spells in any armor. The bard-like spellcasting was stripped, and with it the arcane spell failure avoidance. But at least I could still optimize my prayer attack.

#4 Prayer Attack- This is my favorite part about the RMA, their death attack. But from what I can gather is it doesn't work. Maybe it's just me, but how do I maintain concentration (Standard Action) to keep them fascinated on my turn and coup-de-grace (Full Round Action). I hope that at the very least that when concentration lapses, they're still fascinated until the end of your turn. But from what I've seen, that isn't the case. (at this point, I cried a little.)

So here I am, on the boards looking for answers. I would love to hear from what anyone has to say, but especially the reasons behind the decisions from the creators. So I cast my spell:

SUMMON STAFF IX
School Conjuration (Summoning) Level cleric/oracle 9,
sorcerer/wizard 9, summoner 6, witch 9
Casting Time 30 minutes...or less!
Components V, S, M ( a family size pizza and a six-pack
of an alcoholic beverage, worth at least $15.99 American)
Range close (25 ft. + 5 ft./ 2 levels)
Effect one summoned paizo staff member
Duration permanent, until material component is gone (discharged)
Saving Throw None or Will Negates (see text); Spell Resistance No
Calling on the mightiest powers know to be, you summon “The
Grand Designer” himself, James Jacobs. This spell functions as
summon staff I, except it's James Jacobs. The summoned staff
member appears wherever he wants (within range) and questions
why you didn't just post your problem on the boards. Regardless
of your answer, he proclaims “Well. I'm here now. What's the
problem?” and begins to ingest the material component.

Paizo staff members will not interfere with the encounter
in which the are summoned. They make no attacks, cast no spells,
and will likely refuse to “at least hold your weapon while you
use the little adventurers room”. You're the PC, that's your job.

However, when summoned in this manner, James Jacobs
has the power to errata one aspect of the Pathfinder(tm) rules
for a “provisional” 24 hours. This errata is a simple adjustment,
such as the number of hit points a creatures stat block says it
has or that wizards cast off of Intelligence. If this change
affects a creature, that creature gets a will save, but only in
the presence of any PC aware of their presence and only once.
This power does not function on house rules or against big bad
evil guys (bbegs), because where's the fun in that? As is, the
overwhelming power of James' errata pen affects all instances of
the altered rule in the campaign, which may cause some background
events to change (subject to the GM and whether or not the errata
is game destroying or just plain funny). After granting the
errata, James thanks the caster for the grub and returns to the
office, taking the leftovers with him.

After 24 hours, James returns and informs the PC's of the
necessity of the errataed rule, and reinstates the current
campaign ruleset. At this time, James may ask the caster for a
gold or two for the vending machine on his way back. Just give
it to him, he deserves it.

The casting time of this spell is entirely dependant on the
pizza delivery time.

… And hope I get my answer soon! Thank you all for reading my long winded post!


Do you think a GM should limit his players to core only while useing other source materiel himself?

What would be your reasoning for not allowing a player to take a feat or a level in a class that he has encountered other NPC's using?


©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.