Following strictly RAW the answer is NO. Drugs are alchemistic substances and not detectable by any core spell.
Possible undesirable effects of drug usage are addictions and addictions are diseases by RAW. You can detect a drug addict with 'Diagnose Disease' and cure him 'Remove Disease'.
On my table i would allow 'detect Poison' for drugs but only for heavy (not legal) drugs. Alcohol or nicotine are drugs too they are legal in 90% of the world. Sugar can be a drug .. everything that provokes an endorphin push is some kind of drug and you can become addicted to that.
There are three possibilities to attack attended items.
1) Sunder combat maneuver with a melee weapon or with some touch spells.
Maaayyyybee (i dont know) there is something out there that let you perform combat maneuvers with range attacks like the 'Trick Shot (Bow only)' ability from the fighter archtype 'Archer'. If you find something than you can sunder with rays.
Diplomacy = You want something from others (help, a discount, avoid a fight,..)
Some situations require a Diplomacy and Bluff check. Example: 'Please help me and i will give you 1000gp!' The 1000gp reward is a lie but you need the help so you roll a bluff check vs. sense motive. The result modifies the 'Diplomacy Starting Attitude' for the diplomacy check (on my table).
Same for your 'making fun of people' example. Somebody who is making jokes about others will start with a 'Unfriendly or Hostile' starting attitude and needs a good diplomacy check to get help from a previous joke victim.
I would say yes and no.
Take a look at the Bestiary -> Universal Monster Rules: Natural Attacks.
There you will find a table with all natural attacks and their attack type. Bites, Claws, Gores, Slams, Stings and Talons are primary attacks. All other attacks are secondary attacks.
So the 'Form of the Dragon' has three primary (bite, 2xclaws) and three secondary (2xwings, tail) attacks.
Addition: Sense Motive is countered by Bluff.
In your tavern example the shadowy figure can use Bluff to hide his real intentions. At the first look he is only a commoner who drinks a beer after a long day of work. With a second look (successful Sense Motive vs. Bluff check) you can see that he observes the tavern visitors and searches for something (maybe a pickpocket target). His real intentions are not good.
Stealth is countered by perception.
Case A: As long as the party and the rogue are in different rooms there is no line of sight. Detection by sight is impossible. The rogue can use stealth to move around without noise and the party can use perception to hear the rogue.
Case B: As soon as the party enters the room with the rogue they have a line of sight and can use perception to detect the rogue by sight. The perception check is an automatic success if the rogue is not hidden or invisible. Then you roll a stealth check vs. perception. 'Hidden' is a not documented condition that effects a player if he uses stealth and if all prerequisites for stealth are given (cover or concealment).
In a room without furniture, smoke, etc. are shadows the only possibility to get concealment. Darkvision, lights etc. counter shadows so the rogue is visible in most cases.
I hope that helps a little ..
RAW is unclear but there is a FAQ that helps a little.
An eidolon using manufactured weapons normally has a lot of arms. For every arm it needs the 'reach' evolution (see FAQ). Six arms = six evo points. Did your summoner know that ?
In my opinion the 'reach' evo should only work for natural attacks but that is not supported by RAW. Even an attack with a manufactured weapon is an 'attack'.
Reach (Ex): One of an eidolon's attacks is capable of striking at foes at a distance. Pick one attack. The eidolon's reach with that attack increases by 5 feet.
So from the RAW side i would say that the natural reach with one attack/limb is increased by +5ft with this evolution.
Time for a GM call.
RAW lists several actions/conditions that provoke a concentration check:
PRD Concentration wrote:
The question was: Results a successfull readied trip maneuver in a concentration check?The RAW answer is NO
A successfull attack (see 1) or grapple maneuver (see 2) are the only non-magic readied actions that provoke a concentration check by RAW. Other combat maneuvers are not listed and dont provoke concentrations checks.
Sure you can sunder, disarm or steal a the Spell Component Pouch but that dont result in a concentration check.
Speaker for the Dead wrote:
I suppose he could re-word his readied action as "I'm going to trip the spellcaster on the second word of the spell."
You or your GM allows this kind of trigger?
I only put RAW together and explained why you dont provoke a concentration check with a readied trip maneuver by RAW. Do i like it? No. Is it RAW? Yes.
