|Eric Clingenpeel Venture-Lieutenant, Michigan—Central Michigan|
I just wondered if there was any problem with my order. I realize that the 11th business day isn't until Monday, but I've never waited this long for an order to be shipped from you guys. I'd really like to get my minis ASAP so I can have them ready for an upcoming convention. Also, my wife is making a costume based on her mini, and having it in hand would help that get going and get her off my back. :)
So, what is it? Because the last several weeks a TON of threads keep getting thrown other places when they contain valid PFS related concerns. Are we only supposed to BS in the thread like some do? By continuously tossing them into other forums, they easily get misplace/ignored by those that could answer the questions best, those that actually care about PFS.
I can understand the occasional thread that has nothing to do with PFS, but more and more those that do have something to do with it get moved. Who's doing it and why? Someone new to the boards/PFS could very easily get pissed off at his thread vanishing and not being able to find it and could leave for good. Seems pretty stupid for some small technicality. Just because a rule could be answered by the forum at general, doesn't mean they don't want only PFS members answering.
Ok, first off, I'm bored tonight, so I figured I'd start a thread.
I've been GM'ing PFS for about 6 months or so, and I've started to collect a decent bunch of maps. I know many that draw their maps carry them in artist/blueprint/document tubes of some sort for transport to/from games, but I wondered how others store their maps between games?
For a while I was stacking them up on an unused desk in our junk room, but they were getting out of hand and looking through them got to be a pain. My wife works in a factory and is able go get these short tubes that their stretch-wrap comes on. They're about 3.5" in diameter and 3.25" long. I took 28 of these, taped them together, and taped them to the top of a box that fit them perfectly. I now have this.
So, how do the rest of you that draw your maps out ahead of time store them?
I asked this back at the end of 2010, and got the response below, but since then the rules for day job have changed, so after seeing someone else post a similar question, thought I'd repost my question here.
Eric Clingenpeel wrote:
Mark Moreland wrote:
As the rule currently stands, you do not earn money from a Perform check. Rather, you earn money from a Day Job check, which uses Perform ranks, feats, ability modifiers, and class skill modifiers but is not affected by racial modifiers or class abilities.
So, now it is an actual Perform check to earn money, does the Gladhanding apply now? The ability now uses the same words as Day Job, so it seems to me like it would.
Ok, there seems to have been a lot of "downer" threads lately, so I decided to get one going that a little lighter. :)
We've got a player who has begun to hate scenarios involving ships/boats. So, I was wondering how many and which ones have ships in them.
We've played Hydra's Fang, Quest for Perfection 2, and we're going to be playing Frozen Fingers here tonight.
I know Throaty Mermaid would be a good one, as that's all on a boat. Any others I can torture him with? :)
Ok, I tried searching for this, and didn't come up with an answer. Someone asked it on the discussions about upgrading named armor, but no one responded to his question.
(And you know how annoying it is to search for barding? All I get is bard threads!)
Anyway, is this possible? For example a Rhino Hide barding for a large non-humanoid? Its easy enough to figure out, the difference between hide armor and large hide for a non-humanoid is x4 so +45 gp, but I just wanted to see if this was pfs legal. Thanks.
Ok, I've searched several times for this topic, but have yet to find it, so I'm finally asking about it.
In the APG, two new types of Schools of magic were created, Elemental and Focused Arcane Schools.
Elemental Arcane Schools:
Instead of specializing in one of the standard eight schools
of magic, a wizard can choose to specialize in one of the
four elemental schools of magic. Like a normal arcane
school, an elemental school grants a number of school
powers and one bonus spell slot of each level the wizard
can cast, from 1st on up. This bonus spell slot must be used
to prepare a spell from the elemental school’s spell list (see
Chapter 5). Unlike a normal arcane school, each elemental
school requires the wizard to select his opposed element
as his opposition school (air opposes earth, f ire opposes
water). He does not need to select a second opposition
school. He must expend two spell slots to prepare a spell
from his opposed elemental school as normal.
So, my question is, do the elemental schools qualify for Spell Focus?
Choose a school of magic. Any spells you cast of that school
are more difficult to resist.
Benefit: Add +1 to the Difficulty Class for all saving
throws against spells from the school of magic you select.
Special: You can gain this feat multiple times. Its effects
do not stack. Each time you take the feat, it applies to a new
school of magic.