Trip forces a concentration check -> no
A GM may rule that a trip maneuver results in 'vigorous or violent motion' but is that applicable for this case? If you take a look at the examples for 'vigorous or violent motions' than you see that they are full round events that affect the caster like riding on a horse, standing on a boat. Is that comparable to a one second event like a readied trip maneuer?
Additionally we have the RAW for a 'Ready Action'.
PRD Ready wrote:
The action occurs just before the action that triggers it.
By RAW the caster casts the spell without a concentration check.
A 'Ready' action has RAW that supports a concentration check under some circumstances (ready an attack and do damage).
PRD Ready wrote:
Distracting Spellcasters: You can ready an attack against a spellcaster with the trigger “if she starts casting a spell.” If you damage the spellcaster, she may lose the spell she was trying to cast (as determined by her Spellcraft check result).
A 'Readied Trip' dont provoke a concentration check. The 'Trip' maneuever and the 'Prone' condition dont have RAW that supports the idea of a concentration check. Additionally a readied 'Trip' occurs just before the spell is cast. Caster starts casting, readied trip puts him to the ground and then he casts the spell laying on the ground.
PRD Ready wrote:
The action occurs just before the action that triggers it.
PRD Magic wrote:
A spell is a one-time magical effect. Spells come in two types: arcane (cast by bards, sorcerers, and wizards) and divine (cast by clerics, druids, and experienced paladins and rangers). Some spellcasters select their spells from a limited list of spells known, while others have access to a wide variety of options.
It is a general rule not only for scrolls.
If the master and the familiar are in contact at the time the master casts a touch spell, he can designate his familiar as the “toucher.”
Using a scroll is very similar to casting a spell but it is still a magic item. So by RAW you are using a magic item ..
I would allow it on my table as long as the spell is on the spell list of the caster (and not used via UMD).
Medium eidolon: base STR +0 , base DEX +0, base CON +0,base nat. armor +0, 5ft reach
Large creature in a medium eidolon:
While fused with his eidolon, the synthesist uses the eidolon's Strength, Dexterity, and Constitution, but retains his own Intelligence, Wisdom, and Charisma. The synthesist gains the eidolon's hit points as temporary hit points. When these hit points reach 0, the eidolon is killed and sent back to its home plane. The synthesist uses the eidolon's base attack bonus, and gains the eidolon's armor and natural armor bonuses and modifiers to ability scores. The synthesist also gains access to the eidolon's special abilities and the eidolon's evolutions. The synthesist is still limited to the eidolon's maximum number of natural attacks. The eidolon has no skills or feats of its own.
The only thing that is not considered by RAW is the natural reach. The RAW for reach is hidden in the size requirements.
The eidolon must be at least the same size as the synthesist.
Replace this with 'The natural reach is limited by the size of the eidolon.'
The combination of a large summoner, synthesist and a medium eidolon is 1 from 1000 possible builds. Additionally it is a real uncommon combination because ogre summoner are really rare and orges are not a common PC race.
Sometimes it is time for a GM call .. we dont need rules / laws for everything.
Do you think your players will kill you if you build something impossible by RAW? They will kill the weired ogre thing and loot it.. :)
Ring of Spell Knowledge wrote:
...useful only to spontaneous arcane spellcasters...
Through study, the wearer can gain the knowledge of a single spell in addition to those allotted by her class and level.
= arcane (because it is only useful to arcane caster see quote 1 and 3)
Thereafter, the arcane spellcaster may cast the spell as though she knew the spell and it appeared on her class' spell list.
Arcane spells that do not appear on the wearer's class list...
To be honest .. it is badly written but it is an arcane only item.
Focusing on one stat (DEX) instead of two (STR and DEX) can be very efficient. DEX for AC, REX saves, initiative, Chance to hit (via weapon finess), Damage (via Agile enchantment, derwish dance) and doubled to CMB sounds too good to be true. Show me a feat that gives you a bonus of 4+ (Dex 18 or more) on something at first level.
As mentioned before there is no RAW answer but on my table it is not allowed.
It looks like the PC is accepting penalties (NPC class, young template?) for RP reasons. Sounds good to me. So talk with your player and ask him. Show him the possible ways you can rule the transformation and explain which way you prefer and why.
i would compare the CR before and after the transformations. An NPC class has a lower CR than a PC class and the young template is an additional -1 to CR. In case of a lvl 12 NPC class (-2 CR) and the young template (-1 CR) we are talking about a CR of 9. Swan maidens have CR 6 so 3 CR are left for classes (=4 PC class levels or 5 NPC class levels). Then you can use the rule from Bestiary 'Monsters as PCs' to add an additional class level for every 3 levels.
We end up with a swan maid bard 5.
Compare to a lvl 12 group it sounds not owerpowered.
Keep in mind that the swan maid will level up faster than the rest of the group.
PRD Magic wrote:
Spells come in two types: arcane (cast by bards, sorcerers, and wizards) and divine (cast by clerics, druids, and experienced paladins and rangers).
There is an arcane and a divine version of spell XYZ and you need a corresponding spell slot. You can teach the ring only arcane spells that you cannot cast with a devine slot.
Fused Eidolon wrote:
The eidolon must be at least the same size as the synthesist.
RAW is clear.RAW is made for medium and small creatures because all playable races are small or medium. You can grow via abilities or spells but that is a special situation that lasts only a few minutes.
A large creature is mostly a NPC or requires a GM permission. In this case a GM must decide how he rules this on his table. The RAW cannot include every special case.
Maybe Synthesists are not an option for ogres or you houserule it.
I would define a rider. The rider can do everything that is possible with mounted combat rules, rolls ride checks, moves the mount etc. The others on the mount can attack or cast spells but are limited due to mounted combat (only a standard action if the mount moves more than 5ft, concentration checks etc)
If the mount is really huge you can handle it like a vehicle. There is one driver of the vehicle and the rest can move/act in the way they want. Lets say the goblins ride on a whale .. i would handle the whale as a 'ship'.
One of my players found the 'Bloodhound' spell and uses it very often. With a duration of 1hour per level he has the 'scent' ability the whole adventuring day.
In a dungeon he asks the same question everytime they stand in front of a door, enter a new room, move around a corner or more than 30ft.
'Is there something?'
By RAW this question is totally legal but i have problems to answer this question. To be honest i have a problem with an ability that is some kind of a 360°-automatic-friend-or-foe detection. By RAW there is no roll required, no modifiers etc. and in a dungeon 30ft are enough to detect most enemies.
The RAW defenses for scent are rare and i dont want to change the complete adventure or houserule everything.
At the moment i use scent-based perception checks but the player is not happy with that. I am not happy too but i want to keep the adventure challenging and exciting.
Any suggestions or things i missed in RAW ?
What is the effect of doors on scent? What about other odors that are overwhelming? What is an overwhelming odor? How long last an odor? ..
The Hierophant and Guardian paths are the way to go. If you want another path (Archmage for a Summoner) than you can chose the feat Dual Path to gain access to H and G path abilities. In general you have the decision between 'boosting my character' or 'boosting my AC, eidolon etc' because you dont have enough feats / path abilities :)
Your AC, eidolon etc. can learn the feat Mythic Companion. It is weaker compared to the Guardian path ability with the same name but it provides a little more survivability if you often fight against mythic foes. The feat Marked for Glory combined with Extra Mythic Power can be usefull too but again you need a lot of feats.
There are no mythic versions of potions, wands, scrolls, etc. so they would be custom items and for a custom items you need a GM approval. So ask your GM. By RAW it is not possible.
Mythic Spells wrote:
Art in general, paintings, gems and juwelry can look valuable but in real they are worthless or the other way round they look worthless but are valable.
Appraise can help and disencumbers the barbarian party mule :)
In the past we use a small longsword as a medium short sword, a small short sword as a medium dagger, a small longspear as a medium spear or a large dagger as a medium short sword. Everthing was fine.
Than came 3.0 and rules for inappropriately sized weapons. Players start to create character builds with this rules and every month we had a new discussion on the boards!
The rules are awful, boring an useless!
Suggestion for a new rule::
Compare an inappropriately sized weapon not more than one category smaller or larger than your size category with other weapons in your size. If there is something comparable (regarding weight, weapon dice and fighter weapon group) use the rules from this weapon. In any other case it is an improvised Weapon.
There is a problem with combat maneuvers on allies i asked a few months ago.
Your CMD is 10 + STR + DEX + BAB + other (size, deflection etc.)
A willing target can 'lower' his STR, DEX and BAB. With a positive STR and DEX we stick with a CMD of 10 + other .