Now, I understand that I couldn't take say Fire and Evocation as two separate feats and have them stack, the feat specifically calls out that they don't, but its been accepted that Elemental Focus and Spell Focus stack, so would Elemental Focus (Fire) and Spell Focus (Fire) be legal feats to take for a Fire Elementalist Wizard? I'm thinking yes, but wondering others views on this. If there wasn't the specific spell list for elementalists, I probably wouldn't have even considered it, but alas...
Ok, I did a quick search, and didn't see any thread that had talked about this.
How many grit do you get if you crit & kill a creature?
I just rolled up a gunslinger for an upcoming game, and gave him a +1 Thundering Revolver. On a deadly aim crit, this thing will deal 4d8+48+3d8(sonic) damage. Minimum damage makes it massive damage.
So, if you crit and kill the creature do you get 1 or 2 grit? I'd say 2, but since it is from one action, I'm not sure. Thoughts?
Ok, so I'm going to be playing a Magician Bard and I'm having him be a Stage Magician. Magicians get Arcane Bond at 5th lvl, and I'm planning on taking a wand (Duh, because every good magician needs his magic wand). But I'd like to start with it at 1st lvl. I know you can't start with magic items, and I don't WANT it to be a magic item, just basically a stick that will eventually become his focus, but in the wizard entry it states that bonded items are always masterwork. So... How much would a masterwork nonmagical wand be? Or, how much would I be able to buy a wand that has used all its charges up, since according to the CRB items generally need to be masterwork quality to be enchanted, and "A wand that runs out of charges is just a stick (PFSRD)". So how much could I get a masterwork "stick" for? Or can I just say I have a stick and call it good?
I'm working on a PFS character and am planning on a Magician Bard and wondered what perform skill you would use for doing stage magic. Normally I'd think sleight of hand, but there's a lot of performance to it not just having nimble fingers. Which would work best, Perform: Oratory, Perform: Act, Perform: Comedy? I assume we can't just make our own perform category for it, so wondered which would be best.
Maybe hating is too strong, but anyone else have a problem with dm's disliking their alchemists? I have a half-orc alchemist with a 21 INT. We started at 7th lvl, so I'm tossing around 4d6+8 bombs. Now I only have fire for damage, and most of the creatures we've been encountering have fire vulnerability, so he's understanding that, but he seems really bummed that I'm blowing things up so easily. He was wondering (I think semi-jokingly) how much the alchemist had been playtested as it seemed broken.
I could point out to him that rogues do more damage (since they get weapon dmg too) with sneak attacks and the half-orc fighter power attacking can get similar damage (16-27 each attack) out assuming he hits, but I don't know, it just seems like he's really not liking it. Anyone else experience this?
:) Ok, we now have answers to two burning questions I've had about alchemists.
APG FAQ wrote:
Short, sweet, and to the point. I figured the accelerated drinker question would be answered this way, and I'm quite happy about the poison = alchemical item answer. Now to work on the poison section of my alchemical item spreadsheet. :)
Ok, I remember this problem from my duskblade days... If I crit with my weapon say when spellstriking with shocking grasp, do I multiply both weapon and spell or just the weapon damage? And if its a scythe I'm using is it x4 all, x4 weapon + x2 shocking grasp? I know you can normally crit with a spell that requires an attack roll for x2 damage, but with a rapier crit range or a weapon's multiplier how will this ability mix?
So, did anyone else make an actual book of the Tales of Shazathared, or just me? I even added in the tales of hers from the bestiary sections and on wish lore. I'm going to be binding it in red velvet-like paper glued to shiny gold carstock with the Title letters removed from the red, so the gold shows through. I printed the tales on parchment paper using a color laser xerox workstation. I'm still not positive how I'm binding it, but I think I'll be using a leather thread I have, still haven't decided for sure, though.
My player's are just starting House of the Beast, and I'm excited to see how they react to the Tales once they get to Jackel's Price and the Katapesh Marketplace. The bard in my group is Indiana Jones meets the Pathfinder society. He's a writer, and for his year off, he did the research, but added writing what he found out and publishing it. He'll snatch up the Tales faster than a... well, something really fast... ;)
I've still got a bit of work to do on it, but once I'm done I'll see about trying to post pics. :) If anyone is interested that is...
I was wondering if there was an official ruling about whether or not you can swap any of these free evolutions? I for one don't care for my humanoid eidolon to have claws. My plan is to have my young scrawny summoner bluff everyone into believing his eidolon is his older protective brother, and the claws would definitely give that away.
Or say someone wanted a chocobo or something similar to an ostrich, none of the base forms would really work for that.