That is how we play it. We use a CMB vs. CMD of 10 + other. You can fail on a 1 or have luck on a 20. A combat maneuver focused charakter is always better than, lets say, a wizard.
It is more than a houserule but it works.
PC: 'Ok that is my offer ...' *talk talk talk*
Good roll -> BBEG: 'Sounds good my new friend'
The problem is that a lot of players and GMs differ between roleplay and combat. Roleplay ends as soon as you roll initiative and combat begins. Roleplay has his mechanics, rules and possibilities. Combat too but they are different. A mixture is not possible in the mind of many players/GMs because combat is everything about Free/Move/Standard/Full 'Actions'. Roleplay has no actions .. it is just roleplay.
In my example we had 12 seconds of 'roleplay' during a fight followed by 48 seconds 'out-of-fight-roleplay' resulting in a diplomacy check.
There are some Mythic Abilities that give you stackable extra DR and/or resistance.
Mythic Adventures - Guardian wrote:
..for 1 minute you gain DR 1/epic and 5 points of resistance against acid, cold, electricity, fire, and sonic damage. The DR and resistances stack with any other DR and resistances that you have.
Without Mythic DR and resistance dont stack.
PRD Diplomacy wrote:
A request can be 'please dont fight' and on my table it needs only 1 round if you drop your weapons etc.
Secondly the RAW say '1 minute of continuos interaction'. You can start talking before a fight starts and 'finish' diplomacy during the fight.
Thirdly use roleplay. No chance to avoid the fight? Then end the fight with roleplaying .. drop weapons and start talking. One minute is not very long if you are talking. Do be honest .. you need a GM that wants roleplay and gives you the chance to end a fight in this way. Additionaly it depends on your enemy. Devils and daemons dont talk with a paladin.
At last i dont like the reduction of roleplay to a simple dice roll.
Inappropriately sized weapons and reach are a gray RAW area. Same example without 'Powerful-Build' is a medium creature that uses a small two handed reach weapon in one hand.
Is it legal by RAW? Following the Inappropriately Sized Weapons RAW i would say yes but on my table you lose the reach ability if you use such a weapon. I think that should be RAW.
Drawing is a free action but putting away is a move equivalent action.
I have a creature with an ability drain attack. How do you describe the drain effect in a fluffy way ?
The physical ability drains can result in fading muscles, muscular spasms, looking overtired, older, or anaemic. Do you have other examples?
WI, CHA and INT drain are not so easy to describe. CHA drain can result in some deformations but that is only a part of CHA. WI maybe results in 'confussion'. INT drain ... mh i need help :)
So your whole issue boils down to the 100gp the spell costs to cast?
There was a time where everybody tracks his components for every spell! Three balls of guano, 9 feathers, 4 pearls, 11 handful of sand, etc. Sometimes you need X and you dont have it or an opportunity to purchase it.
Today you can have such problems too depending on the adventure you are playing. Lost on an island, trapped in a dungeon, etc.
My answer without RAW support:
Same problem occurs with scrolls but here you dont have charges. So you must choose the 'power level' (100 or 1000gp) during the creation of the scroll.
Moving: Moving out of a threatened square usually provokes attacks of opportunity from threatening opponents.
That is a RAW.
Bull Rush movement dont provoke AoO by RAW written in the maneuver description (with Greater BR you do by RAW). Same for the Reposition and Drag combat maneuver.
Trip dont provoke AoO by RAW because you fall to the ground but you dont leave a threatened square = no movement (with Greater Trip you provoke by RAW).
Grapple and mounted movement dont have a RAW exception like BR, Reposition or Drag. In this case the general rule comes in play. There is no RAW exception but there is a general rule.
Mythic Vital Strike wrote:
PRD Critical Hits wrote:
Bane are additional damage dice so they are not multiplied.
Two bane enchantments are something other. In my opinion it is not possible to have two bane enchantments on a magic weapon.
PRD Magic Weapons wrote:
Weapons cannot possess the same special ability more than once.
There are a lot of discussions in the boards and i think there is no clear RAW. Talk with your GM is the easiest way.
A GM can rule in some other way especially if we talk about small characters who wants to use a medium weapon. On my table a halfing can wield a medium longshort as a small twohanded sword without penalties but this is a houserule.